View Full Version : 2 weeks of Wicked fishing out from Kurrimine Beach NQ

Reefmaster
09-09-2011, 07:28 PM
We recently got back from an outstanding 2 week fishing trip up North Queensland at Kurrimine Beach. Kurrimine is located north of Mission beach/Dunk island and about an hour or so south of Cairns. Foxy bought a block of land up there a few years back and since then decked out a good sized shed and turned it into a comfortable fishing pad. We had been planning on this trip for some time and organised 10 blokes and 2 boats to head north from Brisbane ready for a serious fishing assault. I towed my big Riptide platey up and Reg recently had new Vindicator built so it would join us as well. After 23 hours of towing we reached Kurrimine Beach hassle free and set up ourselves ready for a great fishing holiday.

The weather had been blowing 30knots for 3 weeks straight but luck would have it the next two weeks would produce winds mostly around 10-15knots with the occasional lighter and windier days. We managed to hit the water 9 out of a possible 11 days. 2 of those days were spent on the reefs spearing fish, crays, snorkelling and throwing lures/poppers at GT’s etc. The reef systems are massive up there but also close to the main land so distances we travelled varied from a small 27km to 130km out depending on weather conditions and what area we wanted to fish. The fishing was very slow majority of time but we still experienced some great fishing and awesome experiences. The array of species caught was mind blowing and even the Spanish Macks were being caught on the bottom bashers in 60mtrs of water. Trout were thick on most areas we found along with plenty of reds up to 10kg but they didn’t come easy. We worked hard for our red fish but catching red throat, gold band jobbies, jacks, scarlets, longnose, spangleds, cod and a solid flow of vermin such as trevally, red bass and chinaman kept us very entertained.

I caught and released an estimated 40kg GT while chasing reds in 60mtrs and man this fish gave me plenty of stick on 80lb gear. I was using for the first time a Wilson live fibre sport fishing series “venom” rod which is part of their jigging series so I was able to give this fish a lot of hurt and pull it reasonably quick. I loved this rod so much I didn’t use any other of my overhead rods the whole trip and I highly recommend it. It was such a versatile rod and although it’s designed for jigging I used it for bottom bashing the entire trip.

So many fishing stories came from this trip along with great experiences of snorkelling and catching massive painted cray’s around the bombies which everyone enjoyed. Some other highlights were throwing poppers at a school of fusilers and getting smashed by GTs. Very visual fishing and enjoyable to experience even when you get blown away.

Even launching/retrieving the boats at Kurrimine beach is an experience and although it has a boat ramp it can only be used at a reasonably high tide with your vehicle. To get around this just about every resident has a tractor to launch with and allows you to drive out on the beach into water deep enough to launch in.

Catagory 5 cyclone Yasi swept through this area at the beginning of the year and the damage of this is still evident with damaged houses and bare looking trees everywhere you look. How wide spread the damage is blows my mind and shows just how big this cyclone was.

Like last year I had some trophies made for some friendly fun. One was “best fish Kurrimine 2011” and the other was “best vermin Kurrimine 2011”. Funny enough I managed to take out both my own trophies with the best red just over 10kg and my monster GT taking the vermin.

We used just over 1300ltrs of fuel in my boat alone and did pretty much the same amount of kilometres on the water. Sure does sound like a lot but was well worth it and look forward to heading back up again soon. Sensational trip and a big thanks to the great bunch of blokes we shared this trip with and to foxy for supplying a great pad to make it all possible. For all the good pics and a detailed report read the next couple issues of BushnBeach magazine.

As you will see in a lot of the pics we are wearing “Wickedfishing” shirts/hats and this is something I have just started up. I have recently purchased the latest camera and editing equipment to make DVD’s and this trip was a good trial to test the equipment out and get some great footage. Hopefully if all goes to plan I will have one or more DVD’s available mid next year covering several different areas and topics. The www.wickedfishing.com.au (wlmailhtml:{6569FA0E-B97E-46E7-BBBF-0D9EA325C454}mid://00000002/!x-usc:http://www.wickedfishing.com.au/) website will be up and running in a couple weeks and will host loads of pics, vids, articles, tips and much more.

