View Full Version : Can you guess who made this Boat 1959.

Roughasguts
23-08-2011, 10:07 AM

Here be another one of Dads old Tubs New in 1959.

I cut my teeth on this one keeping it running, getting burn't to a crisp, drinking Beer, think I even had me first R... in it.
The piccy makes me sad looks like it was taken yesterday but it wasn't.

This was taken in the Port River Adelaide Me Sisters are in there 60's now and I wasn't even born.

Kero
23-08-2011, 10:09 AM

Here be another one of Dads old Tubs New in 1959.

I cut my teeth on this one keeping it running, getting burn't to a crisp, drinking Beer, think I even had me first R... in it.
The piccy makes me sad looks like it was taken yesterday but it wasn't.

Wow... you learnt to row in that?

Roughasguts
23-08-2011, 10:17 AM
He he funny about that the motor did quit several times 4 cyl prefect motor in it it would do 17 Kts for while. Oars hmmm when we did have to use them the oars wouldn't sit in the water so useless.
Waited till the boat got near the coast then walked it along over rocks razor fish Etc, thanks for the reminder.

23-08-2011, 10:21 AM
pretty decent anchor rope, must be about one inch thick!

Roughasguts
23-08-2011, 10:23 AM
Yeah Dads first boat! it was only about 30 foot long as well.

23-08-2011, 10:24 AM
I would reckon that boat would have been pretty flash in it's day, even with the Prefect motor, funny how old car motors found their way into boats, my father had an old 33' fishing boat and it had a Zephyr motor and gearbox in it, had three forward gears and reverse, raw water cooled, what a dream it was (when it was running)

23-08-2011, 10:34 AM
How shiny is the Fairlane :D

Gees you must have had a HUGE yard RAG.
Love the old pictures.

Roughasguts
23-08-2011, 10:42 AM
I think she was one of the very first glass boats around floatation was built in to the glass between the gel coat and the flow coat, couldn't put a hole in it or even tip it over we tried hard enough i can tell you. The gear box Huh what a bit of junk that was think it was a leather cone or similar, remember one time jamming it in reverse and the stupid tiny grub screw fell out and the whole prop shaft came out the gearbox.

Yeah keeping it running He he always start cold without fail, but soon after fuel locks over heating slowing down to a crawl. But would I change the motor never! that was what I loved about it keeping it running was the fun part for me.

Roughasguts
23-08-2011, 10:47 AM

This was the front yard Finga.

How shiny is the Fairlane :D

Gees you must have had a HUGE yard RAG.
Love the old pictures.

Brand new that one finga Dad was a Ford dealer, think this was his last Ford then changed to a Chrysler dealer, all Dodges after that until 1973.70707

This picture of the ford dealership directly over the road from the house in around 1957 you can tell by the red 57 Ford of the old mans in between the fuel pumps.

23-08-2011, 03:37 PM
gees, that's some house, is it still standing today?

Si
23-08-2011, 03:53 PM
where is this mate? the quality of those photos are very good for their age.

Roughasguts
23-08-2011, 04:13 PM
gees, that's some house, is it still standing today?

NO very sad indeed it was pulled down in 1969 just after Dad sold the dealership and house to Chrysler Australia
WHY WHY WHY we keep thinking.

And it was pulled down for the Graham Douglas Nissan another car yard. Dads dealership changed to Harry Dodd motors but then became Mitsubishi for decades! but still stands today as a dark blue fitness first.

Leonida
23-08-2011, 04:19 PM
Is it a whitley.?

Roughasguts
23-08-2011, 04:22 PM
where is this mate? the quality of those photos are very good for their age.

Yeah there unbeleivable they where slides changed over to digital by a specialist.

The garage was 245-255 Unley road Malvern, and the House 288 Unley road Hyde park, Unley road being the border of the suburbs
Thats about 3 miles South of Adelaide city center.

Roughasguts
23-08-2011, 04:26 PM
Is it a whitley.?

Nah not a whitely far less known than that think they only made two models this size, and an identical shape but small 10 footer for rowing sailing Etc.

23-08-2011, 04:27 PM
Thanks for the pics Roughy. Must have brought back a few memories going through that lot, hopefully the best being what you first did in that boat.

