View Full Version : Agnes Water / 1770 Meet & greet. offical report

11-09-2011, 06:17 AM
With about 55 starters from Thursday and now time to fish.

The cook-off run and won by................. wardysin.

a very close call though.

Apollo with the Potato Skins, murf's battered Fish, Horses's KFC, and Chongs balls were good and really only one point between them.

We are all heading out today with a favourable forecast, with a few staying overnight.

So much alcohol, so little time, but they can do it.

cheers Phill

here are the attendees by first name.

Hope i got everyone ? :-? ;D 8-) ;)

Roz
George
Josh
Brad
Troy
Bruce
Damo
Marty
Shaun
Duran
Richard
Les
Owen
Amanda, Breeanna and Brooklyn
Anthony
Kev, Margie, Brodie, Jesse and Abby
Damo
JD
Stuart
Alistair
Kev + 2 crew
Graham
Perry
Naomi
Dale
Hayden

><> ><> ><> ><> ><>

11-09-2011, 06:35 AM
71293weather for today onwards.

vertico
11-09-2011, 09:09 AM
good luck men, i might be up there friday night :P

unfortunately cant make it men, billz and daughters birthday sorry

sean

11-09-2011, 07:03 PM
Great weekend. Pissed down on me half the way there, to the point where I had to stop at Childers and change my clothes. No fishing on Saturday, but a trek up the worst dirt track I have seen with lucky phill + hangover + 1l of water in my guts. Head off today, plan for breakfast in childers but nothing is open. Get a speeding ticket just south of childers. Stop in Gimpy (sic) for a piss and the bike wont start. 1.5 hours trying to get it going and find out RACQ will cover my on the bike. (insert 1.5 hours of chong and the_deckie expletives) 1 hour RACQ trying to get it going, put it on a truck and take me back home (free thankfully). (insert 3.5 hours of chong and the_deckie expletives)

http://tapatalk.com/mu/c094756f-2fc0-4c5d.jpg

Muddy Toes
11-09-2011, 09:22 PM
(insert 3.5 hours of chong and the_deckie expletives)

Hard luck mate but i reakon i can better that.Watch this space for the "VMR Round Hill Rescue this is A Salt Weapon on CH81" report.:-[:o:-?

12-09-2011, 12:08 AM
I got a break from work - so I made it to the cook off...well I attended the after party for an hour or so. It was good to catch up with the crowd again......and this time I was injury free. No poke in the eye from the mod, no migraine, and no boat. Have a great week guys and keep the noise down at Tranquillity.....you'll wake the landlord up...:-X:-X:-X;D

12-09-2011, 04:53 AM
bad luck Andy...we had a very uneventful trip back from Gladstone yesterday..not much traffic..an easy drive.

12-09-2011, 07:59 AM
1 x tow back from Musgrave.

1 x break-down and return.

weather went to plan Sunday.

Livies ...... not plentyful.

pic below is of first fish the hit the deck of ReBait.

More of the same. Coro trout, Red, RTE, Hussar etc.

deckie Roz nailed a PB Purple Cod.

no weight yet. and not filleted.

more reports to come.

RE:- Andy.................... HONDA................... :)

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/102_1385.jpg

cheers Phil

12-09-2011, 08:01 AM
ps. Scotty. the above cod was on thye spiral wrap rod.... :) :)

12-09-2011, 11:01 AM
Damn...!!!! I should've stayed Phill. I didn't get home until late anyway. Nice fishy.

Spot82
12-09-2011, 11:15 AM
1 x tow back from Musgrave.

pic below is of first fish the hit the deck of ReBait.

cheers Phil

Nice Blue Maori Phill!

Where is all the other fish pics at? :P

12-09-2011, 02:09 PM
other pics can wait until I return. I am using a laptop with 2 Snail GB of download power :(

Lucky to have internet at all.

now.

2 tow ins.

Cheech and Chong charters seem to have fixed their issue and are back out.

VMR has just gone out about an hour ago for another tow... don't kniow if it is a Ausfisher.

Wind is about 4,581 knots at the moment. Thursday is next opportunity.

Most are still out, might be sitting in the lagoon, riding out the change.. ?????

OH....

Blue Maori went 8.87kgs.

Roz's went 6.35.

making a Thai curry seafood with some of the Maori tonight.. :) :) :)

Updates later tonight, I expect.

Cheers LP

Muddy Toes
12-09-2011, 05:16 PM
Other towee is an Ausfisher and had the exact same 225hp black anchor as i have......

12-09-2011, 05:45 PM
That don't sound good MT, have you got to the issue that caused the problem??

Muddy Toes
12-09-2011, 05:51 PM
That don't sound good MT, have you got to the issue that caused the problem??

I think the problem is commonly called Mercury.......the only way to fix is to contact my local Yamaha dealer.Nar...... but seriously i think it may be the electronic fuel pump.It idles but as soon as i put it in gear it dies.

Tinshack
12-09-2011, 06:55 PM
Hi all, a few pics of yesterday/todays catch. Headed out east of Fitzroy 60+ m contour. Good session71314 in the morning & afternoon till sharks arrived, just could not get one to the top, either lost part or all of the fish mostly reds. 2.5hr trip h71313ome this morning, got to love a 1/4 on SE swell. All good, few beers now & get ready for the next trip hopefully Thursday n Friday. Cheers, Dave.71312

vertico
12-09-2011, 08:05 PM
sorry boys cant make it , so catch me a red or two

cobiaman
13-09-2011, 12:58 AM
Hi all, a few pics of yesterday/todays catch. Headed out east of Fitzroy 60+ m contour. Good session71314 in the morning & afternoon till sharks arrived, just could not get one to the top, either lost part or all of the fish mostly reds. 2.5hr trip h71313ome this morning, got to love a 1/4 on SE swell. All good, few beers now & get ready for the next trip hopefully Thursday n Friday. Cheers, Dave.71312

Nice fish carl barron, couple of beers is a bit of an understatement isnt it?

Apollo
13-09-2011, 07:34 AM
Got back last night at 11 from the M&G as I have to work today. Blowing a bit up there and short chop making travelling a bit bumpy in smaller boats, but no issues. We took up a plan B (Double kayak) for the Saturday blow out and ended up at middle ck. Blowing hard and tide running harder, made the paddling a shorten effort. End up on a sand bank casting landbased. Plenty of good spots, but only extracted one flattie (mark).

Sunday out in the blue was mixed affair of sharks, brickins, one decent grassy (60 something) and smatter of various other mixed reefies. Yesterday was a short effort chasing tuna with slugs and lures, resulting for only one mac.

Toll has been taken on boat motors though, with a boat sporting a brand new Honda (30hrs) throwning piston out the cowling and catching on fire, Muddies Merc dramas, Cheeches dramas, plus several other tow ins from Fitzroy and Musgrave. VMR crews are doing lots of miles. Please to say Mark's new Honda (10.5hrs before we left) purred like a kitty all trip and damm it is good on the fuel.

Great to catch with the boys whilst up there and meet some of the new faces. Thanks to Peter for the digs. It was a Top Spot.

13-09-2011, 08:15 AM
Toll has been taken on boat motors though, with a boat sporting a brand new Honda (30hrs) throwning piston out the cowling and catching on fire, Muddies Merc dramas, Cheeches dramas, plus several other tow ins from Fitzroy and Musgrave. VMR crews are doing lots of miles. Please to say Mark's new Honda (10.5hrs before we left) purred like a kitty all trip and damm it is good on the fuel.

Great to catch with the boys whilst up there and meet some of the new faces. Thanks to Peter for the digs. It was a Top Spot.

Steve, What HP threw the piston?? Someone must be dirty :-?

Muddy Toes
13-09-2011, 08:36 AM
I think it was a 150hp, don't quote me on it coz it was dark when we arrived at the ramp at the same time but the owner was saying its 30 hrs out of a full rebuild.

13-09-2011, 08:49 AM
Ouch! I hope he got some warranty on the rebuild!!

Dutchie
13-09-2011, 09:03 AM
Muddy Toes - 150 hp Honda. Nothing like trying to put out an engine fire whilst whilst standing ontop of 150 litres of unleaded to get the heart beating...

Long trip back doing only 6 knots. Just wish we had a couple lures onboard to tow out the back!

13-09-2011, 10:04 AM
A few dramas, but good thing is everyone is safe and still able to quench their thirst on dry land.

Rumour has it, Deiter is about to weigh-in a double digit Red, he should be here soon.

Most others that styaed out put some fish in the eskies with Black-Rat donging an XOS pearlie.

We had a dinner last night with Rob, Brett, Dave, Anthony, Roz, Tim and myself. A very " happy " Damo ( black-rat ) and Capt Seaweed ( marty ) turning up at stupid o'clock and staying til the wee hours. Great night to aquaint ourselves with the new guys and the Coronas went down a treat. :)

Looks like another overnight session starting thursday with all keen to hit the reefs again. I will be heading to places near Fitzroy ( you know the ones,,,,, Sean ) :)

I know that a VMR rescue vessel uses 114ltrs / hour towing a 24ft Glass boat. But worth it, hey Anthony ?

Time to get rigs etc ready, then relax for a day or so.

Reports as they come to hand.

13-09-2011, 10:15 AM
Thursday 9/15
Morning
http://www.buoyweather.com/new/images/greenflag.gif Light winds with a slight chop. Small short period wind waves.
Seas: E 0.8 meters at 6 sec.
Winds: SE 7 to 10 knots
Afternoon
http://www.buoyweather.com/new/images/greenflag.gifLight winds with a slight chop. Small short period wind waves.
Seas: E 0.7 meters at 6 sec.
Winds: ESE 6 to 8 knots

Friday 9/16

Morning
http://www.buoyweather.com/new/images/greenflag.gif Light and variable winds with smooth seas. Small short period wind waves.
Seas: E 0.6 meters at 6 sec.
Winds: SE 4 to 6 knots
Afternoon
http://www.buoyweather.com/new/images/greenflag.gifLight and variable winds with smooth seas. Small short period wind waves.
Seas: E 0.6 meters at 6 seconds
Winds: E 2 to 3 knots
Saturday 9/17
Morning
http://www.buoyweather.com/new/images/greenflag.gif Light and variable winds with smooth seas. Small short period wind waves.
Seas: E 0.5 meters at 5 sec.
Winds: ESE 4 to 6 knots
Afternoon
http://www.buoyweather.com/new/images/greenflag.gifLight winds with a slight chop. Small short period wind waves.
Seas: E 0.5 meters at 5 sec.
Winds: ESE 7 to 9 knots
Sunday 9/18
Morning
http://www.buoyweather.com/new/images/greenflag.gif Light winds with a slight chop. Small short period wind waves.
Seas: ENE 0.7 meters at 5 sec.
Winds: E 6 to 9 knots
Afternoon
Seas: ENE 0.7 meters at 5 sec.
Winds: ESE 8 to 11 knots

13-09-2011, 10:17 AM
the above forecast is for fitzroy Lagoon area.

