View Full Version : bad tackle shop experience

dan12345
15-08-2011, 10:17 PM
hi all just thought i would vent my bad visit to the tackle shop today.i live on the gold coast an dont wish to name the shop but i will say its one of the larger ones around. first i went to this shop the other day to get a few bits an pieces shat my self at the price this shop charges as an overall, 2 staff working an only 2 customers in the shop,neither one of the staff said hello or offered any assistance second staff member was more interested in chatting to his mate at the counter who had just popped in to say hi,went to counter to pay for my things,this guy continues to chat to his mate while serving me with out even saying hi then just tells me the price 43.50thanks processes payment hands reciept an gear an that was it.
called back in today same shop thought i might have had a one off experience, once again 2 staff no hi no assistance went to counter waited 4 mins no service,looked around made eye contact with staff,waited still nothing,put the stop watch on my phone waited a further 1 min an thought f&*k it they dont deserve my money left my goods on counter an walked out, disgusted to say the least, an heres a price comparo for u a garry howard rod that sells for $250 every where elese is 450 somthing at this shop, well thats my rant done, just wondering if any one else has had experiences likes this post em up

Hornblower
15-08-2011, 10:29 PM
I once had a bloke serving me argue with me that the rod I was buying was no good for my boat. The only reason he knew I had a boat was that he asked me of I did and I told him. I told him that he didn't understand, and he just kept on arguing with me telling me how I need a shorter rod. When he had finished, I told him, "Mate, it isn't going to be a boat rod - I am going to use it as a light surf outfit with an Alvey reel I have."

Did you think I got an apology - No. The comment was, "Well that's alright then." If the price wasn't as good as it was I would have left him holding the rod as I walked out. Needless to say that tackle shop is now closed!

As for me, I don't like pushy sales people, but I do like, "Hello, do you know what you are after?" When I usually answer "Yes" The next thing I like is, "Okay, well if you need a hand, just sing out." Good old fashioned service goes a long way.

Boycott them, Dan, or ring up and ask to speak with the manager and tell them about your experience. Be objective and just tell them the way it was, without emotion. If they don't do something about it, then they deserve to lose your business and that of your friends.

15-08-2011, 11:12 PM
I'm a bit like Hornblower - I like the "G'day , can I help you with anything" response - then its either a yes or just browsing and leave it at that! .
Now I've got to say ..... my experiences with tackle shops have been generally poor - too busy trying to sell something & not listening ........ that may come from not knowing me or whatever! - but assumptions are made ...... & on several occasions if I knew no better I would have been pushed into an innapropriate purchase - but I guess that comes with anything that is a little more specialized ( a camera store could have a field day with me::))

Platitudinus
15-08-2011, 11:19 PM
Hey Dan;
Like most bad retail shopping experiences you have several options:
1. Vote with your feet and don't go there again
2. Pass on constructive criticism - preferably in writing - to the manager as noted by Horny
3. Name and shame them on this website - if its all true then no worries - we have noted the good, bad and ugly before especially USA mail order shops and some charter boats
4. You can check out pricing with stores online e.g. ########, and then ask the local shop to match the price or walk away

Good retail service is getting harder to find and if you are spending a lot of money then you should negotiate for the best price - thats why many of us just use ebay or mail order for most of our gear.
Take care
Plato

Richo1
16-08-2011, 06:52 AM
Common occurence I'm afraid, I now drive 10mins further past a once reputable shop to buy my gear now for the same reason you mentioned Dan. I use the same shop all the time now and reward them for good service, quite often I know I'll probably pay a fraction more than the big chain stores or the internet, but knowing they will have what you want on the shelf or if not can get in in quickly and call you when its in is worth it. If they are way off the mark on price I let them know and they match it.
I have been back to the original shop quite a few times hoping the attitude has changed and it is still the same. If you are not involved in the latest Bream Tournament you are treated like a pleb. I was catching Bream before they were toilet trained :) and didn't need a $2000 combo to do the job....Although I must say my taste in fishing gear has got a little more expensive.

daki23
16-08-2011, 07:22 AM
U did the right thing!!! I did this on petrol station, she was cleaning up, I pulled up and started pumping but no petrol would come out, and she game me a few looks. After about 30s I've put the pump down, yelled at her, and showed her a finger as I drove off :). Maybe not he best practise, but I feel like customer services is getting so bad and ridiculous. I mean we are in the times of the economic slow down, people should enjoying the business and not throwing it out the window!!!

marto78
16-08-2011, 07:37 AM
Accidently kick over a stand that usually gets everones attention and may get you some quicker service.

