View Full Version : What size Minn Kota for a 4m Explorer Trophy

Pougee
24-03-2012, 09:06 PM
Hi,

I'm looking to put a bowmount minn kota on my boat. I have a mate that has a 55lb and suggest for my boat probably the 80lb would be superior. I've also been told by a few people that a 55lb would do the job with ease. My worry is buying the 55lbs and regretting down the track not getting the bigger unit and struggling with wind and strong currents.

Kondo 1
24-03-2012, 09:51 PM
55 is ample on a 4m, I had a 55 on my 4.1 Brooker and it was perfect, even in some very solid run it had plenty of power. On my 4.55 Territory which is much heavier is is on its limit, not too bad 80% of the time but I do find its limits.

No way I would bother with the complexity of 24v on a 4m boat when 55 is plenty enough.

chris69
24-03-2012, 09:58 PM
Second what kondo said 24v 2 batteries

kondo1 try a kapwee prop it will help 3 blader

Kondo 1
24-03-2012, 11:18 PM
Gday Chris - I will look into that, cheers mate.

Pougee
25-03-2012, 10:44 AM
How would the 55lbs handle trolling into a strong wind?

Kondo 1
25-03-2012, 10:55 AM
Ipilot model great - 55Lb is plenty on a 4m boat with small windage like the explorer would be fine. How much wind would you want to be heading into anyway? Small boat like that you wouldn't want to be out in more than 15 maybe 20 anyway would you? Autopilot model not bad but Ipilot much better. If you are tossing up between the 80 and 55 then the budget for the terrova with factory ipilot (better release mechanism and no extra cables + you can run a foot pedal in unison if that is your thing) shouldn't be an issue.

Honestly I reckon you would do yourself more of an injustice adding an extra 30kgs up front than you are ever likely to gain with the extra thrust. Larger boat, absolutely - my next boat will have a 24 or 36v setup but i am probably talking a 5 odd metre plate boat.

I can relate to your feelings though, I felt the same way after committing to the 50hp on my territory (max avail) and knowing it wouldn't be quite enough, it wasn't it cost me a fortune to put a 70 on after the fact.

Certainly the 55 was more than enough (only used peak really to get it moving) on my 4.1 which was pretty heavy for a 4.1 and it had a bit more windage than the explorer. Even on a king runout tide in the Noosa River mouth it held its own, granted wasn't making way quickly but that was the only time it was tested.

Pougee
25-03-2012, 06:32 PM
Appreciate the input Kondo. I must add most of my fishing will be done inland on the Murray and such.

TheSaint
25-03-2012, 06:46 PM
A 55lb will be ideal as the extra weight for the 80lb battery will hurt the balance & the performance of your boat. Make sure you get good AGM 120 amp battery to power it.

Apollo
26-03-2012, 06:57 AM
I agree with the rest. I run a 54lb on my 4m glass boat and it does the job easily. Never have I wished for more grunt out of my electric motor.