Amazing house, no doubt cold at times. Did it have a little fireplace in every room, high ceilings and ghosts?

Roughasguts
23-08-2011, 04:46 PM
Thanks for the pics Roughy. Must have brought back a few memories going through that lot, hopefully the best being what you first did in that boat.

Amazing house, no doubt cold at times. Did it have a little fireplace in every room, high ceilings and ghosts?

Oh yes it bought back memories and thankfully I didn't marry her.

Yep little fire places, Tin ceilings, cellar full of coal and a coal stove with Hot water built in. Can't remember it being cold but it only had 1 toilet inside 2nd floor, and one toilet with shower outside in the laundry, remember it being cold then!
No ghosts to speak of, but it was built by a doctor it had his surgeon rooms down one side Ball room on the other and some horse stables down the back yard. The palce was named St Raymonds.

Cheers70727

Heres the house after Dad re painted and pulled out all the trees to fill the front yard with cars.
He hated trees, plants, gardens, anything without a motor.::)70790

Heres a brand new shipment of Valiants waiting for pre delivery sitting in the back yard of the house. the room you can see in the back ground was the doctors surgery Dad had it full of mainly Manx Nortons :o and assorted racing parts.

OPTI
23-08-2011, 05:09 PM
i could only imagine what that would be worth today ,if was still standing ,your old man must of been loaded.

Obi _ Wan
23-08-2011, 05:24 PM
Thanks for sharing the memories Roughas, lots of them there. What a shame the house was destroyed, it was magnificient, beautifully built, i doubt if it could be replicated today, they were truly tradesmen.

Thanks again mate.

John.

Si
23-08-2011, 08:29 PM
is it a steber craft? thats a wild guess btw.

23-08-2011, 08:59 PM
It has the early Steber look to it but a lot more traditional like a planked timber boat. Don't keep us in suspense what is it?

24-08-2011, 08:47 AM
That was a maginficent house, it is very sad to see such a building just demolished in the name of "progress" love old well made houses, kind of like old craftsman built furniture I guess, with some care they would/could last forever.

Roughasguts
24-08-2011, 05:05 PM
is it a steber craft? thats a wild guess btw.

Nah not a Steber those guy's made heaps more boats than this lot!

Roughasguts
24-08-2011, 05:06 PM
It has the early Steber look to it but a lot more traditional like a planked timber boat. Don't keep us in suspense what is it?

I would say normally but I wan't BM to have a go, he gets them every time but think this one will stump him.

rando
24-08-2011, 09:36 PM
Thanks for the great pics.
I did a search for SA boatbuilders 1959 , but came up blank on you boat,I was hoping to find some household name.I will be interested to see the answer.

I did however find this

General Motors - Holden's Ltd Birkenhead, Port Adelaide, SA 1942 1944- Launch - 6- Wood -Screw- Motor - AM1633 (Archie Badenoch)+, Champ*, Doris A. (Susanna), Silver Cloud, Silver Spray, S

How many of you knew that at one time GM Holden was a boat builder.8-)

Roughasguts
24-08-2011, 10:40 PM
70794He He good try there rando your on the right track it is a house hold name, up there with Hills Hoist Victa Etc.
I bet you have had one or two of there products in your house even. But they made one dud product noone wanted! and now it's worth a fortune over 55K. But there boat probably one of there best products only worth 1500 bucks in the 10 footer.

The Zephyr in the top Picture, Dad fixed up for Mum, in the next picture out side the window near the pumps you can see the Lavender convertable with the white roof, I have a better picture of just the car on another drive somewhere I hope I find it.

Cheers70795

25-08-2011, 06:53 AM
Thanks for this RAG, great read and love the pics!

25-08-2011, 07:28 AM
Rover??
Kelvinator??
Caribbean??
Singer??
Simpson??
Na. They're all wrong.

I know. Lightburn. As in Lightburn cement mixers :)

RJ5023
25-08-2011, 09:17 AM
I think it might be a Clausen.

25-08-2011, 09:33 AM
and what did Clausen make that was a household name, was a dud, and is now worth 55grand?

25-08-2011, 11:13 AM
Too early for a P76 boat. Definitely got the dud bit.

