View Full Version : Yeppoon Quickies

XtremeBoony
19-01-2012, 09:00 PM
Righto ladies and gents well we have just now moved to emu park from emerald and to say it was an awesome move would be an understatement. The view is top class from our new pad. First trip yielded a nice trout, some grassy sweetlip and a couple of legal large mouth nannygai around great kepple to open the account. Trout was grilled fresh in alfoil with salt, pepper, butter, lemon and honey. Try it and u wont be dissapointed. 8-)
http://img837.imageshack.us/img837/127/img0071am.jpg
By xtremeboony (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/xtremeboony) at 2012-01-19
Amanda and her sister living it up
http://img830.imageshack.us/img830/9987/img0066zv.jpg
Lunch time dining at its finest

Second trip i took the missus out as the mother in law was staying so we could have our annual day out in the boat together. Awesome conditions with a glass out till lunch. Went up around the pinnacles which is about 40km's north and got hammered by sharks. We were hooking good fish but about 5 meters off the bottom they grew a fresh set of legs >:( Got grunter to the boat around 65cm. Then the missus hooks a frieght train and pulls in a 17kg cobia with limited help. Well done sweety ::)
http://img818.imageshack.us/img818/4113/dsc0323fq.jpg
http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/1364/dsc0329k.jpg
Always good to be out on the water with her and not fay off being a proper fisherwomen
http://img33.imageshack.us/img33/9369/dsc0335m.jpg

Next trip was a solo effort as I went chasing grunter again. No one was keen for an early start (including JT, work is no excuse mate geez;D) The missus had to look after the kiddies this time.
Got one grunter to the boat around 63cm and had an 8 foot tiger shark grab my next one at the boat. Was exciting and frustrating at the same time.
http://img846.imageshack.us/img846/3444/dsc01615f.jpg
The bottom pilly went off which i suspected to be a shark till half way through the fight it started acting a bit different. Turned out to be a 21kg GT which was a bit of a surprise while targeting grunter. New PB by the way :o Self timer pic
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/1376/dsc01612a.jpg
This is my eldest daughter breeanna helping dad fillet. She loves being in the action.
http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/728/dsc0340ws.jpg

Well thats all for now and some of the proper reports will be in NQ Fsh and Boat.

Cheers from boony

P.S some video will be up soon

TREVELLY
20-01-2012, 05:26 AM
Nice family pics Boony.

You and SWMBO jagged some great conditions and made the most of them by the looks.

Thanks for sharing mate.

Bull
20-01-2012, 07:09 AM
Thanks for the report and pic's Boony.
It looks like you Amanda and the kids are settling in at yeppoon pretty well it sure is nice up there.
Look forward to the video when you put it up.
Cheers Bull

PS congratulations to you and Amanda on you PB s both are very nice fish

robtarr
20-01-2012, 08:41 AM
Thanks Boony....I really mean it....you have a special knack for making the rest of us envious on a number of levels.....

Must be great being on the coast - extremely frustrating when you can see the water every day but at times can't get out to fish but I'm sure you'll find a work around for that....you always seem to

cheers Rob

pipifin
20-01-2012, 09:16 AM
Gotta love the park of Emus

FisHard
20-01-2012, 10:41 AM
Nice one Boony! I was only looking at charts for up that way last week. Certainly some good ground for you to explore. Ill have to come up and show you how to get those GTs in a proper fashion (on poppers) :)

four_button_arnie
20-01-2012, 02:19 PM
Seriously Boony, careful about them EMU's, angry so and so's! Congrats on the seachange!

20-01-2012, 02:31 PM
Good post Boony. Check the size of those glasses the ladies are holding!!

Tranter obviously hasn't seen these yet. He'll go beserk when he does!!

Vitamin Sea
20-01-2012, 06:45 PM
Nice family pics Boony.

You and SWMBO jagged some great conditions and made the most of them by the looks.

Thanks for sharing mate.

