View Full Version : In search of the Holy Grail

Redhunter
11-01-2012, 05:17 PM
Hello Ausfisho's,
Well it's been some time since I've put a report up but thats for good reason, Ive been putting massive amounts of time of Double Island and Fraser in search of new ground.
You see I'm a little surprised because while I've seen some good red emperor reports put up I haven't seen to many thanks given out to those who have shared so much knowledge.
So I thought I would change that, instead of writing a report up I thought I would talk about what I did to increase my catch rate, but the main reason for my report is to thank those who have helped me, I am a big believer in that.
I regard the mighty red emperor as the Holy Grail of the reef species with it's pitbull like head shakes and superior white textured flesh theres no denying it that seeing a big red swirling under the boat sure gets my blood pumping.
But why is it that all the reds are there to get, yet there is only a small percentage of fisho's that can catch these fish on a regular basis. I say regular because sure you can jag one or two here and there, but thats more good luck than management. It takes commitement and dedication to get those reds from the 5k up to the trophy fish around 12 to 20k, but most importantly for me it's searching for new ground that will see results.
My mates at Tin Can have given up the ghost on these fish claiming theres too much time spent travelling so while there busy chasing mackerel and snaps in close I'd rather be out chasing reds, thats why I now fish solo.
But things have not been easy and I have come away with a few fishless trips, I needed to turn to one bloke in know that has led the charge in the red department and that is Greg Lamprecht while I don't know this bloke to talk to I have a massive amount of respect for him, the shear amount of information that he has put up on the chat boards and the B&B mags is massive effort and a big thanks must go out to him, also to gregs mate Dfox that use to post up on here and to reefking.
The first thing I did was go down to one of Gregs talks on red emperor at the Brisbane boat show, it was a Friday night and it was a good one at that. When greg put the maps up it took me all of 10 minutes to realise were I was going wrong, it wasn't so much the areas he explained to search but it was more the areas that he pointed out that he thought it had been hit hard, afterall I had some of my best marks in them areas so it was quite simple, it was time to do the hard yards.
The next day I got right to it, the first thing I did was turn the GPS on while I've got thousands of marks I was about to do something drastic I picked my best 200 marks and with a quick press of the delete button the rest were gone (I had them written down if I needed for future references).
The second thing I did was study maps and picked out and punched into the GPS marks of interest.
The third thing I did was mark in my GPS trials search 1, search 2, search 3, search 4, and search 5.
The forth thing was the most drastic of all, I set myself a goal to do 5 trips, each would consist of 12 hours of searching,350l of fuel for each trip, no rods, no bait and picked areas on the map that I had studied, just try a few hours of searching and see how boring it can be, it can drive even the keenest fisho mad.
Well I hope there is a few tips for anyone that fishes offshore....So if you see a 6.2 half cab zig zagging or going around in circles and you think what the hell is that tripper doing ya can gaurantee it's me searching for the Holy Grail.

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/012.jpg
http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/003.jpg

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/056.jpg?t=1318030666

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/054-1.jpg?t=1318030535
http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/052-1.jpg

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/051.jpg?t=1318030425

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/049.jpg?t=1318030573

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/047.jpg?t=1314057866

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/054.jpg?t=1318030621

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/IMG_1536.jpg?t=1307770499

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/052.jpg?t=1318030646

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/IMG_1534-1-2.jpg

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/008.jpg

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/007.jpg

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/005.jpg

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/092.jpg

vertico
11-01-2012, 06:34 PM
awesome mate

Mossy247
11-01-2012, 06:43 PM
Good stuff mate top write up and those are some awesome fish.
You put in the hours and you are rewarded, keep up the good work mate.

11-01-2012, 06:44 PM
Its great to see someone with so much passion for their sport. I have to disagree somewhat with your reference to a lack of thanks to the gurus who have shared their information. I doubt that any other members would have received as many thanks per post as Greg and Dave when they shared their knowledge and success. Along with Craig they are highly respected among all of the blokes I know

Redhunter
11-01-2012, 06:51 PM
http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/086.jpg?t=1318030722

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/IMG_1474.jpg?t=1318030404

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/IMG_1471.jpg

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/027.jpg

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/028.jpg

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/134-1.jpg

http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx113/bigreds1/red%20fish/025.jpg

Yellowjack
11-01-2012, 06:56 PM
Nice report mate, plenty of awesome pictures too!

Jack

11-01-2012, 06:57 PM
All good Steve, glad you got the pics sorted.

