View Full Version : What Makes Good Customer Service & What Makes a Good Customer?

Grand_Marlin
26-01-2012, 07:47 AM
G'day Guys,

I always see posts on Ausfish, and hear in conversation about good and bad customer service in the Marine Industry.
What do you think makes good customer service and what is the most important part of customer service?
Is it knowledge, friendliness, price, availability, quality of product / workmanship, after sales service (warranty), good at explaining, presentation, transparency, opening hours, location, convenience?

Also, what do you think makes a good customer?
Are they friendly, know what they want or are open to advice, good at communiucating their needs, pay on time, reasonable expectations for delivery / service time?

99% of times both the Customer and Vendor are very happy but occasionally they have a disagreement because of difference of opinion or different expectations & requirements, yet both believe they are right.
What do you think is the best way to sort this out? or even better how to prevent it in the first place?

tenzing
26-01-2012, 08:00 AM
Hey There Pete
As we both know the answer to both your first and second questions is yes.
How often that combination comes together in the early days of a business can be a matter of luck, bur as a vendor you can at least do your part.

While the old adage of the customer is always right should play some part in your dealings , we also both know that the application of that can be a very frustrating thing.

Invariably in our quite different industries it is still the customer who actually pays the bills , and dispute prevention is a lot more rewarding than dispute resolution, and for me ,I think the answer is always in copious and truthful communication.
You rarely end up in strife for explaining too much. If its too hard , too dear or not your cup of tea, then why not say so straight up.

I do find it interesting too Pete that its usually the people who have a good reputation, and who are already successful communicators , and who at the end of the day ACTUALLY put their customers needs first , who tend to ask the question " how can I do it better"

Someone told me when I started out in business that " making money is an inevitable consequence of doing your job well" . Not always the case obviously , but if you work as if it is, think of the outcome of your efforts and not the personal gain, then most times things will look after themselves.

Cheers Mate
Brendan

26-01-2012, 08:05 AM
Gidday Pete.
I reckon there's two sides to customer service.
The customer and the service.
A good customer doesn't tell the person doing the work how to do his job.
The customer should be telling the tradesperson what they want and the tradesperson should be telling the customer if it is possible or not and a compromise reached if the expectations of the customer are impossible and then the tradesperson does the job.
If the customer had any doubts as to the tradesperson's skills then the customer should not have got that tradesperson.
A good customer then pays the tradesperson.
A good service provider then gives instruction to what's been done and provide some backup service.
And then they all sit down and have a beer as friends and the process happens over and over again as everyone is happy as that fella Larry.

I bet a lot of your customers treat you as a friend Pete. Correct??

26-01-2012, 08:12 AM
To me there is a big difference between me going in to buy a product that I already know about and I just want an efficient and frindly sales process and when I am actually purchasing knowledge and experience in the form of a service. In the second case the $$ value of the service includes honesty and the expectation that the service is going to meet my needs in the way I expect it to. Services are intangible and most of us evaluate their value based on most of the criteria mentioned above. If even one of those criteria falls below the threshold of reasonable expectations then customer satisfaction will drop significantly.
Communication is alway important and will contribute strongly to issue resolution. If 95% of customers are happy but 5% leave unsatisfied you can be missing up to 25% of potential new customers as the unsatisfied minority will broadcast their concerns while satisfied consumers normally do not activly promote your business. Its often cheaper and easier to keep the unsatisfied 5% happy rather than try to provide over the top service to the other 95%

26-01-2012, 08:17 AM
Anyone involved or looking for work in any customer service related industry should be made to read the book called "The Fred Factor". A positive experience in any industry revolves around the customer's positive experience and having engaged employee attitudes.

