View Full Version : Remember the story of the unappreciated cat - Well its now appreciated!!!

No Fear
27-10-2011, 06:25 AM

I am sure those whom have been on this site for sometime remember the story of the cat.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?66102-Sharkat-700-Rebuild&highlight=sharkat

Well, I had grown tired of seeing the poor old thing sit around taking up space in the owners backyard so I put down some cash to get the thing fixed up and pending performance, will purchase the big girl. The owner as we all know is a crazy cat lover so as all cat lovers do, they go and purchase a big new mono...??????? What the????? But I guess you will all get to see his new big unit out on the water and I must admit, it is a good looking piece of gear.... ( its got 2 big outboards out the back. I think it is so everytime Pete looks at the stern, he thinks he is in a cat)

As part of the agreement in the purchase, both Pete and myself have agreed on a timeframe to get it on the water (weather dependent) and thats Christmas!!!! So thats only 8 weeks....so Pete, there is no time for fishing/RDOs or sleeping for that matter (Please note the job ad on here that Pete is looking for a new team member)

Now I wont take too much glory away from the restorer and his business (lets just say the boat isnt moving too far for the fitout) in terms of what is getting done & how its getting done but the basics at this stage are:
Paint job- After many sleepless nights, the boat is going to be painted white. Hopefully this will bring her back to life and open up the options in terms of stickers and trim colours. The gold paint idea got canned. The girlfriend said that if I am buying anything gold, it has to fit on her finger!!!
Electronics - Pete has some dirty old Lowrance gear lying around taking up space so the HDS 10, radar and 1kw transducer is going in. I havent decided what else I want but there may be another electrical piece go in there. I have two HDS 5s networked up in my current rig without any issues and they are practical and pretty easy to use. There fishing finding ability are also good enough as I still catch fish!!!
I will get some updated photos on here during the week ( think I will wait until the spiderwebs and snake skin is blasted out though) and Pete will certainly put some up along the way, hopefully the ones that were in the initial thread above, prior to them being lost from ausfish ( it was actually that long ago they were probably in black and white anyway).
I have always wanted a big boat. I am currently halves in a Yalta Weekender but its not the same as owning your own boat. I have been in big cats before and despite the ongoing debate, I doubt whether I would get anything else similar to performance and quality for the money I am paying.
The boat will initially be stored in Brisbane or close by, and will either end up living on the Sunshine Coast or Hervey Bay. It will be used for everything water related (except skiing) including trips with the boys (still deciding if the girlfriend is allowed) over to Tangalooma snorkelling for the weekend, and more importantly bottom bashing around Fraser/Sunny Coast and the surrounding areas. Having witnessed my first wahoo catch last year, it is also going to be used for trolling to hopefully land my first big game fish. It will also find its way to 1770 every now and then, once the fitout is entirely complete.
The name is still up for discussion however, the original name looks like it will go back on ( although only slightly superstitious, I am not taking the chance)
So what do you guys think?? Are you as excited as what I am??? What other optional extras would you put on??
So Pete, let this be the public warning you may need......GET TO WORK AND FINISH THAT SUCKER!!!!!!!
Any feedback or questions are more than welcome. STAY TUNED!!!

Captain Seaweed
27-10-2011, 06:45 AM
I like it a lot. When I first saw this cat I was really impressed and also sadenned that it never got finished. Its a huge boat and will come up great I am sure. Congratulations and looking forward to seeing this plan fall into place.

Marty

lethal098
27-10-2011, 08:27 AM
Cant wait to see this unfold.

Cheers Lee

honda900
27-10-2011, 05:18 PM
Looks like youll be busy Pete..

HOnda.

hooknpull
27-10-2011, 06:08 PM
im excited to see how this beauty pans out!!! let the fun begin...

Dean1
27-10-2011, 06:17 PM
Geez who said you wouldnt ever part with her Pete? Its a big lump of boat alright. I guess 3 Cats and 1 big mono in your backyard is a little greedy :) Will be great to see her finished good luck with the progress boys. cheers.

Bull
28-10-2011, 07:11 AM
She will be one hell of a go anywhere fishing rig. Im looking forward to watching the progress of her make over.
cheers Bull

Grand_Marlin
28-10-2011, 10:43 AM
Looks like I am a marked man ... with no spare time ever again ... and I will be an expert on sleep deprivation :D

Nah, it's all good.