That is one awesome Grassie. Yeah, I know The Reds are the Holy Grail....... :P

and yes, it takes passion and patience to achieve the results.

clevelandv8
11-01-2012, 07:05 PM
damn, nice fish.
wish i had the time, money and boat to do that!!!
but that'll change soon.

THANKS for the post!

Reefmaster
11-01-2012, 07:57 PM
Hi Steve,

Fantastic report mate and congrats on a sensational trip.

I really appreciate your thanks in helping you achieve not only the holy grail Red Emperor but quality fish all round. I have been writing articles for bushnbeach and putting reports on Ausfish for over 8 years now and it’s a good feeling when people take your advice on board and achieve their goals. Not only did you do this but you put together a fantastic plan as well and this is something that thousands of fishermen cannot and will not do. Ever heard the expression 99% go fishing and only 1% catch fish. It’s safe to say you are certainly a 1% and it’s not because you caught good fish this trip but it’s your attitude and determination that makes you a good fisherman.

If people ever wondered how to improve their fishing then they should take note of what you have done. And this goes for any area people fish not just DI.

Congrats mate :)

Greg Lamprecht

11-01-2012, 09:19 PM
Great report Steve - Having a plan and sticking to it would be the downfall of ...well me for starters. When you put the hard yards in - the results speak for themselves. Congratulations and thanks.

Wags

11-01-2012, 09:25 PM
ditto to what Wags said, it must of been bloody hard seeing shows and not having a rod to have a drop....also you must of learned all about your sounder too,,

outwide1
11-01-2012, 09:51 PM
Bloody good going,i find at times DI and the reds get the best of me(just ask Gregory how times i have said im selling the boat lol) but reading that puts inspiration back into searching for that holy grail.
It is at times just easy to continue returning to marks that you have pulled good fish off and not search for something new but again reading that
has given me a new prospective.
Congrats and i too can bouch for the help given by the likes of Greg,Craig and Tye.
Cheers Mick

googarra
11-01-2012, 10:10 PM
Great fish, tough to find the further south you are. You put in the hard yards.

I get the odd one most trips and it mystifies me, I want to find better ground but while they are biting you get the mixed bag and you stay put.

I can get a reef trip in on average twice a month and all I seem to do, is the same as most, get the hell out there, find your latest mark, drop down and fish until your arms drop off.

I keep telling myself to find new ground but it is a hard to learn disipline

Aussie123
11-01-2012, 11:53 PM
Awesome bunch of fish.
Well done.

webby nq
12-01-2012, 12:13 AM
Definately hit the nail on the head there mate , not sure id be able to handle sounding over a big lump covered in fish without dropping a big bait amongst it but I can see the method in your madness, the results are so much better though when you work hard for them and that you have done. Congrats Redhunter , Webby

12-01-2012, 02:17 AM
:Pawesome fish!!!! - so where can I catch em;D .........

TREVELLY
12-01-2012, 05:34 AM
Great report and some great fish - but I would certainly be dropping a bait or two on a show even in new ground - searching new ground I recon is great fun and like prospecting - it is a lot easier if you are alone too and in no rush to produce the goods for another unless the buddy onboard is of like mind.

Yep I think the guys that search and succeed up in the territory you mention and show their results get a lot of respect and shown appreciation in this forum.

Thanks for the report.

outta line
12-01-2012, 05:43 AM
Like the saying goes ....If you do what you have always done....then you will get what you've always got.......well done...dont think i would be able to not have a drop ..would always b thinking what if when i am home..but will make an exciting first fishing trip when the bait is dropped on your new marks....tight lines and fun times to you....
cheers mick

12-01-2012, 06:14 AM
Great post and awesome work redhunter, inspirational stuff indeed!
Great to see the hard yards are now paying off with interest!

ShaneC
12-01-2012, 07:22 AM
"Do what you always do and you'll get what you always got"..... This saying is more pertinent to fishing than any other activity I reckon. Cant say that I would do a trip without rods but I am constantly picking an area I haven't fished and spend a six pack looking around. It has served me well..... I'm running out of areas though

Boat Hog
12-01-2012, 04:32 PM
Totally inspirational fishing! Well done and thanks for taking the time to share.

Ohh ... and you're totally crazy too ;)

Redhunter
13-01-2012, 08:23 PM
All good Steve, glad you got the pics sorted.

That is one awesome Grassie. Yeah, I know The Reds are the Holy Grail....... :P

and yes, it takes passion and patience to achieve the results.