Sevric
16-08-2011, 07:48 AM
Vote with your feet and wallet, it is the only language they understand. These would be the very same people who would be the first to complain about overseas internet or online sales. It is no wonder that so many have turned to this way of doing business. It is not always about the price but rather service and the shopping experience as well. A shop where you can browse all day with out being pressure sold, select what you want and if you have a question simply ask online. Some tackle outlets deserve to stay in business while many others have a lot to learn from them.

fishfeeder
16-08-2011, 10:27 AM
I had a problem at a coles store just this week, were the checkout chick was chatted to a lady for 8min (timed it) after the lady had paid for her groceries... I just walked away and left my stuff on the conveyor.
So I guess they can be to nice and chatty to a customer aswell.

Had great service at a BCF (Capalaba) from a young guy, He noticed the rod I had and said that they have had a few returned with broken runners in that brand, he then suggested another rod that was $30 more, before I said anything about the price he said they would match the other rod price (got to be happy with that)

goat boy
16-08-2011, 01:58 PM
Thats the issue isn't it? the bigger, chain stores may have more range and slightly better prices but the service isn't crash hot (as a generalisation, there's always exceptions to the rule). The smaller, 'one off' stores may be more $$ but service is usually pretty good.
I reckon it's at the point where you have to make the decision to expect below par service if you go to a big and/or chain store but go there anyway to hopefully find out they have what you want in stock. If you want to talk to someone that will give you the time and give you some pointers on what to buy, go to a smaller, self-owned store.

dan12345
16-08-2011, 03:27 PM
goatboy i would generally agree with you on that mate but the store i went to was a privately owned store but its a large one,an yeah that camping boating fishing store can be a bit hit an miss with the old service

MudRiverDan
16-08-2011, 04:10 PM
What I am finding is this:

Large chains -
*Service can be poor, it is not the staffs fault, some chains only have two staff in the whole store in the morning, and that's when a few of us like to get in and shop for a few essentials.
*Service is poor but if you seek out a fisho amongst the staff you can do ok.
*Prices are inflated and quite frankly no cheaper that anywhere else in many areas.
*Selection is reasonably good as the larger chains are now stocking more brands, minds you at a cost.
*You can still get some decent pricing for gear that is not too specialised.

Smaller stores -
*Service can be there but how helpful it is depends really on your own judgment (Walk out with $60.00 worth of the wrong gear, yep done that)
*Friendliness and general chitchat and fishing talk, good knowledge of the gear and the current technology is all very helpful and I would say desirable.
*No I don't want somone selling me any old crap just because they had a moentary brain fart and think it is good (If your going to sell someone the best braid, then do so, but at least ask them what rod and reel it is going on).
*No I don't want to buy your old dated stock shit..thanks,.. were is the real gear?
*Comes down to knowledge, which in my opinion, many think they have but don't.

Online stores -
* You never get to feel the gear out so your mostly going by what you think or have seen elsewhere.
*Prices are sometimes cheaper and some bargains to be had, but I don't really save much going online
unless it is the USA.

Oversea Store -
*Dollar is good some bargains to be had, group buys or buy a bit so as to balance out the shipping cost.
*Yes some USA store have a strong AU customer base and we know who they are and I like em.

Mostly only good for rod and reel buys due to shipping charges making smaller buys expensive.

slain69
16-08-2011, 06:59 PM
I am a pom, been here for 6 weeks and from a few years ago decided to retry BCF at Labrador again as they where ok with me last time around.
Been back a few times and the older guy took out time to chat with me where I can fish and which bait would be better suited to the area I was attempting to fish.
Then I tried the one on the front nr surfers at the left/right junction very expensive and not one attempted to help me even though the shop was empty.
I need as much info and help due to tryin your methods of fishing which is totally different to what I am use to but I am trying to learn quickly.
I have few rods coming over with other tackle but feel like I am going to be buying a fair bit to join you guys on catching some nice fish in this brilliant country.

