View Full Version : evinrude 115 ficht

barracudda
18-05-2012, 07:15 PM
Hi everyone took the boat out last weekend for a run and the motor was running perfectly , then the check engine light and siren started to go off. Took it into my local mechanic and he tells me its overcharging and its a CPU problem and it needs replacing cost around $3500-00 for CPU , its a 2001 evinrude 115 ficht only about 50 hours. Mechanic said it has to go to a evinrude dealership to get fixed?
Im hoping someone might no were i can pick a secondhand CPU or offer any advice it would be appreciated iam in Perth WA

Moonlighter
18-05-2012, 11:09 PM
There is a specialist company in the USA that remanufactures the etec and ficht ecu's.

DFI Technologies is the company name. Suggest you google them
and contact them to see what they say. I see good reports about them on The Hull Truth. Heaps cheaper and better than the originals from all accounts.

http://www.dfitechnologies.com/

ML

sportfish58
19-05-2012, 05:36 AM
G'day Mick,There is a place that repairs cpu's on newmarket rd ,opposite the shopping centre.Cant remember the name of the place but it is in among the back of the units there.I took a toyota cpu in there and they opened it up while I was there and pointed out the faults as soon as he opened the cover.Had it fixed in no time.I will try and find the name for them and let you know,might be worth a try.
Cheers Guy

Fed
19-05-2012, 08:19 AM
That's a big call to diagnose a $3500 cpu problem & then say it has to go to an Evinrude dealer.
On face value it sounds like a high temp alarm or most likely a fuel restriction alarm has gone off.
http://continuouswave.com/whaler/reference/warningHornSignals.html

What speed were you doing, did the alarm stop, did the engine start going slow, is it running ok now?

hino310
19-05-2012, 09:17 AM
Hi Mick

This was a very common problem with the 2001 DI Evinrude. If you have no water in the fuel, and the motor does not go into S.L.O.W or limp home mode, i have no doubt that you mechanic is correct, especially if he has the diagnostic equiptment as it will record that exact problem.

If you would like some more info or assistance, P.M me your phone number and i may be able to help you.

Cheers Hino.

CT
19-05-2012, 10:33 AM
We bought our 03 ficht 90 s/hand for $3400 going on 3 years ago. Given you have been quoted $3500 for a part, I would give serious consideration to the economic viability of repairing this motor.

FisHard
19-05-2012, 11:49 AM
I had a 90 Ficht and it was a great little thing. I ran up 2-300 hrs on it in 3 years with no trouble. I hope you get it sorted for a reasonable price. It would be a tough call spending $1000s on a Ficht, given their poor resale and reputation. I had trouble selling my boat due to the motor. Good luck.

Moonlighter
19-05-2012, 12:04 PM
Here's a cut and paste from DFI Technologies website FAQ's.

I had a look and their prices for rebuilding the EMM for your engine (I think) are about $600-$700. Turnaround time in their workshop quoted as less than a week. Plus delivery time of course.

Worth at least an email to them to explain your problem and get their opinion.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

1. How can I obtain up-to-the-minute pricing information for your products and services?
Simply E-mail us at prices@dfitechnologies.com (prices@dfitechnologies.com?Subject=Latest Price Request) and you will receive a prompt reply via E-mail with our current pricing information.

2. Can I purchase a new component, such as an ECU or oiler, from DFI Technologies, Inc.?
No. We only supply repaired engine components and work on a core exchange basis. You are required to supply a defective core component which will then be repaired and returned to you.

3. I need to use my boat this weekend. How long will it take to repair my component?
Generally, our in-house time is 3-4 days. With next day UPS delivery available, you should expect no more than 5-6 days down time. However, every failure is different and every repair time is different.

4. This engine has a problem! I need assistance in troubleshooting. Can you help?
Yes! DFI Technologies, Inc. is pleased to be able to assist you in correcting the problem. Collectively, our knowledge covers all aspects of the DFI motor and components. Our troubleshooting assistance is free. All you need to do is call.

5. My ECU has failed. I found a used ECU from a similar motor. Can I change over the software and data to make it work on my motor?
It is technically possible to make it work. However, any ECU that has not been upgraded by DFI Technologies probably has the same design defects and limitations that caused the original ECU to fail. It is just as likely to fail as the original one!
Over the past years, we have discovered many improvements we can make to the ECU. We incorporate these improvements into every unit we repair. Better to be safe than sorry! Send it to use and receive a more robust ECU in return.

