View Full Version : Mariner?

merseybluenose
03-03-2012, 11:39 PM
Looking at a boat at the moment with a 60 HP Mariner 2004 Model 2 stroke, done around 150hrs, anyone owned one? Mariner engines don't seem to be as popular.....any thoughts would be great :)

Axl
04-03-2012, 12:11 AM
Mariner/Mercury same engine (except the smaller ones I believe) I have an 09 model 60h/p two stroke Merc and it hasnt missed a beat;).

150hrs on a 04 motor (average 20hrs a year) it certainly hasnt done alot so one would think it would be fine. You dont see many Mariner's around these days I dont know why:-?.

(BTW if your shopping my rig is currently for sale see classifieds or if interested PM me).

bluefin59
04-03-2012, 06:46 AM
I have an04 mariner with 800 hrs on it and still going strong , mine is a 60hp but it's a exactly the sameas the merc except with a grey cover my motor has been reliable as and I always run premium quicksilver 2 stroke oil . Hope that helps matt

04-03-2012, 07:10 AM
I had a Mariner 2 Stroke 75HP 2003 model. Had it for 6 years. Went like a dream, never let me down, always a magic motor. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to anyone. Great outboards.

BM
04-03-2012, 07:44 AM
Mersey,

Same engine, different coloured cowl. Both a premium product. Buy with confidence.

merseybluenose
04-03-2012, 08:30 AM
Cheers lads.....great responses!!

04-03-2012, 09:12 AM
Bluefin mentioned above premium quicksilver. I reckon thats great oil - I have used the Premium Plus for Mercs, but also in my Yamaha's - very low smoke and excellent running. Plugs dont seem to foul either.

oldie
04-03-2012, 06:26 PM
yeah mate same engine as a merc in everyway, owned and built by mercury just different colour

wirlybird
04-03-2012, 07:33 PM
its the same engine except for the 80s and early 90's the mariner was manufactured in japan and the merc in USA both were owned by the Brunswick company. The Mariner was regarded as the better make until they made them all in the USA. You always seem to pay more for the mariner now im not sure why that is. either way they have heaps of years of R&D under their belt and shouldn't give you any trouble