View Full Version : Last Couple of Weeks

14-08-2011, 06:39 PM
12/08/11

Afternoon Snapper Trip

This afternoon I had Eddie, Justin, Brendon and Red aboard. We headed back to the spot where I had been getting the snapper on plastics. This trip was a birthday trip for Justin from about 2 years ago and he was the first person to hook up with a nice snapper in the 60cm range. Brendon was next with a fish that kept going and going, eventually bricking him in the reef. Brendon and Justin were on fire getting all the hookups with 3 good ones and a just legal making their way into the esky.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2011/Aug/PIC_0020s.jpg

12/08/11

Morning Snapper Trip

Dave, Kim and Lyle were along for this one. As soon as we got out we had 17-18knots of SW making it near unfishable. We tried a few likely spots but were back home and tied up by 8:00am.

11/08/11

Half Day Morning

Corey booked this one in and along with him were Grant and I called up Graham to fill the boat. We jigged livies pretty successfully and then headed off to chase cobia. Corey wanted to chase pelagics and the next couple of months will be cobia season. Off the bat Corey got one then on our second drift we were joined by a commercial line fishing boat. He got one straight away but then it went quiet for both of us. I went off to try another spot but another charter boat was on it and he had allready pulled around 20 trag jew and cobia off it so I gave it two drifts then headed off to try for school mackerel which from all reports were plentiful on all the inshore reefs at the moment. We didn't find them and headed off with our tail between our legs on what was a great weather day.

09/08/11

3/4 Day Afternoon Trip

Mitch booked this one in. We started off jigging live baits to sit the wind out and then started fishing the Caloundra 12mile with intentions to go to Caloundra Wide when the wind settled. The 12 wasn't happening so we went to the spot at Caloundra Wide where I was getting the big snapper and AJs before the honeymoon. The sounder told the story straight away. No big shows. We chipped away for parrot, undersize pearlies and iodine bream. I gave them the option of stopping and dropping out here or trying for soft plastic fish in closer. We went in and threw the plastics around on some good shows but it just didn't happen.

09/08/11

Morning Snapper Trip

Rowan booked this one in. Along were wife Em and Garyth one of my regulars making up the numbers. The boys got a double hookup on the one bommy with Rowan landing a nice fish just short of 60cm and Garyth a just legal one. Rowan picked up my first grass emperor from this area a while later. Being a bright sunny day I knew they would go off early so we went looking for other fish in other spots as we must have hit them too hard the preceding few days. We found some nice shows but it didn't really happen. We ended up with the anchor down on a usually reliable reef but only ended up catching a heap of undersize stuff including quite a few red emperor and a keeper hussar.

08/08/11

Afternoon Snapper Trip

Dom had booked this trip in for Terry her husband for his birthday and their two boys. Graham was along for a ride as well. He showed us how to do it with a nice 60+ and another in 50cm range. Terry hooked a couple of rippers, one straightening the 1/6oz jighead we were using and another falling off after a couple of big runs. The boys had their chances too but only Hayden came up trumps.

Graham and his fish.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2011/Aug/PIC_0019s.jpg

08/08/11

Morning Snapper Trip

Lauren and Jayden had booked this one in a long time ago and they jagged a ripper of a day. The fish were on straight away with Lauren getting off to a good head start. Jayden started getting her on quality and then ripped out a 66cm.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2011/Aug/PIC_0018s.jpg

There were also a few double hookups.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2011/Aug/PIC_0015s.jpg

They didn't keep everything legal but Lauren must have finished up the morning having caught 8 or more snapper and Jayden around 6-7. It was a top morning and we were back so Lauren could be back at work at Caloundra by 9:30.

07/08/11

Full Day With Dallas

Dallas was back again with a full crew this time. We started off gathering live bait which was very successful again and headed off. We tried another live bait spot out wide snaring a couple of full strings. We tried the pearly spot from the afternoon before but we had only left the small undersize ones behind, even if they were pulling them up two at a time. Of to an AJ spot. Sure enough first fish up was an AJ. Next drift and three of the boys hooked up solid. We were thinking AJ then a jewie surfaced boatside. We had hit a school of mulloway and before long 3 were on the deck of the boat. Subsequent drifts couldn't scratch up anymore but a few more AJs came aboard as well as some pearl perch and an AJ on the plastic for me.

They went off so we headed to another spot to finish our back of AJs. Rob concentrated on the pearlies and plugged away at them. Chilla was the live bait master on the AJs near finishing off the bag for the boat single handedly. With the pearlies all turning into small ones we headed off to stop and drop trying to find a snapper.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2011/Aug/PIC_0013s.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2011/Aug/PIC_0014s.jpg

06/08/11

Full Day With Rowan

Rowan booked this one in. We gathered live bait easily enough then headed to where the AJs and kingies had been. All the attention must have put them off and we really struggled. We headed off to my hussar and parrot spot to try and get a few fish for the box. A few fish made their way over the side here but once again no big numbers of hussar, just a couple of parrot and once again a lot of small stuff and harliquin smilers. I gave the boys the option of staying here and grafting away at the parrot, trying for a cobia on the way home or trying for a snapper or a pearlie. They were keen to be in the hunt for a pearlie so that is the way we went.

First sound over the spot and it looked awesome. First drift it also looked awesome on the sounder and a few pealies made their way aboard as well as a cracking parrot but subsequent drifts were much quieter, the bait show dissappeared and undersize pearlies two at a time started to take over from the legal ones. We ran out of time and had to run in.

05/08/11

Afternoon Snapper Trip

George from Sydney was back again and once again he has made it onto the pictures for SQCS four years in a row. This time for a 66cm snapper. Jay and George had an awesome Friday afternoon session bagging on snapper and getting smoked by at least 4 good ones on the soft plastics rods in some pretty rough seas but it was his last chance before flying home.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2011/Aug/PIC_0008s.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2011/Aug/PIC_0006s.jpg

04/08/11

Morning Snapper Trip With Karl

Tried a few different places and pulled one early and the rest came from another reef with great bait shows. I know where to head straight back to for a morning or arvo session now.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2011/Aug/PIC_0003s.jpg

03/08/11

Creek to Coast Shoot

Today I had Creek to Coast aboard from Brisbane Channel 7. Gary Howard was the presenter and we had Andy Gunn along from the local BCF store as well as a camerman and a producer. Fishing was tough and the weather was about 12knots from the SE all day but we got enough footage. Things were looking grim after only jigging 3 livies but Gary jigged up 4 fish on 300gm knife jigs. I wasted the livies only hooking up once before it bricked me and I missed another on a 300gm SeaRock jig. Will give everyone the details of when it screens on here and my Facebook site.

Wax_head
20-08-2011, 07:26 PM
Looking forward to more reports from you. I fish around the sunnycoast mainly out from mooloolaba and caloundra.

Weather has been pretty ordinary and so have the fish but good to see the great pics.

Cheers Bicko