View Full Version : Now thats a nice 38KG Cobe

RAGINGBULL
04-10-2011, 08:43 PM
Having read numerous posts about this time of year and some big Cobia around Western Rocks. We just had to give it a try.
Caught many around 20kg elsewhere but this was a Stonker 38KG caught by my mate Blackie.

Perfect day and conditions and headed to Western rocks on Fishy Joeys boat a perfect plan executed and the result came on live Yakka on a balloon:

Blackies Cobia caught at Western rocks Saturday in perfect conditions...
Left gentlemans hours stopped at 4 beacons filled up on live bait saw a window of good conditions and pushed to Western Rocks Fantastic weather, while it lasted.
near the new moon and a high at 11am and we had to go..
Found the bait anchored and Berleyed up lots of small juvenile grassies but as long as we were putting down berley and pulling up the juveniles we were attracting attention, did not take long and the rods started having Liveys taken.
Got one big cobe 1 hour 15 min on 30 lb and that was our day made.

Got back into to the sheltered part at the ramp at port of Brisbane as the wind hit..THANKS 4BC

Found some of our chopped up Berley wrasses and pillies in its stomach, so that certainly worked well ;)

Cheers Mark

carnster
04-10-2011, 09:26 PM
Nice one Guys would have put up a good fight for sure.

cobiaman
04-10-2011, 09:27 PM
What a horse!

popgun19
04-10-2011, 09:28 PM
Cracker Cobe Mark and on 30lb, top effort.
How many times did it come up to the surface for a look ?

Brian

RAGINGBULL
05-10-2011, 06:17 AM
Brian
Not a great fight to be honest, just a long fight Cobe stayed within 100m-150m of the boat, twice it swam around the boat on the surface and eyed us out, so from early on we knew what we were dealing with.
I would have expected more from a Cobe that size

But still a nice fish for my mate

Cheers Mark

thelump
05-10-2011, 07:55 AM
Unreal mate. Well done on a great fish. Was the 30lb mono or braid?

frankgrimes
05-10-2011, 08:50 AM
Monster cobe!! Well done.

Paulio
05-10-2011, 10:09 AM
Awesome fish well done !!!!!! Generally where is western rocks ?

jason p
05-10-2011, 02:02 PM
now thats a cobe!! well done.

jp

honda900
05-10-2011, 05:15 PM
that is a stonker.. nice work..

Honda.

05-10-2011, 08:23 PM
Very nice Cobe Mate. The big ones don't seem to play up the same as the 15-20kg jobs from what I've seen

Jurkyjj
06-10-2011, 04:26 PM
AWESOME Cobia mate.
Great effort.

Jason.

RAGINGBULL
06-10-2011, 06:03 PM
Paulio

End of Moreton island and head a couple KM North of Combi try get there on an incomming tide and fish the high
It can run and sometimes break in a big swell

The bait or juvenile fish may not be on the EXACT marks, which I sourced from Ausfish, scout around for bait showing on the sounder 27.01.452 / 153.23.316 27.02.001 /153.22.854 this is a large area of broken coffee rocks

PASTED ARTICLE
Nows the time to be looking for Black Kingfish (Cobia) around Moreton Island as they appear in large numbers. There's no need to go for exotic baits as any live fish will attract them paricularly whip tails that can be caught in the area you will fish in. Just hook the whip tail in the mouth with a 6/0 hook and send it out about 20 - 30 mts behind the boat and wait, when you see the rod bounce around you'll know there's a predator eyeballing your livebait, give it time to swallow the bait before setting the hook. On our last trip there we hooked up on 6 cobia to 43lb, landing 3 which went 25lb, 27lb and 43lb. The mark is called Western Rocks and you'll know you're in the right area as it attracts quite a few boats when the cobia are on.

http://www.spooled.com.au/Article:599

frenzy
06-10-2011, 06:27 PM
Mate got one same size off the gold coast about 1 month ago.
I reckon smaller versions tend to go harder72283

Paulio
08-10-2011, 06:43 AM
Paulio

End of Moreton island and head a couple KM North of Combi try get there on an incomming tide and fish the high
It can run and sometimes break in a big swell

The bait or juvenile fish may not be on the EXACT marks, which I sourced from Ausfish, scout around for bait showing on the sounder 27.01.452 / 153.23.316 27.02.001 /153.22.854 this is a large area of broken coffee rocks

PASTED ARTICLE
Nows the time to be looking for Black Kingfish (Cobia) around Moreton Island as they appear in large numbers. There's no need to go for exotic baits as any live fish will attract them paricularly whip tails that can be caught in the area you will fish in. Just hook the whip tail in the mouth with a 6/0 hook and send it out about 20 - 30 mts behind the boat and wait, when you see the rod bounce around you'll know there's a predator eyeballing your livebait, give it time to swallow the bait before setting the hook. On our last trip there we hooked up on 6 cobia to 43lb, landing 3 which went 25lb, 27lb and 43lb. The mark is called Western Rocks and you'll know you're in the right area as it attracts quite a few boats when the cobia are on.

http://www.spooled.com.au/Article:599

Awesome information. Thanks I really appreciate it

ozassassin
09-10-2011, 04:38 PM
that was a great result there guys, well done.

Carry
09-10-2011, 04:53 PM
Nice cobe boys. I was chatting to you the day you caught it back at the boat ramp. The photos don't really do it justice. It was as round as a 20 litre drum.