PDA

View Full Version : Sounder Combo problems

Benny1
01-12-2011, 10:34 AM
Hi, has anyone one encountered a problem with there combo units when starting the engine shuts down the unit. If drifting, all is good, start the engine to do another run and the unit goes off and needs to start up again. I'm running a Raymarine A57D. It only started doing it the last 2 trips. All connections look good to me. Thanks

Pazz01
01-12-2011, 12:04 PM
I've been told it is a power surge. Apparently you are meant to shut them down when you turn the motor off as on start up there can be a surge. Ours does it too. I'm no expert tho, just what I was told by the guys at the electronics store.

Someone might know if you can get a surge protector or something?

Pazz

Fed
01-12-2011, 12:13 PM
It's caused by a drop in voltage Paz probably at the battery terminals as that's the only part of the electrical system that should be common to both the starter motor and the fishfinder.
That drop in voltage will either be the terminal connections or the battery itself.
There's also a very slight change that the starter motor is dragging and pulling the battery voltage down.
Grab a voltmeter Benny.

fishing111
01-12-2011, 01:01 PM
I've got the A50D and it does it also.Total pain in the arse.If i change the batteries to run both it doesn't happen, although there is nothing wrong with either battery.I have been told that they are very sensitive to voltage drop.Raymarine will not be on my shopping list next time.

stue2
01-12-2011, 01:06 PM
had a similar experience some time ago. I replaced the battery, the battery box and the terminals and it sorted it out for a while. My old boat was wet so I ended up doing a cleanup job on the terminals fairly often.
Solved the problem completely when i sold the boat.

Cheers, Stu

chris69
01-12-2011, 01:31 PM