25-08-2011, 11:18 AM
Who reckon's it's not a Lightburn??
I'll even consider having a wager on it :)

Micadogs
25-08-2011, 11:20 AM
Does it have something to do with Gogomobile Dart, a fibreglass car designed and built between 1959 and 1961 here in Australia by Bruce Buckle?

25-08-2011, 11:30 AM
I don't think Buckle actually built them, he was the distributer for them I think, he also made a fibreglass fastback for a mini!

25-08-2011, 11:32 AM
Finga, can't imagine any Lightburn cemet mixer being worth 55K, or having a couple in your house (as the clues have indicated) so I think your bet should be a small one.

Micadogs
25-08-2011, 11:41 AM
mmmmmm Lightburn would have to be a consideration, see the following:

Lightburn industries had, until 1963, manufactured tools, cement mixers, washing machines and fiberglass boats - the latter would be significant in providing the fibreglass body for the Zeta.

And so it was that Harold Lightburn, the companies owner and founder, was convinced that many Australian's would like the convenience of a 2nd car, but found the cost prohibitive. To get things started, he purchased the rights to the British Anzani mini car; and then created a new fibreglass 'Station Sedan' body shell.

The Zeta was far from attractive, and the fibreglass shell prohibited the use of a tailgate despite the car looking very much as though it in fact had one! The familiar Villiers 324cc twin powered the front wheels. (only sold 363 of them, this could make them expensive today)

The advertising campaign ensured Harold's message was conveyed, when the Zeta was marketed as "Australia's own second car". The Zeta was to employ a lightweight, simple and cost effective design - something so simple that a whitegoods manufacturer operating out of Camden Park in suburban Adelaide would be able to manufacture.

Seems to have all the right elements

Fed
25-08-2011, 12:05 PM
Are you sure Bruce Buckle wasn't Bill Buckle, used to make a fibreglass sports car called of all things a 'Buckle'?
Can't remember the original power plant maybe a Ford or Holden 6 cyl but I think they finished up with a Ford V8 in the later ones.

Roughasguts
25-08-2011, 12:06 PM
Rover??
Kelvinator??
Caribbean??
Singer??
Simpson??
Na. They're all wrong.

I know. Lightburn. As in Lightburn cement mixers :)

You bastard finga!!!!!!!
Yup she's made by the Lightburn cement mixer washing machine and Zeta car company, known as Lightburn industries.

Well done,

Roughasguts
25-08-2011, 12:08 PM
Does it have something to do with Gogomobile Dart, a fibreglass car designed and built between 1959 and 1961 here in Australia by Bruce Buckle?

So close!!!!

Roughasguts
25-08-2011, 12:11 PM
Finga, can't imagine any Lightburn cemet mixer being worth 55K, or having a couple in your house (as the clues have indicated) so I think your bet should be a small one.

The washing machine could have been in your house or Army barracks
It's thr Dud zeta car worth 55K these days.

25-08-2011, 12:23 PM
AH I see, what a detective our Finga is, lucky I did not offer to take the wager then hey! forgot about Lightburn washing machines, and it is something that I should have known, when I did my apprenticeship, the place I started at did washing machine repairs, and there was a handful of old Lightburns scattered about the place, instead of an agitator as we know it today, they had a "wobbulator" which was a funny looking thing on the bottom of the tub that shook like shit to swish the clothes about.

Roughasguts
25-08-2011, 12:24 PM
and what did Clausen make that was a household name, was a dud, and is now worth 55grand?

What did Clausen make or do Noelm!

Dad would have known both guy's but only mentioned Clausen in relation to the boat,
But Lightburn many times without referance to Clausen, if that makes sence.

25-08-2011, 12:24 PM
Are you sure Bruce Buckle wasn't Bill Buckle, used to make a fibreglass sports car called of all things a 'Buckle'?
Can't remember the original power plant maybe a Ford or Holden 6 cyl but I think they finished up with a Ford V8 in the later ones.

Yes indeed, Bill Buckle was the name, he had a manufacturing place in Sydney I think and made all sorts of kit cars and fibreglass add ons.

25-08-2011, 12:25 PM
Wooohoooo. I'm a bastard :)
It's now official.

Roughasguts
25-08-2011, 12:34 PM
I think it might be a Clausen.