I hope I can rely on some tips and tricks and any pointers to other tackle shops that are more than willing to help a foreigner :)
tight lines chaps

Steve B
16-08-2011, 08:38 PM
I have found both big and small to be dissapointing at times. I generally have a fair idea what I want, and know what value is when I see it. Rarely at BCF do I find good prices, but I still cant help but look at their gear every now and then.

My local Tackleworld has the best prices, and service...all the guys got to know me over time.

My very very local F O xies barra tackle is a good mate, and looks after me....BUT when I am there just chatting, I still respect the fact he has other customers, and let him go and serve them when needed..My point being, when I go away on holidays, in particular the coastal towns, the 'local stores' tend to always have the 'locals' hanging out in the shop chatting and the staff give not much time to the 'dumb tourist ie me' that comes in wanting gear, bait and some decent advice....It has happened nearly everytime.!!!

SO to me its a 50/50 thing...or different views of service (good or bad) for different size stores.

Cheers Steve

Ryan the slayer
16-08-2011, 09:18 PM
i had a bit of a problem with that big one at burliegh a few years back went in for a bit of stuff done the usual wont need a basket but ended up carrying a big arm full of gear i wanted a fileting knife i asked the only bloke on the flore at the time if he could come and get one out of the cabnet when he is finished with the customer he is with he says sure thing. after finishing with them he makes his way to the checkout where he is laughing and carrying on with his 2 mates also staff there for 10 minutes they all looked at me pretty shocked when i put over $200 worth of fishing gear on the counter and said dont worry about me mate ile go elsewhere.

best fishing shops on the gc the bait and tackel at currumbin and go fishing at narang.

slain69
17-08-2011, 07:39 AM
I'll check the Go Fishing at Nerang

nick-o83
22-08-2011, 09:11 AM
I rate boatshed @ currumbin pretty highly, wish smithy still worked there tho...... the couple of times ive been to go fishing at nerang have had sh!t service even when buying top end gear.. when ya forking out over 500 bucks for a reel you would think the guy behind the counter would be somewhat helpful. Trying to get the cabinet opened at burleigh bcf is always a time burning process. like others have said, the local little guy has the better service and the big chains sometimes have the better prices,

crusty
22-08-2011, 10:44 AM
Name them Dan! I would put money on it was Doug Burts rude bunch of as#holes they are never shop there again....

Steeler
22-08-2011, 10:48 AM
So when people feel they have drawn the short straw regarding customer service do they raise there concerns with management in order to help them help you and lift there game ???????.

22-08-2011, 12:35 PM
So when people feel they have drawn the short straw regarding customer service do they raise there concerns with management in order to help them help you and lift there game ???????.

Bet you they don't Steeler. I make my concerns known when I am not happy with a service or price. How else will they know and get the chance to improve? Same as compliments................ we are all too quick to whinge about things, but when does anyone post compliments??????? Nowhere near as often as whinges.............................

leeroy1
22-08-2011, 03:31 PM
Barter,Barter and more bartering.
If i buy a rod or reel these days i will ring around all the local shops and ask for their best prices and if they will match ########.
I don't find any of the goldy shops have good service any more.
Smithy used to be good and John at Miami was good when he was still around.

Dave_H
22-08-2011, 04:49 PM
Bet you they don't Steeler. I make my concerns known when I am not happy with a service or price. How else will they know and get the chance to improve? Same as compliments................ we are all too quick to whinge about things, but when does anyone post compliments??????? Nowhere near as often as whinges.............................

Absolutely they do.... I had an issue with a large (NSW based) chandler where one of their staff in my local outlet basically ignored me when I went to buy around $2500 worth of electronics, steering parts etc. It ended-up that the MD of the whole company got involved after I got no satisfaction from the franchise owner/operator and escalated it somewhat. I seem to now be on the MD's joke/christmas email list.... :o

I'm sorry to those who will put up with shoddy service, but some of us wont stand for it. I'm not always right, but if I hold the cash I want the service (not the dancing girls etc, just enough service to get my questions answered) and the sale ensues.... It seriously isn't too much to ask.

Bundybird
23-08-2011, 06:45 AM
Thats a bit harsh crusty. Shopped at Doug Burts for years without problems. He has moved a few staff on which might have been the problem. But overall have found the current staff friendly and helpfull. Just my opinion anyway.