Shawn 66
26-01-2012, 08:29 AM
Good thread this one .If I can , lets make buying a boat an example . I purchased a new BMT package about 12 months ago .Like most people buying a boat I did my research and wore out a fair bit of shoe leather at dealerships . The visits to the dealers ranged from enjoyable to an enraging experience . Even after a fair amount of research (on here and elsewhere ) I still was not certain of my requirements .
A fairly common response when I outlined my indisiveness was " I know exactly what you want ". Hold I says I , if I do not know what I what , how the hell are you so certain that you do . Another thing that put me off from some dealers was the fawning attitude some displayed .Please don't get me wrong , I can not abide rudeness , I simply find it hard to bear a salesman appearing to tell me I am a great bloke and I am the best customer he has ever come accross.
One of the major reasons I went with the dealer I ended up with was his no nonsense attitude and knowledge of the boats in his yard .
Anyway that is my 2 bobs worth.
Shawn

bluefin59
26-01-2012, 08:30 AM
Pete i think you answered your own question if all the tings you have listed are attributes you have then obviously customer service is one of the first things you think of ,and to that i say good work mate . But as far as customers them selves go ,you have all sorts in this world and not everybody sees things the same so sometimes what a business sees as a arogant customer is more a clash of personalities which will always happen unless your the best communicator somewhat like the Dalia Lamma [who could dislike that happy little buddist]who seems to relate and can talk to so many people on so many levels Thanks ...MATT

jighead
26-01-2012, 08:43 AM
Hi GM
We all know that in real estate it's location, location, location in customer service it's communication, communication, communication. I always ask what their wants, needs and expectations are before I discuss products, services or price. If for some reason I can't meet any of these I communicate this so as to eliminate any misunderstandings. Listen to the customer and use your knowledge and experience to make sure he gets what he wants. Most customers don't mind paying a premium for being listened to and offered a quality product and sound advice. If a customer wont heed my advice I will not sell or provide a product or service that will not meet his needs or expectations. Customer service is about preserving the integrity of your business
Cheers Mal

Moonlighter
26-01-2012, 08:55 AM
Great thread, Pete!

Any business owner will tell you that there are a small percentage of customers that they wish that they didn't have - these are the ones who have ridiculously unrealistic expectations, pay late or demand extras that they don't want to pay for, etc. There are also the ones that are just plain PITA's to deal with.

Some years ago I was doing some work with a renowned management consultant, and his advice to business was that every year, they should identify who of their customer base falls into the above category, and to realize that you are spending an inordinate amount of your time and resources on those customers, at the expense of the other 90% of your customers who don't do those sorts of things.

His advice?

Each year, Stop dealing with those 5 or 10% "grief" customers, tell them politely that you cant help them any more, and replace them with new ones who are a pleasure to deal with instead!

Food for thought, hey.

I know a couple of people that, if they asked me to recommend a tradie to do some work for them, I would say, sorry, can't help you, because I know that if i did recommend someone that i know, and my tradie mates found out, they wouldn't be my mates any more after dealing with these people....

ML

garman1
26-01-2012, 09:05 AM
I think the unknown factor comes into it too, did the customer/salesman have a bad interaction with someone "just" prior to talking to you. This can influence to interaction right from the beginning, each contact should be done with a clean slate BUT everyone is human and anger can get carried over to the next person.

The next biggy is over promising and under delivering, a big one in my world as there can be so many "hands" involved dealing with a customer and it only needs one person to over promise to a customer BUT what was promised (sometimes) can't be delivered due to a raft of variables. Tis better to under promise and over deliver.

Customer expectations also cloud the issue ............ I need to mow 5 acres of lawn but I only want to spend 400 bucks what can you sell me????? In this situation the customer should be told the truth and not be sold anything. Sometimes expectations exceed reality.

26-01-2012, 09:23 AM
Customer expectations also cloud the issue ............ I need to mow 5 acres of lawn but I only want to spend 400 bucks what can you sell me?????
Sometimes expectations exceed reality.
Answer: A goat......

Some of the comments remind me of when a young fella asked me to show him how to quote as he was just starting out.
He had some customers who wanted a quote (he was happier then Larry in getting a job for himself) so we went around and I said....OK how long is it going to take and what materials are you going to use.
Goodo. Not a problem there.
Now...the person. How much of a pain are they going to be??
Huh. Are you going to have to come back 70 times and are they going to pay you as you leave?
Mmmm. They may be a bit of a problem says he. How much?? I says. What do you mean?? Says he. I reckon about 70% extra worth says I.
He soon learnt who/what were good and bad customers. The bad got passed on very quickly.

