PDA

View Full Version : Tips for wading through thick deep mud?

Todddo
16-02-2012, 12:00 PM
Hi :)
Finally found a good local fishing spot.
I have to wade through alot of mud to get out there at low tide, I did it this morning and I have to admit I didn't like it.
I was wearing my nike boat shoes which kept slipping off and generally didn't go well. I did however catch a small 40cm flathead on my first cast.

What can I wear on my feet to make life easier as I would like to go back out there, but not if I have to wade through crouch deep mud, it was a little bit terrifying.

Would a large size gumboot help?

Thanks
Todd.

Blythy
16-02-2012, 12:11 PM
gumboots don't help too much in deep mud, too much suction, i use dive boots they have big plastic zippers up the sides so they can't come off. You just need to wash them out after you use them. the pair i have i have been using for 3 or 4 years now and were about $60. it' still not fun walking through mud that is half way up your thighs.

tropicrows
16-02-2012, 12:30 PM
Have your thought of trying something like snow shoes (they look like a tennis racket) to spread the load so you dont sink into the mud.

Coodgee
16-02-2012, 12:36 PM
Like Toddo says, dive booties are the go. they won't suck off your feet and will provide some protection from sharp shells or mangrove roots. Be warned my friend had a piece of glass go right through them though. They are not impervious to sharp objects.

fisher28
16-02-2012, 12:36 PM
have you thought about trying a boat at high tide?;D

Muddy Toes
16-02-2012, 12:45 PM
Put fashion to one side, bite the bullet and buy youreslf some waders.Best thing I ever did.Get all filthed up, shoes don't keep coming off and just hose them off when you get home.
Once you buy some you'll wonder how you ever did without them.

sambino
16-02-2012, 12:56 PM