Hold the Phone!!!!

There is a conection Here and I don't know what the hell it is., if it's the design! or the timber decking!
but both names Lightburn, and Clausen, dad mentioned in the same sentance.

Think Dad was right I never listened properly.

Think I would still have to get you a carton of Beer if I did put a wager on it.

25-08-2011, 12:55 PM
I dub thee, sir finga the bastard!

25-08-2011, 12:59 PM
Roughie, it is a shame when we look back and remember that we should have listened to dad/mum/whoever, my father could splice rope, mend nets and all sorts of stuff like a machine, I have a piece of rope art home that he whipped the end of, probably about 40 years ago, and even today, I look at it and wonder how the hell he ever did it, he tried to teach me a thousand times, but I couldn't be bothered, I had to go to TAFE to learn 20 years after he died, what idiots we are when young!

Roughasguts
25-08-2011, 01:02 PM
i could only imagine what that would be worth today ,if was still standing ,your old man must of been loaded.

I remember seeing the title to the house dad paid exactly 11,000 Pounds for it, in the late 50's as I don't remember the year! so a bit of a guess there.

25-08-2011, 01:10 PM
that would have been a pile of cash in the 50's I would reckon, but then, it was a grand house, do you remember much about it? like was it "grand" to live in, or just another big house?

Roughasguts
25-08-2011, 02:21 PM
that would have been a pile of cash in the 50's I would reckon, but then, it was a grand house, do you remember much about it? like was it "grand" to live in, or just another big house?

Well it was both! it had a grand entry hall mosaic tile foyer, Organ to the Right, very ornate wide semi circle staircase going to the second level with very plush woolen carpet on the second levels! so good Or dad was so tight! they moved with us to the next house. There was two beatiful rooms each side of the front doorway I guess sitting rooms or whatever they called them, my sisters used them as bedrooms so they could easily climb out the bottom windows and go out at night, If Dad only knew!!!!. The Kitchen was ordinary I have some pictures of that then the long dinning room seemed ordinary as well. Up stairs was one very nice master bedroom 5 other rooms the 2 at the back may have been for servants as they didn't have windows and some tiny rooms full of shelving. Oh and one only toilet for every one, But there was bed pans under the beds. The two 3rd and forth levels of the towers rooms where cool from there you could open a tiny door and walk through the ceiling to those little castle gun turret things and stick your nose out for a look, great place to be when your a kid. 8 of us lived in that house 4 other kids had moved out, Yes I was the last of ten Kids.

Si
25-08-2011, 02:25 PM
Wooohoooo. I'm a bastard :)
It's now official.

how did you know that finga?

25-08-2011, 02:48 PM
keep posting the pictures, (even if this gets moved) or maybe start a new post in another section, I am sure there is heaps that would love to see some more old pictures of the house and cars and stuff (well I would anyway) how old were you when you moved away and they pulled the house down?

25-08-2011, 04:04 PM
how did you know that finga?
Because RAG's said so. That's how :)
Actually there's more people then RAG's that have said that. So it must be true.

Here's a picture of my pop's boat from late 60's by the look of the kids and the second is dad's boat from mid 60's.
Poppa made his and poppa and dad made dad's

Si
25-08-2011, 04:44 PM
Actually there's more people then RAG's that have said that. So it must be true.

Here's a picture of my pop's boat from late 60's by the look of the kids and the second is dad's boat from mid 60's.

lol, sorry finga, i used the wrong post to quote you. i actually meant how did you know the answer to the origin of the boat manu?

RJ5023
25-08-2011, 06:08 PM
Hold the Phone!!!!

There is a conection Here and I don't know what the hell it is., if it's the design! or the timber decking!
but both names Lightburn, and Clausen, dad mentioned in the same sentance.

Think Dad was right I never listened properly.

Think I would still have to get you a carton of Beer if I did put a wager on it.

Pretty sure that's a Clausen designed hull.

There's still at least one of them in use at our boat club (SATBC) - 60 years is a pretty good run out of a fishing boat. Who knows, when the price of fuel gets up to $5/litre they might even make a come back. Top speed about 8 knots and a 10 litre fuel tank. Very seaworthy, roll around a fair bit, pretty wet and can go just about anywhere - slowly. Which is good for trolling snook anyway.