Hi Lucky Phill, yeh that Grassie went 6kg and the boys dropped two alot bigger than that, it was Deeno's first trip offshore and you couldn't keep the smile off his face.

Redhunter
13-01-2012, 08:38 PM
Hi Steve,

Fantastic report mate and congrats on a sensational trip.

I really appreciate your thanks in helping you achieve not only the holy grail Red Emperor but quality fish all round. I have been writing articles for bushnbeach and putting reports on Ausfish for over 8 years now and it’s a good feeling when people take your advice on board and achieve their goals. Not only did you do this but you put together a fantastic plan as well and this is something that thousands of fishermen cannot and will not do. Ever heard the expression 99% go fishing and only 1% catch fish. It’s safe to say you are certainly a 1% and it’s not because you caught good fish this trip but it’s your attitude and determination that makes you a good fisherman.

If people ever wondered how to improve their fishing then they should take note of what you have done. And this goes for any area people fish not just DI.

Congrats mate :)

Greg Lamprecht

Thanks Greg for you kind words, still got massive amounts of searching to do as there is alot of water to cover. I learnt alot from those bigger reds in the photos as I caught them in an area that you would never imagine them to be. What they were eating and the fact they were spawning has made me definatley think outside the square.

Redhunter
13-01-2012, 08:50 PM
Bloody good going,i find at times DI and the reds get the best of me(just ask Gregory how times i have said im selling the boat lol) but reading that puts inspiration back into searching for that holy grail.
It is at times just easy to continue returning to marks that you have pulled good fish off and not search for something new but again reading that
has given me a new prospective.
Congrats and i too can bouch for the help given by the likes of Greg,Craig and Tye.
Cheers Mick

Hi Mick, I know were you are coming from there, if I see you down tin can I'll come and say Gday.

Redhunter
13-01-2012, 08:51 PM
:Pawesome fish!!!! - so where can I catch em;D .........

Ahh, if I told ya that I'd have to kill ya. LOL

outwide1
14-01-2012, 07:34 PM
Certainly come over and say gday Steve,have you thought of fishing the rainbow comp this year??
At this stage i think i have talked Greg into going along with Garmin Wayne(kittykat)
and another big riptide.
Be a good social thing.
Cheers Mick.
i probably wont fish di until April.

lightsout76
14-01-2012, 11:13 PM
Well Steve,

I think you've whipped up quite an inspiring point of interest with your post and your disipline and dedication to make a plan and stick to it.

I know after reading your post it has inspired me to force a lot more discipline out of myself by doing more searching and sticking to it as i plan to do everytime i go out but don't spend as much time as i should....... it would probably help me get that elusive holy grail i've been chasing too.

By the way, cracking Grassy, love it mate well done and thanks for the post and the great pics and good luck with your future trips.

Leon. :)

Redhunter
16-01-2012, 10:14 AM
Certainly come over and say gday Steve,have you thought of fishing the rainbow comp this year??
At this stage i think i have talked Greg into going along with Garmin Wayne(kittykat)
and another big riptide.
Be a good social thing.
Cheers Mick.
i probably wont fish di until April.

depends if i can get time of work.
steve

feral cat
15-02-2012, 06:25 AM
steve mate what else is there to say.bloody awesome.good report.looks like a good time had by all.good to see all that scouting around is paying off.

lethal
15-02-2012, 07:01 AM
Your champion attitude has reaped champion rewards, congratulations.

Lee

Redhunter
15-02-2012, 06:30 PM
steve mate what else is there to say.bloody awesome.good report.looks like a good time had by all.good to see all that scouting around is paying off.

Hi justin ya been hiding have to catch up for a beer
steve

Sheik
15-02-2012, 07:42 PM
Hi Lucky Phill, yeh that Grassie went 6kg and the boys dropped two alot bigger than that, it was Deeno's first trip offshore and you couldn't keep the smile off his face.

Deeno is ruined for the rest of his life. You've just made every trip after this one a bloody misery!!

Great report, thanks Steve. When are we going out ? Didn't catch that in your post. We came back from offshore Fraser last weekend vowing to sell boats and gear. Hope we get over it.

feral cat
15-02-2012, 07:42 PM
steve allways keen for a beer.mate no not been hiding been doing refurb on cat on inside.putting twin 220 ltr esky in one passenger and driver side and building new trailer inbetween trips.im chompen at the bit to get back out there.specially after your report mate.good work.your certainly a keen fisho travelling by yourself.theres some awesome country out there,just need to travell.cheers steve catch you soon.