View Full Version : Beware of buyers from malaysia

blackjew
19-05-2012, 08:37 PM
A guy from Malaysia contacted me bout my tinnie.i want to buy your boat .i will send money to your PayPal OK.then you give me address of boat and i will get the shipping company to collect the boat OK.yer yer no problems.when i see money in my paypal account i will contact you with the address .i got an email from PayPal .saying funds are in my PayPal account .SO I CHECKED MY PAYPAL nothing ,HMMM ALARM BELLS CONTACTED PAYPAL beware they told me .i contacted buyer i have no money in my PayPal account from you .COP THIS i get an email from western union.PLEASE PAY $1,900 and then we will release the balance of the money to you .
I sent an email to WESTERN UNION they replied quickly we do not ever ask you to pay money this is a scam .please report this person to spoof.on ebay.
BECAREFULL ;D

antg2378
19-05-2012, 08:42 PM
Hahaha shortage of tinnies in Malaysia obviously. I've been getting a lot of odd phone calls lately as well. Mostly about phone contracts etc, although tonight had a guy ring about my windows operating system on my computer playing up I said to him thats funny it was working fine 5 minutes ago, where are you calling from......his reply.....India, to which my reply was yep no worries see ya. I could even hear kids yelling and carrying on in the background.

blackjew
19-05-2012, 09:07 PM
Hi ,mate yer i know what you mean i saw a movie once where they train Indians to speak like us or yanks .so they can rip us off.sum bags may thewre armpits be infested by a million fleas.lol
Cheers Rob

LittleSkipper
20-05-2012, 11:08 AM
Gidday Rob!

That's usually the case when they speak like something from the "FULL METAL JACKET" Movie. The Dick-Head was not to bright! Did he really think you would not check your PayPal account or contact Western Union and go by fake PayPal & Western Union emails?

I'd like to bury them up to there neck in the ground right next to a "Fire Ants" nest!

Goodoo haven
20-05-2012, 01:33 PM
Geez, ya gotta watch em. They will try anything and anyway to scam money from people.

Todddo
20-05-2012, 02:45 PM
Carsales used to be their main haunt, Now obviously boatsales is the new aim.
Just lead them on, some blokes on the car forums are pros at leading the scammers on! Good for a laugh atleast.

Goodoo haven
20-05-2012, 02:54 PM
Carsales used to be their main haunt, Now obviously boatsales is the new aim.
Just lead them on, some blokes on the car forums are pros at leading the scammers on! Good for a laugh atleast.

Yeah, one called me up one night telling me I had a virus in my computer. He told me to go to my computer and then go to this site... and I kept telling him done what he told me to do, and he kept saying no you have done it wrong lol. I had him going on the phone with me for about 20 mins until i got sick of playing his game and then I promptly told him where to go and what I thought of him... the low life!!

blackjew
20-05-2012, 04:04 PM
gDAY DOUG AND WAYNO,Yer not wrong i thoguht it was a bit strange when he said what is your lowest price you will take i said i will take the reserve price of 5 grand .ok ill pay you 5,400 what a tosser i just cracked up .then when he gave me the western union crap.i thought ok how far will this clown go .i cant post you the exact email; i sent him but it was in letters caps lock on and font 30 .so you get the picture i let he know he was being investigated .and guess what i didnt get a reply lol.
Cheers Fellers .shit its warm up hear today .

blackjew
22-05-2012, 09:14 AM
Thought this might help anyone who lists on ebay

The IDIOT IN MENTION HAS NOT JUST TRIED TO BUY MY BOAT ONCE ,HAS TRIED A SECOND TIME ,WITH THE SAME EMAIL ROFL LOL WHAT A NOB YOU THINK HE WOULD HAVE CHANGED HIS EMAIL ADDRESS.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Please be informed that the email you received is definitely fraud. Western Union does not have this kind of promotion or award to our valued customers. The email you received was neither sent nor authorized by us. This may be a "phishing" attempt to fraudulently acquire sensitive information from you. Please disregard the email. For your own protection, please do not respond nor provide any of your confidential details to the email that you have received. Do not click on any links of the email forwarded to you by this person or company.

In addition to that, please be informed that we do not use free email account in responding or communicating with our customers. Western Union will never send you an email unless you forwarded an email to us first. Any email coming from a Western Union official only means that we are just responding to a previous email that was sent to us.

We would also ask you to forward this to spoof@westernunion.com (spoof@westernunion.com) for our own internal security reporting purposes and we strongly suggest you report this as spam to your ISP provider. You may also visit www.scamwatch.gov.au (http://www.scamwatch.gov.au) for more information.

Moreover, please be informed that Western Union is not affiliated with PayPal and we are not very familiar with PayPal's services so we do not really know how they work and what kind of services they offer. You should have contacted them directly to verify the legitimacy of the email that you have received.

For further assistance, please feel free to respond to this email.

Sincerely,
Western Union Financial Services Inc.
Australian customers: australia.customer@westernunion.com.au
New Zealand customers: newzealand.customer@westernunion.co.nz
Asian countries: customerservice.asia@westernunion.com

Si
22-05-2012, 09:38 AM
A guy from Malaysia contacted me bout my tinnie.

This is the point where its obvious its a scam.

blackjew
22-05-2012, 12:21 PM
i cant believe this clown ,i keep getting messages its worse now coz the ######## has my number ,might have to get a new sim.

Si
22-05-2012, 01:28 PM
if you ring your service provider i believe you may be able to block him.

blackjew
22-05-2012, 06:00 PM
hi si it makes it hard but thanks anyway ,the bastardo keeps changing his email ,give him this hes a trier lol.
Cheers Rob

ozlongboarder
22-05-2012, 10:39 PM
Sad thing is these scams must actually work on some people. They would not still be doing it if they did not have a some sort of success rate.

blackjew
23-05-2012, 09:35 AM
yep so true mate i must have ######## stamped on my ebay add.i have had 4 people try and pull the same scam ,you recon they would change the way they word the email.it starts with a text of email me please for better conversation,my battery is flat.then the same message appears on the email.malaysian shipping company.this clown hasn't even changed hi story . Sureley its not the same ######.