I had a similar 18' hull with a Ford Prefect motor that I used for a few years. Good old tub, weighed more than a ton though and if you opened the throttle and let loose all 8 horses the only result was the stern sank further down into the water and the noise level went up. It had an auto bilge pump. If the wheat sacks on the floor boards started slopping around, it was time to start pumping until they settled down again. Remember having to pull the carby apart one night out off Outer Harbour to get it going again. No radio.

Bit different these days.

Roughasguts
25-08-2011, 06:15 PM
keep posting the pictures, (even if this gets moved) or maybe start a new post in another section, I am sure there is heaps that would love to see some more old pictures of the house and cars and stuff (well I would anyway) how old were you when you moved away and they pulled the house down?

Yeah I found the cashe! theres around 30 more cool old pictures caravan parks, caravans, ships, Dad blowing himself up! Winning the Lobethal TT100 mile race on a Manx Norton. One prototype XR / XT ford ???? fuel tankers R series Valiant ! all top definition coluor pictures Dad with the Sh...s and contempt!!! pretty common daily event, all good stuff. God wish we had a picture of the Dodge gas turbine (yes jet engine dodge dad had to test) god he hated it wen't alright on the straight but wouldn't pull a tu..d up a hill he said. Had to roll back down and give up. I remeber him showing me the exhaust just like the bloody bat mobile must of been a safety hazard for pedestrians! but no one gave a Sh.. I mean hoot about that those days.

We moved in to the new house built by MC woods and the roof by the man who built Anoconda or grettel see I didn't listen properly (the yacht the same day man landed on the moon in 1969 well that's what Dad said anyway, think I was 7 but was so lucky compared to my siblings Dad had retired for a little while and and he dragged me every where with him I just shut up and listened to all his dealings and all his mates, pretty sure he new every trick in the book and then some. (by the way the roof Fell down)

I only got these pictures 5 years ago from my sister I was gob smacked by the quality!...... there to good to keep to our selves you don't see this! looks like yesterday stuff but over 50 year old so I'm happy to share.

Going to have to wait till sunday Morn when back at work to post more piccys, where I live the broad band is crap and won't deliver big Pixel piccys
so won't even bother now.

Roughasguts
25-08-2011, 06:28 PM

There's still at least one of them in use at our boat club (SATBC) - 60 years is a pretty good run out of a fishing boat. Who knows, when the price of fuel gets up to $5/litre they might even make a come back. Top speed about 8 knots and a 10 litre fuel tank. Very seaworthy, roll around a fair bit, pretty wet and can go just about anywhere - slowly. Which is good for trolling snook anyway.

I had a similar 18' hull with a Ford Prefect motor that I used for a few years. Good old tub, weighed more than a ton though and if you opened the throttle and let loose all 8 horses the only result was the stern sank further down into the water and the noise level went up. It had an auto bilge pump. If the wheat sacks on the floor boards started slopping around, it was time to start pumping until they settled down again. Remember having to pull the carby apart one night out off Outer Harbour to get it going again. No radio.

Now your talking this is the boat 8 bloody Horses but ours would throw you on your ar$e for the first wot then gradually slow down to 8 knots and I could never figure out why!!! actually then stop and Iwould then suck fuel from the tank in to me empty Beer bottle and pour it in the carby to keep going. Bastard of a thing really but your right probably the most sea worthy following sea safe boat I have ever driven I would put my 3 year old son in one and have confidence he would get wet but come home alive compared to anything else I have ever driven God didn't they surf great in a following sea and fuel ten bucks would last a month I kid you not! You got piccys of yours????? was it green ????

Roughasguts
25-08-2011, 06:45 PM

Aha ha ha mate top piccys But ain't that an FB!!!! ha ha har so maybe your right.
And trailer should face that way only makes sence to me..

Roughasguts
25-08-2011, 07:09 PM
Roughie, it is a shame when we look back and remember that we should have listened to dad/mum/whoever, my father could splice rope, mend nets and all sorts of stuff like a machine, I have a piece of rope art home that he whipped the end of, probably about 40 years ago, and even today, I look at it and wonder how the hell he ever did it, he tried to teach me a thousand times, but I couldn't be bothered, I had to go to TAFE to learn 20 years after he died, what idiots we are when young!