3 days offshore coming up, ferets.

LP

outwide1
13-09-2011, 11:24 AM
You have been blessed Phil this year with the weather mate.
Look forward to some photos though for the likes of me who are stuck at work.
Hope you slap some big reds out there(on seans marks?)
Good luck
MICK

burleygu
13-09-2011, 02:01 PM
Damo caught the pearlie??? huh

A few dramas, but good thing is everyone is safe and still able to quench their thirst on dry land.

Rumour has it, Deiter is about to weigh-in a double digit Red, he should be here soon.

Most others that styaed out put some fish in the eskies with Black-Rat donging an XOS pearlie.

We had a dinner last night with Rob, Brett, Dave, Anthony, Roz, Tim and myself. A very " happy " Damo ( black-rat ) and Capt Seaweed ( marty ) turning up at stupid o'clock and staying til the wee hours. Great night to aquaint ourselves with the new guys and the Coronas went down a treat. :)

Looks like another overnight session starting thursday with all keen to hit the reefs again. I will be heading to places near Fitzroy ( you know the ones,,,,, Sean ) :)

I know that a VMR rescue vessel uses 114ltrs / hour towing a 24ft Glass boat. But worth it, hey Anthony ?

Time to get rigs etc ready, then relax for a day or so.

Reports as they come to hand.

sid_fishes
13-09-2011, 02:02 PM
has anyone put a bend in my rod yet. i really want to know if i built it right
of course i did.... i know that.

13-09-2011, 02:16 PM
Sorry Tim, my bad. TIM caught a XOS Pearlie... :)

No, Ian, testing the rod out thursday.

pics below are from Team Barcrusher.

Unfortunately, the cod was unable to be revived to swim away.

Red went 11.2kg and is top of the leader board.

marvin ( Kev ) weighed one in at 8.6 which is a good Red in anyones language.

cod....27kgs........... spangled, a touch over 5kgs.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/12092011238.jpg

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/11092011231.jpg

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/11092011229.jpg

Stu got RTE, Spangled and Cod. Deiter got the red

13-09-2011, 02:35 PM
Bruce and Blackus Rattus rang me this morning in the middle of writing a Finance Proposal. Damo was drunk as a fish, at what, 10 am?

Nice work, Boys.

13-09-2011, 03:41 PM
Love reading the report Phil and all. Wish I was there myself just to show that mexicans can fish and drink too. I'd take this boat up, its just down the road..http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/30-ft-Bass-Strait-Boat-sport-fishing-boat-/260852391752?pt=AU_Boats&hash=item3cbc039f48

Boat Hog
13-09-2011, 06:50 PM
Nice Boat JJ ... you might need some shade tho ... or a big hat!;)

Gotta say - from the reports so far, the twin outbards would be good idea too!:o

Boat Hog
13-09-2011, 07:00 PM
Due to unforseen circumstances, I will be up at Agnes Water/1770 this Fri, Sat, Sun night.;D

Will bring the tinny up to hit the local creeks. (New Striper not due at Cunningham's until 24th Sep).

Be good to catch up with anyone who's still around (unless you're all out on the reef fishing - bastards!>:()

Did I mention we're getting a new boat!;D8-);D8-);D8-)

The Good Wife will be along too, so Trantor be warned to be on your best behaviour (whatever that is!)

Burlygu ... need to see photo's of the XOS Pearly too!!!

Captain Seaweed
13-09-2011, 07:22 PM
for the record, Pearly wasnt weighed but pulled 68cm

marvin
13-09-2011, 07:26 PM
Well the etec did over 100 miles and (touch wood) didnot need vmr assistance, we struggled to find fish at night, got 2 reds 8.6kg and 6.4kg, a couple small trout, rte, one brown mouri, a handfull of parrot and a few hussar. Weather looking great thurs fri sat, so will try again before the weeks out. Cheers kev.

13-09-2011, 07:30 PM
Due to unforseen circumstances, I will be up at Agnes Water/1770 this Fri, Sat, Sun night.;D

Will bring the tinny up to hit the local creeks. (New Striper not due at Cunningham's until 24th Sep).

Be good to catch up with anyone who's still around (unless you're all out on the reef fishing - bastards!>:()

Did I mention we're getting a new boat!;D8-);D8-);D8-)

The Good Wife will be along too, so Trantor be warned to be on your best behaviour (whatever that is!)

Burlygu ... need to see photo's of the XOS Pearly too!!!

Tranter behave??? Give me a break.

Is tranter and co still in the house or have they been forcibly relocated to sunlover yet?

XtremeBoony
13-09-2011, 07:47 PM
quick report boys. Got heaps of livies off the 5 mile mark. mixture of herring, slimies and yakka's. Hit a bommie in about 60m near boult. Put a maori, 2 red throat and a perlie in the esky before things went quiet. Found a new spot while travelling and had a drop. Pulled a coral cod before heading to musgrave to make a track for later in the night.

came back to new spot for the night session. No livies left so mullet fillets it was. Nailed a legal red followed by a small reef jack. Next was a spangle about 5kg's then a nice red came abord. Things were heating up and hooked into another red but got sharked. Everything else hooked after this got sharked. With a bit more luck could have landed a couple more reds.

following day was a waste of time with only 2 hussar coming aboard. drive home in the 5 meter center console wasn't to bad with minimal drenching. All in all it went well for a solo trip.

http://img718.imageshack.us/img718/9889/dsc01505fy.jpg
By xtremeboony (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/xtremeboony) at 2011-09-13
spangle and red

http://img594.imageshack.us/img594/3425/dsc01499y.jpg
best red on the mat

http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/3474/dsc01508hd.jpg
overall effort

http://img716.imageshack.us/img716/7586/dsc01511fb.jpg
my daughter breeanna helping dad clean the fish

http://img97.imageshack.us/img97/4894/dsc01514e.jpg
i'll make a fisher lady out of her yet :)

the whole week has been great so far. Plenty of beers and laughs. Bring on thursday BITCHEZZZ ;D8-);D

cheers from boony

XtremeBoony
13-09-2011, 07:58 PM

mate cracker pearly and well done. Also well done to deiter with a horse red. Marvin also with a quality haul.

well done fella's and keep the quality coming

cheers from boony

Apollo
13-09-2011, 08:01 PM
Boony, a request - put a pic of your missus! She is a top lady with great attitude. Defiantely a keeper! Most of the lads thought so.

13-09-2011, 09:33 PM
Tonights dinner was at Team Top Spot with roast beef, vegies and gravy, followed by apple pie and ice cream all washed down with Lime laden Coronas.

This arvo was a mini M & G at the tavern. Topic was Thursdays destination and we also had a debrief of Sunday / Monday efforts.

The Blackus Ratus left our place at wee hours and was claerly heard " woo hoo-ing " from the balcony of Team Wave at 6 am...no sleep, too much joy......... and finally crashed late morning, I believe.

We also learnt something about Bats in caves.......... hey JD. ? Well, ya had to be there. :)

Some seriously good weather heading our way.

Final Thursday, Friday and Saturday plans will be put in place tomorrow.

cheers LP

marvin
13-09-2011, 09:34 PM
Boony, a request - put a pic of your missus! She is a top lady with great attitude. Defiantely a keeper! Most of the lads thought so.
Agree, top catch mate, thats your soon to b missus.. And if you are reading this with her in bed bedide you, deffinately send pics, seriously, you are a great bloke with a great girls and great kids, if only I could have got the chopper sorted for her....nice fish mate, enjoy the rest of the week, it can only get better from here, :~)

vertico
13-09-2011, 10:26 PM
top work men, and some nice reds to boot !

14-09-2011, 04:58 AM
LP..is Aigutso still up there? has he caught anything or just been a maze of tangles and tackle?

TREVELLY
14-09-2011, 05:54 AM
Boony great effort solo in a 5m tinnie out there for the night - way to go.

Cute pick of the little one cleaning the fish - bet you can't get her cleaning your fish when she is in her teens.

Some nice fish being reported but seems once the sharks locate it is all over red rover.

14-09-2011, 06:06 AM

I seem to recall pulling a Pearly about the same size last year. It only goes to prove what I've always said: you must always have a "Tim" in your boat!

TIM

14-09-2011, 01:26 PM
LP..is Aigutso still up there? has he caught anything or just been a maze of tangles and tackle?

That would be a yes, yes, and yes.

XtremeBoony
14-09-2011, 02:33 PM
took the family out for a quick fish today so they could get in on the M & G action. Breeanna caught her first ever fish and Amanda caught her smallest ever fish ;D

http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/6775/dsc01519i.jpg
breeanna's first ever fish, a nice little flattie

http://img27.imageshack.us/img27/6884/dsc01518t.jpg
have a look at this winner ;D

http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/6973/dsc01521pz.jpg
part of the flattie battle

http://img192.imageshack.us/img192/3672/dsc01523o.jpg
little whiting for breeanna

Thank you to everyone at this meet and greet for taking the time to make my family feel comfortable. Was a bit worried when we went round to the cook off and we were the only family there so a big thank you to everyone. 8-)

cheers from boony

MINE09
14-09-2011, 03:16 PM
I might bring the family next year myself boony, great bunch of people:)

Cheers George

14-09-2011, 03:37 PM
Hope you weighed that one in, Amanda ??? :) :)

LP

Bull
15-09-2011, 01:37 AM
We went out sunday came back in today to refuel and get more Ice. No legal reds to bring home but a couple nice trout and rte.
Back out there thursday and friday for another go at it.

Met heaps of good people since we have been up here.

Cheers Bull

vertico
15-09-2011, 06:20 AM
bad luck bull, hope you get onto a few today and tomorrow mate.