Another thing I hated was when the customer said...can you just........inferring you simply forget about rules, regulations and own work ethic.
No. I can't just. (and they got passed on too).

IcyDuck
26-01-2012, 09:30 AM
I would have to agree that communication is the biggest component of good customer service, just like in any relationship, no matter how brief it may be.

Learning how to politely say NO is extremely important and one of the hardest skills to learn. I'm continually told by sales focussed professionals that nothing happens until there is a sale. I disagree with that somewhat as I have forged business relationship with potential customers long before the actual sale takes place. On a number of occasions I have had to say no to their initial unrealistic requests. They may continue to look elsewhere but eventually return once they realise the reality of what is actually possible and what is involved.

I don't expect a customer to always know what he wants all the time either. A trues sales professional or service provider needs to assist the customer in getting to that decision. It may be that they need little or nothing in the end. Communication and education is key.

Happy Australia Day to all ... Phil

ranga7
26-01-2012, 10:06 AM
Everything mentioned here is good. I think two really important points for a salesman is the moment you walk into there shop they acknowledge you, say Hi or what ever, in a happy matter. Two many times iv'e walked into a shop to buy something and the person working could'nt even care if you were in the shop. Ive done laps around some shops with 1 worker and havent got boo. Most times i havent gone back. The other big 1 for me is after sales services, ive had the feeling before that they got the sale and see you later. Ive also had great after sale service, with the sales person ringing me down the track 2 see how it was going and even came to my house to fix a problem free of charge. Only little things that didnt take long but i really appreciated it. These people get recommended, word gets around and they end up with more business then the competition.

IcyDuck
26-01-2012, 11:23 AM
Yep, spot on Ranga. Some common courtesy and manners goes a long way on both sides of the equation.

Homer_Jay
26-01-2012, 11:47 AM
I think from a service point of view, listening to start off is the MOST important thing. This gets the customer onside straight away.

Listen to what the customer wants/needs/likes/doesnt like. From there you can use your experience to steer them in the direction you think they need to go (your the one with the experience).
Nothing worse than someone ramming down your throat what THEY think you need because THEY know best. Yes, they should know best. But, too often they automaticly put you in the same basket as everyone else that comes in with the same problem/wants a similar item.
Listen to what they have to say until they have finished, dont cut in and say... yeah yeah yeah... you want this... XYZ.
He is probably right... I need XYZ. But I want to know why XXX doesnt suit my situation, because I like XXX or the bloke down at the pub (who is ALWAYS the expert said I need XXX, Because thats what he got! Then I know that the person understands MY situation, What I want to acheive, what I think I need. .
If the customer is at ease with what you have explained and your knowlege of the situation/products/experience/what my expectations are, then they are more likely to leave you do your job in peace and be happy at the end.

There will always be the people you cant keep happy. They are a small minority. The problem with being a business owner is that you will always remember that 2% of people that bitched the whole time/wouldnt pay their bill OVER the 98% of people who walked away happy.

As far as charging for service goes, well, just be upfront about the cost and what you are doing and most people will never have a problem. Its the times when you get to the end and say... we needed to do this this and this and the bill is NOW 3 times what I quoted... that customer will always walk away with a bad taste. Just let the customer make the decision to spend the money (it is his money afterall).

Muddy Toes
26-01-2012, 11:50 AM
I reckon this thread should see a lot of responses to questions only a few savvy business people ask as part of their business's continual improvement and development.
I think the answer to your initial question on what makes good customer service was answered by yourself as soon as you put finger to keyboard to ask that very question.Communication, research and the implementation of these finding to better improve or to add to a businesses customer relations values.
At a guess this thread was directed at your type of business, trades and services and not at the run of the mill retail type of customer relations that sees a business selling a little to a lot but more relies on the concept of providing a service to a small proportion of the population in a sepecialised field.

