View Full Version : Riptide owners

dreamin
14-02-2012, 07:43 PM
Just wondering what size engine you would recommend for a 7.2m overall hard top 6mm bottom and all the other usual bits and pieces. With 4 guys in it most of the time.

DAZMC1
14-02-2012, 07:53 PM
Whatever the max HP is on the build plate.

dreamin
15-02-2012, 12:45 PM
We can choose what size will just build to suit.

DAZMC1
15-02-2012, 01:10 PM
You see most barcrusher 780,s with 300hp on them and they would probably be lighter

mull dog
15-02-2012, 01:23 PM
Dave's 6.4 or 6.6 is everyone else's 7.2. 225-250hp will be ok

ranga7
15-02-2012, 05:35 PM
I got 2 mates with new riptides a bit bigger then yours, both got twin 140 suzuki 4st, awesome setups. This would be a good match for yours, maybe even the 175 suz 4st, you wont need any more then that.

15-02-2012, 05:40 PM
Captain Seaweed has a 300 Yammie on the back of is 7.5m Noble and it flies ! ;D

I'd imagine anywhere from 250hp up would be a good match.

I think Reefmaster had a pair of 140HP Suzies on his 7.2m Riptide, try sending him a PM to get some feedback.

Muddy Toes
15-02-2012, 05:48 PM
Not sure if it would need 300hp so along with the rest I reckon 250hp would be heaps.

johncar
15-02-2012, 06:45 PM
I am liking my df250 on the fisher 660, it is a bit over powered if anything even with all the gear and 300L of fuel and 100L plus of water still seems heaps of reserve power. So I think it would be a good match on your 7.2 Riptide. If going twins, I agree two 140's should be good..

sempre
16-02-2012, 06:37 PM
I have twin 140's on my Riptide and its 7.5 loa , they are a great motor combo . And they are also for sale ,near new and low hours .

dreamin
16-02-2012, 07:22 PM
Thanks all, we have a 225 but wondering if it's going to be enough.
How much do you want for the 140's and how many hours

rubba
16-02-2012, 07:28 PM
He sempre you selling that rig to or just the motors cheers Dale

16-02-2012, 08:15 PM
youve seen mine mate ive got the twin 115's beautiful motors but for what you are doing the 250 suzi would be hard to pass up i know a boat that has same motor on same size boat and is getting great feul econ.

sempre
17-02-2012, 07:52 PM
Dreamin , the motors are 2011 plate , 170 hrs , 25 in legs , left and right rotate , imaculate condition with the worlds dearest props , 43 months of warrenty remaining . All controlls , gauges etc for 26500 .
Rubba , just the motors dude .
Sam.

sempre
17-02-2012, 07:58 PM
Black Rat , Greg has a single 225 on his green monster .