View Full Version : Its in the Garage !!

23-07-2011, 06:04 PM
Well its in the garage, the new toy we picked up today....it fits with an inch to spare!, There was a bit of mucking around but we got there

im a lucky bloke as my wife bought us a boat, this passed the Bec test, spent the afternoon collecting bits and pieces and doing the trailer, tonight i think ill have a beer or two in it and punch in a few marks.

Rather than get all the stuff like last time, this time i have a few things to sort out like carpet etc, a baitboard and rod storage ( waiting for baitmate to finish their relocation) the old one on the esky will do till then,,,

have to finalise a name and also sort out where the tackle boxes go and how many i can fit which should keep me busy (more likely confused) for a while. Has a Yammie 4 stroke on the back and got the Garmin 750s touch screen with garmin radio as well as drink holders!!

Looking forward to getting out and about and the RtoM

mike

oldie
23-07-2011, 06:12 PM
Good to see someone smart enough to get into a 485 explorer nice boat, what size hp? The photo in your avatar is from where i grew up, the entrance to the Camden Haven river, north haven side? That new rig will do everything you need down that way, I have a few sneaky marks too but a secret of-course. My family have been there for 30 yrs so still visit and fish regularly.

nice boat mate enjoy

Steeler
23-07-2011, 06:34 PM
Good onya Mike, nice rig buddy.

rosco1974
23-07-2011, 06:38 PM
nice rig mate

tenzing
23-07-2011, 06:38 PM
Mate! NOICE NOICE!
Does that fit all the way in if the roof is folded down? Must be tight
When we got the victory we needed to put a second jockey wheel in futher back to drop it down literally to the last cm to get it in the garage, but its a good trick. It always looked odd when you put it back up when you were in cos it couldnt have fitted apparently!
Have fun with tricking her up!
What about "Tight Squeeze" ( The double entendre might not be lost on your lovely wife!)Edit: Please take this in the friendly manner in which it was intended.

Brendan

tenzing
23-07-2011, 06:42 PM
BTW the second jockey wheel futher back comes in handy when you've parked somwhere that doesnt let you get your main jockey wheel started to get it off the car.
Brendan

Boat Hog
23-07-2011, 06:58 PM
Nice Mike, real nice .... enjoy!;D

For a '485' is sure does look big, hope there's enough room in there for the wife once you get all your tackle loaded;).

Very happy for you,

23-07-2011, 07:08 PM
thanks for the comments, im a pretty happy fella,

with it all folded down it just fits, also we moved the jockey wheel back and also lowered the winch post by a tiny bit, it just scraps in,, that was the basic deal, either it fit or we werent going to get it, so it fetted and thanks to the Dealer Wynnum as well who looked after us

also have the 70A yamme 4 stroke on it, apparently on the yammie test report on this boat with the 70A i can expect 3 klm per litre so if thats right, ill be a happy camper, also quite a surprisingly roomy boat for a 4.85, but no doubt ill fix that with tackle?..

Boat Hog
23-07-2011, 07:22 PM
Okay, so you've got the boat. Next project .... build a bigger shed for the next one!! If you build it ... it will come .....

23-07-2011, 08:27 PM
nice boat Mike

Mad-One
24-07-2011, 05:15 AM
What about "Tight Squeeze" ( The double entendre might not be lost on your lovely wife!)Edit: Please take this in the friendly manner in which it was intended.

Brendan[/QUOTE]

Looking at that fit I reckon that name suits well.
Nice rig enjoy using it

Cheers Mad

24-07-2011, 06:07 AM
BLOODY HELL MIKE..it is 6am and you are on here..you should have "Bec n Call" in the water by now...what is going on here.

Boss' b'day today..heading up to a winery for pizza 'n music in the vineyard this arvo.

deckie
24-07-2011, 06:41 AM
Bewwdiful. Boat Porn for those who've been fishing long enough to know which rigs get used the most. Rigs dont need to be monsters to be appreciated for what they are. Perfect rig for so many people and usually no need to upsize. If i had to be out there in it, i'd back a good skipper and feel safer in one of these to get me home from the shelf in a lumpy sea than any less experienced guy in a 6m rig. This rig was my choice recently..buy new or total refit of same size.

