View Full Version : whittley 650 sea legend.

Prowl n Wolf
25-09-2011, 11:34 AM
g'day all, just after feedback (good and bad) on the 650 legend. it will be powered with a yammie 225. regards, tony.

krazyfisher
25-09-2011, 02:46 PM
would be a great boat a mate that I fish with has the 650 with a yamaha 175 and it get along well, rides well.

Prowl n Wolf
25-09-2011, 03:00 PM
can any one tell me what sort of range with the 210L fuel tank would get me. also are there any broaching issues with a hull design like this.

krazyfisher
25-09-2011, 04:09 PM
Have never had broaching issues while I was in the boat and he has never said anything

The-easyrider
25-09-2011, 07:24 PM
Hi Tony, I have one with a mercruiser 220hp and love it I have never felt the slightest hint of broching and have run it in some rough water and cross the moorchy bar now and then in it. Not sure of the yammy fuel consumption but I burn 29L per hour for a cruise of about 43klh. I have a great hole shot and with the 220 when you need the extra ponys in a hurry on a bar crossing its nice to know that they are there. They are a bit rolly at rest but you expect that with a 23 degree dead rise. best thing is it changes from family boat to fishing boat in the blink of a eye. I have set mine up to sleep the four of us for family overnighters and can sleep three blokes with no spooning required on weekenders.
Aaron

26-09-2011, 08:04 AM
that'll be no good for tony then aaron, he's into spooning ;D

fisho8
26-09-2011, 02:47 PM
I love the whittleys they are a very versitle fishing and family boat I looked at a 6.3 and 6.5 when I wash shopping around but the ones I looked at wearn't very well looked after. I ended up with a Clearwater 21 walkaround instead which is a great rig aswell as you can use it for the family and the fishing to. If you find a good one then jump on it as the sea legends are a great rig.

Prowl n Wolf
26-09-2011, 04:51 PM
you'd probably like that john.::) what do you reckon about the range on that fuel tank?
that'll be no good for tony then aaron, he's into spooning ;D

26-09-2011, 04:57 PM
what happened mate? i go on holidays and you sold your boat. so you finally talked yourself into a whittley hey?

Prowl n Wolf
26-09-2011, 05:10 PM
yeah, bloke came and looked at it friday 9am and it left the yard at 5pm. was all good. after the ride we had up at 1770 and the bay last week i thought it was time to cross to the dark side of glass.

26-09-2011, 05:20 PM
good stuff, look forward to seeing it in the driveway.