View Full Version : Boat valuations

hilta1
24-05-2012, 08:25 PM
Hi Guys, I have decided to sell my beloved Seafarer Victory, but need to find out what price i would get for it, its one of a kind built to MAST survey (thick lay up,full flotation etc.) It is a 1994 model hull but has 12 month old Mackay trailer with electric brakes, 18month old 150 etec with 200 hours, new stressfree freefall anchor winch,and new bimini and clears, as new condition , is there anwhere that specialises in valueing this type of boat?? Regards Mark

24-05-2012, 09:12 PM
Have a look at Boatpoint. Top dollar for a year old is $73K to ones with old 2 smokes for $36.5K. There is '97 one with a pretty new Opti and trailer for $65K which is similar. Whether you'd get that in the current market who would know. Most are from the early 2000s in the mid $50Ks. In my experience, at the end of the day accessories and whether they have been built to survey or whatever don't figure in the equation. It is the valuation of the boat/motor/trailer only pretty much. http://www.boatpoint.com.au/DesktopDefault.aspx?Ns=pBoat_IsSoldRank_Int32%7C0% 7C%7CpBoat_IsPOA_Int32%7C0%7C%7CpBoat_PriceSort_De cimal%7C1%7C%7CpBoat_Make_String%7C0%7C%7CpBoat_Mo del_String%7C0&N=604%201586%201587%201599%201588%20606%2042949109 16%201004%201047&tabID=804585&No=0&Nne=20

hilta1
24-05-2012, 09:30 PM
Thanks Smithy, i have had a look and saw the boats your talking about, just a bit hard to judge but i know what it owes me so maybe will just look at adding up motor trailer etc values and go from there, good thing is it is a pretty good looking and solid rig so should be able to demand good dollar, Market is a bit down but if i have to give it away i will keep it and give it to the kids. Regards Mark

FisHard
25-05-2012, 05:58 AM
Hi Dad! I'm ready for it ;)

hilta1
25-05-2012, 07:30 AM
Hi Fishy, are you saying your short fat and ugly?? if you are you must be mine!!!

hilta1
29-05-2012, 06:56 PM
Hey Guys i need some help! ok i will put pic up tell me your thoughts what do you reckon its worth???8066080661
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/pencil.png

outta line
29-05-2012, 07:00 PM
pic not working bud.......

FishHunter
29-05-2012, 07:23 PM
Its worth exactly what someone is willing to pay you and not a cent more. BoatPoint is full of people who are dreaming about their boats value, have a look how long the expensive ones have been for sale maybe that will give an idea if the prices are realistic.

hilta1
29-05-2012, 07:38 PM
I Havent put a price onit!! Hence the reason for my question i would like some opinions of what other boaties would think its worth. If thats to hard for you to answer,,dont bother

outta line
29-05-2012, 07:48 PM
pic is up now mate........nice looking vic ...looks well looked after and always a bonus for resale with the newish trailer and donk should get some interest if someone is looking for one... when i sold my last boat i had my lowest $$ in mind and anything over that was a bonus... cheers mick

robothefisho
29-05-2012, 07:59 PM
I'd guess somewhere around the $32 000 to $35000 mark as a realistic value. Possibly $40 000 if willing to wait.

bf90
29-05-2012, 08:15 PM
35 k would be top $ The one thing that would hold me back is the age of the hull, regardless of how clean it may be. Sorry if I may have offended you hilta ;)

hilta1
29-05-2012, 08:24 PM
You havent offended me sunny, But would love to put that OLD 20mm thick hull against any new seafarer out of the current factory!!! can guarentee they not even in the same league!!! Dont know why you youngens have got it in for anything OLD!!!!