This is a boat that deserves the attention of a bit of TLC.
It will be a show piece when it is all done ... more Boat Porn ;D

I said I would never part with this boat, but now I have, and I will regret it :-?
Just as well I still have two spare cats as backup ;D

Nathan has promised me he will take me fishing on it, so that sealed the deal!

I will keep the pics coming as we progress.

insideout
28-10-2011, 01:03 PM
Yes !!! another cat restoration!!

29-10-2011, 07:20 AM

About... Bloody... Time!

No Fear
29-10-2011, 07:34 AM
Thanks boys. I certainly am keen to get the thing in the water and having seen most of Pete's other work, I certainly can't wait to see how it finishes up.
Pete, I will certainly be taking you fishing on this big rig more than once........purely to rub it in that you actually sold it.
I can see during the unfolding of this project (even if it is for the second time) that many ausfishers will keep an eye on the progress and any help or services they supply will certainly be rewarded, now that I can fish more than 3 (each side almost)!!! I will be using this site to get as much advice and help as possible as its my first boat over 20 foot and 3 tonne.
Poor old Pete is going to cop it though with questions....."What do you think about this Pete?", "Where does this go Pete?" , "When will that be finished Pete?", "Where can I get one of them Pete?", "How do you use this Pete?" and on and on and on.....
So in the meantime, I'll be looking for some marine chandlery to deck this big rig out.....Anchors, epirbs, life jackets, outriggers, deck winch, rocket launchers, live bait tank......and the list goes on and on and on........So any sales or boaty markets between now and then, come and say g'day!!!!!
Now wheres that ebay login again......oh look classifieds section in Ausfish!!!!

Grand_Marlin
29-10-2011, 06:37 PM
Pete's hands are nice and soft ... been soaked in truck wash all day :)

Boat is nice and clean again and ready for a quick sand over with the orbital...

29-10-2011, 10:22 PM
Pete's hands are nice and soft ...

You'll be appreciated now.

No Fear
20-11-2011, 02:54 PM
Well this thread has been up for a while, so I asked Pete on Friday, what he had done....he said nothing, boat hasn't moved, havent had time........
So he said he'd work on it Saturday night and looks like he didnt get much sleep. Some sanding, an undercoat, some more sanding, followed by some more sanding, a bit more undercoat, some sanding, top off with some more undercoat, and he is still sanding......what a machine!!!!!
heres a few pics to bump to thread towards the top7388973888738907389173887

No Fear
20-11-2011, 03:04 PM
So at this stage Pete is still on track for a Christmas finish, with the final coats going on in the next fortnight.
Then he can do what he really loves - the wiring and final fitout......
Pete was going to put a post up but he cant move his arms from all the sanding. He actually seemed strangely groggy this afternoon so I think he will be wearing a mask from now on.......
Getting closer........

Captain Seaweed
21-11-2011, 07:47 AM
I cant see the attachments??

Marty

ronmac
21-11-2011, 08:00 AM
yep! i'm blind also. cheers Ron.

No Fear
21-11-2011, 08:39 AM

No Fear
21-11-2011, 08:41 AM
Did they work that time??

21-11-2011, 08:46 AM
No, they didnt.

STUIE63
21-11-2011, 08:48 AM
No Fear there is something wrong in the way you are posting pics as the attatchments don't work

No Fear
21-11-2011, 08:53 AM

No Fear
21-11-2011, 08:59 AM
Just trying to build the drama....not really!
Stupid IT department. Never had an issue in the past.
Anyone willin to let me email them to you to post for me?

STUIE63
21-11-2011, 09:18 AM
Last ones worked and she looks real good

21-11-2011, 09:39 AM
Yeah I think this one is going to come up really well. Keep posting those pics for us.

21-11-2011, 09:49 AM
Wow - what a big hunk of vessel. Mate great to see yet another older boat getting looked after and brought back to better than new...brilliant. Big project, but with big benefits. Good luck.

No Fear
21-11-2011, 09:59 AM

julian1
21-11-2011, 10:31 AM
what are you doing enginewise ? is the inboard coming out and outboards going onto pods ?

