View Full Version : Stanage / Percy's / Swains and GT's

goona
15-09-2011, 02:20 PM
Bit of a late report due to illness but on the mend now. Our yearly trip has once again been and gone and we can't wait until next year to do it all again as every trip is getting better and better as we understand the area and methods better. Left 4am Saturday morning for the full day trip up to Stanage Bay which is a 12 hour drive from Brisbane sitting on 90klm/h. Boat fully loaded with camping gear, esky’s, 4 x tackle shops etc etc. Think we would have definitely been nudging the 3.5tonne limit. Taped up with builder plastic and duct tape then applied the shade cloth to the boat at the Stanage turn off which we now have down pat. Slept and the free camp just up from the ramp in anticipation for Sundays trip out to Middle Percy were we spent the next 4 nights camping.

Left the ramp early and you could feel the weight on the boat as we only just got on the plane. Think next year I will take a smaller prop. Arrived at Percy's and set up camp in no time flat. We had so much more gear this time with solar panels fridges tents etc but it was so much better to get off the boat at days end and have a few luxuries rather than staying on the boat for 4 days straight. The rest of the day saw us fishing around middle Percy’s and a few trout, nannies, grassies etc were caught.

Monday morning I got a got a weather report from the Thirsty Sound Coast Guard 10 to 15 knots in the morning with 15 to 20knots in the afternoon. The rest of the week was going to blow harder and the game plan all along for this trip was to get out to the Swains so the call was made to go. Logged in with the Coast Guard of which I got the reply they don’t monitor that far out. So advised the time we would be back and if we weren’t back by then something was a miss. Had an awesome trip out sitting on 50klm/h and got there in just over an hour. It’s approximately 60klm past Percy group which is 60klm from the main land.

Started throwing big popper to the reef edge and for the first hour all we saw was on GT about 20kgs have a look but that was it so we started trolling and had a few strikes but no hook ups. About ½ an hour into it I saw a big bombie in between the 2 reef systems so moved over towards it and let fire. The sight of a big Gt screaming at your lure with a mouth the size of a saucer is something you never forget and instantly the hook up was attained. 3 seconds later and all over as it made its way to the reef. Now fishing with Shimano GT Specials, Stella 18000 and 90lb braid coupled to 150lb leaders is some serious gear and to get smoked by these brutes is some thing that every one should have a go at. More casts followed and more hook ups and finally fish were landed. We found big bommies with huge caves in the sides in between the 2 major reef systems and almost every one had Gt’s on them. These bommies were coming up to within 2 meters of the surface out of 25 meters of water. Can’t wait till next year when we take the dive gear read crays. By the end of 6 hours all our arms were aching.

We had to be back at Percy’s by 5pm to log off with the Coast Guard so by 3 we were on our way. It was a 2 hour trip home as the wind had gotten up a bit however the trip was well worth it. The next couple of days was spent around the Percy group catching reefies and hitting the points for more GT’s. This place is magic and up there as one of the best places in Australia.

Thursday midday saw us back at the ramp and taping the boat up again for the trip home. The call was made to leave and camp at Calliopie on the way home to break up the return trip. Man is gets cold there with frost on our swags in the morning. Friday saw us cleaning fish and washing boats and gear. Can’t wait till next year and now that I am moving up to Gladstone I am that much closer. Yippie.

I’d also like to give a special thanks to Chris AKA Yalta (Ausfish Member) for the awesome wind on leader he made for 3 of the 4 guys on the trip. They held up 100% and worked a treat so if you are looking for an excellent product and good prices get in touch with him.

3rd degree
15-09-2011, 02:52 PM
Great report!

I've stopped overnight in the Percy's a few times doing runs up and down the coast, and have started thinkin about a camping trip to the Islands.

goona
15-09-2011, 05:04 PM
Hey thanks Jim,

We used to go to 1770 and whilst this is good if it blows up it makes it hard to fish. At least out of Stanage if it blows up you might have a bit of a slog out but when you are out there you just get into the lee of the islands and it is dead flat. Definately worthe the extra 4 to 5 hours drive I recon.

Goona

3rd degree
15-09-2011, 09:28 PM
There certainly is some good shelter out there amongst the islands, some top fishing around them too!

