View Full Version : Offshore with JT

XtremeBoony
05-04-2012, 11:13 AM
Well it was about time two of emu parks finest got out and had a fish together.....Well i don't know who those idiots are but me and Jt Python went out fishing for the day :P

It all started with me sleeping in :-[ and a very embarassing phone call was taken at about ten to five with JT saying "were are u?" not the best start but i made it to the marina quick smart, loaded the gear and off we went.::) There was also a scratchie at stake for the biggest red fish of the day too so it was game on ;D

We headed east to fish some fern ground so we could come home with the predicted SE'er that was due that arve. This trip I was trialing a different setup with the PE tackle gear to see how they would go.

http://img11.imageshack.us/img11/544/petackleredzebragang.jpg
By xtremeboony (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/xtremeboony) at 2012-04-04
Red Zebra fly with ganged 8'o deep v reefmasters

We were using a mixture of pillies, fresh squid and frozen slimies. No time to stop and chase livies with the time of the tide. So out we shot, sounded around and down the lines went. Things were quiet with a few moves here and there before I finally came up tight. With not much fight but good weight I was thinking cod, then a nice largie pops it's head up. With bugger all fight we were all surprised.

http://img710.imageshack.us/img710/4519/johnlargie1.jpg

As soon as that largie was on board Jt swung back around and anchored up not wanting to spread the school. Next drop and i'm on again with a quality trout swung over the side.

http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/5724/johntrout.jpg
http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/6876/troutheadfly.jpg
Ganged red zebra holding well

JT was next with another solid large mouth
http://img6.imageshack.us/img6/9834/jtlargie.jpg

Another largie by your truly
http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/1079/johnlargie2.jpg

The red bite seemed all done and dusted by about 10am'ish so we picked up a few straglers as well as a decent black king.
As JT was giving me shit about sleeping in the drivers chair that he was sitting in broke and all i could do was laugh. Laughing at him not the damage so I now ask him constantly when he is going to weight watchers ;D

The scratchie will have to wait as both our biggest largies went 81cm so a dead heat was declared.

Overall I had a ball with JT and his old man Bill. My missus Amanda was pissed off cause she couldn't come and anyone that knows her knows she is a ball breaker when she is cranky. Allways next time sweety ;D

So thanks for invite JT and hope to do it again soon. I'm sure if I have missed anything JT will add ::)

cheers from boony

P.S a couple more pics and also very impressed with the pe tackle rig. The reason for trying this is (IN MY OPINION) the hook up rate using a stinger setup was good but not awesome. Using this rig I managed 100 percent strike rate from hooking up on the bottom and getting them in the boat. Not sure if sean from PE is going to market them as I was just trialing them.

http://img638.imageshack.us/img638/7447/johnlargies.jpg

http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/4179/johncobia.jpg

http://img14.imageshack.us/img14/2782/thehaul.jpg

fishfeeder
05-04-2012, 11:26 AM
Mate well done and top report and pictures...

Good to see you got out for a fish and weren't left at home.... Sleeping in, shame shame shame !!!

I did the same thing to a few of the PE Tackle flies to try on Macks, but haven't had a chance to give them a swim.

Muddy Toes
05-04-2012, 11:32 AM
That's it......I'm moving to the Capricorn Coast, no one seems to work there.Well done BIATCH!!!!!

pipifin
05-04-2012, 11:50 AM
Definitely getting up there for the tight lines classic.
Great report.

DAZMC1
05-04-2012, 01:43 PM
Top stuff boys. I think theres too much camp food on offer for JT.

Sheik
05-04-2012, 05:38 PM
Well done boony. JT, you might need a new hull now that chair is broken?

vertico
05-04-2012, 05:48 PM
nice work boony love it!

ifishcq1
05-04-2012, 06:30 PM
Pair of plicks
some of us have to work you know

well done

TREVELLY
05-04-2012, 08:12 PM
Dangit - a top effort and by all accounts you had good weather. :)

All caught prospecting the fern country?

Having a look at what is forecast for when I am up there next week :o - hope it changes!

Thanks for the report - some sensational fish in that lot.