19-05-2012, 02:05 PM
seriously doubt anyone here in Aus will be able to repair it, failure rate is very low, so be 100% sure it is faulty, it was pretty common for the water cooling passages to get blocked and cause the ECU to over heat, you will need an OMC person to download the parameters for the injectors before you replace the ECU (if indeed it is dead) I reckon you could probably find a wrecked second hand motor for half the price you were quoted, the 90 and 115 Ficht were good engines, however they still suffer from the bad name of the early V6 models

19-05-2012, 07:34 PM
That year model and that size are good solid motors. It was the earlier v6 that gave the brand a bad rap.

Noel and Fed are on the money. There is 100 reasons for these to throw a code and go to limp and most are not serious.

Do not listen to anyone who doesn't have the software to tell you exactly what your error is and codes downloaded off your ECU. Does your mechanic have teh software and did he tell you teh code number?

No one in Australia can remove the gel around the ECU and fix the problem and then recast the gel around the ECU that I am aware of as it requires reloading it not just parameter changes and anyone would not have the ability to test their repair.

You can buy a ECU off a wrecker and load up your injector coeffecients on it but unless the ECU is tested it may well have been the reason the original motor is in the wreckers. Big risk in doing that.
I don't know the Perth dealers. You could ask on the etec forum as someone =may have a decent contact
Do you have the software cable and software? Are you basically computer literate , have a laptop and happy diagonose it properly? I may be able to help with sending a cable over.

barracudda
20-05-2012, 10:18 AM
Thanks everyone for your advice the mechanic has the program and software and he said the overcharging error has come up 83 times. He`s trying to get some info for me on monday i hope so i will keep you posted, by the way the engine runs beautiful but when it warms up the light and siren go off if you stop then restart it happens every 30 seconds at 1200 rpm goes into limp mode if you try to push it. Anyway thanks for you help i`ll let you no

Cheers MIck

myusernam
20-05-2012, 10:24 AM
There are two charging ccts/ The altenator/starting batterycct and the auxilary (solid state?) one that is completely seperate. If it is the second one have you considered just not connecting it? If it is the primary could it just be the altenator?

21-05-2012, 12:06 PM
Do you have a failed battery?

Do you have a bad battery connection?

Do you have a bad battery switch?

Do you have a bad battery wire?

Ha steh mechanic manually checked teh outputs from both electrial circuits ?

Doing this from memory but the larger v6 motors
had 2 seperate electrical systems. 1 ran the motors electronics at XX voltage and the other was the 12v alternator . The 2 battery 12 volt system is a seperate and was simply a charge divider on the 12v alternator so 2 battery's could be independly charged off 1 motor.

barracudda
11-06-2012, 03:56 PM
Hi everyone just a quick update on my evinrude problem i have spoken to a Evinrude dealership and he agreed with my mechanic about overcharging, I wanted him to have a look on there computer to make sure but he wasn`t that interested. He said it wasn`t that comon they have about 3 a year, a new emm around $3500 and repaired around $2000 somewhere in america he wouldn`t say where. I tried to contact DFI Technologies half a dozen times but have had no reply do they still exist? anyway its not looking to good at the moment but i`ll keep trying.

Cheers Mick

Moonlighter
11-06-2012, 05:06 PM
Is it worth a phone call to the USA to see if you can talk to DFI tech direct? I have seen some recent posts on THT where people have dealt with them so maybe worth a call, for a few bucks you'll find out quickly and might then be able to resume discussions via email..

ML

Gon Fishun
11-06-2012, 05:34 PM
For what it may be worth, tis a long story but I will cut it back. A couple of years back the air flow sensor on my Rodeo 1998 v6 petrol - gas failed. $600 for a newy. It did run on one or the other, I can't remember which fuel now, but being a cheapskate and ex mechanic I kept looking around. Any hoozle I took it to a bloke i know in a holden dealership and had them check it out with their computer. They said the air flow sensor was crook but the computer came up with errors, as it should from the air sensor.
Getting to the main part, they said the computer could be sent away and split open to repair if it was resin or something and the price would be $xxxxx. I didn't bother, just bought a second hand sensor $150.
But it would appear the computers are repairable in Australia. ????????????

barracudda
12-06-2012, 06:49 PM
just heard back from DFI Technologies and this is there exact answer

Michael,
Yes it sounds like you have a faulty EMM, unfortunately it will take us about three to four weeks to repair it. You would be better off getting a new EMM from a BRP dealer.

So it doesn`t sound like they are very interested does it , but i`ll keep going

Cheers Mick

Moonlighter
12-06-2012, 08:04 PM

Is it worth getting a price on a newy from a US BRP dealer? DFI may be assuming that the price you pay here is the same as in the USA, and I'll bet we pay gazillions more here than they do in the US......even counting the cost of postage??

