View Full Version : Wags Murf Les Jt Squidding Offshore and Other Fun

29-09-2011, 08:33 PM
Ok Me thinking Old Wags or Murf would have done a report but they to slack and lazy and want poor ole Me to do it.
Okay Video Uploading but here's how's it went down.
Boy's arrived Tuesday which consisited of organising trip , trip to pub for counter lunch followed by drinkie's till late.
Wednesday seen us leaving the harbour in Therapy Wags Crusiecraft for an overnight squidding adventure and fishing trip if the wind would allow us. Squiding was slow but fun with some laughs and sighting of a weird whale expierencing some strange behavior from it. Settled at Fishermans beach GKI for Rib Fillet Burgers for dinner and a sleep. Morning was eased conditions so a quick trip to Lisa Jane Shoals for a troll and a bottom drop seen us no Mac's but a stripey and a small Golden. Then Back squidding before Wags had to go to work so we scored some more then back home clean squid and getting ready to head out wide early on Friday Morning.Wags sooked about me putting ink on his boat :P Numerous times:P
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/murfsiphone133.jpg
Up Early friday morning leaving home at 3.30 am met one of the OCE's From the mine i work at his Deckie's my originals deckie crew Bill my dad and my mate Brad . Heading out of the harbour magical conditons till we got a little outwide mongrel easterly swell driving straight into it but we pumped the 80 km out .
Started our drifts with not much happening then drifted again Murf onto a trout then all hell breaks lose . Murf scored his 10 kg Red was like having a horney teenager on the boat he was jumping around hugging me humping my leg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/IMG_1375.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/IMG_1372.jpg
I landed a http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/IMG_1379.jpgwierd looking flounder with some sexy markings
We mangaed Red throat some nice sized guys Tuskie's Hussar's a Black king that broke Murf's gay rod, a snapper ,lippers , Spangleds ,over 10 whalers i was buggared after them. Some of the hussars we scored were great sized as we anchored on a school of them over some fern i finally got a 56 cm red but a red is a red.
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/IMG_1386.jpg

The mate next to us missed anchoring up and drifted onto a fern patch and they scored 8 reds one being a good 9 kg with spangleds hussars red throat . Some the guys were happy as with their catch.
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/IMG_1393.jpg
We come home doing 50 km an hour amazing conditons and great team of boys.

http://youtu.be/3AiDai_ajQc
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/fishingmurfs004.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/fishingmurfs009.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/fishingmurfs003.jpg

29-09-2011, 08:50 PM
Top post JT. Sounds like a great couple of days. I hope you caught Murfs post fish efforts on the video

murf
29-09-2011, 08:57 PM
Top post JT. Sounds like a great couple of days. I hope you caught Murfs post fish efforts on the video

I was too busy dry humping his leg for him to take pics :-X:o::);D

cheers Murf

murf
29-09-2011, 09:08 PM
I will put up some pics in the morning ;)

a big thanks to Wags and JT for a great few days and JT's family for putting up with us tied smelly fishermen making us feel at home :)

I learnt heaps, got my PB RED :) now know JT's secrets to squidding (sorry guys was sworn to secrecy) and also learnt how soft the QLDers are when a little white cap comes up on the water :'( :P

cheers Murf

bondy99
29-09-2011, 09:23 PM
Magic, Magic. Magic,

Well done guys, I've never seen so much good quality fish caught along with the squid. Good conditions out there on the day no doubt

Bondy

29-09-2011, 09:35 PM
:P:P:P:P:P:P:P:P:PI learnt heaps, got my PB RED :) now know JT's secrets to squidding (sorry guys was sworn to secrecy) and also learnt how soft the QLDers are when a little white cap comes up on the water :'( :P

I'm Dieing Brother::)

29-09-2011, 10:26 PM
Too tired, too sick to do a report. I'm dying too.:'( I was asked by JT not to upload the videos with the identifyable features in them ....SO I HAVEN'T...well sort of anyway.;);)

Thanks to JT and Laurel for puting up with us again. Mate you are always welcome down here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S_mfVCgHY50
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I8FXS_1NHeY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tvNmIf90Dcs

Wags

TREVELLY
30-09-2011, 06:06 AM
Wow a whale that thought it was a torpedo and a flounder from outa-space, definitely an interesting trip along with some comfortable weather and good tucker.

Thanks for the report and pics - they tell a great story. A good read.

murf
30-09-2011, 06:20 AM
sweet yummy squid, lucky Wags keeps his boat well polished so all the ink washed off
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011213.jpg
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011226.jpg

how much punishment can a rod take????
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011048.jpg

how good can the conditions get and catching reds in the middle of the day
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011044.jpg

Les kept trying but couldn't hook a legal red, his best going 53cm
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011033.jpg

a pearla of a day out on Dragon :) so after JT pull started the 140 we were flying back into the sunset
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011238.jpg
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011326.jpg

thanks again Wags JT and my driver Les for a great trip to Yeppoon :)

cheers Murf

murf
30-09-2011, 06:24 AM
must not forget this pics haha
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011006.jpg

cheers Murf

30-09-2011, 07:10 AM
HAHA Forgot about the starter cog stripping had to pull start the big beast a couple times when we moved around but all fixed now . Something happened to the sound on the video upload as well so sorry to miss out on Murfs comments with his red. When i was recorsding him ripping his big red up from bottom i must have pressed stop on video camera filmed his holding red and gaffing but alas it didn't come out .

murf
30-09-2011, 07:18 AM
those broad shoulders of yours JT pull started that big 2str like a victa lawnmower :)

I still think it is a safety issue that you should get the Suzi 4 banger to replace the old unreliable thirsty 2str ;) ask mum again nicely this time haha

cheers Murf

bondy99
30-09-2011, 08:38 AM
Very very nice guys,

I'll have to make a special trip when I can. I have not yet caught a legal red.

Bondy

30-09-2011, 09:38 AM
Loved the video. Looks like you guys had a lot of fun. The squid are a good size. Surely someone must have been squirted, thats always a laugh. Were you using the head and guts for bait out wide?

murf
30-09-2011, 09:48 AM
Loved the video. Looks like you guys had a lot of fun. The squid are a good size. Surely someone must have been squirted, thats always a laugh. Were you using the head and guts for bait out wide?

and the flaps too

squid flaps were JT's secret shark bait ;) never seen so many sharks caught on small baits meant for a RTE and its cruel on the body when on the heavy gear and you have to wind them all the way in

cheers Murf

30-09-2011, 10:06 AM
Yes we managed 38 squid in the wednesday thursday and all wings heads and guts were used between the 2 boats on the friday. Tubes for chewin and rest for bait.

Sheik
30-09-2011, 10:09 AM
Love those yeppoon trips JT. You'll be pleased to know I picked up a legal red a month or so ago so I'm no olnger a red virgin. Looks like this trip was bit calmer than our trip. But we don't mind sloppy. Hope you're keeping well mate
regards jim

No Fear
30-09-2011, 12:34 PM
JT python,

You my friend are a gun!!!! Being a Rocky boy now in Brissie, you have given me the final shove to bring the boat up there!!!!! I have always stopped at Agnes but guess its off to try Rosslyn Bay now.

Once again, awesome report!!!! And that certainly is the whale trip of a lifetime.

Will send you a PM with a few questions if you dont mind sharing.