View Full Version : Price check. Tohatsu 9.8.

frawlz
02-05-2012, 06:25 PM
Gidday,

I have a 9.8 tohatsu long shaft that i used briefly on a 10ft craft. It has less than 10 hrs use on it at most, couple of scratches, paint not even worn off the prop.

Has the tank, tool kit, owners manual, micro dot kit etc with it.

I am putting it on consignment at a local boat shop and was hoping to get 650 for it.

Is my price reasonable?

frawlz.

02-05-2012, 06:34 PM
WTF?????????????? why put it on consigment????????????????????????????????? advertise it, wont last long. its a small outboard why give some commission away? advertise it, i would be surprised if you didnt sell it quickly. I would also be worried about yards going under and you lose the motor cash the lot, as someone on here did a while back i think went Laisure Marine went under? Advertie it, forget the consigment shyte.

mike

frawlz
02-05-2012, 06:37 PM
Mate I live fairly rurally, postage / pick up /delivery would be a real pain in the coight.

johncar
02-05-2012, 07:02 PM
$650 seems cheap enough, Just put mine on the market 2010 model as new still under warranty with less than 2 hrs running and I was hoping to get around $1200 for it which I based on a new one being around $1800.
I would think you would sell it very easily at that price depending on the age of it and your buyer may not have a problem getting it picked up from you unless you a re very remote.
All the best with your sale.

02-05-2012, 07:09 PM
How far away are you? I'd drive a few hours for that price.....I might be looking for one of those. Send me a pm if you like mate.

moater
02-05-2012, 07:18 PM
How far away are you? I'd drive a few hours for that price.....I might be looking for one of those. Send me a pm if you like mate.

Damn good buy there!

frawlz
02-05-2012, 07:35 PM
I bought mine in 2007 so it's a bit older than johncar's. I'm taking it over to the shop to get it serviced cause its been sitting and the forward/reverse selector needs adjustment. I need it gone so i can buy a 4hp for the little cat and i don't much feel like messing around with it too much because the backwards and forth costs me money in fuel.

Thanks for the opinions on price. I reckon $650 is a good number then.

gazza2006au
02-05-2012, 09:07 PM
frawlz sell it on ebay if its a black model extreme bargain $650 if its a grey model $650 is an ok price to ask

frawlz
03-05-2012, 06:15 PM
Some photos for GBC. Long drive, don't want you wasting fuel if it's not what you need.

http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g35/thatp1g/boystuff/P5030096.jpg
http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g35/thatp1g/boystuff/P5030098.jpg

Some scratches on the fwd rev selector where it fell over under the house. (love pets...)

http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g35/thatp1g/boystuff/P5030099.jpg

http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g35/thatp1g/boystuff/P5030102.jpg

Sticky residue from where i had a aluminium foil to help the little cat get up.

http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g35/thatp1g/boystuff/P5030103.jpg

Prop has a little bit of paint off and skeg has a little sand rash.

http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g35/thatp1g/boystuff/P5030106.jpg

My son did some painting nearby one day.

http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g35/thatp1g/boystuff/P5030107.jpg

Under the cowl.

http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g35/thatp1g/boystuff/P5030109.jpg

http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g35/thatp1g/boystuff/P5030108.jpg

Original plugs.

http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g35/thatp1g/boystuff/P5030113.jpg

Linkage which needed some attention with a screwdriver today to straighten a slight bend in some shafty bit which was causing trouble selecting forward after reverse. Mechanic said this could have been me being clumsy lifting and dropping the motor or a pre-delivery problem. Works well now.

http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g35/thatp1g/boystuff/P5030115.jpg

Bits and pieces including, owners manual, unused microdot kit, a warranty book which is useless now and a toolkit with a spare plug and cord.

http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g35/thatp1g/boystuff/P5030119.jpg

It will need a fresh squeeze thing in the fuel line cause the one on it at the moment has gone hard.

And here is the little 10 foot cat i had it on which scared me stupid because it went as fast as a jetski.

http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g35/thatp1g/DSC00001.jpg

It is now electric.

03-05-2012, 06:56 PM
I can't reply to your p.m.'s you'll need to delete a few.

I'd drive up on Saturday and buy it off you no worries if you think $650 is fair, or put it on ebay and see how it goes, the long shaft might count against it a bit, but I think you could do better.

C.J.

frawlz
03-05-2012, 08:20 PM
will delete a few pms, i'm only a new member so i guess it's got some limit. Just wanted to put some pics up for you.

Goodoo haven
03-05-2012, 08:29 PM
nice neat motor there for the money your asking