Edit:I have just sent a message to Boats.net who are big OEM suppliers online in USA, asking price and avail for you. Will let you know when I hear back.

Option 2 could maybe be to reply back to DFI and ask them the approx cost anyway, depending on how much of a hurry you are in? It might still be worth the cost and wait, depending on the answer to option 1 above. The indication of $700 approx on their website sounds like it would be worth waiting a couple of weeks compared to $3500 to a Aussie dealer!

ML

barracudda
12-06-2012, 08:41 PM
Thanks Moonlighter that is very kind of you and i will email DFI and see what price they give me & look forward to you reply

Many Thanks

12-06-2012, 10:23 PM
Is yours a water cooled emm?

. My ECU/EMM has been overheated and now the engine runs poorly. What has happened?

If your water cooled ECU/EMM has overheated, there are several possible failure modes. The most likely is damage to the switching regulator circuitry of your EMM. This generally results in a code #17 or #27 (battery or alternator voltage) error.
While this can be repaired, it is extremely important that you determine the cause of overheating. In all cases, the overheating of the EMM is due to low or blocked water flow through the EMM. Water flow should be checked both upstream and downstream of the EMM. If the water flow is not corrected, your replacement EMM will most likely fail too.
Be particularly cautious when the EMM maximum temperature is higher than the engine maximum temperature. This will never normally occur. Typical EMM temperatures don't exceed 70-80°C. Look for pinched coolant lines, misrouted hoses, and blockage within the vapor separator.

barracudda
13-06-2012, 11:22 PM
Thanks Cormorant i thought i heard the mechanic say its water cooled but not sure? I spoke to Chivers Marine ( evinrude dealer ) he told me to bring it in and they will send the computer readout to BRP and then let me know

Cheers Mick

Fed
14-06-2012, 09:21 AM
Is it possible the alarm going off & the overcharging are not related?
Has the alarm gone off 83 times?

There's a guy in Sydney (I think he's posted in here at times) who seems pretty switched on and a straight shooter.
Huey @ Huett Marine (http://www.fishraider.com.au/Invision/index.php?showuser=391)
Huett Marine Centre
1131 Pacific Highway
Cowan NSW 2081 Phone 02 9456 1444 Fax (02) 9456 2477
He strikes me as the kind of guy who would go out of his way to help you even though there's nothing in it for him.

barracudda
14-06-2012, 07:38 PM
Thanks Fed im certain the mechanic said the error code had happened 83 times being an odd amount is why i remember.What does it all mean?

Cheers MIck

Fed
14-06-2012, 07:54 PM
I don't know what it means but you'd think if the over voltage was causing the alarm then the alarm should have gone off 83 times as well.
I'm guessing that hasn't happened.

With the price of these EMMs I'd be paying for a factory manual to first convince myself where the problem is.

On the BRP website it looks like they bolt on top in place of the older model rectifier/regulators and pick up their cooling there.

Moonlighter
14-06-2012, 09:40 PM
Barra

Check your PM's

ML

14-06-2012, 09:48 PM
There are soft and hard alarms.

Soft alarms only get noticed when you look on the EMM with the old guage set up. Hard alarms set off the buzzer and the lights in the Guages.

It is possible to have lots of alarms recorded on the ECU and not have teh motor go into SLOW mode etc.
It goes back to my previous stuff of what other alarms there is , when they were occurring and if it is as simple as a wing nut on a battery terminal etc etc.

You often get lots of low voltage alerts with corroded battery terminals or if the battery terminals were removed etc. These soft alarms may or may not set off the lights and buzzers depending on which of the 100 plus error codes they trigger.

Get the full printout from the ECU. Send it to Huey , etec forum or take the boat to Downes marine and get it diagnosed 100% and they will check other engine electrical outputs with a multimeter to ensure it is not the EMM misreading a input. / output. I was always lucky running twins as I could temporarily switch EMM just to prove if the issue was ever the computer .

It still may be the EMM . They used to only be US $1400 retail so there is a big saving buying OS and a decent dealer will get onto the Aussie office and try and sort a better price for such a low hour motor failure. EMM should last the life of the motor and if the motor hasn't been overheated, has correct battery terminations there is no fault of the owner. Consumer affairs should be seriously looking at things like this where manufacturers try and say it is not their problem. They will be able to check motor and warranty history on the BRP system.