23-08-2011, 08:38 AM
Name them Dan! I would put money on it was Doug Burts rude bunch of as#holes they are never shop there again....

You work for the opposition Crusty???????????? :P;)

As he said above, a bit harsh mate.

Stu Dows
23-08-2011, 06:39 PM
I also had an issue with a large (NSW based) chandler that operate in QLD and would rate it as the worst retail experience I have ever had and I did contact the GM who did resolve the issue. However there was no apologies and doubt I will ever shop there again.

crusty
25-08-2011, 08:51 PM
Na dont work for opposition mate just had a real shit run in with them and there "no refund policy" they sold me a substandard product that had parts missing then refused to give a refund or store credit and treat it like a bloody joke dougy was there and shugged his sholders at the whole situation couldnt care less as I said a bunch of as#holes harsh?? not in my opinion...

dan12345
25-08-2011, 09:10 PM

spot on mate

Steeler
25-08-2011, 11:13 PM
Crusty if you purchased an item that was incomplete then you are well and truly entitled to have it sorted under consumer law, why not pursue this course of action ?.

robvee
25-08-2011, 11:57 PM
G* F*****g in Nerang is my favourite.
Service is how I like it .... Say "How are ya?" when coming in, and then leave me alone to browse unless i ask for something 8-)
They have always matched the online store prices on reels when I ask for their best price, and have ordered some stuff in for me when not stocked ... promptly too.
They are not over-the-top in-your-face sales guys, and prices are good, and there is ALWAYS a bargain bin that has some great deals and gets me to part with more cash than I intended on spending ...:P
Pretty decent selection [ except for SURF rods .... but that is the same at ALL GC tackle shops .... clueless about the kinda rods a South African fisho is after ;);) ]
I also pop into A******A regularly. When they have a sale they just slash the prices. Kinda like the dudes in the store don't know the value of stuff and just mark it down drastically coz head office said they should clear the shelves. Best deal yet was a baitcaster rod in graphite that was marked down from $169 to $29 :o But let's not talk about service there .... waited 15min for a price on IQF pillies before just walking out.

26-08-2011, 05:39 AM

nope..I just walk out and never return. Not interested in increasing the stress levels .

Jakers 69
26-08-2011, 08:01 AM
Service blow hot and cold, depends who is willing to help you out(GC).
Were happy with G...Camping until I returned comodo dragon gt 2 p rod($850) that got stuck after 1st use. No interest to help me or advice were I can fix it.
Will not see me again

Steeler
26-08-2011, 08:09 AM
nope..I just walk out and never return. Not interested in increasing the stress levels .

So you would deny the owner of a business the opportunity to address any issues and better serve you in the future.

Defore
26-08-2011, 08:46 AM
So you would deny the owner of a business the opportunity to address any issues and better serve you in the future.

I agree with PinHead.
Once tried to resolve problem with manager, had to wait 20 minutes for him to come out of his office.
He was worse than the salesman (I guess I know who trained the sales staff). Just a waste of time and breath, decided never to go back.
Drove past a couple of years later and the shop had closed down, had a nice big smile on my face. I obviously wasn't the only unhappy customer.
It is not my responsibility to fix the faults of a business. There are plenty of other businesses out there wanting my money.
Where I work we go thru staff evaluations every 12 months with a progress review every six months. Customers are sent a survey to rate the quality of service from product and service to even how they rate the managers.
It is not hard to get feed back from customers, just have an easy survey sheet sitting on the counter that the customer can take away and fill out, instead of waiting for an unhappy customer having to have a confrontation to resolve a problem.
Most people will just walk out vowing never to go back again and the business would never know.

Stuart
26-08-2011, 02:20 PM
I agree with PinHead.
Once tried to resolve problem with manager, had to wait 20 minutes for him to come out of his office.
He was worse than the salesman (I guess I know who trained the sales staff). Just a waste of time and breath, decided never to go back.
Drove past a couple of years later and the shop had closed down, had a nice big smile on my face. I obviously wasn't the only unhappy customer.
It is not my responsibility to fix the faults of a business. There are plenty of other businesses out there wanting my money.
Where I work we go thru staff evaluations every 12 months with a progress review every six months. Customers are sent a survey to rate the quality of service from product and service to even how they rate the managers.
It is not hard to get feed back from customers, just have an easy survey sheet sitting on the counter that the customer can take away and fill out, instead of waiting for an unhappy customer having to have a confrontation to resolve a problem.
Most people will just walk out vowing never to go back again and the business would never know.
Defore,

