View Full Version : Which boat, help and ideas needed!!!!

rollie
02-01-2012, 07:28 PM
Hi tossing up weather to buy Formosa 550 half cab new (fishing only) or Mustang 2200 cruiser 2003 (fishing and good for the kids).
I wanna fish offshore and inshore around the bay and holiday to Whitsundays and Carins. Towing with Triton ute 4x4 2010 model and company fuel card ;D.
Please help with any idea's if possible!!!
Thanks Rollie8-)

02-01-2012, 07:38 PM
hi rollie, those 2 boats are quite different, what do you want your boat to do, that might help a few guys give you an opinion.

FisHard
02-01-2012, 08:20 PM
Hey Rollie,
Yeah, big gap between genres there! The 5.5m tinny is going to be easy to us e (so you will get out more) and on the pocket, but low on the "luxury" scale. The Mustang would be great on paper, but maintainence (all those systems are going to need work- its 8 years old!) Will be a hassle. And its going to be a hassle towing it all over Australia. Maybe a good compromise is something around 6m, fibreglass, half cab? Good luck sorting it out. :g

03-01-2012, 01:28 PM
If you are going to tow it all over the place, the new tin boat would get the nod I reckon, I went for a run in a demo 5.8M Archer on the weekend, seemed to be pretty good value to me (not trying to convince you to buy one, OK)

wirlybird
03-01-2012, 01:47 PM
For the places your saying you want to fish you need to be looking at 6 meters plus preferable. Also twin engine maybe a cat?

03-01-2012, 01:59 PM
If you go to 6m+ and want to tow it here there and everywhere, half your holidays will be spent towing the boat there and back, a 5.5 (ish) boat will go all the places you mention, and be reasonably easy to tow long distances as well, like all things, there is a compromise, I have a 5.5M cat, and I am bloody sure I would not want to tow it to Cairns.

wirlybird
03-01-2012, 03:25 PM
Each to their own Nolem I can understand your point of view
But i am in a similar situation i don’t pay for fuel and don’t see any difference towing an 8mt boat to a 6mt boat i still do 100 clicks and most of the time. I drive to Airlie beach and fish the reef and come home in comfort at sea that’s the one that’s gona smash you’re back not driving a car. And if you’re driving that far your going out no matter what the conditions are cause that’s why your there in the first place. My dad reticently towed from Airlie to Melbourne a 7.5 mt plate boat the brakes failed but he was still ok to tow it to a repairer as his car was up to the task. A lot of people make towing out to be much harder than it is. I think it’s due to poor setup and an improper tow vehicle. I might sound old school here or a bit of a diehard but the reason we travel so far is for the love of your sport.

It only takes one big fish to forget it all

rollie
03-01-2012, 08:38 PM
Hi and thanks for the input, i'm not sure what the actual respones was but thanks anyway.Just sold my 542f Hanies signatue. That was not big enough so thats why i was thinking the Mustang, Yes its 8 years old and has had the following work done to it
Major servicing completed:

Engine major:
Replaced Manifold & risers, change oil & filter $465.00
Riser gaskets Dri-joint $133.10
Manifold $1,199.60
Exhaust elbow $952.88
Thermo gasket $13.00
Thermo gasket $12.50
Thermostat $61.10
Mercruiser oil $47.25
Oil filter $12.60

Alpha 1 leg major:
E ring $17.40
Wear pad $9.50
Bellows kit $299.00
Trim hose $125.00
Hose-hydraulic $93.20
Sender kit alpha bravo $224.50
Gear oil $35.00
Hose-Hydraulic $91.96
Assy-shift cable $178.30
Impellor/kit $79.00
Anode kit alpha $166.00
Labour $880.00
Is there anymore work needed???
Thanks Rollie

johncar
03-01-2012, 09:58 PM
Hi rollie, I was in a sortof similar frame of mind mid last year as I had bought a 6.25 metre fishing boat which was fine for me and perhaps a mate to go outside fishing but not quite the thing for a few days away with the family on board, so even though I loved my fishing boat I sold it and bought the 660 Fisher which although not much longer, it is better for those days away. Mine is just an outboard setup and simpler perhaps to what you are considering but I figure it's good to enjoy the time with the family and a few comforts and a bit of extra space is all good. You need to make sure it's safe and reliable though so that it is a good experience. I don't have the company fuel card though so I have to save up for any big trips but I am getting myself setup with decent tow vehicle etc to be able to handle the longer hauls, but meanwhile plenty of local spots to enjoy.
Hope to be getting out there tomorrow for a couple of days, weather looking reasonable atm..

ozbee
04-01-2012, 10:06 AM
townsville to cairns has many inshore shoals and reef so the tinny would make a great all rounder especial chasing barra also /shoals can produce quite quite well as experience grows . if you wish bag outs of trout and large mouth nannys like these

http://i279.photobucket.com/albums/kk123/ozbee_photos/SANY0350.jpg

ozbee
04-01-2012, 10:08 AM
a bit more size is nice

wirlybird
04-01-2012, 10:59 AM
townsville to cairns has many inshore shoals and reef so the tinny would make a great all rounder especial chasing barra also /shoals can produce quite quite well as experience grows . if you wish bag outs of trout and large mouth nannys like these

http://i279.photobucket.com/albums/kk123/ozbee_photos/SANY0350.jpg

I like how your keeping the hooks cool i might try that one next time :)

FisHard
04-01-2012, 12:28 PM
Hi and thanks for the input, i'm not sure what the actual respones was but thanks anyway.Just sold my 542f Hanies signatue. That was not big enough so thats why i was thinking the Mustang, Yes its 8 years old and has had the following work done to it
Major servicing completed:

Engine major:
Replaced Manifold & risers, change oil & filter $465.00
Riser gaskets Dri-joint $133.10
Manifold $1,199.60
Exhaust elbow $952.88
Thermo gasket $13.00
Thermo gasket $12.50
Thermostat $61.10
Mercruiser oil $47.25
Oil filter $12.60

Alpha 1 leg major:
E ring $17.40
Wear pad $9.50
Bellows kit $299.00
Trim hose $125.00
Hose-hydraulic $93.20
Sender kit alpha bravo $224.50
Gear oil $35.00
Hose-Hydraulic $91.96
Assy-shift cable $178.30
Impellor/kit $79.00
Anode kit alpha $166.00
Labour $880.00
Is there anymore work needed???
Thanks Rollie
Wow, a $5k service (admitidly, major) !!!
Ok, so that's the motor and leg taken care of, but how about the water system (hot?) Electrics, refrigeration, trailer etc, etc?
If you liked the Signature, how about a 600c with the stove and camper covers etc? If you want to just go fishing, you could strip some of the crap off.

rollie
04-01-2012, 07:10 PM
Thanks gys your input is great and i have taken it onboard (pardon the pun) Ozbee thats cruel and just plain showing off. lol. Mustang has motor and leg sorted as Fishard said, now the boat (hull) is very sound and i will be checking the electrics again this Saturday. Really thing more room as you said Johncar and more room for the family or several nights away.... Still lost but i have more thibgs to consider now....
Thanks again Guys Rollie

05-01-2012, 10:26 AM
Or you could look at something like a 702SB Signature, plenty of room for overnighters etc and still plenty of cruiseability and fishing room.