Greg Lamprecht

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/A1.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011055.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011078.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011068.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011061.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011108.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011171.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/IMG_0165.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011047copy.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011110.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011172.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011132.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011160.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011116.jpg

Reefmaster
09-09-2011, 07:38 PM
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011101.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011044.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011099.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011094.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011203.jpg

A red throat Trent pulled up which had a set of old gang hooks hanging out of its gills. Amazingly these are a set of hooks trent lost a few days before hand on a patch of reef over 1km away. Unfrigging believable
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011207.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011030.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/315471_2302398047665_1480620260_2683156_3176925_n. jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011013.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/302156_2302401567753_1480620260_2683168_5670771_n. jpg

rosco1974
09-09-2011, 07:40 PM
well done on a great trip mate thanks for the pics and report

jason p
09-09-2011, 07:48 PM
:owow mate some impressive fish there well done, sounds like an awsome trip. and yep your right it sure does sound like a heap of juice:dizzy:

jp

Reefmaster
09-09-2011, 07:50 PM
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/307976_2302401327747_1480620260_2683166_8046045_n. jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/IMG_0148.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/319686_2302397527652_1480620260_2683154_1327711_n. jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011032.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/308901_2302393687556_1480620260_2683146_7813725_n. jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/316311_2302401887761_1480620260_2683169_8371323_n. jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/316041_2302402327772_1480620260_2683171_2148321_n. jpg

All the tree still bare after Cyclone Yasi
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/309701_2302394087566_1480620260_2683147_1023357_n. jpg

Wolf Herring we caught in net for bait. Wicked fish
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/318986_2302390167468_1480620260_2683144_1765217_n. jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Kurrimine%202011/Kurrimine2011222.jpg

That will do it lol.

TimD
09-09-2011, 07:53 PM
Looks like an awesome trip Greg, where was my invite :P

You heading out to the test n tune tomorrow, if so ill see ya out there :thumbsup:

cheers tim :)

Reefmaster
09-09-2011, 07:58 PM
Thanks for the comments guys.

Will be at the powercruise tomorrow tim so won't see you at the testntune. Catch up soon though.

nathan dumschat
09-09-2011, 08:09 PM
awesome photos as always greg . how did the vindicator go compared to your riptide.

TimD
09-09-2011, 08:10 PM
Thanks for the comments guys.

Will be at the powercruise tomorrow tim so won't see you at the testntune. Catch up soon though.

Thought about powercruise but none of my mates are heading out there, so no cruising the track for me :(

cheers tim :)

matt fraser
09-09-2011, 10:33 PM
Truly wicked fishing there Greg! you and your group of mates are hardcore anglers! Always great to read your reports and marvel at your pics, well done and thanks.

lightsout76
09-09-2011, 10:52 PM
Awesome report and pics there Greg i've been looking forward to a report from Kurrimine, it was good to see.

I look forward to the next couple of bush n beach issues, thanks again for the report.

Leon.

vertico
09-09-2011, 11:01 PM
good stuff greg, looks like a top area of queensland welldone once again.

Redhunter
09-09-2011, 11:20 PM
Some nice golden bands i reckon there as good chewing as reds .How did the vindicator go and what size is it.
well done.
steve

11-09-2011, 12:11 AM
Love the Vemon rod works well and balance to a dream loaded with the accurate greg i never use much else now either. Amazing trip and pics

Boat Hog
11-09-2011, 07:06 AM
Fantastic report Greg. Great pics. Gee you weren't exagerating about the variety of fish caught!:o:)

Did Foxy supply the tractor too, or were you able to borrow a locals machine?

Good luck with the Wicked Fishing venture.

SWANO1
11-09-2011, 08:37 AM
greg
those threads are a bit to flash for foxy to be sanding ceilings in, , great report cant wait for the vids
cheers swano

Pazz01
11-09-2011, 09:39 AM
Welcome to gods country up here mate. That looks like an awesome trip of fishing. I live here and can't seem to find the weather to get out that many trips in a year sometimes it feels ha.

Some fantastic fish there mate, looks as though the trout and reds were definately on the chew. Did you guys have marks from a previous trip or did you find them all when you were out there? I've found right on dark in the real deep water we get some massive macks up here. 40-50lb are common, and usually when the reds start biting.

I suppose another trip is on the cards already?

Well done.

Pazz

kitty_cat
11-09-2011, 12:45 PM
as always greg great report , the pics look awsome as well good luck with dvd ect i will be buying some for sure

Carry
11-09-2011, 04:05 PM
Hi Greg,

Looks like you and the boys had a fat time mate. Nice pics. Well done once again. Good luck with the new venture, I'm sure you will do very well pal.

Will keep an eye out for the DVD'S.

Luke

pilchardjones
12-09-2011, 01:44 PM
i am amazed!! can't wait for the dvd - i'll be buying it for sure.
healthiest trout esky i have ever seen.
thanks greg.
steve

devocean
12-09-2011, 07:14 PM
What condition was Kings Reef after the cyclone?

