View Full Version : Finally got out

Daintreeboy
06-04-2012, 09:23 AM
We finally got a chance to get an offshore trip in Wednesday. We took a mate (Muggsy) who has not fished much and had never caught a Red Emperor or a Large Mouth Nannygai (Sadletail Snapper). You can imagine his delight when he got one on the first spot before the sun had even set! Derek got one here too and we also got three trout, a Spangeld Emperor and a sizeable Large Mouth to boot. The boys could have gone home then happy men.

Before the sun had set we had 7 trout in the esky including a 7 kilo Blue Spot that Muggsy nailed to make his day even better.

After dark the sharks and Red Bass gave us heaps with Muggsy landing eight 5 kilo Bass in a row. His next bait then took off with what we all thought was a big shark but he wanted to catch it and persisted destroying himself in the process. It was a good call with a massive GT brought boatside after a sustained battle. I say with a fair amount of confidence this fish was over 35 kilos.

The sharks chased us to another area where we got more large and small mouth nannys plus a cod and a nice little Mangrove Jack to finish off. Final tally was 37 fish which included 7 or 8 large mouth to 6 kilos to go with the two Reds, a bunch of Spangeld Emperor and Long nose. Muggsy has another excuse to come out as he missed out on poppins his Large Mouth cherry but he didn't seem to mind after the fish he caught. Was good to get out 8-)

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/pencil.png

Spot82
06-04-2012, 12:20 PM
Sounds like a great trip!!! Nice pics too! The trout is a cracker!!

Thanks for sharing

Anthony

06-04-2012, 08:43 PM
That Trouts a ripper. i reckon you have a fishing convert on your hands

cobiaman
06-04-2012, 08:54 PM
Cracking conditions by the looks of it too, well done

XtremeBoony
07-04-2012, 06:22 AM
Well done mark on a quality trip, definitely agree with tony, that's a cracker trout and a massive GT. awesome

Cheers from boony

Pazz01
07-04-2012, 07:44 AM
Looks like a great trip. The weather was fantastic earlier in the week. That's a horse of a trout and GT.

Pazz

Redrocks
10-04-2012, 09:42 PM
That is a cracking trout, would've looked awesome seeing it come up in the glassy water.

martib
18-04-2012, 10:25 AM
Nice fish well done mark

castamasta
18-04-2012, 01:54 PM
Cheers for the report Mark,good fishing mate.
Gav.

webby nq
18-04-2012, 09:06 PM
Looks like you Finally made the most of it lad with some solid fish, nothing worse when the boat sits in the backyard gathering dust