View Full Version : Swap a 4.1 Haines

lucee81
06-04-2012, 08:14 PM
i have recenty aquired a 4.1mt haines hull it has good stringers,floor but the transom will need to be replaced. i am looking for someone that has something a bit smaller about 3mt not really fussed on the condition or if it even floats that would be interested in a trade will have photos tomorrow when i take delivery of said boat.

Lucas

lucee81
07-04-2012, 09:05 PM
Okay so the boat is a haines V13 and now am considering rebuiling the transom as this is all that is wrong with it and seems a shame to destroy it.

I know absolutly nothing about these boats so any info would be appreciated.
Offer still there to swap for a smaller fiberglass if one

Gon Fishun
07-04-2012, 09:25 PM
Okay so the boat is a haines V13 and now am considering rebuiling the transom as this is all that is wrong with it and seems a shame to destroy it.

I know absolutly nothing about these boats so any info would be appreciated.
Offer still there to swap for a smaller fiberglass if one

Invalid attachment Lucee81 . Caint see any pictures.

gazza2006au
07-04-2012, 09:39 PM
i just read the other day on another forum from a well known source the haines V13 was the best ever made hull from haines to date

Gon Fishun
07-04-2012, 09:52 PM
Back in about 1984 I owned a Haines V133 with a 50 hp Suzuki and it was a great little boat. Solid as a rock, bit on the heavy side, but went well, had back to back seats and was quite comfortable.

lucee81
07-04-2012, 10:07 PM
Will repost pic in morning. Solid little hull.

lucee81
07-04-2012, 10:10 PM
So I may be strung and quartered if I take to it with a circular saw and cut it in half. If its that good I may rebuild the transom. I spent the morning pulling everything off it and it's solid as a rock. (except transom).

lucee81
07-04-2012, 10:12 PM
Back in about 1984 I owned a Haines V133 with a 50 hp Suzuki and it was a great little boat. Solid as a rock, bit on the heavy side, but went well, had back to back seats and was quite comfortable.

I have it as a blank hull so no seats and will now need to redo dash but that's easy enough.

What to do what to do. I guess ponder the situation over a jacks.

lucee81
08-04-2012, 05:57 AM
hopefully it works this time.

lucee81
10-04-2012, 03:07 PM
Who said boats cost a fortune???
Not even the end of the week i have secured a trailer for the low cost of a spare prop i have sitting in the shed...
Now who knows how to fix a transom.....

BGG
11-04-2012, 06:53 AM
It doesn't actually look like a Haines from that photo. A few more pics would be handy.

lucee81
11-04-2012, 07:55 AM
Definatly a haines v13 has the sticker pack still on it.
Will be removing motor etc this weekend and will get photos.

BGG
11-04-2012, 08:36 AM
It’s the hull line under the rego numbers that has me guessing. Here’s a pic of the same section of a V133 I found on the web. It’s flat just as I remember them to be.

11-04-2012, 09:37 AM
Get a quote from someone like Arnolds in Brisbane or Al Broughton on the Sunny Coast to do your transom before doing it yourself. It might be surprisingly cheap for guys like these to do it as they do it every day of the week.

matt fraser
11-04-2012, 10:46 AM
Have a search through Ausfish for transom repair or rebuilds. A few on here. Not a big job if you have the tools, skills, knowledge and place to do it, but if you don't have all those things. Its a messy, itchy, noisy, time consuming job, fraught with danger.

Load up on some knowledge first, and weigh up your options.

She is a Haines, just a very old one, only a few of them getting around still if you check out ebay, boat point etc.

Good luck,

lucee81
11-04-2012, 11:28 AM
Got the tools and the space in the back yard but thats where it stops i have heard from a few people its harder than it looks. Have a bit of wood working and fiber glass skill (not a great deal but some).
Will research a bit more i reckon.

matt fraser
11-04-2012, 02:25 PM
Got the tools and the space in the back yard but thats where it stops i have heard from a few people its harder than it looks. Have a bit of wood working and fiber glass skill (not a great deal but some).
Will research a bit more i reckon.

Sounds like you are more than half way there,

Here are some threads that might help.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?170494-Haines-146-rebuild&highlight=Haines+rebuild

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?175199-565R-Project&highlight=Haines+rebuild

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?165039-V17-Haines-rebuild-about-to-start&highlight=Haines+rebuild

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?176772-Transom-rebuild-attempt&highlight=Haines+rebuild

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?170362-DIY-Transom-Repair-Haines-1950R&highlight=Haines+rebuild

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?137109-haines-445r-f-conversion-is-under-way.-Updates-regularly&highlight=Haines+rebuild

lucee81
11-04-2012, 03:23 PM
I see one of them rebuilds was yours and also Mustang5 who is a mate of mine and hes moving back to bris in a couple of weeks. I nearly let this project go.
i have heard daunting stories on replacing the transom. how hard can it really be. Got a quote for $3100. dont think so. Will look at hull again saturday and make my decision.

lucee81
14-04-2012, 03:12 PM
THe boat is now home and i have had a bit of a look at the transom. before the motor came off today i gave it a good shake and the transom did not wobble so this is a very good thing, no replacement needed however there is a crack in the transom that some bog made from resin, talc powder and i can not remember the 3rd ingredient.7889678895788977889878899