05-04-2012, 08:34 PM
Glad you left some for us. Thanks for the report.

05-04-2012, 09:56 PM
Now who sleeps in on a fishing trip sheeshus
Was a great trip and great heading out with Boony and the weather wasn't really flash but not a bad feed for what we did and boony done most of the damage i dropped my then i caught lol
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/IMG_2176.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/IMG_2184.jpg
Short video: http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/th_IMG_2170.jpg (http://s371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/?action=view&current=IMG_2170.mp4)
And hey poor me being a fat buggar hey Was a great trip and enjoy Boony's input

Well tried again today but the wind was mad as so tried to chase some bait toooooo muchhhhhhhhhhhhh Freshwater around the islands and the sarratoga were taking our baits jigs lol
So went to the creek chasing bait for the next red trip
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/IMG_2196.jpg
Bailey is starting to be more like a sloth everyday LOL
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/IMG_2199.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/IMG_2202.jpg

05-04-2012, 09:57 PM
That's it......I'm moving to the Capricorn Coast, no one seems to work there.Well done BIATCH!!!!!
Dam Miners hey . Got to love 7 on 7 off

XtremeBoony
06-04-2012, 06:19 AM
Thanks for the feedback ladies and gents, definitely wasn't the best weather or tide but still had great fun with great company.

Cheers from boony

XtremeBoony
06-04-2012, 06:24 AM
Mate well done and top report and pictures...

Good to see you got out for a fish and weren't left at home.... Sleeping in, shame shame shame !!!

I did the same thing to a few of the PE Tackle flies to try on Macks, but haven't had a chance to give them a swim.

Will be interested to know if they do any good with the macks Brett so let us know, cheers

XtremeBoony
06-04-2012, 06:25 AM

Muddy, us miners work very hard indeed but only for half the year....suckers ;D

Cheers from boony

XtremeBoony
06-04-2012, 06:28 AM
Dangit - a top effort and by all accounts you had good weather. :)

All caught prospecting the fern country?

Having a look at what is forecast for when I am up there next week :o - hope it changes!

Thanks for the report - some sensational fish in that lot.

Trev, yeah mate just patches of fern ground, it was funny cause I asked Jt if it was his secret spot after another boat pulled up ;D

Cheers from boony

06-04-2012, 08:51 AM
Trev, yeah mate just patches of fern ground, it was funny cause I asked Jt if it was his secret spot after another boat pulled up ;D

Cheers from boony
Your retarded

Muddy Toes
06-04-2012, 09:22 AM
Dam Miners hey . Got to love 7 on 7 off

Muddy, us miners work very hard indeed but only for half the year....suckers ;D

Cheers from boony

Bla Bla Bla........even time and fishing in between.I hate you guys.

I think I'll just stick with 4 weeks on 1 week off with predictably shit weather every R&R.You guys are jealous hey?:P

TREVELLY
06-04-2012, 10:09 AM
I hear what you guys are saying about the weather not being fantastic but it looks a lot better than the stuff that is coming for my visit next week - do hope Humpy Island boat anchoring is protected enough from this stuff ???

Will have to make the most of Monday sightseeing with the family and maybe just tough it out solo fishing after that :-? Hopefully it will change.

And yep when I was on a mine site in PNG it was 26 on 9 off and the guys we met at the airport in Moresby that were 1 month on 1month off just gave us a smile that said "you suckers ;D "

Do you reckon those flies made a difference to the number of hits versus others without them - I have tried flies in 70-80m deep water and get more tangles than it is worth. I stick with lumo tube and beads as others there seem to have. I am going to give the lumo plastic squid a go too - reckon slide them over a pilly should be interesting.

06-04-2012, 12:35 PM
Bla Bla Bla........even time and fishing in between.I hate you guys.

