View Full Version : Gold Coast Blue Marlin Report

Spot82
18-03-2012, 01:51 PM
Ok so I joined Surfers Paradise Game and Sports Fishing Club at the end of last year, and have done most of my fishing on Murphy's Law and a few trips on other boats, Ramjet, Trophy and Larva.

Murphy's Law only runs Larva Lures and the way they have been working this year, I would be doing the same thing, over 40 strikes for the season and 14 tagged fish for a trailer boat which often only sees the water on weekends since January this year, pretty impressive stats if you ask me. The only day I have been out on Mat's boat and not had multiple strikes was during the recent SPGSFC comp when the weather was horrendous.

The last trips I have done with Mat have resulted in 3-3-3 about 4 weeks ago on Blues and 4-4-3 on Blues yesterday. Talk about an awesome couple of days on the water.

I'll let the pics to do the rest of the talking.

If you have Facebook the pics can be found here from yesterdays trip:
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.296447657092228.68649.289593644444296&type=3

Video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efuMnYLulFs&feature=share

Spot82
18-03-2012, 02:00 PM
Joining a club is a great way to learn about learn about this type of fishing and a great way of making some new mates, everyone at SPGSFC is always willing to help out new members to help get them onto their first Billfish, best $85 I have spent for the year. Obviously there is still a lot to learn on your own back but this helps fast track the learning process considering the wealth of knowledge that various members of the club have.

And this is as much about fishing the right areas as what bottom fishing is, even if the structure is 300-1000m below where you catch the fish, a lot of the fish caught off the Gold Coast this year have been caught in the same general areas.

18-03-2012, 02:38 PM
Yep, saw the pics on FB before I saw the report here.

Cheers LP

outta line
18-03-2012, 03:37 PM
I am out fishing the reefs most weekends. Hearing all the chit chat from the boyz out wide sounds like fun times..Nice work... you boys had a wicked day...... i need some bigger gear b4 i venture out wide.. don't think the tld's would cut it
mick

Spot82
18-03-2012, 06:34 PM
Very true Mick, although a member on here has managed a few on TLD's and solo!!! Epic effort.

They do tend to take a lot of line very quick even off a 50W or 80W Tiagra though!!! The sound of the drag screaming as they hit certainly gets your attention!!

There should be some blacks in close soon with a bit of luck, as there have been some good reports from the sunny coast in the last week or so and some really nice bait balls showing up in close on the Goldy

Anthony

Spot82
18-03-2012, 09:27 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/419819_296447847092209_469129486_n.jpg

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/425270_296447867092207_289593644444296_721684_2099 720590_n.jpg

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/419327_296447887092205_289593644444296_721685_8324 77941_n.jpg

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/420061_296447897092204_289593644444296_721686_1328 488505_n.jpg

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/425328_296447953758865_289593644444296_721689_9589 59991_n.jpg

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/419820_296447993758861_289593644444296_721691_5091 70861_n.jpg

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/419535_296447803758880_289593644444296_721681_1223 261744_n.jpg

Te Whiti
18-03-2012, 09:35 PM
some great pictures there Anthony, well done.

outta line
19-03-2012, 06:56 AM
hey anthony... the water on the weekend was the best its been in close for a while lots of current nice and blue .. so year hopping after the blow there should be some fish in close to play with. Top effort on tlds for old mate iam assuming they were tld,s 50? . Ive caught heaps of little blacks b4 on tld 25 was ok they do the job.... best day 11-9-9... until one day off the pin on the 80m line through a lure out to head home. Watching to see how the lures were set this blue comes racing across the surface all lit up . took the 300m of braid and backing in no time the tld 25 was no match. Think ill get a few 50w LRS should be big enough for me .......your pics are unreel love the dolphin one......cheers mick

19-03-2012, 09:29 AM
That particular member just had 50lb mono on a TLD-25.

Good work Matt and crew!