ShaneC
15-09-2011, 07:40 AM
Slightly off topic, but can someone please tell me what the price of unleaded is at the Agnes servo???? Thanks

marvin
15-09-2011, 11:02 AM
1.56 per litre, I just refuelled from one trip cost me $375 for 240 litres. Ice is $11 per 20kg bag, if anyone is available friday and saturday for an offshore trip, I neef one crewy, give me a call asap 0408848564. Cheers kev, oops ulp $1.48 as per phills post, sorry for the wrong info I posted.

craigie
15-09-2011, 12:47 PM
You blokes have got the life !!

Wish I was up there, pulling up your anchor and drinking all your beer !!

I am doing a trip out of Bundy with a mate Friday night through till Saturday Arvo fishing the Warregos (west of Musgrave). Will be in a 5m Quinnie with 80 Yammie 4 stroke. if your in the area say g'day !

Craigie.

ShaneC
15-09-2011, 03:42 PM
Marvin I would have been keen to go the other way and offer you a trip on my boat leaving Friday and coming back Sunday but at this stage I am thinking of going to the Breaksea. If you are really keen, give me a bell 0410446468, but I will only go on my boat.

Shane

15-09-2011, 05:02 PM
ULP91 is $1.489 per litre at the servo.

I used 112.5ltrs for a 175k round trip Sunday.

Went out today for a Bustad Head Spanish session with only Doggies about.

Hit a reef spot on the way back and nailed a nice XOS Grassie. will update with weight later. I am guessing. 4 - 5kg, but could be more as it is really broad across the shoulders. Got other bits including Lancers, Iodine Bream and grinner :) :) :)

I am out at sparrows tomorrow morning with Team Muddytoes, whose boat is RS. Tim, Anthony and myself will be heading out in ReBait, to meet up with the others around Fitzroy area.

Conditions today were great. Winds mostly under 5 knots and easy southerly current. Had a NE come in about 2.30pm, but even then, was about 5 - 8.64 knots :) :)

OH..... how good are the sandflies at Captain Cook Holiday village :P :( :( :( I passed on my homebrew repelent to the lads and it seems to be working.

Cheech & Chong Charters had a late start and had more " issues ", don't know the result ?

Updates to come...

cheers Phill ><> ><> ><> ><>

15-09-2011, 06:42 PM
it is okay Phill...fret not..the country is still surviving..some of us are working and keeping the place going.

Muddy Toes
15-09-2011, 06:53 PM
I am out at sparrows tomorrow morning with Team Muddytoes, whose boat is RS. Tim, Anthony and myself will be heading out in ReBait, to meet up with the others around Fitzroy area.

Sounds like a way better plan then the Team MuddyTOWS whiting session in the creek this arve...........

buggerit
16-09-2011, 04:14 PM
Would like to thank all that assisted or offered assistance with my technical issues . I have met a lot of good people over the week . The boat lives on and took us trouble free to Lamont and back yesterday . Scored 3 keeper reds and a xos redthroat plus sprinkling of parrot moses perch and hussar . Biggest red went 10.8 .

Kev

16-09-2011, 09:05 PM
Great week, good people, a few new faces, some nice fish and my Red cherrie popped ! ;D;D;D (all be it just !)
CPT Marty with White Rihno a 7.5m Noble (i want one!!!!) will spill all ;D
A piccie below of what we woke up too this morning at Firzroy Lagoon some 70-60 klms offshore :o::);D

Captain Seaweed
16-09-2011, 09:47 PM
Team White Rhino,
Where do I start, Reds, Red Throat Emps, Horse Pearlies, Horse Trout, Big Tuskies and great fun and laughs. More importantly , a great team that worked great together. We unfortunately had to pull the pin a day early due to my commitments but I had an absolute ball and enjoyed the time we spent together. Thanks for organising the house and food Bruce, thanks Tim and Damo for the laughs and great teamwork. I sure hope the White Rhino held up my part of the deal. On average we burnt 1km per litre and that was at 30knots 4500rpm. Thanks for the gents we rafted up with and the Joy and moonshine that was shared. I will post some pics and vids soon. Thanks Team Wasted Wages for your donation of Spaniards, it is always a pleasure to hang out together. Team Outsider I am looking forward to catching up here in Brisbane as well as Mad Mackeral and Bull. Booney your a legend and I appreciate your help with the livies.

All in all a great outcome, great mates, great fishing, great dinner and great shag when I got home!!!!!

Marty

Need to go to bed sooo buggered after driving home after an overnighter. Will make more sense tomorrow..:'(

16-09-2011, 10:14 PM
Team White Rhino,
Where do I start, Reds, Red Throat Emps, Horse Pearlies, Horse Trout, Big Tuskies and great fun and laughs. More importantly , a great team that worked great together. We unfortunately had to pull the pin a day early due to my commitments but I had an absolute ball and enjoyed the time we spent together. Thanks for organising the house and food Bruce, thanks Tim and Damo for the laughs and great teamwork. I sure hope the White Rhino held up my part of the deal. On average we burnt 1km per litre and that was at 30knots 4500rpm. Thanks for the gents we rafted up with and the Joy and moonshine that was shared. I will post some pics and vids soon. Thanks Team Wasted Wages for your donation of Spaniards, it is always a pleasure to hang out together. Team Outsider I am looking forward to catching up here in Brisbane as well as Mad Mackeral and Bull. Booney your a legend and I appreciate your help with the livies.

All in all a great outcome, great mates, great fishing, great dinner and great shag when I got home!!!!!

Marty

Need to go to bed sooo buggered after driving home after an overnighter. Will make more sense tomorrow..:'(

was that with Black Rat or Tim ?

17-09-2011, 01:22 AM
was that with Black Rat or Tim ?

After a long week I kinda rolled over and played hard to get at ! :-*

Captain Seaweed
17-09-2011, 06:15 AM
lets not beat around the bush, it was a 3 way AND I was the train not the tunnel ;)

Apollo
17-09-2011, 06:29 AM
Marty

It was great to catch up and nice that ou brought your dad along this time.

So, you play the little train that could!

Damo

I wouldn't play hard to get if I looked like you.

Was disappointed that Andy wussed out of our VMR fund raising at the cook off. My money was on you to get the hit.

Till next year

Apollo
17-09-2011, 06:33 AM
Great weekend. Pissed down on me half the way there, to the point where I had to stop at Childers and change my clothes. No fishing on Saturday, but a trek up the worst dirt track I have seen with lucky phill + hangover + 1l of water in my guts. Head off today, plan for breakfast in childers but nothing is open. Get a speeding ticket just south of childers. Stop in Gimpy (sic) for a piss and the bike wont start. 1.5 hours trying to get it going and find out RACQ will cover my on the bike. (insert 1.5 hours of chong and the_deckie expletives) 1 hour RACQ trying to get it going, put it on a truck and take me back home (free thankfully). (insert 3.5 hours of chong and the_deckie expletives)

http://tapatalk.com/mu/c094756f-2fc0-4c5d.jpg

When I first got into motor bike 20 something years ago, there was a joke that went - Why is a Triump like a blue cattle dog? At the end of the day they both usually end up coming home in the back of the ute.

Seems not much has changed!!!!!!!!

Tinshack
17-09-2011, 01:58 PM
What a week, met heaps of great like minded blokes who just love fishing! Headed out Thursday morning for an overnighter at Musgrave, hadn’t been there before. Thursday was a bit slow around Musgrave, a few solid parrot, pearl perch & hussar. Friday morning in Musgrave lagoon was amazing, calm water with whales putting on a show outside the lagoon. Sausages & eggs for breakfast then headed out to some spots west of Boult, but no luck just grinners. Moved on to a few marks in 65m SE of Fitzroy where we got some reds earlier in the week, bit slow but started to get a feed. I hooked a good red first but dropped it half way up:(, next on was Dad, best red for the week;D.

Had trouble getting VMR & fellow Ausfishers earlier in the week on the VHF radio, in fact had trouble getting anyone until we realised the radio was being used as a sinker. A bit of bad weather Tuesday let us do a run home to dispose of the Lowrance & purchase a new GME radio & refit on the Wednesday ready for Thursday.

That’s it for another year, thanks to Darren for getting us out to the spots in his 625 Bluewater Tournament/150hp 4st yammy, awesome motor, great economy and comfortable boat for the overnighters. Also thanks for the laughs at The Captain Cook Holiday Village, Madmackeral (Perry), Bull 1 (Brett), Buggerit (Kev), Wasted Wages & all their crews. Fish hard & see you all next year. Cheers, Dave.

A few pics of the weeks catch.

71462714637146871466714647146771465http://ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/pencil.png

17-09-2011, 03:26 PM
looks like a top trip tinshack..well done.

tropicrows
17-09-2011, 04:40 PM
lets try again, I dont have a PC currently so I'm using a friends which is a giving me the shits. So this will be brief, what a great week with a great bunch of chaps. Team white rhino, great team, bloody fantastic boat (I'll die to have a boat like that), great fishing. I'll let Marty post up all the pics and vids. My last memories of the week, to many to list but here's a few;
PB trout caught while trolling for mackeral
PB pearlie
NO sea sickness even on Wednesday when it was rough out trolling
Damo getting pissed
Marty reacting to a fish bite (you had to see it)
Tim, top crab catcher
Boony, going out to Fitzroy in his boat (he's got bigger balls than me).

Thanks to Phill (with 2 LL's) for putting the M&G together and all the other who attended to make it a great event.

17-09-2011, 06:31 PM
Yo.

Have just landed back in Brisvegas.

Will post report of sorts later.

Update..... Kev ( marvin ) had a bag out on Reds on Friday night. 15 and biggest 12kgs. He will post pics etc when he returns in a week or so.

I think that Australias boating economy revolved around 1770. Unbelieveable amount of L A R G E rigs heading out and about with calm seas and school hols.

Big thanks to Tim and Anthony for their company on Friday for a trip out amongst the islands.

To our dinner guests, Rob, Brett, Anthony, Tim & Dave... great night and thanks to Peter for the dinner of Roast Beef, vegies and Apple pie and Ice cream.

To the Sunlover owner, Roz, a special thank - you again for allowing me and others to share your digs and indulge in the top food for the M & G.

OK. time to unpack and wind down.

Cheers LP/

17-09-2011, 07:08 PM
Team White Rhino,

Marty

Don't tell me you are still having trouble finding livies Marty...??????::)::)::)::)

cobiaman
17-09-2011, 07:54 PM
Just like to say thanks to madmackrel, horse and bigjig(radioman) for a fantastic week. Captain cook holiday village had a great bunch of ausfishers staying there. Was great to meet bull1, wasted wages, tinshacks, darren, kev and everyone else that stayed there.