31-05-2012, 12:13 PM
That's your problem now. I see the new 6.2m hulls are being sold as packages starting at $63K. That's going to kill the 2nd hand Seafarer market.

tropicrows
31-05-2012, 12:34 PM
Have you tried any boat yards, to get a feel of what they would give you. At least then you have a starting point.

mal555
31-05-2012, 01:55 PM
its one of a kind built to MAST survey (thick lay up,full flotation etc.) It is a 1994 model hull

What do you mean by MAST.....Marine and Safety Tasmania?

Tickleish
31-05-2012, 02:25 PM
Hilta, that looks like a beautiful and looked after Seafarer. Don't worry about these guys that only by new because they thinks that better & less chance of troubles. You will get the right buyer who appreciates a quality build and a good owner. If you want to sell that for 32K i'll come around now and buy it, I think you'll get more than that.

Someone with a bit of knowledge of boats will see it an appreciate it and they will snap it up - Good luck

Beatsworkin2
31-05-2012, 03:48 PM
The old seafarers were built properly Would rather a Lindsey built one over a Haines built one awesome boat good luck

hilta1
31-05-2012, 04:31 PM
Thanks guys, Hey smithy i thought exactly the same as you when i saw the advertised price on the new seafarers, i did a bit of investigating and what it appears they have done is bring the price down by not includeing what used to be "standard" inclusions, i got a price for a new one with the same "options" as mine except the heavy lay up and foam flotation etc as per survey and the price rises up to just on $90000. to get the equivelant to mine!! But i did see one at the last boat show and made the mistake of banging on the side of the hull! felt like a plastic boat!lol The old saying "They dont make em like they used to" sprung to mind, but as the haines people said the resins etc of today are so much stronger and better quality they dont need to build them as thick!!! how can you argue with that reasoning???lol As I said earlier i know what Seafarer hull i would rather have.

Lancair
31-05-2012, 05:02 PM
About 2 yrs ago when I started looking for a new boat, I could have bought a 98' Seafarer Victory, very similar stainless work and as neat as yours, with an Etec150 that was about 6-8 months old with 45hr, IIRC, the trailer was the original and needed attention, for 45K.
As a guesstimate, Id say 38K tops for yours. I hear what youre saying about the extra thick hull and it sells it to me, so maybe just start asking higher than you realistically expect, sell hard on the extra thick hull etc and negotiate down. A discerning buyer will snap it up Im sure.

TopBhoy
31-05-2012, 05:16 PM
About 2 yrs ago when I started looking for a new boat, I could have bought a 98' Seafarer Victory, very similar stainless work and as neat as yours, with an Etec150 that was about 6-8 months old with 45hr, IIRC, the trailer was the original and needed attention, for 45K.

What does this mean...you didn't buy it at $45k....why?

What did it sell for in the end? I don't want to sound mean but a $45k advertised boat which has been overlooked tells the OP very little on the value of his boat; even 2 years on.

31-05-2012, 05:24 PM
Me and lots of boaties on here it would seem have no problem buying 2nd hand but then you see the posts all the time from guys wanting to buy new and when they are confronted with a $63K package for a new one V yours around the same price even though we all know your boat is going to be better you can see which way they are going to go, especially when the missus gets involved. It is why every day tens of Quintrexs and Stacers are sold but custom yards only pop a few boats out a year. That majority of the boat buying public are the average mums and dads, not the keen types that hang out of internet fishing forums and Quintrexs etc. sell on name alone even though when put to the test by keen fishermen they very often let them down. These are your potential buyers unfortunately. They are the same ones used to cars as well so once it leaves the showroom floor, they expect big price drops straight away. If you have been in boating a while you would have become accustomed to buying and selling your boat for around the same price, maybe making a little bit if you were lucky or not losing too much. The GFC has stuffed all that. With all the American imports and boating being a luxury item while times are tough the prices of 2nd hand boats have fallen through the roof.

hilta1
31-05-2012, 06:40 PM
Hi Mal, Yes mast is Marine and safety Tasmania, i think you will find they are fairly well recognised as being one of the strictest departmants in Australia, Actualy they do make right proper pr--ks of them selves, Lindsay Fry had that much trouble with them he said he would never build another that had to go to there specks!!! They actualy flew to the Gold coast to do a couple of the inspections!!!