Where you anywhere near High Peak?

Hows the road into Stanage going, pretty rough? I note your stone guard trick, great idea!

I reckon the fishing up at the Percey's is heaps better than 1770.

cuzzamundi
15-09-2011, 09:48 PM
Great report, mate. Glad you got to tick off all the boxes. How big is your boat - length and motor size? Great stuff.

Cuzza

16-09-2011, 06:34 AM
Good trip Todd, I have just purchased a 4 blade 15"for the same reason, will let you know how it goes. Just fitted a pair of 200's to a cat running 4 blade 15's he was doing 21 knts at 4000rpm which I thought was pretty good.

goona
16-09-2011, 08:09 AM
There certainly is some good shelter out there amongst the islands, some top fishing around them too!

Where you anywhere near High Peak?

Hows the road into Stanage going, pretty rough? I note your stone guard trick, great idea!

I reckon the fishing up at the Percey's is heaps better than 1770.

HI 3rd Degree,

We didn't gt to high peak. Went north of Percy's and from there we went to the closest pqart of the swains which is North East of Percy's. Feels wierd when going out as it feels like you are going north when you think ou should be going East. The road in wasn't to bad. Have seen a lot worse in my travels around Australia. We averaged 50klm/h so all good. I agree with the fishing is better but you have to get on them

Goona

goona
16-09-2011, 08:11 AM
Great report, mate. Glad you got to tick off all the boxes. How big is your boat - length and motor size? Great stuff.

Cuzza

The Boat is a 7.4m Pacific Sportfish Super Vee (Same as the Nobles) with a 225 Honda on it. I have 360lt of fuel under floor and we take another 120lt in jerry cans in front of the cab which you can see in the photo behind the car. Part of this is dropped into the boat when we get there, 85lt for 65klm trip out we were that heavy and the rest is hidden on the island for our return trip. Total fuel carried is 480 lt which translates roughly into 480klm on the water i.e. 1 lt per klm. Prior to the trip I also get it serviced by Spanyard king so I know there won't be any issues out there especially when you consider we are 120klm from the main land and a remote part of the East coast at that. Would definitely be better having 2 boats but 2 other I had lined up pulled out.

Goona

goona
16-09-2011, 08:22 AM
Good trip Todd, I have just purchased a 4 blade 15"for the same reason, will let you know how it goes. Just fitted a pair of 200's to a cat running 4 blade 15's he was doing 21 knts at 4000rpm which I thought was pretty good.

Hi Garry,

Thanks for the perfect service. No drama's as per usual and ran like a dream. Think I will try a 16 first as I currently have a 17. If ok next time you are up this way doing a service on some ones boat if you could drop your 16 and the new 15 in I could have a play with both 15 and 16 that would be appreciated. Whist you are doing the service that should give me a couple of hours to get the boat down to the ramp and change over and have a look at the different blades.

Do you get up to Gladstone much because I am moving up there for good all going well by Christmas and would still like you to do my service although I don't know whether I can afford the travel. Was thinking on you annual trip to 1770 maybe I could tow down and meet subject to your timing of course. Don't want to get in the way of your fishing time. I guess when you find a good mechanic you want to stick with them. Some one you know and trust.

Goona.

Reefmaster
16-09-2011, 12:13 PM
Great effort Goona and many great memorys had there by the looks. Beautiful part of the world up there and the percy islands is a spectacular area to fish isn't it.
Congrats on a great trip

FisHard
17-09-2011, 06:28 PM
Spectacular trip! Something that I dream of, particularly getting those GTs.
I admire your balls in heading out that far on you pat malone. Good on you and thanks for sharing.

bondy99
17-09-2011, 09:23 PM
Well done guys, that would be a great trip to do with good company.

Awesome fish, GT. would be great to nail one of them and get a good feed

If you don't mind me asking, how much did the trip cost all up on a shared basis?

Bull
17-09-2011, 11:52 PM
Hi Goona,
Thanks for the report and pics. I have a place at clairview and i try and get up there and fish around the percy group as well.
Did you sleep in the tree house our camp in the A frame hut?
Ive wanted to do a trip out to the swains but havent been able to find other boats to go out there with.
Might try and T something up with you next year when you go if your keen.
Cheers Bull

goona
21-09-2011, 10:56 PM
Well done guys, that would be a great trip to do with good company.