I must say a big thanks to phill for organising a great week away, murph for some great shirts and to all the guys that gave us some marks to try.

Fishing was a bit slow compared to others but for our first trip we did ok, cant wait to meet up with all you guys down here.
Cheers graeme

P.S a big thank you to mine09 for coming to the rescue friday when we made a bit of a miscalculation..

17-09-2011, 09:30 PM
Here's some " mischief " :)

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/drink-spike.jpg

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/spiked-yum.jpg

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/Guess-who-mackie.jpg

No idea what was going on here !

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/hes-doing-what.jpg

Yes mark............ more than legal...

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/M-spangled.jpg

LP.

Bull
17-09-2011, 11:26 PM
Thanks Guys for a great week up at 1770. Thanks to Phill for putting the trip together and thanks Murf for the shirts. It was a lot of fun to meet and catch up with everyone. Thanks for the help and advice on fishing spots and techniques. We didnt get the fish we hoped for but thats fishing i guess. Like Marty and Graeme said im looking forward to catching up with the seq guys for some fishing trips down here. Cant wait for next years 1770 trip.
Cheers Bull / Brett

Muddy Toes
18-09-2011, 11:37 AM
And so it ends, the 2011 M&G is all over for another year, my first year but definately not my last.Team Muddytoes got up there a few days early on the Thursday to overnight at Musgrave Thursday night.Having never really fished up there before it looked like we were going to do alright with a few nice RTE, spangled, kingies and trout coming over the side.
Sunday comes and its back out to the South East corner of Musgrave to try and duplicate the past days efforts.Fishing started a bit slow on Sunday as the seas and winds were pretty uncomfortable until the afternoon with only a couple of RTE and a stray tuskie finding there way into the esky.So with the wind settling down a bit later in the day we decided to move over to the Stuart Shoals area for a dig.But it was never to eventuate.:-?:(
My motor fired up just fine but when i went to put it into gear it would just cough and fart and stall.The bloody thing was only just serviced 3 days ago.>:(So here we were frigging around with the motor when the boys on Outsider came over and offered to tow us into the lagoon to try and get some help which i declined on because by that stage it looked as though our only option was to get a tow back to Round Hill.So the call of shame was put out to VMR Round Hill for a tow back:-[.At that stage the VMR had already got their hands full with a spearo that had his engine on fire so it was going to be a bit of a wait until they got there.Not to get too down about our predicament we started fishing again while we waited and put a few nice RTE in the esky between visits from Rob Tranter checking up on us and seeing if we were ok.:)
6:30 comes around and the rescue boat is along side going through the plan of attack and not long after we are under way.For those who are interested it was a 3000 Noosacat with twin 225 Yammies on the back and towed my 24ft glass boat at 32km/h for a fuel consumption of 114L/H.With the price of fuel up at the harbour this all equates to $560.00 of fuel used to get us back from Musgrave.::)
After the bill was paid on Monday it was a full day of trying to diagnose the problem over the phone with my mechanic here in Brisbane with no luck.Couldn't get the boat looked at in Bundy or Gladstone so that was the end of our reef fishing exploits for the week apart from a great day out with Phill on Friday.:D
All was not lost though, we spent the other days land based fishing around the area and having a look around the national parks, there's some pretty nice country up there.
For the rest of the week i kept getting phone calls from Marty Seaweed to either tag along on his boat or he was trying to find other boats that needed deckies for day trips so we didn't totally miss out.Thank you very much mate i greatly appreciate it, top effort.
While i'm doing the thanks round i also want to thank the two Robs for their help in our hour of need, Roz for here fabulous cooking and hospitality, Murf for the shirts, Phill for the day out on Friday and for organising the whole thing and for his concern throughout the whole week.Great bunch of people, thank you guys.
So now i've got the arduous task of getting my motor fixed, selling it and buying a 300 hp Yamaha to put on the back.This week was just the excuse i needed to replace 'The Deckie'.
Why have i named my motor the deckie?????
Because it came all the way to Agnes Water, drunk like a fish for the first few days and told me to F@#K OFF!!!!!!!;D:D:-*:P
Until next time this is MuddyTOWS standing by on 82.

18-09-2011, 12:31 PM
The 2011 Ausfish Annual Agnes Water / 1770 M & G has been run and won.

From my perspective. 8-)

With an official 61 people in attendance, this was by far the largest turnout since the inaugural Meet & Greet in 2005 or was it 2004 ??? way too long ago to remember.

The usual suspects again proving a hit with the newbys and certainly everyone advancing the friendly atmosphere. Dizzying heights were reached by Black_Rat with a marathon session lasting well over 30hrs and in fact I believe chicksloveit also chimed in with monsters effort. :o

Friday night at the Tavern was a crowded affair with many locals taking advantage of the raffles and also a few Spearos up their for a Comp.

The weather was good and I got out 4 times all up. The Thursday and Friday ( last days of the M & G ) were definitely the best and a couple more days after that were also looking great.

A big thanks to the VMR for their assist, not only keeping an ear out for us, but also for the tow back of 2 Ausfish vessels. The skippers skills proved valuable.

To Roz and Tony for letting a few of us share their house and company, Thanks again. ;D

To all the new people I met, it was a pleasure.

Some interesting folks out there in Ausfish land when ya meet them face to face.

There were a few PB's and firsts for the trip by many of us and my 8.87kg Blue Maori was a cracker

A special thanks to the bloke at 1770- Tyre & Mechanical for his honest dealings which was appreciated by me ( puncture repair ) and Anthony ( borrowing equip to fix small issue ).

To the cat ( Terminator ) who drove straight at us in the middle of the ocean and anchored within 30 mtrs of us directly in our drift line........... may the fleas of a thousand camels infest your armpits.. or........ why ?. Just why ? :-?

The cook-off........ wow, big night and no losers there at all.

Special mention to marvin ( Kev ) for bringing his family up and to XtremeBoony for doing the same. Good to meet Amanda, Breeanna and Brooklyn and good to catch up again with Kev's family, Margie, Jesse, Brodie and Abby.

Muddytoes and Buggerit had an expensive trip with motor issues ( no, not E-Tecs, they were both Mercs ), and VMR tows, but I am, sure they will return for another crack at 1770 offshore piscatorial predators.

I believe Roz has a lot of good pics to be posted up as I took limited ones.

Now, I have a pair of steel cap boots in my possession ( may be peterbo3's ? ), a towel ( maybe robtarr ), butt cap & reading glasses ( thedeckie ) other stuff. Sorry NEWBY, your Coronas have found a new home :P.

I also have about 30 kgs of mullet fillet left in my freezer. It is packed into ( about ) 1kg bags, salted down and for sale. $3.00/kg. You must take minimum 10kgs. PM for details.

I am now looking forward to the other reports and pics. From what I hear, marvin topped the point scoring ( so to speak ) with a boat load of reds and other fish. Well done.

Fuel economy worked out at 1.56k's per litre for the week ( over 550k's ) 6.2 platey with a 2003 Honda 130HP four banger ( 4 blade solas prop ). The Colorado towing figures were 14.9ltrs / 100.:)

cheers LP.
><> ><> ><> ><>

XtremeBoony
18-09-2011, 12:41 PM
so it's all over ay fella's.....so whats the count now for 2012 M & G??? around 365 to go BITCHEZZZZ ;D::);D

I am currently sitting at the gold coast after driving here yesterday for the mother in laws 50th. The sea was flat as and I had to leave paradise and come here >:( I expressed my dissapointment on the 6 hour drive to the missus. But thanks to everyone involved in getting the M & G so awesome you should take a bow ;D Met alot of great people throughout the week and won't forget the last overnighter at boult with Mine09 (george) was a great laugh and a few fish to go with as well. We will be back next year and might try and organise a bigger boat ::)

Quick report on the last trip which was the overnighter thursday night. Filled up on livies thursday morning along side white rhino. Headed to similar marks near boult in the 60m range. All hell broke loose to start with. Legal pearly straight up, busted off twice then a stinkin AJ about 8kg then things went quiet. Moved from mark to mark and a steady flow of fish coming in including a nice red about 5-6kg, stonker pearly about 65cm long and a slightly smaller pearly.

Scored a maori cod at night then the sharks moved in, no night reds which sucked balls.
Pulled up in behind boult for the night next to mine09 and scored a nice red throat about 53cm a few hussar and a moses. Should have stayed shallow the next morning as the mine09 crew scored some more red throat and trout. I went deep for a few drifts and got squat. Had to pull out and head home early. Sat on 45km/h on the way home in my CC. Geez it was flat. Got some weird looks pulling out early at the boat ramp. I do have a small bit of solo video that i will post later.

http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/2386/dsc01525sg.jpg
By xtremeboony (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/xtremeboony) at 2011-09-17
Nice schoolie. Not a bad self timer pic ;D

http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/2953/dsc01528z.jpg
PB pearlie of 65cm. another self timer pic

http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/7826/dsc01535nc.jpg
overall effort

http://img14.imageshack.us/img14/4939/dsc01539xm.jpg
cracking pearlies.

So thanks again to everyone and bring on 2012. Make sure to bring your families this time so I don't feel so bad ;D

cheers from boony

murf
18-09-2011, 05:09 PM
so it's all over ay fella's.....so whats the count now for 2012 M & G??? around 365 to go BITCHEZZZZ ;D::);D

cheers from boony

mate you are a champion being in a 4.8m CC tinny :) well done for your efforts solo, you are a fishing machine haha

cheers Murf

tropicrows
18-09-2011, 06:20 PM
Top effort boony, in my book you were the fisherman of the M&G
Why;
willingness to share info
fishing solo out of a 4.8m CC tinny
quality of fish caught

rob tranter
18-09-2011, 06:49 PM
Well here's my side of the story.

Firstly
Boonie... what is that fine woman doing with you?????, I fail to see the attraction;D
Mate you fished hard and fished well, good on ya.

As usual the tavern was on fire.

Me personnally
AS per normal, I had a pharking ball.
My boat went well as usual, with a "GOOD" Merc, you others must have bought lemons:-X No I feel for all that had engine trouble, lets hope you clear it up.

On the fishing side, I was on par with numbers, but up in quality.

