View Full Version : What do you make of this ?

kind_cir
16-01-2012, 03:12 PM
This boat is on evilbay as a classified, but at $20000 it,s got to be missing the engine ect, but there is no description or phone number.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/QUINTREX-650-OFFSHORE-CENTRE-CAB-/290658555512?pt=AU_Boats&hash=item43ac999678

16-01-2012, 03:26 PM
He hasn't sold a boat before by the looks of his feedback. If you're genuinely interested contact him and ask away? Looks legitimate to me.

Triple
16-01-2012, 03:37 PM
Item location at ipswich QLD, trailer has nsw rego.. maybe the ex wife got the boat as part of the package?

kind_cir
16-01-2012, 03:52 PM
Would be a dam good buy if all checks out, but in this day and age one can't be too sure.

If I had 20k, I'd snap it up, if above board. Sadly I fall quite a few grand and a bit more short at this stage.

MudRiverDan
16-01-2012, 04:00 PM
Google a few on the net they are going for over double the price.
Personally beware on all accounts, even if it is a wife selling it.
Many scammers get their wives to flog off semi legit gear.

It might be legit but you can bet there is a hidden extra in there somewhere, NOONE sells a boat for half price.

16-01-2012, 04:01 PM
Looks like the bargain of the month, at least! Plenty of boat for your $ there, and looks in fair nick too!

BillyT2382
16-01-2012, 04:05 PM
That looks like a very nice boat...but for 20k i would go check it out first...then ya would say "i really like your boat" then pause...have another look around it...then ask whats your bottom price?.....then ya say hmmm..have another look around ask more question's...then hit him or her with your price...lol if ya get it for $5.00 or $500.00 off then you have won!! ....but myself i would knock it down a bit more than $500.00 but thats me...check it out and see for yourself..

Billy

oldie
16-01-2012, 04:09 PM
this boat has been doing the rounds on ebay and represent a definate scam, i think at one stage buy it now was 15000k.

kind_cir
16-01-2012, 04:27 PM
this boat has been doing the rounds on ebay and represent a definate scam, i think at one stage buy it now was 15000k.

I hope you're kidding as I have contacted the seller and got it for 18k. I have deposited $5000 into his western union account, and he said he will meet me at the Mcdonalds at the bribie turnoff tomorrow with the boat as he has to come up the coast.

Realy.... as if ::);D;D

Drew70
16-01-2012, 05:02 PM
I hope its OK mate alarm bells would ring loud with me depositing into a Western Union account

The Woo
16-01-2012, 05:10 PM
I hope you're kidding as I have contacted the seller and got it for 18k. I have deposited $5000 into his western union account, and he said he will meet me at the Mcdonalds at the bribie turnoff tomorrow with the boat as he has to come up the coast.

Realy.... as if ::);D;D

I hope its OK mate alarm bells would ring loud with me depositing into a Western Union account

Ummmmmmmm.

bennykenny
16-01-2012, 05:14 PM
Although, it is a Quintrex, probably sink as soon as you put it in the water!!!

Seahorse
16-01-2012, 05:19 PM
That's funny, I have to meet him at hungry jacks.

kind_cir
16-01-2012, 05:23 PM
Although, it is a Quintrex, probably sink as soon as you put it in the water!!!

NOW THAT'S JUST A BIT TOO HARSH ! :o

Proberly no harsher than the ride in a pressed ally tub.. So fair point, well made. ;D

16-01-2012, 05:23 PM
So who sent them an email?

kind_cir
16-01-2012, 05:30 PM
That's funny, I have to meet him at hungry jacks.

Nooo, I think you will infact find the meeting point is at Mcdonalds. Besides I already give him 5k deposit into his western union account.... So it's mine,. Hands off or i'll give you a Wopper. :D

BillyT2382
16-01-2012, 05:33 PM
Are you serious??? So you have spoken to this guy right?...and Have you already sent the money through western union right??? Omg!!!

THAT'S A HELL!!! NOOOO!!!..Ya probably wondering why i said that...Because if ya already sent the money he's good as gone mate....And ya got no boat..and no $5000.00 Dude if he is legit then tell him...he brings you the boat or you pick up the boat, then you will give him the cash...Thats the way it has always been done "Pay on Pickup"

Billy

16-01-2012, 05:34 PM
To my old decrepit eyes it has very similar lines to a Trailcraft.

kind_cir
16-01-2012, 05:39 PM
LOL..... Mass freak out ! you've been scamed

Flung him an e-mail and asked some Q's. and I used the M/inlaws comp and ebay acc, lol... That is all

Waiting for a reply.

