PDA

View Full Version : Conman hitting Ausfish Classifieds

Camhawk88
06-12-2011, 02:00 PM
I just thought Id bring to everyone's attention that a fairly common con is doing the rounds on Ausfish.
There have been a number of threads on here about blokes being contacted by email for boats they have for sale ,with the person saying they work on rigs and will send a courier company to pick up the goods etc. etc.
Well this morning I had a PM from a new user who has only joined this month. I wont name them in case I am wrong however MODs if you want me to PM the user namer I will happily do so. I have seen 3 other members have visited his page so I assume they have also been the target of his con attempts.

Anyway here is the email I recieved after letting them know the rod is still for sale:

Hello

Thank you for the update e-mail,i really do appreciate it..I'm a marine engineer but i'm off shore at this moment.
Your asking price is fair and the shipping will not be a problem.I have contacted an agency to handle the transportation cos i have other vital deliveries.My preferred means of payment is a bank check,guarantee and easily cashed.
You keep $300 and the money left on the check is for the pick/shipping and you are to make it available for the shipping agency so that they can be in your location for the pick-up at your convenience.Provide your full name,mailing address and phone # so that payment can be sent asap.

I await this information details and i surely will give you a call the minute i arrive onshore so that every other arrangement can be intact..The best way to contact me is via email as I'm always running around with things.

Muddy Toes
06-12-2011, 02:12 PM
I'll name him........White Tom with the Ausfish name of TomTom2.

Mossy247
06-12-2011, 02:27 PM
Name n shame. Scammers, con jobs they should be left at the bottom of the ocean. Anyone who tries to scam people deserve a swift kick to the head.

Boab Bribie
06-12-2011, 02:50 PM