PDA

View Full Version : Noosa Offshore Monday

Back In Black
08-05-2012, 10:40 AM
Fished offshore Noosa yesterday with a couple who have never been fishing outside before. Must have forgotten to tell them about the bar crossing we had to do?? Not sure if they were squeals of fear or joy, but once out they settled in. 2nd time now I have taken outside "virgins" for a fish, & both times they totally out fished me. Mike was onto red throat from the 1st drop to 2kg, snapper, tusks, cod & ended up taking home a dozen nice fish. Juna got her PB snapper at 3.5kg & twice I got absolutely monstered by something unstoppable. I think they may have been amberjacks. How do you stop those things???? I think karma is coming back to bite me after posting about my ANZAC Day spanish, with the shot of me holding him + 2 bananas. I have been fishing offshore now for 2 years & have never even seen or heard of a banana fish. Caught this thing & had no idea what it was, so I just had it in the water when I went to ring Gaven (Hookinin) for some ID help, when who but Warrigal comes by. He gave me heaps about the banana posting!!! He told me it was a banana fish, but I didn't know if he was taking the piss. Said they are fine to eat, preferably fresh as they don't freeze too well. Rang Hookinin eventually & he confirmed they are OK?? Not sure if those 2 are in cahoots having a lend of me?? Looked it up in Grants but the image isn't really the same. Juna wants to confirm before she cook for dinner tonight. Can anyone help, SERIOUSLY, ID it? All I ended up with all day was 6 "alleged" banana fish.
Tony

pipifin
08-05-2012, 11:36 AM
banana fish, shmanana fish....
https://encrypted-tbn3.google.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTJ13XHabEaslHV_BngWchLs-_wKK8oy4i33ibCX3buzS_TA4YFGA

lido76
08-05-2012, 11:37 AM
yes mate its a southern fuesilier aka Banana fish..
Cheers Brendan...........

outwide1
08-05-2012, 11:48 AM
Hey Tony,we fished about 100km out of Mooloolaba Sunday right through to Monday morning.