Thanks to team "CAN'T" (needs another A) for a great group of blokes to share a house with.
Met a lot of great people, got to appreciate a few blokes wives:-X (looking only):P

throw next years dates up now so I can book that Tranquil place asap:-?

Thanks again to all, although I fail to see why some of you keep telling ME to be on my best behaviour because your bringing your bride/family. I have both of those, and enough trouble with them, so why would I misbehave with yours:-?::);D;D;D

Formally Rob T
Now
Red "C"
make your own mind up what it stands for8-)

MINE09
18-09-2011, 09:47 PM
71549 715487154771546 7154571544
Hey guys, what a great week for my first ausfish meet and greet, and won't be my last. Met some great and funny people such as Boony, who we overnighted with at the reef (had some great laughs Boony) have to do it again next year, Cheech and Chong Charters (Joy), Lucky Phill with 2 L's (who made sure I had dinner Tuesday night) :), Mad (Ooppss.... run out of fuel with a 4 stroke) Mackeral, and Radio Man (what a talent).... just to mention a few. Had a ball with Team Bimini Twist (Josh n Brad) cant wait until next year! (the team that drove the boat more than they fished) :) The photo's are from Thursday night overnighter :)

Cheers George.....Rogeeey.....over...over:)
http://ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/pencil.png

MINE09
18-09-2011, 10:03 PM
Just like to say thanks to madmackrel, horse and bigjig(radioman) for a fantastic week. Captain cook holiday village had a great bunch of ausfishers staying there. Was great to meet bull1, wasted wages, tinshacks, darren, kev and everyone else that stayed there.

I must say a big thanks to phill for organising a great week away, murph for some great shirts and to all the guys that gave us some marks to try.

Fishing was a bit slow compared to others but for our first trip we did ok, cant wait to meet up with all you guys down here.
Cheers graeme

P.S a big thank you to mine09 for coming to the rescue friday when we made a bit of a miscalculation..

Too easy Cobiaman....my pleasure,got to see radioman in action:)

cobiaman
18-09-2011, 10:22 PM
Mate, he was on fire all week!

Bull
18-09-2011, 10:26 PM
7155771556A couple pics Cheers Bull/Brett

vertico
18-09-2011, 11:18 PM
cant see those photos brett

madmackrel
19-09-2011, 01:54 PM
Ok were do i start. A big thanks to Cobiaman, Big Jig (radio man ) and Horse, my crew for the week. Things discovered over the trip, Cobiaman:Bull must be somesort of relation they look to much alikeBig Jig (radioman)Has the talent to be on the radio and the head for radioHorse:sleeps with a circle hook under his ass whilst on the boat, must be some sort of superstition and dont let him near the oven with jigheads.Lucky Phill , Murf and anybody else who was involved in the organizing of this event a massive thanks guys.To Mine 09, thanks a million for the help mate (ran out of fuel just outside the bar). It was a pleasure to have met you all and am looking tonext years do.
We didnt bring home any trophy fish but still managed to bring home a heap of fillets and have a good time.
Thanks to White rhino (Marty ), Tinshack (Carl) and Darren for some marks.Buggerit (Kev)mate glad you got things sorted and was rewarded with some nice fish. Bull 1(Brett) and Steven thanks for the raft up and brekky guys .
To all your blood is worth bottling except maybe Deckies Lol
Wasted Wages , Bull1 and White rhino we will have to get together for a fish down here guys and anyone else who is keen.
PS Took some of Chongs balls home from the cook off for further investigation and found these71576

madmackrel
19-09-2011, 02:16 PM
more pics, hope it works this time

madmackrel
19-09-2011, 02:21 PM
more pics ,the crabs are what i found in chongs balls

robtarr
19-09-2011, 04:57 PM
From reading all the posts leading up to the M&G I wasn't quite sure what I was in for but have to say it exceeded my expectations on all levels. Big thanks to Phill and everyone involved for organising the event, Murf for the shirts, Roz for the toasted sandwiches and putting us up Fri night, Fishfeeder my deckie - only guy I know that can snore within 5 breaths of his head hitting the pillow - no way I could race him to sleep first - and big thanks to Peterbo3 for a huge effort with the Top Spot accom and catering.....and a few marks he generously shared which we tried with some success Thurs/Fri.

Boatwise had a problem early with the radio and on Friday after circum-navigating Musgrave for the second time looking for Peterbo3 on Drumbeat we bumped into an anchored up Muddytoes to use his radio.....I won't forget your comment Anthony when you accurately said "this makes your radio trouble look pretty minor" as you struggled to kick the old Merc back into life. Great it all ended well apart from the tow fee and lost time on the water.

We had no trouble with the Outsider 625 running a 150HP Yammie 4 stroke - averaged around 0.65 to 0.7 k's to the litre at 4200 revs....well apart from the buggered radio which required a quick trip to Gladstone on Sat for a replacement - weather was crap anyway so killed some time.

Found ourselves rafted up with some great guys Sat night at Musgrave and Thurs at Fitzroy - look forward to catching up again Marty somewhere outside SPB soon.

On the fishing front we were more than happy with our effort being new to the area with plenty of colour in the esky and even managed a red as a bonus.....wrapped whole in alfoil on the BBQ and shared with the neighbours last night....yum.

Already looking forward to next year.

cheers Rob

19-09-2011, 09:05 PM
Oh..... and a small red and Coro.

:)

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/2011_0916evenmgsepte0093.jpg

LP

19-09-2011, 09:06 PM
chong........ appears to run out of JOY !!!!

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/2011_0916evenmgsepte0040.jpg

LP

19-09-2011, 09:08 PM
thedeckie......... flat out fishing.......... apparently

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/2011_0916evenmgsepte0012.jpg

LP

19-09-2011, 09:09 PM
Saw this at the headland. Didn't see Captain Cook aboard.... :)

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/2011_0916evenmgsepte0072.jpg

LP

19-09-2011, 09:11 PM
The view from our digs at Sunlover.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/2011_0916evenmgsepte0105.jpg

LP

19-09-2011, 09:16 PM
and Roz with her 6.35 Blue Maori. a first and PB. :)

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/2011_0916evenmgsepte0080.jpg

LP

19-09-2011, 09:33 PM
bugger the fishing Phill..I could easily have stayed there Saturday and just enjoyed the view from Roz's place.

buggerit
19-09-2011, 10:02 PM
Thanks again guys , can't wait till next year . ........... Do we really have to wait that long ? Good times , good people , new friends ,should not be restricted to once a year .

Kev

marvin
19-09-2011, 10:09 PM
The “Marvin” clan of Kevin, Margaret, Brodie, Jesse and Abbyarrived into Agnes Waters on Friday the 9th Sep 2011 for ten days ofrelaxation, recharging and reminding one’s self about life’s truepleasures. The week started withbuilding sandcastles on the beach with the kids, and sipping a cold beerwatching the waves roll in. The firstnights meal at the Agnes tavern to catch up with some old faces and some newones was great. The menu for the rest ofthe week went something like cold beers and cooked banana prawns every day forentree, then steaks, barby queues, and of course some fresh fish fillets whileout on the boat, lightly pan fried in a dollop of butter put onto a piece ofbuttered fresh bread and a sprinkle of salt....

Two mates came out with me on Sunday with an over nite tripout to Mussy area. We struggled duringthe day but managed to pick up a couple of legal reds, with the best one going8.6kgs. The trout were hard to temp onMonday morning with the 20knot plus south southwester belting us pretty hardand we could only manage a few around the 2-3kg mark. After lunch the wind settled and this madefor an enjoyable trip back to the headland around 3pm.

The next day we cleaned fish, drank beer, went to the beachagain with the kids, had a sleep, drank beer, and had another sleep....

The wind was persistent at 15knots for the next couple ofdays and we decided on a river fish and ski tube day up the creek. Flathead, Tarwhine, Bream and 11 green toadskept us entertained for a few hours. Then the ski tube was let loose with the kids saying “faster go fasterDad” when they were being towed at 27knots! Crazy little critters....

By Friday the weather had settled nicely and anotheroffshore trip was on the cards, I could only get one other crewie plus my 11year old son Brodie, so that was our crew. We headed out to the 12 mile, with no luck and then we had to decideFitzroy or Boult/Musgrave areas... With more than 15 boats logged on to go toFitzroy Brodie decided that it would be all fished out, so off to the quieterarea we headed. Out around 28 miles wefound a couple of nice grass sweetlip of 60cm and then a couple of 1.6kg parrotaround the pinnacles of Boult reef. Weheaded over to do some viewing glass inspections of the shallows, and in 20meters of water Brodie was watching fish swim around the pale coloured coralsand rocks, but when you dropped a bait down to them they would dartaway.... We went over to about 5 metersand the clarity was just crystal clear. We had a fish in about 18 meters and snagged our lines on the bottom,nothing different for out there... but this snag was coming up, we pulled in anold anchor rope, and so after pulling it in for about 25 meters we felt theweight of an anchor, up we pulled 15meters of chain and a recently made heavyduty reef anchor. No name on it, so ifyou have lost one and can describe this one, you can have it back, otherwise Ihave a spare anchor. J

The water was glassy calm, and the fishing was slow, so eastwe headed, trying spots as we went, out to the 60 meter line, and with nightfall we were hoping the reds and pearlies would come out to play. We got one pearly but was not a horse by anymeasures. The current was starting topick up by around 9 pm, so we set course for the inside of Musgrave planning toanchor up in the shallows and have a camp for a couple of hours. The sea was so flat going into the lagoon wasnot required, and this way we could have one person fishing all night.

When we arrived at a little pinnacle that had produced a fewtrout in the past for us, the edge lit up with a few arches and a great baitfish type show. The anchor went overand shortly after so did butterflied yakkas with half a cuttle fish head on thetop hook of the snelled rig as baits. Within 5 seconds from reaching the bottom my rod buckled over, headthump after head thump and up came a 7kg Red emperor, followed by an oceangoing Rottweiler in a grey suit. I gotthe red into the boat, but unfortunately did not get in the second hooked upred in one piece. Third drop down and Ihooked the bloody shark, so that stitched me up for a good 10 minutes.