TREVELLY
13-09-2011, 06:58 AM
Awesome fishing and great country too.

When I was up Lucinda last year I arrived at the beginning of the three week blow - sigh.

Some very high standard pics again as usual.

Did you go in green or have the country sussed before arriving? 1300km is a lot of travel - wow.

The place looks a lot like North of Perth around Cervantes with tractors and similar and bigger plate boats - I saw last week. Awesome looking fishing there too along the coral coast.

Thanks for sharing guys always an enjoyable and inspirational read.

Reefmaster
16-09-2011, 12:26 PM
awesome photos as always greg . how did the vindicator go compared to your riptide.
Thanks mate. The vindicator performed well from what the boys told me. There is only suppose to be 200mm difference in size between them but my boat is a lot bigger in size when they sit side by side. Hard to compare them i guess as you don't get in one and change to the other.

talk soon

Reefmaster
16-09-2011, 12:32 PM
Some nice golden bands i reckon there as good chewing as reds .How did the vindicator go and what size is it.
well done.
steve

Yeah love the gold bands and they go hard as well. The boys told me the Vindicator went very well. It's a 6.2 or 6.8 overall I believe.

Love the Vemon rod works well and balance to a dream loaded with the accurate greg i never use much else now either. Amazing trip and pics
Hey JT yep loved the Venom. Light and loads up extremely well with heaps of grunt. Looking forward to using it more.

Fantastic report Greg. Great pics. Gee you weren't exagerating about the variety of fish caught!:o:)

Did Foxy supply the tractor too, or were you able to borrow a locals machine?

Good luck with the Wicked Fishing venture.

Thanks mate. Yep Foxy has his own tractor up there mate. We burnt out a glow plug one day so grabbed another from a local tractor until we fixed it.

outwide1
16-09-2011, 12:41 PM
I hate you greg.lol

Reefmaster
16-09-2011, 12:45 PM
greg
those threads are a bit to flash for foxy to be sanding ceilings in, , great report cant wait for the vids
cheers swano

Hahahaha yeah your spot on there Swano. Should have seen the mess he made on it. Had to grab it off him and let the my missus try do some magic on them to get it half clean again lol

Welcome to gods country up here mate. That looks like an awesome trip of fishing. I live here and can't seem to find the weather to get out that many trips in a year sometimes it feels ha.

Some fantastic fish there mate, looks as though the trout and reds were definately on the chew. Did you guys have marks from a previous trip or did you find them all when you were out there? I've found right on dark in the real deep water we get some massive macks up here. 40-50lb are common, and usually when the reds start biting.

I suppose another trip is on the cards already?

Well done.

Pazz

Hi Pazz
Foxy has spent a bit of time up there and marked in a heap of spots at christmas so we had areas to look at but they didnt fire real well at all. We also found lots of new ground that produced the odd run of fish but it was pretty quiet everywhere we went. The thing up there is that the fish can bite all night and tend to bite alot better during the night. At this stage we will head back again next year but foxy and myself might fly up on a good weekend and use one of the locals commercial boats.

What condition was Kings Reef after the cyclone?
Never got a good close up look at King Reef but some of the outer reefs were damaged.

Awesome fishing and great country too.

When I was up Lucinda last year I arrived at the beginning of the three week blow - sigh.

Some very high standard pics again as usual.

Did you go in green or have the country sussed before arriving? 1300km is a lot of travel - wow.

The place looks a lot like North of Perth around Cervantes with tractors and similar and bigger plate boats - I saw last week. Awesome looking fishing there too along the coral coast.

Thanks for sharing guys always an enjoyable and inspirational read.

Thats a bummer about your trip last year but i guess it's the gamble we take. Had some marks already for up there but had to look for new areas as they werent firing.

Reefmaster
16-09-2011, 12:48 PM
I hate you greg.lol

Love you Mick :-*

You will hate me if you drop a big red in my boat this weekend ;D

MyWay
16-09-2011, 04:38 PM
great staff always from you guys

I will definitely buy wicked fishing DVD

myway

PS :Foxy if you need to service your tractor ,, just let me know ;D;D ;)

webby nq
19-09-2011, 07:14 PM
You got the name right mate, Wicked fishing allright, bloody top stuff

XtremeBoony
19-09-2011, 10:14 PM
top report mate and great pics. My favourite part of qld up that way but more towards hinchinbrook area. Some impressive esky shots too :)

cheers from boony

outwide1
19-09-2011, 10:17 PM
Formally Outwide but now known as The vermin catcher.;D lol
Gee it would help if we had a skipper who could find them.::) lmfao
Still hating you.