3rd degree
19-03-2012, 03:08 PM
Good to hear there's a few still around Anthony.... some cracking pics there too!

It is possible to get blues on a tld 25, I've got 4 from 6 since January running 50lb.

Just need to be ready to turn and chase them....

Postal
19-03-2012, 04:16 PM
Great pics mate....one thing I've never understood with big game fishing what does 3-3-3 / 4-4-3 mean??

Postal

Spot82
19-03-2012, 04:30 PM
Great pics mate....one thing I've never understood with big game fishing what does 3-3-3 / 4-4-3 mean??

Postal

Hi Postal the 3-3-3 means 3 strikes, 3 hooked fish and 3 tagged, obviously 4-4-3 means we lost the 4th fish, Blue marlin are quite hard to keep connected in the early stages and a conversion rate of 50% of hooked fish to tagged is considered a great effort.

I will post up the video fromt he day in the next day or two, some awesome footage of saturday.

Below is the footage from a few weeks ago when we went 3-3-3

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YRiiBxzhFxM

Anthony

vertico
19-03-2012, 05:03 PM
I thought the first number was the number of fish raised ?

Midnight
19-03-2012, 10:21 PM
Always bites, hook ups, tags/release/capture Sean.

Myles

Bull
20-03-2012, 07:09 AM
Anthony,
Thanks for the report pics and the unreal video I love watching the stuff you put up.
Cheers Bull

vertico
20-03-2012, 04:10 PM
it can be raised as the 1st number......i was informed by top notch SCGFC members :P

Aussie123
20-03-2012, 04:14 PM
We always use Raised/Strikes/Tagged (landed,tagged ect)

Midnight
20-03-2012, 08:34 PM
Each to their own, but what is the point of recording a fish raised, that doesn't eat? I might as well record any free jumpers or free swimmers I see near the boat ;)

Myles

Spot82
20-03-2012, 09:49 PM
And on top of that who knows how many fish you "raise" and never see?? Kind of a hard stat to work off!

Spot82
21-03-2012, 03:10 PM
Here is the video from the latest trip

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efuMnYLulFs&feature=share

Anthony

vertico
21-03-2012, 08:05 PM
if you dont raise fish into the spread your obviously doing something wrong...

Midnight
21-03-2012, 08:36 PM
I don't have that problem too often :)

Fish_Two
21-03-2012, 09:17 PM
Hi Anthony,
I have been looking at joining a club for a while, as i just need more reasons to use the boat, im glad to here its a good club,

Is there a club season or just all year round?

How often do they head out?

any more details on the club would be great,

PS can we try and troll PE flies

thanks,
Glen

Spot82
22-03-2012, 10:51 AM
Club Season finishes mid year I believe, although I think the general meetings run year round. We don't actually ever head out as a club, but everyone knows when other boats are going out as there is a club facebook page and everyone keeps in contact on there. When ever the weather is good there will be multiple club boats out though.

Sean has caught a black Marlin on a PE fly using a dead yakka while guys were fishing with livies next to him, so can be done!

Mat Stehmann is the president and I am surprised he hasn't commented on this thread yet. Business Class is his name on here, send him a PM.

Anthony

vertico
22-03-2012, 06:35 PM
Im gonna tie up a head that i have here with some PE fly action and troll it for blacks.....see how it goes

Blindfreddy
22-03-2012, 09:02 PM
Club Season finishes mid year I believe, although I think the general meetings run year round. We don't actually ever head out as a club, but everyone knows when other boats are going out as there is a club facebook page and everyone keeps in contact on there. When ever the weather is good there will be multiple club boats out though.

Sean has caught a black Marlin on a PE fly using a dead yakka while guys were fishing with livies next to him, so can be done!

Mat Stehmann is the president and I am surprised he hasn't commented on this thread yet. Business Class is his name on here, send him a PM.

Anthony

What flavour PE fly was used for this capture?