Yep, x 2

Great pics of the young ones, mrs and yourself enjoying good times, lucky fella

VS

XtremeBoony
20-01-2012, 08:45 PM
Thanks for the feed back fella's. Was a great flat day to be out on the briny. Haven't seen it that flat for a while. 8-)

Bull, thanks mate we are definately settling in well. ;D

Rob, Seeing the water everyday is ok as long as she lets me out every now and then.;D

Fishard, I would imagine getting gt's like that on poppers would be exciting. Might put some time into trying to find some mackies next. :P

Josh, thanks mate we are loving it here. The drive back to emerald for work sucks balls but, coming home after work is awesome though

TOL, very surprised tranter hasn't had a chop yet, he must be on holidays or something ::);D::)

Just a quick conversation that me and the missus had yesterday.

Her "so do you get reds where you took me?"
Me "ummm not really darling, more went for the grunter"
Her "so if you don't get reds there why didn't you take me somewhere where i could catch one cause the water was flat and we could have gone anywhere. That was a shit idea"
Me "ummm good point but still blow it out your ass"

This conversation did make me giggle a bit.

cheers from boony

20-01-2012, 10:33 PM
Ya reckon that deck will hold the 1770 crew for a Cook-Off night ? :) :)

FYI......... I love those Grunter... top table fare in my books.

TX for the report.

LP

buggerit
21-01-2012, 03:50 PM
Good report & nice pics Boony . I can understand why your enjoying the change . How many spare bedrooms and whats your yard like ,ie.. is there enough room to park a dozen or so boats when we all come to visit ?

Buggerit

21-01-2012, 04:13 PM
Oi................

Just returned to this thread;

Title is " Yeppoon Quickies " and the first thing I see when I click on it is a pic of 2 women on the turps.

I do believe there was " intent " there somewhere :) :) :)

LP

21-01-2012, 04:55 PM
Not a bad view Mate. I reckon it beats the one you had at Emerald. Those Grunter are a fish I wiuld love to sort out sometime along with Fingermark. It sounds like the move has gone well and opened up a few more fishing options

CT
22-01-2012, 01:10 PM
Nice work mate. I've also just moved here and have bought a place a few minutes up the road from you. We went for a family run in that patch of flat weather. Glass out was awesome wasn't it. My young bloke fell asleep on the esky at 4K revs!

I'll give you a hoy if I see you around the ramp.

trymyluck
22-01-2012, 01:35 PM
Thanks Boony....I really mean it....you have a special knack for making the rest of us envious on a number of levels.....

cheers Rob

I’ll second that Rob, he is a mongrel…….::)

Oi................

Just returned to this thread;

Title is " Yeppoon Quickies " and the first thing I see when I click on it is a pic of 2 women on the turps.

I do believe there was " intent " there somewhere :) :) :)

LP

Phill I cannot blame him for having “Intent” but if Amanda wields a knife the same way that young Breeanna does then he would be in for a whole lot of hurt.......:o;D

22-01-2012, 04:25 PM
Hey Boony,

How long is the drive from Emerald to Emu Park?

XtremeBoony
22-01-2012, 09:47 PM
Phill, this is a G rated site and no intent there at all.... I promise ::)And agree on the table quality of the grunts, very tasty indeed8-)

Bugger, unfortunately we are in a cramped street with not much room but plenty of deck space for beers;D

Horse, defiantly settling in well and might go and see if I can snag a fingermark at the ol stomping grounds of port alma soon

CT, the weather has been pretty kind since we have been here, I missed that shitty rainy patch as I was at work. Would be keen to catch up for a yarn as I never get tired of meeting new people, especially ausfishers

TOL, about 3 and a half hours on a good run

Cheers from boony

23-01-2012, 09:25 AM
Typical mate weather looks good when I'll be home cept for the 10 inches of rain forecast

XtremeBoony
23-01-2012, 05:34 PM
might need to harden up JT and grab a rain coat and maybe make sure the bilge is in top working order ;D

cheers from boony

23-01-2012, 10:16 PM
So Booney, you doing that drive 5 days a week, champion effort mate