hilta1
31-05-2012, 07:00 PM
Hi Smithy,Its funny because the only reason i am thinking of selling is to have something Newer, my delema is that i have a Kevlacat 2400 and the Seafarer and the grand plan was to leave the cat either at Noosa or 1770 and keep the Seafarer in Tassie use the cat in winter and the seafarer in summer! Trouble is i am pretty fussy with my boats and trying to keep up with the maintanace etc is being painful! so then i had the great idea of buyinng the one boat that would service both needs,that being a Cruise craft 685 explorer,and just tow it up and back, but the minister of finance has said both boats have to have been sold before i am aloud to order a cruise craft!!!! So there is my delema,if the market isnt good for either boat it may well be just as easy to keep what i have got and forget about having the one boat??? Deciosens deciosens its just all to Bl--dy hard!!

johncar
31-05-2012, 07:21 PM
I wouldn't be swapping the high spec SF and KC for a new CC685

mal555
02-06-2012, 11:59 AM
Hi Mal, Yes mast is Marine and safety Tasmania, i think you will find they are fairly well recognised as being one of the strictest departmants in Australia, Actualy they do make right proper pr--ks of them selves, Lindsay Fry had that much trouble with them he said he would never build another that had to go to there specks!!! They actualy flew to the Gold coast to do a couple of the inspections!!!

They are the strictest by far hilta, I've heard of other state authority approved vessels only get to the first stage of MAST certification.
Might be worth running a couple of adds in the local Tas. papers to achieve the best selling price when selling the boat.

mal555
02-06-2012, 12:12 PM
Hi Smithy,Its funny because the only reason i am thinking of selling is to have something Newer, my delema is that i have a Kevlacat 2400 and the Seafarer and the grand plan was to leave the cat either at Noosa or 1770 and keep the Seafarer in Tassie use the cat in winter and the seafarer in summer! Trouble is i am pretty fussy with my boats and trying to keep up with the maintanace etc is being painful! so then i had the great idea of buyinng the one boat that would service both needs,that being a Cruise craft 685 explorer,and just tow it up and back, but the minister of finance has said both boats have to have been sold before i am aloud to order a cruise craft!!!! So there is my delema,if the market isnt good for either boat it may well be just as easy to keep what i have got and forget about having the one boat??? Deciosens deciosens its just all to Bl--dy hard!!

The cost of Bass Strait transport is heavy, the return trip (car, trailer and passengers) would be over $2000.00 on the ship alone.

Where would you base the boat in Tas.?

Prowl n Wolf
02-06-2012, 12:42 PM
g'day hilta, i'm envious of the lifestyle! tassie in summer, 1770/noosa in the winter. does it get any better than that? yep it does... a seafarer victory in one state and a 2400 kevlacat in the other! you lucky bugger! regards, tony.

Lancair
02-06-2012, 01:02 PM
What does this mean...you didn't buy it at $45k....why?

What did it sell for in the end? I don't want to sound mean but a $45k advertised boat which has been overlooked tells the OP very little on the value of his boat; even 2 years on.

I didnt buy it because I couldnt get the finance I needed at the time on a 10+ yr old hull. Believe me I tried, if Id had the cash handy it'd be mine now. I dont know what it sold for in the end. It was owned buy a wholesale tackle mob who used it a fair bit until they got their new rig, had great sounder gps setup as well outriggers, l/b tank etc etc.
I was trying to give the guy an idea of what his rig might be worth, based on a very similar rig, albeit 2yrs ago, prices haven't changed that much really.