I feel like Mcdonalds

16-01-2012, 05:46 PM
Reeks of a con to me. No info on the listing, electronics engine hours etc etc, dont sit right with me

oldie
16-01-2012, 05:46 PM
whats the bet, its please contact me via my personal email as i am hard to get on the phone as i am currently working offshore and have limited phone access etc etc etc!!! it never changes. Somewhere out there poor ol mate who really owns the boat wants to legit sell it and he is being fingered by some scum bags

BillyT2382
16-01-2012, 05:53 PM
Sorry dude but when i mean "Have you spoken to this guy or person" i mean via email or phone?...if it's by phone he's probably got a old prepaid one under an "alias" name...and if ya don't know much about computer scams ie: Ebay where you can open up an acct under "Mrs Smith" by starting with opening up a new email address...dude ya got watch that shyt mate i nearlly lost my car,bike and ute from ppl that said "I will pay the full amount but i'm on an oil rig in the gulf" or what ever they say..."but i can only pay via (PayPal) then they go on to saying "As it is secure and safe" Then they go on with "I can send a courier around but i will have to pay this courier $2500.00 via western union and as i am out on a OIL RIG i have no access to it..So they go on and say if i can DEPOSIT and extra $2500.00 into your paypal acct could you go and stick into the acct at a nearest western union near you"....So you will check your PAYPAL acct and see there's the full amount of money in there plus $2500.00 he suggested..BUT its not cleared..then they will say so if you could do this deposit
$2500.00 into that acct your funds will be cleared instantly....yes they want you to go to your own bank acct and draw out that cash and deposit it into there FAKE western union acct...then once they got your money!!! THEY ARE GONE!!!!

BillyT2382
16-01-2012, 06:04 PM
Doh i thought he was for real mate lmfao...but yes very funny:P

16-01-2012, 06:04 PM
Are you serious??? So you have spoken to this guy right?...and Have you already sent the money through western union right??? Omg!!!

THAT'S A HELL!!! NOOOO!!!..Ya probably wondering why i said that...Because if ya already sent the money he's good as gone mate....And ya got no boat..and no $5000.00 Dude if he is legit then tell him...he brings you the boat or you pick up the boat, then you will give him the cash...Thats the way it has always been done "Pay on Pickup"

Billy

Billy..read ALL the post..he was just cracking a funny...scroll down to the bottom of the post.

BillyT2382
16-01-2012, 06:11 PM
Bugger this i'm off to "Mcdonalds" hahahaha

16-01-2012, 06:22 PM
Well now I'm completely confused......so what d'ya reckon it would be worth if it was legit and stood up to inspection?
Be pretty close to 30g wouldn't it? Must'a cost close to 60....but it's certainly a buyer's market atm, especially if you have cash.

16-01-2012, 06:32 PM
And nobody has actually sent an email.
It might be legit.
You might get a phone number to ring.
You might get an inspection
You might get a really cheap boat.

The start is to send an email.

kind_cir
16-01-2012, 06:48 PM
And nobody has actually sent an email.
It might be legit.
You might get a phone number to ring.
You might get an inspection
You might get a really cheap boat.

The start is to send an email.

I did send a message via ebay asking the brand of motor with the boat, the brand of trailer and also asked for contact ph number, to set up an inspection. [waiting for a reply]

This may or may not be a scam.

Things that get me thinking .....

The sellers feedback is 100% with 111 ebay transactions

There are no details or description of the boat.

No contact details other than via ebay message / email

On the used market, asking price is around 40-45k.

If I were to go further with any transaction, I would inspect the boat first and check out all the vin numbers / eng numbers ect, do a revs check, ask to see rego papers ect, then if all ok only then would i hand over a bank chq for the 20k. It's just what you would have to do seeing the asking price is half the normal 40 odd K.

Times are hard, things may just be that bad, the floods did hit the Ipp pretty hard. Or times could be realy good, they may have won the lotto and don't realy care to offload the boat quick and cheap. Scam or no scam, things don't still look right.

BTW... I DID NOT PAY A 5K DEPOSIT INTO HIS WESTERN UNION ACCOUNT [just to clear up any confusion, that was a joke as pointed out at the end of the post]

Triple
16-01-2012, 06:53 PM
Or he has simply stuffed up when doing the advert and bidding should of started at 20k not buy now at 20k.

Also sent a email...