Jerk n Wined
22-03-2012, 09:43 PM
Spot 82 thanks for deleting my last post (not sure why??),,, I have herd Larva lure team was disqualified in the gold coast comp this year as well.
Can you please explain that one?

Blindfreddy
23-03-2012, 06:15 AM
From information come my way, there was a simple mistake by one of the teams in a comp in regards to leader length but nothing too harsh. Ego deflated I reckon.

23-03-2012, 09:28 AM
Here you go Fred - read away.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?161938-Fly-fits-the-Bill!

Spot82
28-03-2012, 12:02 AM
Spot 82 thanks for deleting my last post (not sure why??),,, I have herd Larva lure team was disqualified in the gold coast comp this year as well.
Can you please explain that one?

I am not an Administrator so cannot delete posts, so thanks for accusing me of that when I didn't even see your previous post ::)

In the Gold Coast Comp the team fishing on Larva had a fish disqualified after capture as when measured the leader was slightly over the 9.14m maximum length, nothing more than a rigging mistake and in no way suggests bad sportsmanship, cheating or any other acts you might be hinting at. They took it on the chin as it was their own simple mistake.

If you read the rules regarding game fishing and leaders and rigging lures there is a lot of technicalities which need to be abided by, any one of these will result in a fish being disqualified, not the team being disqualifed.

Funny how quick everyone wants to jump on this forum and attack others, I thought the attitudes might have gotten better after the 6 months I stopped posting and only posted a couple of reports recently due to a number of requests. Seems once again a few idiots will wreck it for those who do enjoy reading quality posts and seeing quality pics ::)

Bull
28-03-2012, 10:14 AM
Well Anthony I for one like reading your reports watching your videos and pics.
Cheers Bull

fishfeeder
28-03-2012, 10:35 AM
Anthony, I enjoy your writings and photos and look forward to see more in the future.
As a novice photographer I understand what it takes to capture a quality photo, its just as hard as catching the Fish in the first place !!

Don't let the small Dick syndrome of the knockers stop you sharing your enjoyment to the LARGER group on here that enjoy your reports.
In short FU$K them and keep posting !!!

capt
28-03-2012, 10:56 AM
Hey there Matty, John and crew,

Awesome picks and action shots there boys ! !

Tell me have you ever caught a tagged fish ?

cheers Jimmy

outwide1
28-03-2012, 12:05 PM
if you dont raise fish into the spread your obviously doing something wrong...

Stick to reef fish Sean lmfao.

28-03-2012, 12:35 PM
I've recaptured one of their fish and at the same time another Sunny Coast boat did as well, one month later from when they tagged them. The Murphys Law boys tagged a couple of fish off the same school of bait with consecutive tag numbers and I think there was a couple of days between the recaptures up here but still consecutive tag numbers so that school of marlin obviously swam north against the main EAC or in some inshore eddy current.

TREVELLY
29-03-2012, 06:04 AM
Well Anthony I for one like reading your reports watching your videos and pics.
Cheers Bull

Me too - Keep em coming Anthony - they are very inspirational and yes high quality pics too. ;)

With the tagging programs are there any publicly accessible database for the tagging program - ie locations, tagged fish, times tagged?

29-03-2012, 12:39 PM
NSW Fisheries always do an article in Bluewater Magazine. I guess if you had all the back copies you'd have a fair collection of stories. Alternatively through the gamefish club system you'd soon know what was going on when other club members got recaptures or had their fish recaptured. Very often the fish locally are recaught in the Pacific Island nations on commercial boats.

SUPERFORM
29-03-2012, 04:14 PM
Great info cheers for that......

I've recaptured one of their fish and at the same time another Sunny Coast boat did as well, one month later from when they tagged them. The Murphys Law boys tagged a couple of fish off the same school of bait with consecutive tag numbers and I think there was a couple of days between the recaptures up here but still consecutive tag numbers so that school of marlin obviously swam north against the main EAC or in some inshore eddy current.