View Full Version : NO tags?

zac320
08-04-2012, 11:56 PM
Hello I posted a tread awhile ago, I bought a boat awhile ago off a bloke it was his project and he needed cash so I bought it off him, it's a 15ft someone said it looks like a pride starfire or a carabean, anyway it's got a dt85 on the back. Theres no tags on the boat or motor, is there a welch plug on the motor somewhere? Anyway what I'm asking is Im in Victoria, will I be able to register the boat?

FishHunter
09-04-2012, 05:13 AM
Maybe with some more info or pics people would be able to help you?

Feral
09-04-2012, 05:47 AM
You should be able to register it, get you local mechanic to find the serial number on the motor, thats the one they get cranky about. Had all sortds of problems wityh the Qld nobs when I wanted to register my Dam boat for a trip to Awoonga, they wanted a number for the motor, I said which motor, I've got 4, not sure which one I'll be using yet. Normally it only runs electrics. Had to supply a number off one of the motors or they wouldn't register it. Idiots.

Just tell them its an old hull made before builders plates, they should arrange a number and tag for you.

zac320
26-04-2012, 03:35 PM
still cant find the seriel, theres no welch plug at all and there doesnt appear that ones been removed either. heres a few pictures, also i assume someone has removed the oil injection from this motor.

zac320
26-04-2012, 03:50 PM
http://img844.imageshack.us/img844/2715/img0032fa.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/844/img0032fa.jpg/)
http://img40.imageshack.us/img40/8876/img0506up.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/40/img0506up.jpg/)
http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/2899/img0509pg.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/220/img0509pg.jpg/)
http://img14.imageshack.us/img14/6333/img0511bx.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/14/img0511bx.jpg/)
http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/2671/img0031hi.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/94/img0031hi.jpg/)
http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/3402/img0030vv.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/208/img0030vv.jpg/)
http://img835.imageshack.us/img835/1657/img0029wo.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/835/img0029wo.jpg/)
http://img577.imageshack.us/img577/53/img0028fp.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/577/img0028fp.jpg/)
http://img717.imageshack.us/img717/1099/img0544h.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/717/img0544h.jpg/)
http://img651.imageshack.us/img651/6272/img0543zt.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/651/img0543zt.jpg/)

zac320
30-04-2012, 03:05 PM
Anyone? I reckon it might be cheaper, to just chuck that motor on ebay and just buy another one from there ive seen a few motors ranging from 75hp to 90hp with all controls and stuff for for around $2000, there older motors but that seems reasonable, do you guys reckon thats the best option?

zac320
01-05-2012, 09:24 PM
Noone? haha, also the floor is removable, so do i just screw self tappers into the fibreglass when i mount the seats? And how do i go about screwing the ski pole in, does that need more reinforcing?

02-05-2012, 07:23 AM
Mate. If you go and see the copper they will give you a number after doing some checks to register the motor.
Go down that path.

Hard to tell about the other stuff without pictures but the ski pole will need something substantial to mount to.

gazza2006au
02-05-2012, 09:22 PM
i remember this engine from the other thread i already told u the engine serial number is on the lower left C clamp u can see the plate in the picture use a rag with fuel on it to remove the paint over the plate if there are no numbers stamped take it down to the local police station along with your receipt of purchase the cops will all ok the engine and give u a letter to take to get the boat/engine registered
if u flog the engine off on ebay your going to have the buyer coming around to your house asking wtf is going on and why u ripped him off unless u state it can be only used for spare parts not for re registering purposes believe it or not even if u state the engine has no identification numbers u will sell it on ebay but dont expect much for it