I think I'll just stick with 4 weeks on 1 week off with predictably shit weather every R&R.You guys are jealous hey?:P

4 weeks on 1 week off man i'll swap my boat for a chance to do that roster:-X

06-04-2012, 12:38 PM
Yup mate not bad anchorage and some nice reef this side of Humpy from the SE . If you get stuck for proper anchorage gear i use 60 foot chain and plough anchor if u want to borrow i'm heading to work now but oldman can be here to help u out
JT We use to camp humpy all the time

Muddy Toes
06-04-2012, 12:48 PM
4 weeks on 1 week off man i'll swap my boat for a chance to do that roster:-X

May as well swap the boat.........It's more of a lawn trawler these days on this roster.

sid_fishes
06-04-2012, 01:04 PM
I,ll give you 25 for that lawn trawler. hell ill even let you tow it to where we can go fishing

TREVELLY
06-04-2012, 01:39 PM
Yup mate not bad anchorage and some nice reef this side of Humpy from the SE . If you get stuck for proper anchorage gear i use 60 foot chain and plough anchor if u want to borrow i'm heading to work now but oldman can be here to help u out
JT We use to camp humpy all the time

Cool thanks for the tip that it should be all good based on your experience.

I will be fine with the chain and anchor - I have a heap of good anchor chain too for reef trips and overnighters and a suitable Sarca anchor.

thelump
06-04-2012, 05:22 PM
Well done fellas. Some great fish and a bit of banter. Thats what its all about.

06-04-2012, 06:55 PM
Sounds like you both had fun and a few nice fish to top it off. Next time Boony can stay home with the kids and Amanda can get among them;D
I like the look of those PE rigs. I wonder how they would go with a swivel between the hooks. JT, what rig were you using? It looks like a !/2 barrel sinker to a lumo Squid then Tube. Very interesting

Bull
06-04-2012, 10:01 PM
Thanks for the report and pics guys.Looks and sounds like you had a great day out on the water.
Your roster beats mine even Anthony's roster beats my 6 days on 1 day off.

Cheers Brett

XtremeBoony
07-04-2012, 06:36 AM
The age old question of do the flys work? The best way I can explain is it's not some super duper fish catching magnet that will slay all sorts, more like the scent added to a soft plastic. I have seen a few occasions where I seem to get more interest using them then others who aren't. Some people don't like them but used the correct way like the rig in the pic with big baits I find them very effective (IN MY OPINION!!!!!!) and if it is possible to run swivels between the hooks I reakon it would better it again. Not sure how successful u would be doing that as I know Sean had a bit of trouble just ganging them but we will be sure to try. Hope this helps

Cheers from boony

TREVELLY
07-04-2012, 09:43 AM
I hear what you are saying Boony and I can see a lot of merit in shallower water where lowered not as a paternoster would at great speed to the depths with the bait helicoptering itself all the way to the bottom and the mylar hair tangling around everything ;D

I have tried the longer fly hair and then offshore given it a haircut to stop the tangles on paternoster rigs. And on the deeper drops have favoured short hair rigs with lumo hair included.

I reckon with a ball lead up the line and a trailing fly presented well in shallower water has merits and shows itself many times to do the job well. Would similarly work well in deeper water when at anchor when a lighter lead can be used (and not a paternoster) rather than fast heavy plummet to the bottom to get there and stay there for the drift.

On this trip I think a plastic squid (lumo) with lumo plastic lube and lumo bead would work best - just as long as I have a big enough hook so it doesn't pull out of the hooked fish (IN MY OPINION!!!!!!) ;D:-X;D

Leaving tonight - better get packing. :)

Keeping an eye on seabreeze too.

Say is there anything worth tracking down to look at about those islands with family sightseeing??

07-04-2012, 02:24 PM
There should be some saratoga around the keppels

TREVELLY
07-04-2012, 03:56 PM
There should be some saratoga around the keppels

And they are good bait for . . . .

;D

09-04-2012, 07:29 AM
They'll be great bait for all the crocs around there at the moment
:P

dean_allo
11-04-2012, 11:02 AM
Hey Boonie,

That rigs the go mate, ive been using it for a fair while now and love it. I also did it so the fly was on the bottom hook, the bait looks massive and always seem to get the bigger ones on that. Big bait big fish right? haha good report as usual mate. Might see you on the water up there somewhere. cheers.

