PDA

View Full Version : Yamaha 60 2 stroke or 60 4 stroke on 450 quintrex

COASTCUT
18-04-2012, 01:49 PM
hi im just getting into the fishing scene and looking at buying a boat.ive been looking around and pretty much decided on a brand new quintrex 450 escape. i want the boat for fishing and also i have my wife and 3 young children so want to use it with them to.i live in nelson bay so i am pretty much on the water. im not sure which motor to put on it
the oil injected 2 stroke 60 or the 4 stroke 60

3rd degree
18-04-2012, 01:57 PM
If you can afford it go the 4 stroke...

Cheers

Jim

hooknpull
18-04-2012, 02:15 PM
Second that...

TheSaint
18-04-2012, 02:43 PM
third that...

Lovey80
18-04-2012, 03:54 PM
4 stroke for me too. Just make sure that you give it a very healthy flush with fresh water every time you finish usinging it ie 15minutes a go.

Crocodile
18-04-2012, 04:14 PM
Hello Coastcut,

a very good question.
I recently needed to replace my 60hp 2s Yamaha.
Did I ever wonder over the decision.
Two Stroke
about $1000 cheaper to buy (I did not want to over-capitalise on an older boat)
noticably more power (important for me as I cross bars)
Four stroke
uses less fuel (but not nearly enough to make up the extra buying price)
quieter at idle (not much quieter at cruise, I don't spend much time at idle)
probably better re-sale given the current paranoia about fuel costs.

The agent did give me a drive of a 4s, which I thought was very fair.
I went for the two stroke and am satisfied.

COASTCUT
18-04-2012, 05:23 PM
at the moment im thinking the 2 stroke not because of the price difference but from what ive read they are far more powerful than the 4st and i want to make sure that i have more power than what i need.i have to make my mind up quickly because i want to order the boat by the weekend

Moffy
18-04-2012, 06:20 PM