View Full Version : Sneaky, quickie, tricky... ssh !

25-04-2012, 07:08 PM
With little to no notice I upped and off to places North, last Sunday afternoon.

Anthony ( Muddy Toes ) & Dave ( Muddy Toes …. I have no idea ???? ) dragged the big arse Sea Pro and I towed ReBait.

The Chongster had put his hand up early to come on board as my deckie, but could only manage getting to 1770 Monday night. ::)

Now Anthony apparently has been awake for 48 hrs .. ? Flying from N/W.A. Over to Brisvegas, in the car and 9 hrs to Agnes, then first up 2 hours in boat, so he's travelled 4,876,921 miles in 24 hours..................... :o

Conditions were not as I liked or expected. Southerly run in water, big easterly rolling swell and SW winds producing smallish wind waves and chop made it a tad uncomfortable.. Plans to head wide were ditched and we pottered around closer to shore, but eventually got to Lady Musgrave area. With only a couple of reefies in the esky and one lonely Red and the day passing away I made tracks for the mainland and “ A Salt Weapon “ not far behind. Anthony busted his Red cherry and couldn't be happier. Respectable fish around the 7 – 8kg mark. :)

Plans for an overnighter were dashed late on Monday night when a squizz at the charts, buoyweather and seabreeze showed a deterioration in conditions so plan B came into effect.

We had a gentlemans hours start and met AF'ers MICHAELG and propdinger ( seperate boats ) on our way out the creek. Michael had been some 18k's out and was getting bashed and nothing on the chew, while propdinger was returning from 5 days at Pancake Creek, telling us the fishing was crap due to netters wrecking havoc in the creek system. >:(

Team Muddy Toes decided to have an engine admiration session on the way out and were about 5 minutes behind us. Team ReBait hit the close reefs and Matt dropping first fish in the esky. Bad move !! Action slow so I made several calls and plans and at the next location, started putting some fish in the box. Location #4 saw my PB Golden Trevally and 2 good Snapper as well as another Red hit the floor. By this time chong has changed his name to “ The Verminator “ with Shark, Remora, Trigger and Iodine keeping him busy. 8-)

Lots of chatter on the radio and a few boats heading out from Gladstone for overnighters at Douglas Shoals, but strangely the VMR forecasts were for 20knot winds on Wednesday. They didn't arrive until Wednesday arvo, which really peeved us all off as in hindsight, we could have stayed out Tuesday night.

During they day we drifted, used the Shute and anchored all bringing limited results. Late on Tuesday arvo Rebait hit a purple patch which made the 140ltr esky look respectable.

Tuesday evening at Sunlover saw Dave cooking up some snags and Chong doing wonders with chips and salad for dinner. 1 bottle of rum, a 6 pac of Cider and a 750ml Gallway Pipe later and all was good. Anthony being a non drinker and Dave having minimal. You'll can figure the rest. ::)

Chongs colourful re-enactment and description of the momentous event of the Flat-Headed Foot Sandal Fish was something that should have been video'd. Many laughs later and it was well into the wee hours of Wednesday morning.

Thanks to Anthony and Dave for great company and to the Chongster for being deckie and filleting the fish.

Pics below.

Chongs mates little girl was over at his place when we stopped in on the return trip. I didn't take any on water shots so Victoria is holding up some specimens. Trouble is she is now demanding her dad catch fish like Matt and Phill............ sorry Peter... hahahahahaa

cheers LP

A Salt Weapon crossing the bar Monday.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/SANY0021640x480-1.jpg

Cherry popping Red.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/SANY0030640x480-1.jpg

PB Golden.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/SANY0043480x640.jpg

Snap...lost ?

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/SANY0044480x640.jpg

Daves MASSIVE parrot, but non-the less a good fish.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/SANY0031640x480-1.jpg

The Lark, lurking arounbd at Sunset...

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/SANY0029640x480-1.jpg

Conditions...

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/SANY0022640x480.jpg

This pic is for finga ( Scotty )

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/SANY0032640x480-1.jpg

and just to prove I was working... :)

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/SANY0047640x480.jpg

cheers .........................

XtremeBoony
25-04-2012, 07:31 PM
Might not have been the best conditions but least u got out and brained a few reefies, thanks for the report Phillis and well done ;D

Cheers from boony

25-04-2012, 07:48 PM
Thanks Phill for the entertaining report. Let's just hope the crap weather blows itself away in the next 2 weeks.

Apollo
26-04-2012, 06:38 AM
Well done boys. Beats the hell out of mowing the lawn (sorry Rod).

marto78
26-04-2012, 07:46 AM
So who was the guy in the maroone tinny that came back in with you guys Monday arvo that decided to take a swim at the pontoon?

26-04-2012, 04:27 PM
Really, missed that one.......... I know MichealG has a maroon tinny ?

LP

26-04-2012, 04:37 PM
Anthony - I told you he was the trevally king !!!

MICHAELG
26-04-2012, 08:39 PM
PHil , chong good to se ya
i managed to get this arvo was like glass . caught some gold spot cod and RTE's and 2small reds
wasn't me at pontoon are you talking about big fisher why wait think it was called ?

Muddy Toes
26-04-2012, 11:09 PM
Thanks for the opportunity Phill.....I had an absolute blast learning new things.Great place, great company...couldn't ask for anything else....except for maybe a little less banter while I'm trying to fillet fish.
18 minutes is pretty normal isn't it?

Streaker
27-04-2012, 06:12 AM
Good report Phill
Hope you left some for me and the guys on Scam.
wayne

27-04-2012, 04:57 PM
Yes Wayne, although I did visit some of those marks I passed onto you. :)

LP