View Full Version : Canopy for a seafarer vc

31-12-2011, 11:42 AM
I am hoping someone might be able to point me in the right direction.
My pride and joy is my Seafarer VC which I've owned since around 1985, compliments of my wonderful Dad (the best Dad in the world).
Problem is the canopy is reaching it's end point. I've had it repaired in the past but I think it's time to look around for a replacement.
I am located in the Coffs Harbour area, however I am often in Brissie, so if anyone can pass on some advice it would be greatly appreciated.

I must add when I fish out off Coffs I don't need the canopy but when I fish out from 1770/Agnes I would be burned to a crisp without it, I'll be heading up there next week 'till the end of January.
I do intend to give Seafarer a call but I don't like my chances... I must add they do get excited when they find out which VC I own, one of the few manufactured in three colours, see my fishing photos, my Seafarer is in many of them!!!

Cheers Roz :)

31-12-2011, 02:21 PM
Roz - try Rowland Street Boat Trimmers

outta line
31-12-2011, 03:32 PM
hey roz
i use Brendan at southside marine trimming which is in yatla QLD he dose a gr8 job and there is a marine stainless shop next door if you need any mods done at the same time..
mick

31-12-2011, 04:40 PM
Ta Mick, All recommendations greatly appreciated...can I name drop!!!
R. :)

"hey roz
i use Brendan at southside marine trimming which is in yatla QLD he dose a gr8 job and there is a marine stainless shop next door if you need any mods done at the same time..
mick "

31-12-2011, 04:42 PM
Thanks heaps Michael, most places are closed over the Chrissy/New Year break but I will definately give them a call.

r. :)

"Roz - try Rowland Street Boat Trimmers"

31-12-2011, 06:30 PM
Michael????? who's that????

31-12-2011, 07:38 PM
Michael????? who's that????
sorry "Wags"

31-12-2011, 09:42 PM
http://www.boat-canopies.com.au/southside%20marine%20trimming.htm

http://www.boatcovers.com.au/

http://davestrimmers.com/

http://www.classicmarine.com.au/

or in Bundaberg.............

Sugar Coast Canvas & Trimming

Traditional Quality Work Without Sacrifice

Motor Body Trimmers - Bundaberg, QLD

Shed 6/ 63 Enterprise St, Bundaberg QLD 4670, Australia
http://www.yellowpages.com.au/ui/standard/bpp/phone_icon.png(07) 4151 6600

yes, they do Marine Trimming as well.

Cheers LP

Fed
01-01-2012, 08:08 AM
Love the colours roz I doubt there would be another one like it and still going.

You might want to think about internal stays for the canopy while it's apart or if you get a new 25mm frame, that way you could lose the back straps which I found is a big improvement.

Don't know if it would work for you if you use it a lot with the canopy pushed down against the windscreen but it's something to think about.

Jabba_
01-01-2012, 09:50 AM
I am hoping someone might be able to point me in the right direction.
My pride and joy is my Seafarer VC which I've owned since around 1985, compliments of my wonderful Dad (the best Dad in the world).
Problem is the canopy is reaching it's end point. I've had it repaired in the past but I think it's time to look around for a replacement.
I am located in the Coffs Harbour area, however I am often in Brissie, so if anyone can pass on some advice it would be greatly appreciated.

I must add when I fish out off Coffs I don't need the canopy but when I fish out from 1770/Agnes I would be burned to a crisp without it, I'll be heading up there next week 'till the end of January.
I do intend to give Seafarer a call but I don't like my chances... I must add they do get excited when they find out which VC I own, one of the few manufactured in three colours, see my fishing photos, my Seafarer is in many of them!!!

Cheers Roz :)

Hey Roz.. If you want to keep the Seafarer a Seafarer through and through. contact John Shipps from Shipps Marine... He was the stainless guy for Lindsay Fry when he owned Seafarer.. He is still doing a lot off work to new, and old Seafarers, and his workman ship is as good as it gets... He is a great bloke and he is very reasonably priced..

