View Full Version : West Coast Tasmania

snelly1971
17-11-2011, 08:33 PM
Hi All, Pete ( Grand Marlin ) asked me to put a post up . Being a member for 5 years, I know that this is normally a Rec fishing site, and as I am a Commercial operator I was unsure whether to or not. I do occasionally do some Rec fishing trips with mates at times,But anyhow, I purchased a 48 Foot West coaster Last year. The vessel has a 580 hp Cat, all modern electronics, and a 20 Kva Generator. Also fitted is a 1 ton flake ice machine. I started out fishing with 3 km net for shark, but found this too dangerous, and also there have been some fishing reg laws change, so I have been fishing for blue eye and other scale fish for the past 12 months. I drop line for all my fish.

Hope you enjoy the photos,

Cheers Mick

snelly1971
17-11-2011, 08:35 PM
73748737497375073751737527375373754737557375673757 7375873759http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/pencil.pnghttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/pencil.png

snelly1971
17-11-2011, 08:39 PM
73772737737377473775737767377773778737797378073781 7378273783

snelly1971
17-11-2011, 08:42 PM
and more pictures again

17-11-2011, 08:45 PM
Wondered where you had gone. Awesome pics! Good stuff!

No Fear
17-11-2011, 09:14 PM
Good stuff....enjoyed the photos and the report. Those blue eye make my mouth water!!!!
Great stuff, keep them coming!!!

TREVELLY
18-11-2011, 05:17 AM
That's fantastic! Thanks for sharing.
That great hook in the finger :uhoh:
Love the 3D image - so you target the fish on the edge of the drop off just on the top?

18-11-2011, 06:34 AM
Thanks for taking the time Snelly, your posts are always a highlight IMHO!
Truly awesome stuff!

18-11-2011, 07:45 AM
Thanks Snelly, seeing all those grey subs would make any southern fisherman drool. They even seem to like them more than snapper.

Hard work all that filleting.

STUIE63
18-11-2011, 08:06 AM
just love the sounder shots thanks for sharing Snelly

snelly1971
18-11-2011, 10:02 AM
Yes, we target mainly at the edge of the steeper edges. Here are a few more pictures .

18-11-2011, 10:34 AM
Hi Mick

Good to see you back on. Interesting pics too. Thanks for that DVD too.

See AF s don't dislike pros after all your earlier concerns.

Next option is a west coast Tas off-shore M&G / deckie run!

Vitamin Sea
18-11-2011, 01:32 PM
Great to see you back with a post Mick, have always enjoyed the shots and info from your style of fishing.

That pic in 347 fathom is a cracker, do you drop there?

Bill

Trent Butler
18-11-2011, 02:04 PM
Hi Mick,

Where about's are you operating out of on the West Coast - Looks like Strahan? I live in Brissie but work at the Mt Lyell Copper Mine in Queenstown doing the fly-in, fly-out thing.

Trent

18-11-2011, 02:15 PM
With the weather you guys cop on the west coast, how many days a year roughly are you able to fish?
Agree with Stuie63, those screen shots are insane. I'm having trouble getting my head around the 3D images though! Some awesome pinacles by the looks! Are those long fish pink ling?
Really appreciate your posting; I reckon you are 'living the dream'! Tassie is such a fabulous place!

snelly1971
18-11-2011, 05:43 PM
Great to see you back with a post Mick, have always enjoyed the shots and info from your style of fishing.

That pic in 347 fathom is a cracker, do you drop there?

Bill
We normally start at the deeper depths and work our way up

snelly1971
18-11-2011, 05:43 PM
Hi Mick,

Where about's are you operating out of on the West Coast - Looks like Strahan? I live in Brissie but work at the Mt Lyell Copper Mine in Queenstown doing the fly-in, fly-out thing.

Trent

Hi Trent, Yes am based at Strahan

snelly1971
18-11-2011, 05:49 PM
With the weather you guys cop on the west coast, how many days a year roughly are you able to fish?
Agree with Stuie63, those screen shots are insane. I'm having trouble getting my head around the 3D images though! Some awesome pinacles by the looks! Are those long fish pink ling?
Really appreciate your posting; I reckon you are 'living the dream'! Tassie is such a fabulous place!

I usually work on fishing 90 days a year, the bigger boat are able to work a lot more, but most of them also work inshore, and are able to take shelter in safe anchorages, bit different when your bloody 20 odd mile from the coast.
The 3d is quite simple, I just run Max Sea software, (gps) and the sounder also runs to the plotter, updating the chart for barametric depths, so you end up mapping as you fish, I run 3 screen, 2 plotter and 1 for the 3d bottom viewing, when you are actually in an area your boat shows up on the 3d view as well, showing exactly where you are dropping your lines, Take a look at the there site, they have great demo software. $2200 buys all the software and charts, better than buying a new plotter all the time.

Cheers Mick

murf
18-11-2011, 05:56 PM
there are some top pics and info there Mick :) good to hear from you again

you make us sound like soft #$%^s up here :)

cheers Murf

snelly1971
18-11-2011, 09:32 PM

Yeah, sorry , missed it before, those are pink ling.

Cheers Mick

18-11-2011, 10:16 PM
Good to see you back on Mick. There is nothing wrong with posting as a commercial fisher. I think most of us appreciate seeing how its done and love seeing a few good fish on the deck.

snelly1971
29-08-2014, 06:37 PM

Hi Nigel.. The 3d is awesome, once you get your head around it..pretty easy program to run, and it works out nearly cheaper than buying your normal 2000 dollar gps.. There are alot of add on available to help even more, just depends on how deep your pocket is. Yes the Pink fish were Pink ling.

snelly1971
29-08-2014, 06:42 PM
That's fantastic! Thanks for sharing.
That great hook in the finger :uhoh:
Love the 3D image - so you target the fish on the edge of the drop off just on the top?
We target both areas depending what the tide is doing , most time the tide i running down so we start in the deeper water, and let out lines drift up the slopes into the shallow waters...And yes the bloody hook hurt, i tried to pull it out straight away, but was too deep and make me nearly vomit ..

Grand_Marlin
31-08-2014, 05:11 AM
Typical Tasmanian... it only took 3 years to reply to the post!!
He was probably out checking his letterbox for emails ;D

How have you been Mick?
What's the latest from down south?
How's the boat going?

hilta1
31-08-2014, 08:34 PM
Now now Grand one, us Tasmanians have been out fishing solid for 3 years the weather has been that good!!!!! Not like up in the rain drenched states!lol

hilta1
31-08-2014, 08:35 PM
I must add though, Strahan still relies on carrier pigeon not Australia post!!!

TREVELLY
03-09-2014, 09:54 PM
I am glad he finally answered though - I've been checking every day ::)

Red Emperor
04-09-2014, 12:30 PM
Snellys never been quick ;)

Oh and don't knock us Strahan boys!

snelly1971
05-10-2014, 05:41 PM
Typical Tasmanian... it only took 3 years to reply to the post!!
He was probably out checking his letterbox for emails ;D

How have you been Mick?
What's the latest from down south?
How's the boat going?

Hi Pete

Things are good down here atm, fish farms have doubled in capacity and plenty of work locally. Am currently looking at buying another small boat, just not sure what to buy yet

Cheers Mick

gillogs
09-10-2014, 07:21 AM
great pic's and info thanks for sharing