Luke managed to get a bait down while I was entertaining thetoothy critter and landed another red around 75cm. The shark was cut off and told to go awayvery nicely.... The tide had stoppedrunning at the present location and the seas were dead calm, the sounder waslit up and we had two nice red fish in the slurry bin. Brodie thought it would be a good idea forhim to have a go at getting a nice red, and by the time he got out of the cabinfrom having a little rest, we had another two fish on the way to the esky. This was like a ballistic gym workout to hookan 8-11kg red emperor in 35-40 meters of water and pump and wind like hell tobeat the jaws of life to the surface. Brodie landed 2 reds one 5kg and the other 7kg in a matter of 10minutes. The young fella found thisquiet a struggle but also greatly rewarding, the grin on his face when the redslanded on the deck was priceless...

This hot bite lasted for just over an hour, which is when wehad caught 15 legal reds one after the other. We lost 4 bigger fish in between and with re-rigging and the sharkdelays this made for a legal red coming on board at every four minute interval. That is hard work! but hey - someone has tobe lucky enough to do it.... J

When we reached our bag limit of reds, we elected to moveoff the spot, in a hope to find some red throats or other species for theremainder of the night. Pulling up thatanchor was one of the hardest things I did all week, to leave a once in a lifetime hot bite of reds nearly brought a tear to our eyes, but we were absolutelystoked with the trip at that stage with one esky full of 100+kgs of redemperors.

We moved a couple mile and thankfully did not catch anotherlegal red for the night, (did I just say that?) and the couple of trout we gotafter a few hours camp when the sun came up, just had us grinning all the wayback to the ramp.

Well that afternoon was a couple of beers back at home, anda 3 hour afternoon sleep to recharge the body batteries. After taking some pictures we cleaned thefish that night, and we continually were pinching ourselves with the quality offish we had caught, just to be sure that we were not dreaming.

Sunday was another glassed out day, so the whole familyheaded out 20 miles from the hill for a day sightseeing for dolphins and whaleswith the kids. We trolled a spread ofskirts over the 4 and 6 mile areas without any interest. Jesse and Abby loved the dolphins and whalesthat we managed to come across while heading out. We fished for a few hours landing some parrotfish, hussar, and one lonely bar cheek trout, which topped off the whole weekfor us. Brodie drove the boat home at 25knots in the oily flat seas.

Monday morning we packed up the house and returned to ourhome town around lunch time. The kidswere singing songs as we drove back down the highway and were reminding meabout the fish they had caught, the dolphins and the whales, the ski tubing,the sand castles on the beach, the kangaroos we had each morning on our backlawn, and the regular visits from a scrub turkey they named Terri...

I posted on Ausfish before we went last week, “let’s makesome great memories”.... Ladies andgentlemen, I believe we have. Cheers Everyone, until next year, may your dreamsbecome your memories... Best wishes - Kevin and the family.

Bull
19-09-2011, 10:13 PM
7166671665 A couple pics of owen ( dr quinn ) & steve ( medicine woman )

marvin
19-09-2011, 10:13 PM
Just a couple more pictures from me, cheers Kev.:)

vertico
20-09-2011, 06:11 AM
awesome stuff marvin good to see someone got hold of some bulk reds, i did 340 km in 36 hours and struggled to find 3 reds.... oh well thats fishing.

BeastMaster
20-09-2011, 11:34 AM
Great report Marvin and well done on the reds.- I enjoyed the read .
Beast

Giffo65
20-09-2011, 05:58 PM
Kev

I am kick myself for nocking back the offer of the trip,bloody work gets in the way of fishing at times.Great read and top fish.

rob tranter
20-09-2011, 06:36 PM

Just a quick note regarding Accommodation at Agnes/1770.

Beware when booking through

"1770 Beach Accommodation"

They tell untruths to get your business, they cost double what most others charge.
We were charged a per/head tariff, and never got the beds asked for, nor the room for boat parking asked for.
When you question them they rant and rave and deny that they had said anything.

I have spoken to House owners in the area that have there houses with this agency, and they are not happy with them either, so be very carefull.

Red C
Formerly
Rob T8-)

XtremeBoony
20-09-2011, 09:15 PM
This hot bite lasted for just over an hour, which is when wehad caught 15 legal reds one after the other. We lost 4 bigger fish in between and with re-rigging and the sharkdelays this made for a legal red coming on board at every four minute interval. That is hard work! but hey - someone has tobe lucky enough to do it.... J

When we reached our bag limit of reds, we elected to moveoff the spot, in a hope to find some red throats or other species for theremainder of the night. Pulling up thatanchor was one of the hardest things I did all week, to leave a once in a lifetime hot bite of reds nearly brought a tear to our eyes, but we were absolutelystoked with the trip at that stage with one esky full of 100+kgs of redemperors.

We moved a couple mile and thankfully did not catch anotherlegal red for the night, (did I just say that?) and the couple of trout we gotafter a few hours camp when the sun came up, just had us grinning all the wayback to the ramp.

Well that afternoon was a couple of beers back at home, anda 3 hour afternoon sleep to recharge the body batteries. After taking some pictures we cleaned thefish that night, and we continually were pinching ourselves with the quality offish we had caught, just to be sure that we were not dreaming.

Sunday was another glassed out day, so the whole familyheaded out 20 miles from the hill for a day sightseeing for dolphins and whaleswith the kids. We trolled a spread ofskirts over the 4 and 6 mile areas without any interest. Jesse and Abby loved the dolphins and whalesthat we managed to come across while heading out. We fished for a few hours landing some parrotfish, hussar, and one lonely bar cheek trout, which topped off the whole weekfor us. Brodie drove the boat home at 25knots in the oily flat seas.

Monday morning we packed up the house and returned to ourhome town around lunch time. The kidswere singing songs as we drove back down the highway and were reminding meabout the fish they had caught, the dolphins and the whales, the ski tubing,the sand castles on the beach, the kangaroos we had each morning on our backlawn, and the regular visits from a scrub turkey they named Terri...

I posted on Ausfish before we went last week, “let’s makesome great memories”.... Ladies andgentlemen, I believe we have. Cheers Everyone, until next year, may your dreamsbecome your memories... Best wishes - Kevin and the family.[/QUOTE]

Kev,
Mate that is a bloody fantastic effort and a great read. well done. truly the champion catch throughout the week. My missus said to apologise that she didn't give your missus a ring because when she went to the mobile number was in my phone which was out at sea with me. We will make a beach date next year for the kiddies though :) you can carry the esky :)

once again great pics of not only the fish but the kiddies getting involved as well. you should be a truly proud parent.

cheers from boony

murf
21-09-2011, 01:59 PM
Agnes Water/1770 M&G SHIRTS

I have been asked by a few people for extra shirts so if you missed out or want one let me know and we will work them out

there is the long sleeve fishing style and the dark Navy Blue Polo

hope everyone is happy with the shirts :)

cheers Murf

cobiaman
21-09-2011, 02:36 PM

I have been asked by a few people for extra shirts so if you missed out or want one let me know and we will work them out

cheers Murf

Shirts were awesome!

four_button_arnie
21-09-2011, 02:40 PM

cheers Murf

Murf those shirts are wicked, the fishing shirt goes above and beyond, awesome! Oh i need to flick you a couple more dollars I didnt catch up with you again

Josh

four_button_arnie
21-09-2011, 02:42 PM
Well ive gone from a great fishing week to been stuck in Lithgow NSW this week, man we have the fricken heater on!!!!!....not cool.

As a result my trip report will have to wait, but for those who are interested here is a quick video of a pod of dolphins we found around the inside of Sykes reef in about 9m of water, we came across a pod of about 70-90ish dolphins, a good handful came ad played with us at the boat, simply awesome.

lyfqml46OQc

21-09-2011, 04:45 PM
Well ive gone from a great fishing week to been stuck in Lithgow NSW this week, man we have the fricken heater on!!!!!....not cool.

As a result my trip report will have to wait, but for those who are interested here is a quick video of a pod of dolphins we found around the inside of Sykes reef in about 9m of water, we came across a pod of about 70-90ish dolphins, a good handful came ad played with us at the boat, simply awesome.

Team White Rihno came across a simlar size pod east of Fitzroy, pretty sure Marty go some Dolphin action as well ! Well the clean type of action anyway ! ;D

Deiter
21-09-2011, 05:55 PM
Marty got some dolphin action eh?.....oh well, at least they're warm blooded :)

buggerit
22-09-2011, 04:33 PM
Looking forward to viewing all the video footage taken by all you guys . I noticed Marty (Team White Rhino) , while not only giving us help and support and keeping our sense of humor alive in our time of need was holding a flash looking video camera .
Thanks again Marty .

Kev

XtremeBoony
22-09-2011, 08:04 PM
Just knocked up the video's and pics from the trip. Just remember I was by myself but it turned out ok. Some behaviour is questionable from being out solo at sea though ;D Thoughts and feedback appreciated. cheers from boony

currently trying to fix up vide....sorry

22-09-2011, 08:06 PM
mmmm better change the music background.... doh !

Bull
22-09-2011, 08:21 PM
Boony it wont let me watch your video m8

Captain Seaweed
23-09-2011, 08:32 AM
Looking forward to viewing all the video footage taken by all you guys . I noticed Marty (Team White Rhino) , while not only giving us help and support and keeping our sense of humor alive in our time of need was holding a flash looking video camera .
Thanks again Marty .

Kev

Kev,
No filming on your boat as I felt bad in time of crisis, but there is other footage.

Marty

24-09-2011, 10:18 AM
Marty will put up some footage and photos on Team Rihnos behalf.

Thought i'd post this up taken from my iflat out at Fitzroy Lagoon on the Thursday ;D

http://youtu.be/l3D-6borWGM

murf
24-09-2011, 01:54 PM
Never seen it like that before Black Rat :)

XtremeBoony
25-09-2011, 08:24 PM
hey fella's can you tell me if this video works or not. Youtube is f**king me around over copyright stuff with the background music.

cheers from boony

http://youtu.be/TFMBIFq5D7o

Muddy Toes
25-09-2011, 08:26 PM
It works BITCHEZZZZZZZZZ!!!!

Very very well done on the solo effort mate and a great vid.
Spose you were using red emperor fillets for pearlie bait too................

25-09-2011, 08:45 PM
Yep, Boony. nice. Just watched that and other stuff on Youtube from you and seano...

Cheers LP

cobiaman
25-09-2011, 09:10 PM
Awesome video boony!

