View Full Version : Safety Certificate for Trailer

gruntahunta
09-12-2011, 07:37 PM
I have just bought a boat & trailer but unfortunately the seller & myself did not realize a safety certificate was needed for the trailer as it is certified at 1000kg ATM, so I have to get one obviously to transfer rego. (This after waiting an hour at Chermside transport centre).

I live in Ferny Hills, does any one know someone close around here so I can get one. The trailer is only about 10 months old, done about 40kms, so brand new. If there is an Ausfish member that is certified to do this that I can give this job too it would be good.

09-12-2011, 07:39 PM
I used this mob, mobile and were Ok

http://www.ecmsc.com.au/

gruntahunta
09-12-2011, 07:46 PM
How much did they charge

09-12-2011, 07:49 PM
cant remember mate, You'll have to ring them, I think a touch above normal for the mobile part, but not too bad If I rememebr

Si
09-12-2011, 07:51 PM
i used them also and i think from memory $ 80-90 bucks. If they found something that requires repair then they will charge additional like anyone else. You could take it your local servo, most of them do safety certificates and charge a bit less.

09-12-2011, 07:53 PM
yes Si, mine failed, and they charged $45 to come back and check the repairs I made.

ShaneC
09-12-2011, 08:21 PM
Mate I get a triaxle done at PBL Brendale every 12 months and it only costs $90, thats not far from yours, might be worth a call. They build horse floats if you are trying to find them in the book with phone numbers....

Si
09-12-2011, 08:39 PM
mechanics at matilda service station on board street, deagon quoted me $50 to do one for me assuming no repairs were required.

2DKnBJ
09-12-2011, 09:05 PM
Hey Grunta
PBL at brendale are the go.

Cheers Dazza

fez
09-12-2011, 09:25 PM
Yep also used PBL at Brendale a couple of times, very good and done in under 5 min as there were no issues with it at all.

Ring ahead and they have always been on time.

fez

darryl13
10-12-2011, 05:57 AM
PBL trailers at brendale did mine could ask for better service, i think its a standard govt charge like a car roadworthy

gruntahunta
10-12-2011, 09:29 AM
Thanks everyone...looks like PBL it is.

pipifin
12-12-2011, 09:10 AM
That sucks.... If you sell a car less than 3 years old you do not require a safety cert in QLD, why should a trailer be any different?

pipifin
12-12-2011, 09:10 AM
well that's what I was told when a sold and bought a car lat year.

gruntahunta
12-12-2011, 09:50 AM
Ah Pipifin...I do not think that is correct

pipifin
12-12-2011, 11:59 AM
yeah I don't know where I came up with that one ?!?!?!?!?!?!
Hmmmmmm.......

gruntahunta
15-12-2011, 06:57 PM
Ok, had to get the mobile ones out as the Brendale PB trailers only have 1 registered person and he was away. $104.50 which is good.

From 1st July 2011 all trailers which are sold have to have it's Vin number stamped/engraved onto the trailer, not just on the compliance plate. luckily the inspector did not fail my trailer and stamped it for me.