View Full Version : Been fishing in the channel, Mackay.

captain red beard
06-08-2011, 01:01 PM
Hasn't been alot of fishing reports lately so thought I would throw something up.
Been fishing out in the channel the last few trips. Have been catching large mouth nannygai very consistently, between 6-8kg. Almost had enough of them. They are always there but sometimes hard to get them to bite. Close to the tide change has seen them fire up a bit more. Only small reds and one cracker of a trout, went 7.3kgs.

Have been fishing mostly during the day so next trip will be a overnighter to try for some bigger fish.

Hows everyone else been doing around Mackay?

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/283906_2277568427734_1504440610_32539556_631553_n. jpg

outwide1
06-08-2011, 03:12 PM
Nice trout mate,the best eating fish out there i reckon.
Well done,

Bubsy
15-08-2011, 11:07 AM
Nice post. I think Mackay fishos should post more. I don't have much experience in the channel, but I guess I'm going to have to put some hours in if I want to get some solid spots and catch regular fish. Great trout.

Redrocks
27-08-2011, 12:37 PM
Not been out all year CRB due to weather, work and sport. Judging by the amount of boats for sale in the Merc, I'm not alone and have the Sig up for sale.

The forecast was ok last week, but turned sour pretty quick.

Nice bar cheek there.

Redrocks.

captain red beard
07-11-2011, 02:48 PM
Finally managed to get the boat out again. Headed out to the shipping channel late friday arvo to fish around the tide change.
Fish were chewing when we arrived but we lost the first few due to tangled lines and inexperience. Finnally got our s**t together and had another drift which resulted in 2x 7kg reds.
Did a few more drifts and a fair bit of just floating about until the fish seemed to go off the bite about 8.30, so we headed back to the ramp. Results were 3x 7kg reds and 4x nannygai to 7kg.
Had pretty good conditions sitting on 30knots on the way out and 30knots most of the way home.
Cheers red beard.

http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/s320x320/375312_2583060504845_1504440610_32827723_150289703 5_n.jpg (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=2583060504845&set=a.1043481016320.2008502.1504440610&type=1&ref=nf)

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s320x320/386122_2583066224988_1504440610_32827730_563152237 _n.jpg (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=2583066224988&set=a.1043481016320.2008502.1504440610&type=1&ref=nf)

marto78
07-11-2011, 04:13 PM
Some nice fish there mate.

neil_stessco
07-11-2011, 08:27 PM
Some nice fish there mate, there are still a few shark mackeral getting around also im told.

Bubsy
10-11-2011, 08:18 PM
Nice work there Red Beard. Carton of Black Rats for the GPS mark?

webby nq
11-11-2011, 10:23 AM
Finally getting some great weather and look at the results hey , nothing worse than getting tangles when the fish are chewin, good fish lad