16-01-2012, 08:14 PM
I too sent an email asking heaps of questions

winston
16-01-2012, 09:07 PM
Guys, the ebay listing has been removed. Bugger am I hungry, now I too am off to McDonalds. Cheers Winston.

Tailortaker
16-01-2012, 09:11 PM
Guys, the ebay listing has been removed. Bugger am I hungry, now I too am off to McDonalds. Cheers Winston.
Thats because i bought it !!! You were all to slow and missed a honest bargain....

Off to KFC in the morning to pick it up... lol ;D;D;D

MudRiverDan
16-01-2012, 09:52 PM
So Ebay removed it?

The person who put it up should be investigated for trying to burn people for most probably a 5k deposit.

Gods knows how many they get away with...

17-01-2012, 05:36 AM
lol, so after all that, was the add for real and did someone here actually buy it?

17-01-2012, 06:03 AM
lol, so after all that, was the add for real and did someone here actually buy it?

No and No..IMHO

kind_cir
17-01-2012, 06:06 AM
It was a strange add that left everyone guessing, if it was all good or not.

Usually you can tell straight up if it's all legit, just by looking at the add, but this time it was not so easy.

I did not get a reply to my message/email.... you be the judge.

Crestcutter
17-01-2012, 06:22 AM
A mate of mine got done for 5 grand on an invisible bobcat. As soon as he told me he bought it and had deposited the money into the blokes account, i asked bank account? He said no a western union account. I called him a d^($(*^d. 3years later he is stil waiting for it lol.

17-01-2012, 07:41 AM
phew....yeah western union is a bit of a 'flag'.....glad no-one got done!

oldie
17-01-2012, 12:27 PM
its back again
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/QUINTREX-650-OFFSHORE-CENTRE-CAB-/130631905102?pt=AU_Boats&hash=item1e6a44af4e

notice how there is feedback but you cannot see any of the comments

Triple
17-01-2012, 12:43 PM
its back again
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/QUINTREX-650-OFFSHORE-CENTRE-CAB-/130631905102?pt=AU_Boats&hash=item1e6a44af4e

New ebay seller, different location..

Yellowjack
17-01-2012, 12:55 PM
Looks like someones gonna pick it up for $1 lol

foggy
17-01-2012, 12:55 PM
just put my bid in I will risk the $5 I am willing to pay for it

kind_cir
17-01-2012, 01:05 PM
I hate these scumbags, and have reported the item, as we all now know it's a definate scam. >:(

wayno60
17-01-2012, 01:36 PM
Up to $5.50 now...better hurry only 6 days to go...

wayno60
17-01-2012, 01:37 PM
anyway so you dont have to put monies into any A/C just tell them you will be paying cash when you pick it up....

17-01-2012, 01:40 PM
its back again

Damn I cant afford the postage of $133.00. How do they get that through the post for that price anyway?

Yellowjack
17-01-2012, 01:40 PM
Postage and handling
AU $133.00
Australia
Standard Postage (AusPost Parcel with tracking and signature)

Must be a pretty big parcel... LOL

wayno60
17-01-2012, 01:49 PM
Mike you get feed back even when you buy stuff, so it shows she has bought 55 items and has never had a prob....hence the 100% rateing.
Doesnt mean shes not going for the big kill on this item....
JUst sent her an email asking wheres warra and is it ok to pay COD if i were the winner....

Also have a good look at the last 3 pics, theres been some photoshopping done and someone could do a rego check on the trailer???

Micadogs
17-01-2012, 02:16 PM
These types of scams are called "ghosting". They find an inactive and legitimate eBay account and use that. The feedback and comments will be real from the original person that set it up and used it. The key here is to look at when the last feedback was made. Most times it is several years ago, at miniumum the accounts are usually inactive for a period of at elast 12 months.

I have been seeing these types of "GHOSTING" scams come mainly out of China and Indonesia, so it will be a different story to teh oil rig scenario (Nigerian / African Scammers).

FYI - This particular scam is very popular with high end fihsing gear Shimao Stella, Daiwa Saltiga etc. It is also very popular for high end road bike (bicycle) parts also.

Regards Adam

Tailortaker
17-01-2012, 03:25 PM
Its gone again !!!

ranga7
17-01-2012, 04:30 PM
Thats like tippin 2 or 3 stubbies out....
just put my bid in I will risk the $5 I am willing to pay for it

Crestcutter
17-01-2012, 11:57 PM
Definately what Adam said, they are stolen accounts,at least thats what they told me when i got done on ebay.