View Full Version : The New Toy

Orrsum
12-12-2011, 11:39 AM
ll its finally arrived, my new toy. 5.2 Javelin Hammerhead. now the fun begins...the fit out. i am going to power it with a Yamaha 70 4stroke. i have just bought a Humminbird 1198 si combo and in early Feb, Greens down at Yatala are going to cover it with a folding Targa. cant wait to get this thing on the water.

MudRiverDan
12-12-2011, 11:48 AM
Looks like a very nice boat indeed.

12-12-2011, 12:07 PM
Nice fishing weapon mate.

Orrsum
12-12-2011, 12:53 PM
I'm just hoping i get it all set up for Xmas. should have plenty of range with a 150Ltr fuel tank.
does anyone have some advice regarding Prop selection stainless or alloy??

nickstock
12-12-2011, 07:51 PM
You will be stoked with it mate. I had one and wish I never sold it. I have chased small black marlin in it one day and up in the fresh water chasing barras the next. It is a great all round vessell I reckon!

12-12-2011, 09:29 PM
Great looking boat mate,

have the 70A on a Cruisecraft 485,....how heavy is the boat? the CC is about 625- 650kgs i think and if yours is a lot heavier at 5.2 it may struggle with 3 blokes, eskies etc... i find 2 people eskies etc the 70A is good but thats on a 4.85 and it doesnt have a 150 ltr tank either. I find the fuel economy ridiculous, 3 klicks to the litre though...

Floating Rib
12-12-2011, 09:50 PM
Nice boat mate looks like a super allround rig that should handle the rough stuff nicely with that nice v at the front, would have liked twin yam 70a's on my boat but cost was an issue, they are a superlight engine so should keep the arse nice and high. Guys on here with much more experience will advise on props im sure, im a stainless fan though.

Orrsum
13-12-2011, 09:25 AM
Great looking boat mate,

have the 70A on a Cruisecraft 485,....how heavy is the boat? the CC is about 625- 650kgs i think and if yours is a lot heavier at 5.2 it may struggle with 3 blokes, eskies etc... i find 2 people eskies etc the 70A is good but thats on a 4.85 and it doesnt have a 150 ltr tank either. I find the fuel economy ridiculous, 3 klicks to the litre though...

Thanks Mate, the empty hull weighs 600kg, so I am thinking that with the right prop it should be ok. with a 90 2-stroke they do 42 knots. I dont need that sort of speed as i'd be happy with high 20's, its not often the waters flat enough to get up to those spped outside the bay here in Noosa anyway. it also has a 150Ltr kill tank under the floor and the esky's are both in front of the console's pretending to be seats.

nickstock
13-12-2011, 11:43 AM
I had a 75 Enduro 2 stroke on mine and did 32 knots fully loaded so I reckon you will get 28 knots no worries at all. Those little Yammy 70 4 bangers are a sweet bit of gear mate.

Camhawk88
13-12-2011, 11:54 AM
Very nice, I like the twin consul layout. I reckon you will kick yourself going a 70 on that boat with 600kg bare and a deep-V you wont have the poke to get on the plane quickly. You will also use more fuel as you are pushing it harder. Just because a 90 will get it up to 42knots doesnt mean you need to use it. If you get a flat day and want to cruise home at 35knots you will do it cheaper than a 70 pushing you flat out at 27-28knots.
Dont go the option if you think it will take perfect proping and height setting (of course you stil want to get it right) to get acceptable performance. It is much cheaper to do it right the first time than to re-power.
As for stainless or aluminium. Stainless all the way if it is a bluewater boat. Unless you plan on doing a lot of shallow water stuff where hitting snags regularly with a SS prop has the potential to damage the motor where a ali prop will have some give.

Kondo 1
13-12-2011, 01:50 PM
I have the F70 on my 4.55 seajay - dead set mongrel of a motor to prop and SOLAS rolled their eyes when I told them what I had. They reckoned it was now the hardest motor they had to prop full stop.

Best so far is the SOLAS stainless in 14" (much lighter boat) though speed is down a long way from the standard alloy 15" - I have experienced a bit of prop slip on the the standard prop but it was still very usable. I tried the Stainless Yamaha performance prop - didn't work on my boat at all and a very expensive mistake, too much bow lift and as a result very trim sensitve. Might work on your boat though - you look to be carrying allot more weight forward and it is ventilated so allows it to spin up a little quicker. It also runs a fairly heavy cup so you can run your motor nice and high.

Not sure what pitch you would need to run though, 14" works for me but my boat is a fair bit lighter.

One of my old mans employees runs the motor with a standard 15" alloy prop on a 5.2 I think Bluewater - runs really nice he reckons and gets high 20's (all i get with the Stainless prop anyway - 32knots with the alloy).

I concur with the others - very very nice motor, I pulled a 12 month old 50 Yamaha 4 stroke off for it - much nicer motor and identical economy.