That is spot on mate. Why do people think we the customer should take the time to explain why your service is crap. If they dont want to invest the time or energy in the customer then why the hell would the customer take the time out of his day to do so. I dont get in a huff over these clowns anymore, like Pinhead said, why get miffed over these no bodies. Vote with you wallet and go else where. I was in the market to buy all the electronics for my boat, wont say exactly how much but you could near on pdrop a deposit on a house. The guy I was going to buy it all from wouldnt return my calls. I even went in to see him but he had left even after I we organised a meeting. So I went with a company up North and they bent over backwards to help me out and returned phone calls when they said they would. The other guy actually come around a few months ago and seen all the gear on the boat and his jaw dropped, Told him that's what you missed out on mate. Had you returned my calls and emails you would have had the coin for all this.

Its got me stumped why business in Australia have there heads up there arse5 for. Do they still think there crap dont stink and that the tackle world revolves around them? If I ran my business like they did I would have gone a long time ago. Customer service must be at the top of the priority list, listen and learn what they want to do then offer advice. Its not real hard but some guys just seem to let there ego's do the selling. At the end of the day my loyalties are to my wallet, I will simply shop where its cheapest. In having said that If a product is going to cost me a few extra bucks and the service is great I will support them. Time these clowns wake up or they will all go the way of the dinosaur.

Steeler
26-08-2011, 03:10 PM
Listen and learn, isn't that the point ?.

26-08-2011, 03:18 PM

I have been in one store..I walked up to the counter to be served ..the sales staff were having a chat and a giggle..igonred me so I just walked out. I would really hate to stop them conversing about their good times. No skin off my nose what they choose to do. If they want to serve people, fine. if not that is fine also.
I am not going to make a scene or anything like that..it is like restaurants..local one we used to go to often changed the way trhey operated. We did not like that so we won't be going back again nor telling them either but good luck to them.
I am sure the business owner/ manager will know if things are not right by the sales receipts. It really is not my position to tell them how to run their business.

MudRiverDan
26-08-2011, 03:48 PM
I agree with "let your feet do the talking", if the service is poor then go elsewhere.
Trouble is these larger shops are not hungry enough, too well fed, selling products at small tackle store prices through large national chains.
I was at a large store a week back and some guy was stuck down the back grumbling because noone would serve him.
On the way out I still seen him there and told staff, who told me they only had two on.

The guys was looking at those portable fridges and was probably looking to spend $300.00 upwards, no service......

The girl said he should have come to the counter and told her... but really that is not what sales is about, if your going to part with
hard earned cash then you expect knowledge and service.

No one likes to have to ask and pry service from these dormant and indifferent franchises, it is just not that way to go with sales.

Oh yes and as far as BCF goes, they might not serve you but the security is watching your every move making sure you don't lift a crappy packet of hooks or something.
Every time I go to that place >> "security to section B!" , is that a recorded message or do they just hire facetious little teenage girls to watch you?

I must look like I am going to steal a pack oh hooks or something, most probably I am looking for the non existent customer assistant.

crusty
26-08-2011, 07:39 PM
Crusty if you purchased an item that was incomplete then you are well and truly entitled to have it sorted under consumer law, why not pursue this course of action ?.

Steeler if I new that at the time I would of! I was so p#ssed off even the bloody owner wasnt interested at all exept pointing out a sighn on the counter that stated "no refunds" rude P#ICK that I'll guy never go there again!

Ausfish
26-08-2011, 09:34 PM
If the staff are crap most of the time you can expect the management to be the same. It all starts at the top. So why would you bother pointing out something they already know and created. Besides, it is easier to vote with your feet, as already said.

Flex
27-08-2011, 09:25 AM
My pet hate is bad service,

Any company should treat each customer like their shop depends on it, because it does..

I walked into BIAS boating at sangate at xmas wanting to buy a new Sounder and fuel flow meter and wanted info on what units were compatible.He knew I was there to buy as I said I'd come down from Emerald and needed one that day before flying home.
The old guy behind the counter effectively threw me a catalogue and said "read this it tells you everything" While he stood there ignoring me trying to put a $99 GPS unit back in its box a previous cuistomer bought back.