Oh yes how true kids are je..s plug a piccy up of the knot for his memory i'm sure we we woul all appreciate it.

cheers.

Roughasguts
25-08-2011, 07:19 PM

Well if you look at it this way Lightburn made ugly!!!! the boat wasn't that ugly it was clearly a displacement hul!!l that proved the goods even tho it had a terminal velocity speed! the exact green boat down the road Cape Jervis S.A with a Holden grey motor had the same top speed! extra power proved nothing on the hull.

cheers.

25-08-2011, 07:46 PM
lol, sorry finga, i used the wrong post to quote you. i actually meant how did you know the answer to the origin of the boat manu?
Goodo then.
The give-away was household items and boat.
When I was a youngster we had a Lightburn cement mixer with a Villiers engine on it (as every house had then I thought) and I remember seeing a Lightburn boat and thought to myself. Mmmm a cement mixer making mob make boats too. To me then it was like a big sinker maker making floaties as well. I just could not work out why anyone would make the two opposites of the spectrum.
And when mum got the Lighburn twin tub I was just gobsmacked. What didn't they make??
http://mclellansautomotive.com/photos/B9835.jpg

25-08-2011, 07:55 PM
A little snippet I found about the Lightburn Zeta.
the Lightburn Zeta, had a forward only transmission and obtained reverse movement by re-starting the piston port 2 stroke engine in reverse, thus giving it 4 reverse gears and a top speed in excess of 80 km/h in reverse.
http://www2b.abc.net.au/science/k2/stn/archives/archive74/newposts/971/topic971069.shtm

Amasing :)

Roughasguts
25-08-2011, 09:41 PM
Finga do you know how Clausen came in to the picture ????? I am absolutely positive he has a claim to the boat some how.

RJ5023
25-08-2011, 10:34 PM
Well if you look at it this way Lightburn made ugly!!!! the boat wasn't that ugly it was clearly a displacement hul!!l that proved the goods even tho it had a terminal velocity speed! the exact green boat down the road Cape Jervis S.A with a Holden grey motor had the same top speed! extra power proved nothing on the hull.

cheers.

That sounds like John Gibson's boat?

It's a small world...

My father in law ran a 34' down the Cape for 30 years called "Katsumi" and John worked as his deckie for the last 10 years or so.

Good to read about some of the old stuff - happy memories.

Roughasguts
28-08-2011, 06:43 AM
That sounds like John Gibson's boat?

It's a small world...

My father in law ran a 34' down the Cape for 30 years called "Katsumi" and John worked as his deckie for the last 10 years or so.

Good to read about some of the old stuff - happy memories.

Cape Jervis Late 50's Our next door neighbour to the left was Kevin Hooper 3 up from him Gordon Tregoning yes the man with the treg hitch, think it was designed for tractor and trailer as Gordon had the same make boat as dads Jim Golly built boat But his was a 20 footer with two Volvo 4 cyl Inboards.
To the right was Horrie, Jack, and Ron Forster, Next to him was Mick Maborack, who had the most prestine boat out of all of them it was a Mitch craft 22 footer clinker boat with Volvo V8 like dads but with a H/comp Motor and twin carbs, only problem with the boat was the Keel seemed a bit short for the bow and she was nose heavy at rest and trolling speeds.

Heres the garage that ended up behind the shack at Cape jervis late 60's and that's me behind Dad on the mudguard of the old tractor. Greg Finlay had the shack behind us He had a new Musk pink HQ 350 Monaro Droool machine even then.

Roughasguts
28-08-2011, 06:58 AM
7091870919Very early days this one!
Before Dad bought out all the neighbours and knocked down Muggletons for a larger show room.
Geez even some holdens there.

No idea what car this one is.

Any one know what petrol with ICA means does this just meal leaded Petrol.

He he Must be Sunday Morning Love the black Fairlane on the corner.
Boring colour nice finger print smudges on the print.

Give the Garage stuff a rest for a while. Cheers.

Roughasguts
28-08-2011, 07:25 AM
Caravaning days!

Why anyone would wan't to stay here has me completely stuffed!!