Orrsum
13-12-2011, 02:40 PM
I reckon you will kick yourself going a 70 on that boat with 600kg bare and a deep-V you wont have the poke to get on the plane quickly. You will also use more fuel as you are pushing it harder. Just because a 90 will get it up to 42knots doesnt mean you need to use it. If you get a flat day and want to cruise home at 35knots you will do it cheaper than a 70 pushing you flat out at 27-28knots.
Dont go the option if you think it will take perfect proping and height setting (of course you stil want to get it right) to get acceptable performance. It is much cheaper to do it right the first time than to re-power.
As for stainless or aluminium. Stainless all the way if it is a bluewater boat. Unless you plan on doing a lot of shallow water stuff where hitting snags regularly with a SS prop has the potential to damage the motor where a ali prop will have some give.

It will be for both outside and up the creeks, i do a fair bit of Jack fishing i might start off with Alloy, would hate to damage the motor.
There is a centre console version on the river here, he's running a yamie 4-stroke 70 tiler steer. gets great fuel consumption and topend. apparently the boats dont have to get 'out of the hole' they just take off. so I guess I'll find out on the water test.

STUIE63
13-12-2011, 03:27 PM
sweet looking ride there and a 150l tank will give you plenty of range when matched to the 70 :o

Orrsum
13-12-2011, 03:37 PM
removed, incorrect info.

13-12-2011, 04:03 PM
Orrsum,

I get about 56 kmph with 2 onboard, 2 eskies and full of fuel, rods etc ( reckon it would weigh about 1 tonne with all that) and it cruises nicely at 36 kmph etc, she is stock and haven't played with props as yet,

nickstock
13-12-2011, 04:49 PM
Mine was under 750 kgs BMT fully loaded with 100kgs of ice and a 130 liter fuel tank. I reckon the four stroke will be fine as my old boat planned at about 13kms per hour and just flew out of the water. I saw one that used to work as a commercial trout dory with a 60 four stroke yammy and he got 25 knots wot fully loaded with a live well full of Trout!

Orrsum
13-12-2011, 04:49 PM
Orrsum,

I get about 56 kmph with 2 onboard, 2 eskies and full of fuel, rods etc ( reckon it would weigh about 1 tonne with all that) and it cruises nicely at 36 kmph etc, she is stock and haven't played with props as yet,

Thanks, I will be happy with that. It's not like I am after a ski boat.

Orrsum
13-12-2011, 04:55 PM
Thanks Nick, that's what I thought. I was going to look at the 80hp but the extra weight is heaps and for alot more cash.

krazyfisher
13-12-2011, 05:05 PM
I admit I would go a bigger motor... I have a 5mtr hooker side console with a 75hp 2/s the hull weights 395kg dry than add the 200l of fuel and the 138kg motor and esky etc on a 21deg V and I get 60kph full and over 65+kph with an empty tank. the revs can be upto 500rpm different running heavy vs light. show those number should be close to yours

Orrsum
14-12-2011, 10:18 AM
Ok, after looking at a few options and considering the weight of the outboards I have upgraded my outboard prior to fitting the 70A and decided to go with the 100hp 4/s it weighs the same as the 80 and gives me 30 extra horses than the 70 would. I think this thing will perform like Pharlap and I wont have any issues with the size of my crew and all the gear.
thanks everyone for the input and opinions, they were very helpful and most appreciated.

Camhawk88
14-12-2011, 10:27 AM
I reckon you've done the right thing there. Your fuel economy should improve given you could probably cruise at 4000rpm and 25knots with that and rarely driving the motor flat out should mean less chance of mechanical issues.

Kondo 1
14-12-2011, 10:56 AM
As nice as the 70hp is I think you have done the right thing, it will be a top boat and I am Jealous :)

The 100hp wont go astray on the Noosa bar when you need it either.

nickstock
15-12-2011, 07:50 AM
The rear end will be bloody low with the 80 mate! There will be some water coming over the back when drifting in sloppy seas but it is self draining anyway I guess.

She will bloody fly with the 100 on it!

Orrsum
12-01-2012, 01:00 PM
The rear end will be bloody low with the 80 mate! There will be some water coming over the back when drifting in sloppy seas but it is self draining anyway I guess.

She will bloody fly with the 100 on it!

Spot on Nick, sat very low with the weight of the F100 on it. I have had the boys from Kellick build me some rear 'pods' that will double as steps to lift the rear. we put 15kg on each pod and still hadit an inch above the waterline. so that should give me around 30kg of lift in the rear. test run tomorrow morning. the thing fly's around 36knots andits great being able to speak to the fella next to you over the motor noise. I will post up some more picks later. start of Feb the guy's at greens marine stainless will fit a folding Targa with slideout rear section, and bait board to it, then its finished. cant wait to haveit all done and get out there amoungst it...

Orrsum
13-01-2012, 01:56 PM
well the pods have been put on and they made a huge difference, gave me about an inch and a half of lift which is all that was needed. now it sits well with the weight of the 100hp instead of having the scuppers right on or slightly below the water line.

krazyfisher
13-01-2012, 03:30 PM
any chance of a photo of the pods out of the water? I like the idea

Orrsum
13-01-2012, 06:00 PM
any chance of a photo of the pods out of the water? I like the idea

Here you go Krazy

75766 75767

krazyfisher
13-01-2012, 07:03 PM
thanks I will look into it as mine sits a bit low at rest

thanks again