Spot82
11-04-2012, 03:33 PM
Hey Boonie,

That rigs the go mate, ive been using it for a fair while now and love it. I also did it so the fly was on the bottom hook, the bait looks massive and always seem to get the bigger ones on that. Big bait big fish right? haha good report as usual mate. Might see you on the water up there somewhere. cheers.

Don't tell lies Allo!! Your boat never leaves its grassy home!! haha

14-04-2012, 11:34 AM
I'm sick of seeing all those pics of you holding up those fish Boony.

How about you put up some of Mrs Boony holding some fish up? :P

XtremeBoony
14-04-2012, 04:01 PM
Hey Boonie,

Yeah mate big baits are the go, always keen to catch up, give us a yell if u ever come this way and TOL when u come babysitting I'm sure I'll post more pics of the Missus with some big ones

Cheers from boony

Boat Hog
14-04-2012, 04:49 PM
TOL when u come babysitting I'm sure I'll post more pics of the Missus with some big ones

Cheers from boony

I'm pretty sure TOL wrote Fish ..... otherwise you'll have to put those pics in the bilge!:o

14-04-2012, 05:32 PM
Yeah mate big baits are the go, always keen to catch up, give us a yell if u ever come this way and TOL when u come babysitting I'm sure I'll post more pics of the Missus with some big ones

Cheers from boony

I knew there'd be a catch!

14-04-2012, 05:46 PM
I've been at work over a week now have spent hour making rigs and packed ready for next trip. Any break in this weather wonder how Trevalley went he was up this way during week blew most of time it blew and blew

XtremeBoony
14-04-2012, 06:35 PM
Tuesday morning would have been the only opportunity to get out if he did, other then that there would have been 1 meter swells in the creeks ;D couple of nights ago rundle island peaked at 39 knots, we have has a few showers last night and today as well

Cheers from boony

TREVELLY
15-04-2012, 05:41 PM
Maaaaattttte - it blew it's freaking socks off!!!!!

Left home Sunday morning 1am and was all set up on Humpy at 1pm - Sunday, Monday and Tuesday were just unbelievable.

I went up to fern country Tuesday solo - first bait on wide pinnacle and I was having a double hernia trying to pull up the monster 20 minutes later and I was requiring re-constructive surgery - up comes a grey shape >:( 2.5m white tipped whaler. Second bait a repeat but this time I had a rod bucket and it was give them heaps approach on 100lb braid - unfortunately around the pinnacle I could only raise sharks, hussars and baits were getting mobbed by leather jackets.

I tried two other spots nearby for more hussars then found an isolated peak with some colour and reckon I finally had on what I was after and 3/4 way up pulled the hooks in my enthusiasm to ensure it wasn't shark food :-[ and that was as close as I got in fern country to a good fish from 8am onsite till 2.30pm heading back to The Child for a troll. It was real calm first up and windy mid-day 20-25knots travelling at only 15kph then just dropped about 3pm to 10 knots then did 35kph second half of 40km trip to The Child. Real fickle.

I saw fish wide of The Child and trolled for a 12kg mac tuna - threw back then headed in closer to troll for a spaniard it was now 4pm. I trolled till 5pm then was ready to leave when I got a screaming hookup. 100lb braid on Daiwa sealine and critter took 200m - it was a heavy fish! I fought it for 20 minutes and it tried everything then from 200 out it ran hard at the boat chomping, and shaking it's head and thrashing about and finally with a loose line it got it's freedom - damn it was a BIG fish. It sat in the current for 5 minutes and with 100lb line we were even - it took none and I gained none - but still pulled hard to keep it even. Gotta love what I recon was an awesome spaniard - never will know but - a wahoo did similar to me once but this was a very very big and very angry fish either way - I enjoyed the competition and reckon with someone at the controls of boat it would not have been lucky enough to run down some slack line and the story would have had some great pic - but hey thats what I love about fishing - if I caught all the one's that got away I would have Australian record captures - nice to know they are still out there :)

Tuesday night it turned and was 35-40 on Wednesday and 30-35 knots on Thursday and we left 25knots Friday with 2.5m swell with 1m chop on top - WOW!