No Fear
21-11-2011, 10:47 AM
Hi Julian,
Inboard is staying in. The pods on the back are purely for floatation as it was a work boat prior that carried heavy loads.
Although I don't like the look of the pods, I've left them on to see how the boat performs (also makes it easier for Pete to get in and out of it). I can't see them hurting and the antifoul will almost cover them to make them disappear.
The plan is too make up a custom marlin board at the back but that is further down the track.

No Fear
21-12-2011, 07:25 PM
For those that are still interested in the boat restoration....
Pete has been a busy busy boy and considering the weather, has been able to get the final paint job on, lay an extra layer of fibreglass in the cabin floor and also start on the window trims.
Everyones on holidays for a couple of weeks and luckily the weather looks ordinary so I am not missing much. Here's a few pics to show you how its coming along749157491774916

No Fear
21-12-2011, 07:31 PM
A couple more7491974920

21-12-2011, 07:40 PM
Its looking great NF, Pete is doing the boat justice by the looks. Wonder how many times he will have climbed in and out by the end, must be fit.

buggerit
21-12-2011, 09:07 PM
Will certainly be an awesome rig . Looking forward to seeing it's rebirth .

Dean1
22-12-2011, 07:56 AM
I was down at petes yest arv and checked it out its coming up smick! Love the 7m Sharkys they are one big lump of a boat! Still a bit of work to be done but Petes on a roll now. I just bought a 560 Sharky with a mate the same as Petes down there, i think i might have to do a midnite raid and grab those etecs off his he wont have time to use them and now that he's into monos i dont think he'd be too fussed!

No Fear
22-12-2011, 09:22 AM
I was down at petes yest arv and checked it out its coming up smick! Love the 7m Sharkys they are one big lump of a boat! Still a bit of work to be done but Petes on a roll now. I just bought a 560 Sharky with a mate the same as Petes down there, i think i might have to do a midnite raid and grab those etecs off his he wont have time to use them and now that he's into monos i dont think he'd be too fussed!

I'd make it easier on yourself Dean- just swap your 560 with that one!!! (without starting a cat v mono debate despite cat's number 1 supporter jumping sides) those 560 are ripper boats for their size and those e-tecs will give her some grunt! Even better, Pete's done all the hard work so it's ready to go!!!

fisho8
22-12-2011, 08:50 PM
Looking good Mate going to be well worth the effort when she hits the water. I love those big cat's I have been on a mate of mine Dominator a couple of times and I love it. Keep the picks coming will be great to see the end product.

wave dancer
23-12-2011, 06:04 AM
That big old girl is looking great. You must be getting more excited as it gets closer and closer to being launched. Pete is doing a super job as usual but dont let him slacken off as i have a list of things for him too do on mine. Well done mate you should be proud of yourself and the boat. When it hits the water let me know as i would be good too take the two old cats for a run together.

Cheers Mick.

theangryangler
09-02-2012, 12:27 PM
??? is it done yet???

Deiter
12-02-2012, 01:37 PM
Yeah, i was thinking the same.......lookin for a few updates, especially since it was getting finished by Xmas.....or was it going to be Xmas THIS year??? ;)

Damo

12-02-2012, 03:26 PM

I can assure you it's so close it's not funny!

theangryangler
15-02-2012, 04:19 PM
would love to see some pics of the finished product when the time comes

Apollo
15-02-2012, 06:27 PM
Yeah hurry up Pete, my boat is on its way, so will be here in six weeks and I need you free to work on it!!!

No Fear
20-02-2012, 05:35 PM
Well it is close....so close......here are some pics I took last week but there has been a bit more work done since.
Pete has been battling weather, customer requests, selling boats, selling animals, mowing his yard (minimum 3 day job), dealing with Chris is offsider punching turbos (I'll let Pete fill you in on that if he wishes), working on his own boat and most importantly, keeping the lovely wife happy.....and in all that, he has still managed to put about 10,000 hours of work into it.
I am hoping Pete can add some photos soon but here is just a small taste........77165771667716777168

No Fear
25-02-2012, 05:39 PM
77308773077730677305773047730377302A couple more posted up....nothing else to do with the ordinary weather....

25-02-2012, 06:51 PM

I was there Tuesday doing a Haines, bloody hell Chris has been at it! well done!