Steeler
14-06-2012, 11:16 PM
Tis Craig at Huett Marine, very helpful fella. Does not get on here much now as i think he got a bit jack of all the etec bashing.

Never minded lending his knowledge.

barracudda
19-06-2012, 09:42 PM
Just got a call from Chivers Marine error 27# rectifier overcharging and i need a new EMM and not certain what caused it and cant guarantee it want happen again they also advise me not to try getting it repaired overseas as they tried to get one repaired on a 150 ficht and it didnt work so the customer still had to buy a new one so he lost alot more money.

Cheers MIck

19-06-2012, 10:18 PM
If your dealer won't speak on your behalf to BRP in regards to such a low hour motor call them directly and see if they can do something for you (if they have even looked) . If the dealer can't find a cause for the failure it was not fit for service in the first place. As mentioned before they can see on teh BRP system the original owner and the original dealer who sold/ installed the motor. A emm should last the life of the motor and I think BRP should be coming to the party. Consumer affairs or whatever they are called over there may be a option to gain a written response from BRP. Your dealer asking you to fork out $3000 and no guarantee is a joke when you look at the pricing of a motor. BRP just saying it is out of warranty is not good enough. If their life expectancy for a emm is xx years or XX hours they should state it in writing so we all know.

Your dealers comment about DFI is the exact opposite to my experience on several occasions with 150's from old ficht to etecs with my last dealing with then 3 years ago. DFI may not be as interested in 115 emm as they sell brand new in the USA at a wholesale price not much above their repair cost if you get what I mean. Worth calling DFI in case they have one on teh shelf an ddon't want your core so they can just send it over.

Interesting to know if you have any luck but with the $ you are getting quoted it is worth chasing a better result.

myusernam
20-06-2012, 02:51 PM
THERE ARE TWO CHARGING CIRCUITS ON THESE MOTORS. whoops caps.. a solid state output from the emm and the altenator for the start battery. The idea is the solid state output is for the house batteries/ Coud it be that the error refers to this solid state output ? and if so, why not just leave it disconnected and just use the altenator output to charge your batteries with a conventional dual battery management setup if you need it..

27-06-2012, 01:13 PM
Any luck or further progress on your motor and getting it working? Was hoping to read a good news story with a manufacturer and dealer doing it right by a client with a low hour motor and sorting you out.

08-07-2012, 12:03 AM
With a serial number check these may be the same computer and motor- cheap spares.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=221065829573&ssPageName=ADME:B:SS:AU:1123

08-07-2012, 07:05 AM
hey, that's my old boat and my old motors.

08-07-2012, 10:22 PM
nah it can't be Noel. ;D

Ya see those injected 2 strokes can't make it past their first service let alone to 2000hrs. Yep I had v6's at 1800 plus hours good compression - that was a miracle as well. :o

So mate - I calling you out as it can't possibly happen.::)

Always intersting to see where your old boats and motors end up. I nearly bought a pair of my non injected motors back many years ago until I recognised them and saw the serial numbers, realised someone had changed the hour meters - so I warned the guy that if I saw em on another boat ( we marked and serial numbered / punched all parts) I'd tell the owner the real hours - what do ya know a year later saw em , told the bloke built like a weed, he put it straight back on the trailer , smoked up the ramp and from all reports went and gave a bloke who sold em a flogging after a cashcard visit.

09-07-2012, 11:38 AM
Yep, those motors were/are good, the guy who got my old boat bought it with a repower in mind, so in guess he has decided to go ahead now.

barracudda
10-07-2012, 08:34 PM
yes at last my boat is ready to go, I took everybody`s advice and emailed BRP and explained to them that ive been on the ausfish forum disscussing the problem with the EMM and that they all adviced me to contact them and that they should help me. Well it worked the next day they contacted me saying they will send me a new emm at a discounted price of $1000 + gst a massive saving of $2500 i just had to pay for fitting at the dealership ( who by the way werent that happy ) so all told cost $1300 i`m so happy with the outcome and i`d like to really thank everyone for all your help and advice i`m so happy with your help i always tell everyone to join your help is invaluable once again many thanks.

Cheers Mick

bobbyb
10-07-2012, 08:39 PM
cool. power to the people...............

11-07-2012, 12:47 AM
G'day Mick

That is a good result as you could get without argy bargy and probably pretty fair all things considered. $300 for your local dealer to spend under a hours work is a bit rich but.......:o and a shame you really have to push to get what should be there for you.

Now to pay the Ausfish advice fee!!! Hope you budgeted for it . Yep the lottery ticket - let us know if we win and we can all upgrade motors .;D