JT - Boony - send me your email addresses guys and I will send you photos to find an easy 30m of chain (6mm chain and 10mm chain) and a Sarca anchor (all new) (finders keepers) and a story - compliments of Humpy and 35-40 knot winds for freaking days - pushed the boat onto the beach twice (nearly killed me once pushing to get it back out against the shore break for 40 minutes) and saved it once from being blown over the horizon when I lost the anchor and chain. The anchor and chain will be an easy find in 2.5m of water once this sea settles and clear - I tried but in 1m viz in 30 knot wind it was not possible - so an easy $500 pick up of a set up - I would hate to see it stay in the sea or go to some other lucky tourist!

The first couple of days on island I resisted fishing the big schools of hardiheads being ambushed by trevs at my feet saying in a couple of day little Ronnie and I will be into these - but when it turned to crap the sea went milky the baitfish went wide and the opportunity passed - SHOOT really wanted to get the young fella onto something fun.

murf
15-04-2012, 06:23 PM
I am after a Sarca anchor and will be up that way soon :) :) :)

all fun and games :)

cheers Murf

TREVELLY
15-04-2012, 06:50 PM
I am after a Sarca anchor and will be up that way soon :) :) :)

all fun and games :)

cheers Murf

Well Murf from the pics I have of where the boat was sitting - if you have viz to bottom it is a very easy collect - just that 30 knot wind and 1m viz didn't make it possible for me. But otherwise I have pics of boat from beach and from hill top showing exactly where it was relative to the NPWS anchor buoys.

murf
15-04-2012, 06:57 PM
Well Murf from the pics I have of where the boat was sitting - if you have viz to bottom it is a very easy collect - just that 30 knot wind and 1m viz didn't make it possible for me. But otherwise I have pics of boat from beach and from hill top showing exactly where it was relative to the NPWS anchor buoys.

will be there straight after the Agnes M&G ;)

cheers Murf

15-04-2012, 07:05 PM
Mate tentjl2@bigpond.com.au will be there tuesday morning . Sorry to hear the wind was terrible but ya had fun hey
I'll get it for u and pass it on the Wags who can drop it back to u on way thru in may for ya

15-04-2012, 09:23 PM
I know it will replace mine Trev, but mine is 60 kms east of the harbour in 60 odd metres of water - can you get that for me JT?

TREVELLY
16-04-2012, 08:51 AM
Mate tentjl2@bigpond.com.au will be there tuesday morning . Sorry to hear the wind was terrible but ya had fun hey
I'll get it for u and pass it on the Wags who can drop it back to u on way thru in may for ya

JT we had a wonderful time there on the island and even when the weather got windy we still enjoyed the ridge top walk about the island and also did a couple of trips across to Keppel and enjoyed the quiet South end of the beach and rested under a palm tree and little fella had swims with dad and we all enjoyed lunch at the bar and grill and icecreams - so yes all things considered a great destination.

Whist I was away fishing on Tuesday the girls had a lazy day on Humpy and said it should be illegal for a place to be so perfect ;)

Just had to get a pic of the ladies carrying my fishing gear ;D

XtremeBoony
16-04-2012, 07:35 PM
Now that's well trained Trev, well done ;D

cheers from boony

TREVELLY
16-04-2012, 08:14 PM
Now that's well trained Trev, well done ;D

cheers from boony

Yes mate - I was so impressed I just had to get a few pics of my bride and daughter
;D

Don't reckon I will ever get them cleaning fish - but with my success in that field it isn't an issue to be concerned about :)

Would love to have had some pics of young fella being terrorised by the trevs there - they were everywhere the first couple of days before it turned murky and the baitfish moved out - oh well - next trip.

webby nq
18-04-2012, 08:10 PM
Some quality fish there lads , mixed in with a bit of competition you cant beat it hey

XtremeBoony
19-04-2012, 05:27 PM
Thanks to everyone that has taken the time to give feedback, always appreciated

Cheers from boony

murf
19-04-2012, 08:20 PM
Thanks to everyone that has taken the time to give feedback, always appreciated

Cheers from boony

well more reports then ;)

cheers Murf