As a consumer of products and services I have very little knowledge of ( we all like to think we know stuff about stuff but lets face it if we did we wouldn't be going to someone else for their opinions and to get them to do the work for us) the primary objective of my first dealings with a tradesman is to relate to them what i wish to get done.Sometimes it's straight forward but there are still a lot of times where me as a consumer wants something that is beyond practicality and or price and it's at this stage where a business starts to put runs on the board with me.Being able to explain why something won't work and working together to achieve an agreed upon solution is something that is beneficial to both parties.No surprises, the customer gets what is expected and the person doing the work delivers an end result in the knowledge that the client will be satisfied.Good communication through out the process leads to a satisfied customer.

The concept of having good communication and better still having a good rapport between two parties is also crucial to ensure deadlines are met and prices are adhered to.99% of the time i think clients/customers can accept that some jobs may take longer that first thought or that prices may change due to various unforeseen circumstances and this is where communication once again comes in to it's own and the ability of the tradesman to explain their reevaluated time/price as early as practicably possible to ensure there will be no adverse effect on the clients schedule and more importantly their bank account.

Probably the most important thing is the quality of workmanship and the after sales service.Quality workmanship speaks for it self really.If it's what the client wanted and the work was performed to a high standard and the materials used were of high quality then what more can you ask for.It's also a very effective way to promote your business.Word of mouth.A follow up phone call after a client has had time to inspect/use the product is also something that doesn't seem to happen too often these day.It enables the client to voice any concerns and to give feed back and in turn gives the business owner some crucial feedback on how their business is performing especially if the business owner is not actually doing the work himself.

If all the above attributes are followed it then requires the client to hold up their end of the deal and pay on time and turn up when they say they are going to so the business can plan the next job without having the inconvenience of waiting for someone to turn up when this time can be used for something more productive.It's called common courtesy.

I guess it all boils down to a few common trends as mentioned in the other posts.
Communication, punctuality and quality and when you do find it in a business stick to them because they seem to be very few and far between these days.

26-01-2012, 12:49 PM
you just keep doing what you are doing Pete..you do have great communication and service.

As for retail..I do not like someone shadowing me as I am in their shop. I am only there for a very short time..will either get what I want or approach someone and ask them to show me where it is. Pay for it and leave. I neither need nor want the salesperson's opinion on what I am buying or what I am using it for. I will never make a complaint to the owner if I am unhappy about anything..I will just never be back. Do not waste my trime with small talk..am not interested. Can't shopowners see when a GOM enters and knows when to stand clear..LOL

I did have an instance this week where I did make my thoughts quite clear..and got some stunned looks from the staff at a retail outlet.

honda900
26-01-2012, 01:14 PM
Pete,

As others have said, communication is the key, be straight with them (as you are), the key to the customer is to understand what outcome he/she wants and work backwards from there.

The better you understand what they are trying to do the better you can guide them (by guide them I mean help them choose the right way to do it), if they still want it done their way, they you will have a pretty good indication that they will be a PITA, thats when you take the opportunity to say, Sure but cant fit you in till january 2020..

If you quote a job and know find its running over, due to unforseen circumstance, dont assume you have to wear the cost, ring the client and say Hey, its like this... things happen.. Some people wont be happy but they will accept the addtional cost as you have discussed the reasons why..

Honda.

Moonlighter
26-01-2012, 04:42 PM
Earlier someone said something that I thinkmis critical in a service oriented business in particular: under-promise and over-deliver.

I had some dealings a while ago with an unnamed company and they promised all sorts of things, but failed to deliver nearly all of it.

On the other end of the equation, my dealings with Surtees in NZ when I was buying my curreboat were excellent, prompt replies to my questions, and boat finished ahead of the scheduled date, plus they added a few little extras in that I didn't find until we unpacked her from the container. Really made for a pleasant experience.