He basically showed zero interest and palmed off all my questions and was down right rude.

The other sales manager came to the counter with another customer. So I decided to tell them all how rude and useless this guy was. Said my budget was $4000 to buy a sounder today and now Im going elsewere because of this ignorant and useless prick.

On another note, The best tackleshop Ive been in is Barra Jacks at Rockhampton, all those guys are great and extremely helpful. best service you'll ever get.

27-08-2011, 12:17 PM
I had exactly the same issue with a similar shop, before they went under.... That was in 2000 and I never stepped foot in there again.

Dave_H
27-08-2011, 12:45 PM
My pet hate is bad service,

Any company should treat each customer like their shop depends on it, because it does..

I walked into BIAS boating at sangate at xmas wanting to buy a new Sounder and fuel flow meter and wanted info on what units were compatible.He knew I was there to buy as I said I'd come down from Emerald and needed one that day before flying home.
The old guy behind the counter effectively threw me a catalogue and said "read this it tells you everything" While he stood there ignoring me trying to put a $99 GPS unit back in its box a previous cuistomer bought back.

He basically showed zero interest and palmed off all my questions and was down right rude.

The other sales manager came to the counter with another customer. So I decided to tell them all how rude and useless this guy was. Said my budget was $4000 to buy a sounder today and now Im going elsewere because of this ignorant and useless prick.

I hadn't named the shop or franchise in my post however it is sad to see that nothing has changed, despite claims of otherwise....

RayDeR
27-08-2011, 03:53 PM
i had a bit of a problem with that big one at burliegh a few years back went in for a bit of stuff done the usual wont need a basket but ended up carrying a big arm full of gear i wanted a fileting knife i asked the only bloke on the flore at the time if he could come and get one out of the cabnet when he is finished with the customer he is with he says sure thing. after finishing with them he makes his way to the checkout where he is laughing and carrying on with his 2 mates also staff there for 10 minutes they all looked at me pretty shocked when i put over $200 worth of fishing gear on the counter and said dont worry about me mate ile go elsewhere.

best fishing shops on the gc the bait and tackel at currumbin and go fishing at narang.

Ryan

The shocked look was probably not because you left without buying but you expected them to put the stuff back on the shelves.

Ray de R

chaspion01
28-08-2011, 03:00 PM
Oh yes and as far as BCF goes, they might not serve you but the security is watching your every move making sure you don't lift a crappy packet of hooks or something.
Every time I go to that place >> "security to section B!" , is that a recorded message or do they just hire facetious little teenage girls to watch you?

I must look like I am going to steal a pack oh hooks or something, most probably I am looking for the non existent customer assistant.[/QUOTE]

Bang on my friend, thats exactly what it is! Just a recording.
I used to frequent a BCF in Logan where I became kind of a regular, I got the heads up from one of the lovely young girls there one day after scanning the room searching for SECTION C after hearing the security check for the 100th time!!!!!

chaspion01
28-08-2011, 03:04 PM
"I walked into BIAS boating at sangate at xmas wanting to buy a new Sounder and fuel flow meter and wanted info on what units were compatible.He knew I was there to buy as I said I'd come down from Emerald and needed one that day before flying home.
The old guy behind the counter effectively threw me a catalogue and said "read this it tells you everything" While he stood there ignoring me trying to put a $99 GPS unit back in its box a previous cuistomer bought back."

BIAS Boating, now theres a bad shopping experience! Slacks Creek, what the hell? Absolutely useless, ignorant and totally unhelpful. Right up until they take ya money, your'e lucky to get conversation then at best!

Stu Dows
28-08-2011, 06:42 PM
The service from one customer to another must vary I was at Bias Virginia looking at a particular sounder, I told the staff member who offered assistance that I had a unit on order with their competitors store and I was just looking but he was happy to show me all the features with the unit (very helpfull).
Although I didn't buy any thing at the time, this Friday at the Brisbane boat show I went with two friends who where chasing gps sounders and after hearing about my experince between two stores they where happy to pay a few dollars extra and buy their sounders from BIAS at the show.

Good service and a customer may tell one or two friends bad customer experience and the customer will tell 8 or more.