Must be an Overnight rest stop still can't see the attraction.

Nice place to park the Van Dad! ever heard of the high water mark???

Good idea the swim suit Mum!

Pure luxury! actually this thing had a bath and a flushing toilet.

Think I know where this is I wasn't born yet
still trying to remember I know It's SA on the Yorke Peninsula.

STUIE63
28-08-2011, 07:47 AM
If I remember correctly ICA is ignition controlled additive and it was an additive that shell added to fuel . if they got it from other refineries they would add it from a drum at the service station when they filled the underground tanks

Roughasguts
28-08-2011, 08:00 AM
The re born Zephr for Mum.

Looks like it had been flipped on it's side
and landed in a lake.

Cleaned up Okay! bit of a trend setting colour for it's day.

I wonder if this thing actually had enough power to run
all these lights.

Well now I know where I got my taste for Sothark Bitter from
Oh yeah and Dr...... well Use to anyway.

Oh Yeah think this was in Morgan on the bend of the Murray River SA.

Roughasguts
28-08-2011, 08:21 AM
Back to Caravaning again!

The play pen to keep my older brother in!

Just jumped back two years My Bad.

Nice place and some cool old trailers,
Still what's the attraction here.

I bet you can't guess where this place is I thought I had it! but rang my sister I was so wrong
But it is in SA.

Roughasguts
28-08-2011, 08:28 AM
Ooops bad post sorry.

He he may as well use it seeing as I can't delete it.70971

Could have been the First Falcon sold in SA seems to be a bit of fanfair
with the suits! I know they didn't work for Dad if they showed up to work like
That they would get the sack.

Hmmmm winter mix fuel now all the snake oils::)

Heres the old Man in his finest suit!

Dads start in Mechanics he turned Manx Nortons in to fire breathing race bikes,
of course he rode them 20:1 compression ratio, run on methonol
70 miles an hour in first gear near 130 Mph in forth., it would melt spark plugs.
Suspension Whats that!!!

Lobethal TT 1937 or 38 I think, He won a hundred pound for his trouble

Heres dads House he started building before he sold up.
Notice anything strange about this Falcon, apart from it wasn't due to
come out for a few years.

Who knows what this is ????

Fiji.. The Himalaya in the back ground.

Had to put another boat in.

The last Ford.... Galaxie LTD
1973 402 cid cost $ 7300.00 and bought from Graham Cornes the footballer.
We still have this car think it will out last us all.

http://ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/pencil.png

29-08-2011, 11:07 AM
some great stuff there R.A.G, love the old caravan, kind of funny when you look back and see the reality of places you went for a holiday, at the time it was probably about as good as you could find, but looking back, there was bugger all there! we used to camp at a place on the NSW South Coast, and for us, it might as well have been on the moon, by the time we had sorted all the gear, dad got the car ready to go on the "mission", then we would get there and take forever to unpack the old canvas tent, set up the camp fire and so on, I have been there a million times since, and it is only about 40 mins drive from home, but when we were young (maybe 6 years old) it seemed like it took a full day to get there.

Roughasguts
30-08-2011, 06:39 PM
Yep ain't that the truth! But then I remember in 1974 Dad bought a 23 foot van for a bit of a cruise up to QLD looking for another buisness venture he was sick of retirement no one to intimidate just me and me brother.. So we all went up to Noosa Heads for a look around for a property to build a Caravan park. Well Dad found 20 acres of water front just out of Noosa well he thought long and hard and came to the conclusion that Noosa would never go ahead!!!!!!.... seems he was the only one that thought that.

31-08-2011, 08:40 AM
many years ago a good mate of mine started looking around some funny sounding place (well funny to me) called Mooloolabah, I told him he was nuts, but he went ahead and got some land here and there, and what seemed like 5 minutes later well..... we all know now!

4x4frog
31-08-2011, 05:04 PM
Isn't that true.
My grand dad could splice nets, amomg other things, he taught mum but do you think I could ever pick it up as a kid, too busy wanting to fish 24/7.

4x4frog
31-08-2011, 05:12 PM
Falcon is a left hooker.

Car is either an RV1 or SV1, can't see the rear, later, SV-1 didn't have the fake spare wheel bootlid from memory.