John is located at coomera, across the HWY from Dreamworld..
Here is his Web page on myboatingshop.com http://www.myboatingshop.com/marine-dealer-network/boat-stainless-steel-accessories/schips-marine-stainless

http://www.myboatingshop.com/Resource/Image/20718/900/100

There is also a page on there that you will find very interesting.. Its dedicated to the Seafarer V-sea and there is an old Chris Conroy, World about Boats video, about the 5m V-sea..
http://www.myboatingshop.com/boat-history/seafarer-models/history-v-sea

bigbrian47
01-01-2012, 11:27 AM
hullo roz happy new year
replaced my viking canopy clears at rowland street over 10 years and they still look good.
they made a frame i can stand under with a single zipped front clear and side clears
at the time they were about the same price as elsewhere
side and front clears look like new, 3 times a year i polish them with mr sheen
cheers brian

outta line
01-01-2012, 01:35 PM
Ta Mick, All recommendations greatly appreciated...can I name drop!!!
R. :)

"hey roz
mick "

All good Roz if you decide to use him. Tell him Mick Jed recommend him although he probably knows my name to a face than name alone . Brendans done work on both my seafares my old 5.5 vouge and the victory i have now.One of the jobs i have had done by him to my victory clears was to change the way it was press studed to the top of the windscreen which allowed water in on some days to sail tracked to screen and lets no water in at all. Don't know if you were going to get front and side clears made as well for more head room or have the canopy come straight off the top of your windscreen either way look at getting it sail tracked to the top of your screen instead of press studs you wont regret spending the extra $ to have a dry cab.(let me know if you want a pic )
cheers mick

tenzing
01-01-2012, 07:23 PM
Roz,
I will add my vote for Brendan at southside.
I did the same thing as Mick re the sailtrak on my victory-perfect.
He is a quality act and works accordingly
Brendan
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=57944&d=1272102029

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=57946&d=1272102029

05-01-2012, 05:19 PM
thanks Fred, I dropped into the seafarer factory ages ago, I wanted to replace the old seafarer stickers which turned out to be expensive but worth every cent... anyway, I had photos of the boat plus details with me, without asking they pulled out a book which contained details of all their VCs, mine was only one of a group made with three colours, the chappie I spoke with was one of the sons of the owner and he was really pleased to see the boat still in good condition, the only work I've had done has been to the transom, fairly common with boats of that age, ausfisho Grandmarlin checked out the stringers some time ago and all looks good there however I need to recoat the floor, would also like to see the fuel tank re located to the front, would travel a lot better IMO. Getting back to the original issue, the frame is still in perfect condition but your suggestion is definately food for thought.
I could waffle on for ages about VCs, well mine anyway, maybe I should start a thread on VC, but only the 4.72s.
thanks heaps
roz :)

Love the colours roz I doubt there would be another one like it and still going.

You might want to think about internal stays for the canopy while it's apart or if you get a new 25mm frame, that way you could lose the back straps which I found is a big improvement.

Don't know if it would work for you if you use it a lot with the canopy pushed down against the windscreen but it's something to think about.

Fed
05-01-2012, 05:29 PM
HaHa!
I coughed up for new Seafarer & Viking stickers for mine and my pocket is still burning.
Sad part is I lost the little dashboard oval one before I got around to putting it on.

05-01-2012, 09:10 PM
With a bit of luck I will be out on the water tomorrow towing for mackeral, the canopy has just made it on but a couple of the studs havn't connected, maybe when the sun warms things up a little, anyway, thanks for the info and link, I will definately follow up.
Very much appreciated. One thing I must add is my aim to keep my VC in original condition
cheers R. :)

Hey Roz.. If you want to keep the Seafarer a Seafarer through and through. contact John Shipps from Shipps Marine... He was the stainless guy for Lindsay Fry when he owned Seafarer.. He is still doing a lot off work to new, and old Seafarers, and his workman ship is as good as it gets... He is a great bloke and he is very reasonably priced..

John is located at coomera, across the HWY from Dreamworld..
Here is his Web page on myboatingshop.com http://www.myboatingshop.com/marine-dealer-network/boat-stainless-steel-accessories/schips-marine-stainless

http://www.myboatingshop.com/Resource/Image/20718/900/100

There is also a page on there that you will find very interesting.. Its dedicated to the Seafarer V-sea and there is an old Chris Conroy, World about Boats video, about the 5m V-sea..
http://www.myboatingshop.com/boat-history/seafarer-models/history-v-sea

2iar
06-01-2012, 01:13 PM
Hi Roz,

+1 for Rowland St Boat trimmers. I've had both repair (re-stiching) and replacement (torn canopy) work done and happy with the quality.

Phil mentioned in a PM that you were heading out today from 1770. I thought you never hit Agnes during school holidays otherwise I might have given you a yell - we're heading home in the morning :-(

I've never seen the ramp parking so busy... I got there a little after 5am and still couldn't get in the trailer park. For a 5-10 knot wind prediction, the seas were calmer during yesterday's 10-15.

Anyway, hope your trip's a success.

Good luck,

08-01-2012, 11:24 AM
I work for Ryan's in at Coffs now so I have to take the breaks when I can. I got out on Friday and managed some mackeral, one in particular might make it to an off shore post.
Must mention, I had to park my trailer up near the 80 km sign... never seen anything like it before!!!
cheers r. :)