XtremeBoony
25-09-2011, 09:20 PM
what a farkin relief that it works :)....was starting to tear my hair out trying to get it to work....thanks for the feedback fella's, appreciate it.

cheers from boony

Timfishin4fun
26-09-2011, 05:46 AM
Top video work mate, made me want to be fishing more than ever.

Timbo

rob tranter
26-09-2011, 06:19 AM
Pharking awesome Booney

Mate that is a great vid, with quality fish.

By the way mate, how was the mo inlaws 50th;D

Rob T / Red C

XtremeBoony
26-09-2011, 07:40 AM
Pharking awesome Booney

Mate that is a great vid, with quality fish.

By the way mate, how was the mo inlaws 50th;D

Rob T / Red C

robbo,
I think you know the answer to that one mate :) Sucked my thumb and dragged the bottom lip the whole way down to the goldcoast but a couple of overnighters and a few fillets eased the pain (but not all of it :) )

cheers from boony

Captain Seaweed
26-09-2011, 06:44 PM
White Rhino Contribution A....more to come soon with more photos and video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hr67U2Kiz7c

murf
26-09-2011, 06:58 PM
White Rhino Contribution A....more to come soon with more photos and video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hr67U2Kiz7c

this video is private :(

Captain Seaweed
26-09-2011, 07:07 PM
ok ok ok try now , sorry lads I f ed it up had it on private, thought I was making another style of errrr movie

26-09-2011, 07:07 PM
He's onto it....................

BTW.......... Happy Birthday Marty

:bdaycake:

:laola::laola:

Captain Seaweed
26-09-2011, 07:08 PM
is it working sms me if its not please someone....ie Phillll

cobiaman
26-09-2011, 07:18 PM
Great video marty, i cant wait for next year now! How long to go?

26-09-2011, 07:48 PM
Nice Marty ! I almost forgot about Sam the seagull

Damo

Captain Seaweed
26-09-2011, 07:51 PM
:) yep he's doing alright here at my place, infact next time your down here again I reckon we all get together and head out somewhere again, what ya reckon? Or do we need to get up to weipa!!!!!!!!!!!!

murf
26-09-2011, 07:51 PM
ok ok ok try now , sorry lads I f ed it up had it on private, thought I was making another style of errrr movie

Marty that vid is sweet mate especially for an old fart like you :P

and yes Marty you do rip it up the big fella when he loses a fish ;) there is a long swim home though haha

cheers Murf

Captain Seaweed
26-09-2011, 07:53 PM
cheers Murf!!!

26-09-2011, 07:55 PM
Sounds good Marty I'll find out when I'm back next.
Look forward to part 2 ! I think ?

Damo

Captain Seaweed
26-09-2011, 07:59 PM
yeah mate all safe, I need to get more footage out ith other fish caught

murf
26-09-2011, 08:31 PM
Well the PC is formatted and I have a new card reader the daughters have finished rep soccer finals bla bla bla so I will post up my pic of a fish for the trip :)

Well another great trip to Agnes Water/1770 ;) when we arrive at the digs Top Spot I wondered what sort of a week we were in for when Robtar walks in like a southern latte drinking toff with his expresso machine and coffee bean grinder under his arms and Fishfeeder strols in with a tea cossy on his head but what a great pair of blokes, the coffee Rob put on every morning was by far the best I have ever had (and I have been trying since) Brett kept us all fed up with the ample supply of food supplied by our house captain Peterbo3, we were also joined by Apollo Steve and Trymyluck Mark who also jumped straight in to cook clean and make the house a pleasure to be in. I must also mention my designated driver Les that came up with me putting in a great effort as the cleaning lady in the kitchen

Well as for the fishing it was a bit slow for us on the first trip out for a look see, the wind was up and the water temp down :( lots of bait around but nothing to entice up for the cook off on Saturday night :( so frozen two year old NSW bait for the cook off Saturday night ;D (I hope everyone enjoyed:-? )

On our second trip to sea we were blessed with a full moon and great conditions for the evening’s fishing inside of Lady Musgrave with Robtar and Bull1 close by. It was a little lumpy in Lady Musgrave lagoon for a kip that night but the company was great and another great experience on the reef. Gotta love it out there

we only just scratched up a feed for the overnighter with a windy morning fish down around South Fitzroy reef in the shallows and SSHHHH but we lost a good pick to the reef but Robtar came to the rescue with a spare only to be lost to the reef gods as well next drop :-[

a few pics
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011188.jpg
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011187.jpg
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011184.jpg
Top Spot verandah
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011181.jpg
an effort for the week
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011180.jpg
the view from my bed, thanks jt for waking me up so I could see the sunrise ;)
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011186.jpg
cheers Murf

murf
26-09-2011, 08:39 PM
oops I forgot the fish pic ;)
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011206.jpg

and the Deckies kookaburra did survive the soft plastic incident ;)
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011183.jpg

a big thanks to Pete again for putting up with me and my stand in old man Les and for the trips to sea and organizing the house food and peoples to put in the house, top stuff :)

cheers Murf

marvin
26-09-2011, 09:33 PM
Murf, what about that massive red pic you sent me on the phone??? What weight was your big red? Hope you don't mind if I post it up? :-[ Kev.

26-09-2011, 09:41 PM
Kev, Murf's red was caught off Yeppoon and was in the 10 + kilo range...I believe.

Wags

marvin
26-09-2011, 09:46 PM
Sorry, I thought he got it at 1770, my mistake, he must have been just teasing me when he sent it to me on his last day up there... Either way still a real nice fish. I'll just stop typing now...

26-09-2011, 09:53 PM
Sorry, I thought he got it at 1770, my mistake, he must have been just teasing me when he sent it to me on his last day up there... Either way still a real nice fish. I'll just stop typing now...

Kev, was it this one?

Yep same fish! ;D

26-09-2011, 09:56 PM
Teasin you??? The bastards were sending me pics while I was at work.

Bull
27-09-2011, 06:47 AM
Thanks for the video Marty it looks fantastic. It sure was one cracker of a trip.

Cheers Bull

XtremeBoony
27-09-2011, 07:05 AM
just arrived home from night shift, got a hot cuppa milo and sat down in front of the pootah to watch approx 5 mins of more awesome meet and greet footage 8-). Well done marty take a bow as I enjoyed every second ;D and can't wait for the next episode.

Congrats on your stonker red murf even if you had to go to yeppoon to catch it but I think the 1770 reds taste better then the yeppoon ones ;D::);D

cheers from boony

27-09-2011, 03:50 PM
Geez Murf, I'd forgotten all about the kookaburra!!

In 2006 The Deckie fed it a soft plastic complete with a jighead and it proceeded to smash the thing on a branch nearby. It was a bit of a job to get the sp out of the tree from what I recall.

Looks like it's forgiven him now...........

rob tranter
28-09-2011, 07:33 PM
:) yep he's doing alright here at my place, infact next time your down here again I reckon we all get together and head out somewhere again, what ya reckon? Or do we need to get up to weipa!!!!!!!!!!!!

Martry

All for a Weipa trip, just need plenty of notice, and money

MINE09
29-09-2011, 07:58 PM
hey fella's can you tell me if this video works or not. Youtube is f**king me around over copyright stuff with the background music.

cheers from boony

http://youtu.be/TFMBIFq5D7o
One word Boony.......Awesome:)

MINE09
29-09-2011, 08:22 PM
Great vid Marty........looooove it!!!!!

29-09-2011, 08:49 PM
Boony bloody awesome effort mate your the man on the video editing now . Lol i just jammed it all together hahahaha
jt

29-09-2011, 08:51 PM
Great effort to all the video's Boony's White Rhino's all well done guys massive effort.

murf
30-09-2011, 07:34 AM
I must thank all my sponsors for making the Agnes Water 1770 M&G possible :P
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011197.jpg
thanks to who put this sticker on my car :)

and I am not quite sure whats wrong with this pic? exposure or colour balance? :-?
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011191.jpg

cheers Murf

Captain Seaweed
30-09-2011, 08:28 AM
here are a few more Gents

Captain Seaweed
30-09-2011, 08:29 AM
hooked the trout trolling hardbodies for Mackeral!!!

murf
30-09-2011, 08:38 AM
hooked the trout trolling hardbodies for Mackeral!!!

how do you attach the hooks to the coke can lure?

Captain Seaweed
30-09-2011, 09:11 AM
with small circle split rings......how do you guys do it?

30-09-2011, 09:14 AM
with small circle split rings......how do you guys do it?

I normally top up the can with a bit of Joy ! The fish can't resist ! ;D

tropicrows
30-09-2011, 01:01 PM
Come on guys tell the truth. The coke can was in the esky with the fish and this bugger decided to help himself to a drink. Clever little bugger he was, still dont know how he opened the can.

marvin
30-09-2011, 09:45 PM
Is it too early to get the dates definately confirmed for 2012? We got to put our annual leave in 12 months in advance,,,,, Have asked for the week before the school holidays and the two weeks of them in september next year, just would help a lot to be able to confirm them. The 14th onwards sounds the go??? incase your wondering, yes I am Excited already, am I sick???? :-) Kev.

Jackinthebox
30-09-2011, 09:59 PM
and I am not quite sure whats wrong with this pic? exposure or colour balance? :-?
cheers Murf[/QUOTE]

Definitely colour saturation..... too much amber colour in the glass, should show up as a bright pink colour :)

Get out while you can Phill, they're all zombies!!!

Even the waitress looks like she's from that Dawn of the dead movie!!! :o

01-10-2011, 11:25 AM
You are absolutely spot on Rob.
There is sooooo much I would like to say about that mob, but am afraid if I do there may be consequences. Transparency is not one of their strong points, have already made a few phone calls to the real estate institute of QLD Fair Trading will be next. I must add the past owners were lovely people.
cheers R. :)

01-10-2011, 12:04 PM
I've got heaps more pics to up load.
Firstly I have to say how fantastic is was to get back with my Ausfish mates...been a long time, some of you know why, but I had to deal with the loss of Dad in my own way...enough said!!!
Next year I want my house full of people, the way it should be, just as an enticer I've posted a couple of pics, where else can you get an ocean view from the kitchen:P, I've already asked a few people if they would like to stay at Sunlover for the '12 M&G, the only thing i ask is $20 per head for the week to cover water, electricity, milk, tea & coffee (heaps cheaper than a real estate mob I won't mention), plus the ability to use a tea towel, wash up (using dish washing liquid) and put the toilet seat down::).
The drive way is not as scarey as it looks... some of you are just a pack of big girls:o, if need be I will be happy to tow your boat up my drive way!!! enough of the torment.
Bring on 2012.
Cheers Roz.

