View Full Version : Towing 4.2m tinnie

mattttty
12-04-2012, 07:57 PM
hey i am looking at buying a 4.2 m tinnie and i have a ba xr6 turbo auto and just wondering how it would go getting the boat in and out of the water would there be traction issues ect
also wondering if yous would know what sort of weight a tinnie and trailer that size would be thanks

Fed
12-04-2012, 08:14 PM
You'll be fine on the ramp mate.
Wild guess on the rig, 500Kgs.

midcoast learner
12-04-2012, 08:18 PM
hey i am looking at buying a 4.2 m tinnie and i have a ba xr6 turbo auto and just wondering how it would go getting the boat in and out of the water would there be traction issues ect
also wondering if yous would know what sort of weight a tinnie and trailer that size would be thanks

I pull a 5.3 glass Carribean Concorde up the ramp with no issue so a 4.2 tinnie should be ok.I don't put my tyres on the wet part though.I have a BA wagon.

Chas & Clarry
12-04-2012, 08:19 PM
Unless I have misunderstood the vehicle you are talking about there is no 4.2m tinnie that your car would have any trouble launching on any normal ramp IMO.

We have a pretty heavy (3mm alloy, heavy ribbing etc) 4.2 , very beamy, fully floored and with large cast decks, 75 litre live well which is often still full (therefore weighs 75kg) when we retrieve the boat onto the trailer, plus 40hp motor and our stock standard 2001 commodore launches and retreaves it effortlessly.

Can't see you having trouble Mattttty (hope I got the right number of "t"s :) ).

mattttty
12-04-2012, 08:39 PM
cheers this will be my first boat so just a bit worried.

Damned67
12-04-2012, 08:44 PM
You'll be fine. I towed my 4.2m rig with a '90 Toyota Corolla for 12 months, and never had a problem. That included two trips to Kauri Creek, launching and retrieving on a dirt/rock 'ramp' (but that was front wheel drive too, which probably helped... plus the rocks helped with traction).
Actually I tell a lie..... I had huge problems maintaining highway speeds up hills!

Chas & Clarry
12-04-2012, 09:06 PM
You'll be fine. I towed my 4.2m rig with a '90 Toyota Corolla for 12 months, and never had a problem.

LOL, I should have added that we used to tow our first boat (an open savage approx 4.2 with 25hp) all over the place with an old Morris 1500...and our second one (4.29 Abalone Centre Console with 40hp) with a 1959 FE holden. No drama's with either of those...well no more dramas than we had with those cars when we weren't towing !!

mattttty
12-04-2012, 09:11 PM
No worries thanks everyone

Fed
12-04-2012, 09:22 PM
That would be a 1959 FC Holden C&C.

I once towed a 25' Flybridge Bertram (2x470s) with my old 351 Ford LTD.

wacoaus
12-04-2012, 09:36 PM
i tow a 4.5m fibreglass runabout with a 2.4litre auto lancer. knocks the fuel economy down to 17.5litres per hundred though. no probs on ramps as long as not going to extremes and front wheel drive keeps the drive wheels further up the ramp away fron water and slime for grip. would rather have a grand cherokee but out of my budget sadly

Chas & Clarry
13-04-2012, 05:30 AM
That would be a 1959 FC Holden C&C.

Hey Fed...thanks for noting an error...but it was the wrong error

It was an FE (Photographic evidence below) :)...I typed the wrong year not the wrong letter :-[...it was a 1958 FE Special Sedan...loved that car, always got attention at old holden rallies too because there were lots of FCs but very few FEs about. Used it as our wedding car

Photo of the car with us on our way to our honeymoon almost 30 years ago...note the fishing rod in hand!
The boat was hooked up soon after and we headed to the Sunshine coast :)

Tim and Trace

Fed
13-04-2012, 06:50 AM
Good memories C&C, my first car was a FC they had personality back then.

Tailortaker
13-04-2012, 06:50 PM
You'll have no worries

theangryangler
14-04-2012, 10:00 AM
not a worry in the world mate i have a BAII XR8 and pulled around a 5m side console with a 90L underfloor tank around 1.2T if i remember correctly. sometimes forgot it was even on the back and pulling out of the water is easy just dont pllant ya foot
steady and slow wins the show ;D
being a rear wheel drive is actually better IMo as the weight on the tow ball gives a bit of extra grip.
Good luck and good fishin
Angry

Damned67
14-04-2012, 11:10 AM
Just for fun, here's a pic of the ol' tow vehicle.
With 15ft 'glass canoe on her roof, in the campground in Eurimbula National Park.
Should have seen the look on the other campers faces when we rolled in!
Come to think of it, I was shocked too! (had planned on going to a campground in 1770, but curiosity got the better of us).

Chas & Clarry
14-04-2012, 03:15 PM
Just for fun, here's a pic of the ol' tow vehicle.
With 15ft 'glass canoe on her roof, in the campground in Eurimbula National Park.
Should have seen the look on the other campers faces when we rolled in!

When I was first fishing from a boat it was with a mate who had a 12' dingy that we used to take to the pin on top of his stock standard early 70s mini...didn't look right but it worked

te aruhe
28-04-2012, 05:10 PM
fishing rod on your honeymoon.... YES! important to establish priorities early!

Chas & Clarry
28-04-2012, 06:44 PM
fishing rod on your honeymoon.... YES! important to establish priorities early!

Lucky for me Trace loves fishing, and we caught a heap on the honeymoon, both from the beach and in the boat!

Grumpah
29-04-2012, 01:13 PM
No worries - I tow my 4.2 metre (when I very rarely get to use it) with my unladen Mazda BT50 2WD ute and it has no probs getting it up any ramp I've been on so far. Weight of my Mako Tournament tracker with floors, decks, 110 litre live well, 30 horse Tohatsu, extra deep cycle battery, minkota electric motor etc is about 350kg plus trailer.