ML

26-01-2012, 04:43 PM
A good customer knows what he/she wants and describes me such.
A better customer will provide feedback as well.
The best customer will do all the above and pay cash.........lol
The best customer service - strive for excellence, totally respect the value of the customer's hard-earned, the potential of repeat business and the power and efficacy of WOM advertising, be aware of the 'halo effect' and utilise where practical.
A well-developed, intuitive sense of human nature doesn't go astray either....neither does a sense of humour......::);D

pig75
26-01-2012, 04:46 PM
In my opinion honesty is the best service. If I walk into ashop and they ask can I help that’s fine but don’t lie about things. To many times I have asked about a product and been told that much crap that is not true>:( Or they read the box to answer questions. I might look dumb but I can read. If you don’t know say so or say I will find somebody that does know. It’s not that hard

Apollo
26-01-2012, 05:20 PM
Simple:

Communication No.1

Delivery of what you offer No.2

Get those right and you are 99% there.

As to the ideal customer - same as above.

I am a PITA buyer, who asks lots of questions upfront and like to be kept informed as to progress, but I pay my bills on time and will happily recommend a business that gets the above right.

Prowl n Wolf
26-01-2012, 05:44 PM
what i want? pete to be not so busy so he can get me that quote and do some work on my boat.::) ;) (i've got some more stuff i'd like to pete.;D)

tenzing
26-01-2012, 07:14 PM
Simple:

Communication No.1

Delivery of what you offer No.2

Get those right and you are 99% there.

As to the ideal customer - same as above.

I am a PITA buyer, who asks lots of questions upfront and like to be kept informed as to progress, but I pay my bills on time and will happily recommend a business that gets the above right.

Good on you Apollo
Nice to out yourself as a PITA buyer ,
ME TOO ( Thats right Pete , Isnt it)
I am Also anal about supplying the absolute best service that I am able to.
If you are going to demand it you better well be able to supply it.
I also dont have a problem with people who want to know the atomic weight and chemical symbol of every ingredient in the product I supply ( true story - retired engineer needed to know the whole shebang!)
You need to quote realistically including ALL the posible drains on your resources ( including time) and deliver what you promise to or redo it at no extra cost.
You can always reduce the bill if its easier than you thought!!!!

PITA buyers are welcome - thier money is good too. A lot of the time they are easy,:they tell you EXACTLY what they want ( in great detail) before you take them on. If you decide that you are up to the task then you'd better be. If you're not, all you need to do is say so.
Brendan

26-01-2012, 07:17 PM
What makes good customer service - when the good customer says NO I DON'T WANT YOU TO DRILL A HOLE IN THE BOTTOM OF MY BOAT - and you agree with him.....without the comment - I just bought a new drill and need to try it out.....

Peter - a great outcome is when both you and the client are on the same page regarding the end result.

Wags

FisHard
26-01-2012, 07:46 PM
As a supplier, don't promise me the world, and then deliver an atlas >:(
I had a pretty big truck accident recently and the repairs were substantial ($100k). The whole time the truck was being repaired, I was nervous how it would turn out (my truck is special!) I figured it would be ok and if there were any ongoing issues, I could work through them. A week before it was finished, I asked the operations manager of the repair shop (large, well established business) what their procedures were to deliver the truck to me in good shape. He proceeded to give me this speil about how the boys test drive it, then they make a final list of any issues. Once they had cleared their list, then the manager himself test drives it. If there is anything he's not happy with, its back to the boys to fix. Again, once they think its ok, the manager tests it again, to make sure its 100pc. I tell you what, I left the workshop that day feeling on top of the world. Finally a company that gives a sh#t! My truck is going to be like new!
Well, the reality was, that the truck got rushed through for a Friday 4pm, "leave it outside with the keys in it" handover. I could fill a book with (admittedly) minor defects! It had a flappity-flappity noise, clearly evident just driving out the driveway, and above 80kph, the front end wobbled like a bastard.
The thing is, if old mate hadn't sold me a big song and dance about what they were going to do, i wouldn't have been so furious. I had previously set myself up for an ok job that could be tweaked, but the mgr had lifted my expectations SKY HIGH!
Grrrrrrrrrrrrr
Ps. Sorry for the rant, and yes, getting the truck sorted. Thank you :)