02-06-2012, 01:27 PM
Was just looking on Boatpoint and saw a nice Vagabond with Suzuki for $55K. I think the low $50Ks to mid $50s is going to pull you up.

outta line
02-06-2012, 03:40 PM
I would chose your 5.9m hull over the new 6.2 haines traveller hull any day - haines are killing the seafarer. I upgraded to a 6m victory near on 2yrs ago now and would only look at hulls made by lindsay fry even though I could have bought new. I also was looking at new 575 cc as well. I looked at a few older victorys before I found the 2004 one I have now. Most people looking at your boat would be up grading and know what they are after in a boat. And to have a well looked-after hull with extras, will only create more interest - in my experience. It is easy for other people to put a price on someone else's things. When selling my old 5.5 seafarer vogue I took it to a well known 2nd hand boat yard and asked them what they thought it was worth and what % they took on consignment - I smiled and said no thanks, as I knew I would get more than that. As it turned out, I ended up almost $5000 bucks more than they valued it at. I guess what I'm trying to say is you know what $$$$ you want for it put that price on it and wait for the right buyer to come along and if it doesn't sell you end up with a boat in the north and one in the south -sounds pretty good to me!
cheers mick

hilta1
02-06-2012, 06:11 PM
Thanks for the responces guys, Mal i am based in the North West coast of Tassie, do a lot of diving around here, only about 10 minutes and we are in the water! we do alright on the crayfish and abalone and do a few trips to the far north west i will try to put some photos up, the islands around there are fantastic and you may see 3 or 4 other boats all weekend! Just make sure the weather is good! There are some real good snapper around there as well, Got a nice yellowfin down the east coast over easter (78kg) So Tassie is good for the warmer months and yes lucky enough to head up north for a few months when it gets cold(about now) It is a dan hard decision to sell the seafarer and after reading your thought now its even harder!!!lol Anyway as i said thanks for your views Regards Mark

mal555
03-06-2012, 01:03 PM
Thanks for the responces guys, Mal i am based in the North West coast of Tassie, do a lot of diving around here, only about 10 minutes and we are in the water! we do alright on the crayfish and abalone and do a few trips to the far north west i will try to put some photos up, the islands around there are fantastic and you may see 3 or 4 other boats all weekend! Just make sure the weather is good! There are some real good snapper around there as well, Got a nice yellowfin down the east coast over easter (78kg) So Tassie is good for the warmer months and yes lucky enough to head up north for a few months when it gets cold(about now) It is a dan hard decision to sell the seafarer and after reading your thought now its even harder!!!lol Anyway as i said thanks for your views Regards Mark

I guess you mean Three Hummock, Hunter and Robbins Islands, do you launch out of Smithton or Montague?

I understand the Easterly wind can cause big dramas coming back to the Duck River!

hilta1
03-06-2012, 05:52 PM
Mal you know the area well! Yes launch from Montague but have got permission to launch out of Woolnorth, i stay clear of the Duck, it is unprotected in an Easterly but out of Montague Robbins etc protects all the way back to the boat ramp, We went down about a month ago but on a full moon, the current was ripping, i reckon it was close to 8 knots!!!! The hose on the compressor was Humming!!!! Are you from down this way??? Is one of the prettiest places around on the right day.

mal555
05-06-2012, 10:05 AM
Mal you know the area well! Yes launch from Montague but have got permission to launch out of Woolnorth, i stay clear of the Duck, it is unprotected in an Easterly but out of Montague Robbins etc protects all the way back to the boat ramp, We went down about a month ago but on a full moon, the current was ripping, i reckon it was close to 8 knots!!!! The hose on the compressor was Humming!!!! Are you from down this way??? Is one of the prettiest places around on the right day.

I've got some mates that live at Circular Head and have done a few runs out to the islands over the years, while staying with them.

For the other members who don't know the area hilta1 is referring to, the "islands" used to be a favourite fishing location for Cam Strahan. He used to do the crossing from the Victorian coast, across Bass Strait in a modified 23' Formula to poach abalone. Some may remember the famous chase across the Strait involving a marine police cat and a helicopter filming the action.