01-10-2011, 01:40 PM
It is 349 days from the start date of thge M & G

Or 11 months, 13 days

349 days can be converted to one of these units:

30,153,600 seconds
502,560 minutes
8376 hours
49 weeks (rounded down)

BUT WHO's counting :) :) :)

LP

01-10-2011, 01:55 PM
Or even 30,153,600,000,000,000 nanoseconds................Nah that sounds like a very looong time

01-10-2011, 02:49 PM
So the dates are set ?

Damo

murf
01-10-2011, 08:28 PM
cheers Murf

Definitely colour saturation..... too much amber colour in the glass, should show up as a bright pink colour :)

Get out while you can Phill, they're all zombies!!!

Even the waitress looks like she's from that Dawn of the dead movie!!! :o[/QUOTE]

still a bit worried about the little finger poking out:o:-?:-?

murf
04-10-2011, 08:01 AM
well whilst packing to go to Bundy/Yeppoon/Gladstone for a couple of weeks fishing with Wags and jtpython for Wags' bucks week I found my misplaced SD card :) so here are a few more pics
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/P1020958Large-1.jpg
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/P1020947Large.jpg
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/P1020959Large.jpg
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/P1020966aLarge.jpg
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/P1020973Large.jpg

cheers Murf

murf
04-10-2011, 08:04 AM
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/P1020947Large.jpg
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/P1020940Large.jpg
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/P1020941aLarge.jpg
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/P1020991Large.jpg
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/P1020989Large2.jpg

and the boys having fun doing circles around us on the way back in haha
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/AgnesYeppoon2011205Large.jpg

four_button_arnie
09-10-2011, 02:56 PM
Ausfish M&G Report

Well, bout time I did a little report of Team Bimini Twist’s activities over the M&G. I did the week with my dad (Brad) and shared accom with Georgey (Mine09) and Dale.

First and foremost, it was great to catch up with everyone at the cook off, once again a very friendly affair. Special mention must go the infamous Joy, oh dear the Joy, put a rocket in your pocket any day of the week that stuff;D! To Murf, mate love the shirts, the fishing shirt was well wicked! And Phill for the been the master of arms, with all the great information that you so generously handed over, thanks.

We stayed in Neptune (team Yalta HQ!), very well appointed, nice verandah, heaps of parking, what more do you want really, hot shower, BBQ, fridge for beer. PRD looked after us on that front, definitely will deal with them again.

Trip 1 – Steady as she BLOWS!
Like most people we headed out Sunday morning, as we where waiting for George to launch we drifted around the creek, insert champion number 1 (Bull) who motored over to very kindly gift some of his snapper leads (which I in my haste had no time to make prior to the trip), thanks mate! Great conditions as the 2 Yalta’s purred out through the channel, a bit of slop heading to the Islands.

(George bustin a move on the way out)

We quickly ducked into Musgrave to plot a track for our return trip, love it (we had never fished this far south so it was all new).

We immediately headed East to around the 60 - 80m mark and stated drifting about, jumping from spot to spot trying to cover as much new ground as we could. We found quite a few promising ledges and drop offs that will require a return visit. Dad and I only managed a legal Maori Cod and a few RTE for our troubles. That evening we headed into Stuart Shoals to find George and Phill (with 2 ll’s), Phil who held up his stonking Blue Maori (more to the point we thought it was a huge trout at the time):o. Finding some good bottom lines went down, then some nice big tugs and a solid hook up (I thought holy sh!t a stonker RED), he fought dirty and hard, bending the 80lb tcurve to the water, he didn’t take any long runs just some dives to the reef below. Mmmm 10 mins in I was feeling deflated and in pain, talk of a shark entered our conversation, surely not I said, it didn’t take any long runs? Then from the depths the man in a grey suit hit the surface, around 7-8 foot long he was a beast for sure. (will get the photos from dad)

So off we went into the night to find some deep water, the sounder went nuts and there was serious bottom and fish everywhere, results = my first Blue Maori at 7.5kg, happy with that!;D Back to the Lagoon to raft with Georgey, who cooked a sensational snag BBQ! The wind that came through that night put the chills up us a tad, the boats started rubbing (the fenders just couldnt cope with the wave action) so we departed company to anchor up else where. In the early morning light we found Bull 1, Peterbo3, and Robtarr and of course their motley crew rafting in a line, looked awesome.

(looked bloody awesome)

(Murf appeared to be trying to get phone service?)

Bored, a quick shout on the radio to make sure we weren’t in a green zone then on went a pillie on the Tcurve 5-10 spin and I slunk back into my sleeping bag. Twitch, twitch, ON! I had some fun on the lighter gear pulling aboard a 66cm Spangled (not a bad start). LOL the reaction was instant, the boys rafting immediately had lines in the water, love it. An of course there was Booney, bloody hell mate, where do you buy undies big enough to hold your massive set of balls?8-)

The weather was crappy so again we spent our time burning fuel, wasting bait and checking out heaps of new marks to little reward, enough was enough so in we came.

(The little bag)

(7.5kg Blue Moari, my first)

Given the weather the next day, Dad I and shot off to Gladstone to do a few things and jumped on the dirt bikes to show dad our tracks around the area, not a bad day off from fishing in my books!

Arriving back in Agnes, insert champions number 2&3 MuddyToes, Anthony and his deckie Tim, who hooked me up with some more lead (enough to sink the poor Yalta) and some Flash as Michael Jackson mullet, thanks boys! Cant wait to see the boat with a big dirty Yammie on her ass!

Trip 2 – The trip of a thousand miles
Wake up only to be greeted by some of the best weather we have had up here all year! Pointed the Yalta North and for the first half of the day fished our way up to Lamont once again exploring as we went. Special mention to the turtle who came over to the boat, only to ‘hug’ the outboard with his flippers, then ‘hug’ my arm as I gave him a pat, very odd.

Continuing north hitting some spots around Sykes, It was here that we found all those wonderful Dolphins up in the shallows, just bloody awesome. Off Sykes we hit a mark that had us on a big pinnacle, tuna and birds working above it, heaps on the sounds below. A couple of undersized Reds where released. Dad hook onto a stonker that did him in the coral, our pick, a good Red or Trout.

Come the afternoon I couldn’t help it, we sped to some of our normal haunts further north trying to find those elusive Reds, unfortunately we found nothing. Nothing at all. Although we wanted to fish our Red spots at night we were just too buggered and though it best to head in a get some sleep. We anchored up for the night behind Sykes (which I might add is a fantastic little spot, great protection, sandy bottom, VERY calm). Sunrise we returned to the pinnacle, and finally the first legal Red hit the deck, thank god. The shallows around Sykes was well worth the look, with Dad landing two very respectable Trout, best I could manage where some RTE.

(Dad producing the Trout, awesome)

(Dad's first coronation)

We headed East marking spots as we went, found some great ground (which didn’t produce mind you), then finally pointed the Yalta towards Fitzroy to a mark, dad again on the money with a coronation Trout. On our way south we marked a BIG pinnacle, first drop and I was monstered, brutal, just brutal, felt like a big red (but anything can feel like a big red when you really want it too!). Dad again on a very good trout, unfortunately nearing the boat, he flicked his head and gracefully returned to the depths, bummer. This spot will be visited again shortly, stay tuned.

On our way home we checked out a few more spots, at Boult Reef I jumped in with the spear gun for a quick look, only to find a decent reef shark stalking me and a huge ray who thought he had better come over to say hello, that was enough for me, back in the boat and on our way home. Fantastic trip back in, the creek looked a million bucks.

So great time all round, although a little shy on the esky fish, Yalta was lovely as always, did a billion miles, had a ball. Just one more thing, did anyone happen to see a full box of California squid floating around out there, someone thought they better release them one by one for me!:P;D

(cruising back in)

(Final bag trip 2)

(Yalta just hanging out)

Thats all for now!
Josh and Brad;D8-)
Team Bimini Twist OUT!

09-10-2011, 04:02 PM
Great read Josh.

There are some..... interesting..... pinnicales between Sykes and Fitzroy in a certain depth of water............. ;)

Getting busted / monstered is the norm there.

Deiter
09-10-2011, 10:56 PM
Good stuff Josh, bloody nice report.

Damo

marvin
11-10-2011, 08:42 PM
Just paid our deposit for the house again next year, so Phill, put us on the list please.... Be the whole family again, arriving Friday afternoon on the 14th staying at Aurthurs Park as usual until the 24th for 10 days of R&R, and no thats not rest and relaxation, its for Reds and Rum.... Cheers Kev and family.

gofishin
19-10-2011, 12:59 PM
Well done guys, some great stories, great catches and nice shots too! PBA is up there this week, unfortunately getting their butts blown off again! :-?:-? It is October, but we have had some bad luck with the weather the last two years with both trips being blown out bar one day each trip – although it may come good for Friday. I went up Thurs night and fished Fri and Sun before coming home Mon.

Sun was the first official Club fishing day, and it looks like it might be the last too! Even though conditions were great on Sunday, a lot of boats did it tough and there weren’t than many fish caught. We did pretty well, as did the boat fishing with us. I will put up a report later this week – hopefully there will be more to add by the guys still up there.
Brendon

20-10-2011, 12:38 PM
Re Four button arnie's report

Great report!!!! ;D;D
FANTASTIC photos!!!!:D:D

One photo in particular speaks volumes, should be used for a phone add !!!!!;);)

Glad you had a great time & hope to see you at next years M&G.

Cheers Roz :)

Tim_N
24-10-2011, 11:14 AM
We were up there that weekend and noticed the Yaltas and a couple of other familiar boats, didn't know it was the M&G weekend, looked like fun.
However, the wind was none too kind.
We were in a small Fisher centre console and said g'day to a few lads at the ramp, must have been Josh and his Dad by the looks of it.
Only spent a couple of days there before heading to the Whitsundays and beyond.
Fished the creek and managed some really good Lizards, Grunter, Jack and jumped of a couple of small Barra. Great place, can't wait to get back.

murf
22-12-2011, 07:11 AM
Okay the extra shirts have been done and sent, all but Almako (PM sent)

now I have one too many Polo shirts, it is a XXL if anybody was missing one or wants one I have one :)

cheers Murf