Awesome fish, GT. would be great to nail one of them and get a good feed

If you don't mind me asking, how much did the trip cost all up on a shared basis?

Hi Peter,

The whole trip cost us $520 each shared between the 4 of us. This included every thing except alcohol and that is a bring as you require basis because we all have differing taste. Included is all food, brother is a chef and cooks pre cooked meals which are frozen prior to the trip and left in the easy to slowly thaw out, soft drinks and snacks etc. Ice included a 5 day dry ice, 2 day dry ice and blocks as well as party ice to fill the voids. We keep the 5 day on the bait (8 blocks of pillies and 6 cartons of squid and fillets of mullet) which seas to work well. All fuel for boat and truck. So all up for 6 days it cost 1/2 what 1 day would cost on a specialist charter but we are not in the luxury that a mother ship provides.

Goona

goona
21-09-2011, 11:05 PM
Hi Goona,
Thanks for the report and pics. I have a place at clairview and i try and get up there and fish around the percy group as well.
Did you sleep in the tree house our camp in the A frame hut?
Ive wanted to do a trip out to the swains but havent been able to find other boats to go out there with.
Might try and T something up with you next year when you go if your keen.
Cheers Bull

Hi Bull,
We camped at the end of the beach under a tarp and just sleep in swags away from travelers that visit the A frame.

More than happy for you to tag along if you wish and as I am moving to Gladstone I recon I will be seeing a little more of the area in the not to distant future.
Question for you, you aren’t the “Marty and Bull” from Strathpine area and early to mid 40’s.
Goona

steve99
21-09-2011, 11:54 PM
Great report goona. It bring back memories of July 2009 when me and three buddies spent 5 days camped at the top of Middle Percy Is. What a fantastic place.

http://i56.tinypic.com/2nrf2fq.jpg

http://i51.tinypic.com/9b9owh.jpg

Bull
22-09-2011, 06:18 AM
Hi Goona,
I live at albany creek which is near strathpine and I am in my early 40's.
Im not sure which Marty you mean if it is Capt Seaweed( white rhyno ) Im not to sure if he lives on the north side or south side of Brizzy.

Let me know when your thinking of going again. I probably wouldnt be able to go until next year now. I have used up all my brownie points on the 1770 meet & greet lol.
Cheers Bull

22-09-2011, 06:54 AM
Thanks for the report goona.

I've been wanting to hit this area for many years, but never seem to get around to it.

Mate I worked with years ago stayed on " Camp Island or Hexam " from memory. They would be catching Trout and Spanish within a 5 minute boat trip.

Seeing as I have a Pacific Sportfish as well, there is the omen I am looking for to take this trip. :)

Could you post a thread in the " going fishing " section here well before your next trip and we'll see if we can't get a " convoy ".. or is that an " Amarda " ?

22-09-2011, 09:47 AM
Sounds like you had a great trip. I have been to Percy's once and am looking at a return sooner than later. It is a special spot indeed. The road into Stanage keeps out the softies too.
Classic shade cloth on the trailer. It worked very well for us too. Did you say that it was plastic covered too?

goona
22-09-2011, 03:59 PM
[QUOTE=Lucky_Phill;1316412]

Could you post a thread in the " going fishing " section here well before your next trip and we'll see if we can't get a " convoy ".. or is that an " Amarda " ?

Certainly Can Phil more the merrier

goona
22-09-2011, 04:03 PM
Hi Angla,

What we do is run some builders plastic 1 meter wide doubled up and duct tape this to the boat as this fits perfectly down the sides and just gives that extra bit of protection from the rocks flying and stops the shade cloth rubbing against the hull

Jackinthebox
22-09-2011, 07:55 PM
[QUOTE=Lucky_Phill;1316412]

Certainly Can Phil more the merrier

As long as you drunken bastards stay away from our camping spot!!!;D

Geez, is there nowhere safe from the dreaded Ausfish M&G8-)
I've read enough stories over the years.....:o

Mick.