Challenge for the manufacturers this size coz so popular and big sales if get it right, hardest is the age old trade off between ride and stability in this size but really no different up to maybe 6m. If the weather isnt kind enough to be outside in this rig you really dont want to be nor shouldnt be out there in a 6m anyway.

Nothing is an effort.
Easy to manage at home,
Instant throttle response,
Can buzz around chasing surface schools all day.
Easy on the fuel.
Can go out and fish inshore during marginal weather without freezing your arse off or getting wet in a cc.
No big gas guzzler required to tow.
Easy managed at the ramp and easy on/off.
Can fit out for almost all types of fishing.
Can throw it on the back at a moments notice with all the benefits of as tinnie.
Smooth ride with no chiropractor bills or teeth rattling out in a 15knot chop.
Enough poke and easy to make the kids howl on a biscuit.

Just right in so many ways for the average trailer boatie. When they're easy they're fun and get used more often.

Sweet lines too. Congrats Mike.

First fine looking day here for a week. Bit blowey tho. Might make a call.

Captain Seaweed
24-07-2011, 07:01 AM
Good on ya Mike, nice rig!!! another boat at 1770 then? Congratulations

Marty

24-07-2011, 07:25 AM
Thanks mate, still trying Marty to get up there but work is a killer right now,,

Deckie, we thought about going bigger second hand but this ticked the right boxes for us

and Greg, wish your better half a happy birthday from me and Bec,, looking at getting out mid-week, wife has to work today so ive a few things to sort out and tinker with

24-07-2011, 07:27 AM
What you fella's don't know is that Mike's seat is on the left side of the boat.
So if the tackle boxes take up too much room HE is the one staying at home :)

Is next week-end OK for the door Mike?

I like Bec-n-Call.

tenzing
24-07-2011, 07:50 AM
I like Bec-n-Call.

Clever, very clever.

24-07-2011, 07:51 AM
Nice boat Mike.

I hope you didn't get distracted by all the shiny blingy stuff in the chandlery shop.

tenzing
24-07-2011, 07:56 AM
Bewwdiful. Boat Porn for those who've been fishing long enough to know which rigs get used the most. Rigs dont need to be monsters to be appreciated for what they are. Perfect rig for so many people and usually no need to upsize. If i had to be out there in it, i'd back a good skipper and feel safer in one of these to get me home from the shelf in a lumpy sea than any less experienced guy in a 6m rig. This rig was my choice recently..buy new or total refit of same size.

Challenge for the manufacturers this size coz so popular and big sales if get it right, hardest is the age old trade off between ride and stability in this size but really no different up to maybe 6m. If the weather isnt kind enough to be outside in this rig you really dont want to be nor shouldnt be out there in a 6m anyway.

Nothing is an effort.
Easy to manage at home,
Instant throttle response,
Can buzz around chasing surface schools all day.
Easy on the fuel.
Can go out and fish inshore during marginal weather without freezing your arse off or getting wet in a cc.
No big gas guzzler required to tow.
Easy managed at the ramp and easy on/off.
Can fit out for almost all types of fishing.
Can throw it on the back at a moments notice with all the benefits of as tinnie.
Smooth ride with no chiropractor bills or teeth rattling out in a 15knot chop.
Enough poke and easy to make the kids howl on a biscuit.

Just right in so many ways for the average trailer boatie. When they're easy they're fun and get used more often.

Sweet lines too. Congrats Mike.

First fine looking day here for a week. Bit blowey tho. Might make a call.

Geez Deckie. I was just about to hook up the victory but after reading this it sounds like i sounds like I should be getting someone to give me a hand!
Just kidding, I,m going anyway.
Brendan

deckie
24-07-2011, 08:20 AM
Lol..i exaggerated a bit yeah.
I have bad memories of trying to push a swifty dominator then a 565 around the driveway with jockey wheels that would make me swear like nothing else. Self inflicted nightmares ;D.
Luv to go out by myself a lot now and too damn old for that shit these days ;D

24-07-2011, 08:25 AM
TOL..I think Mike may give you a call..he may need some custon pegboard put inside the cabin to hang all the shiny lures on.
Finga..I think he may need some triple decker aluminium tackle box holders made for in the cockpit of the boat..seats will be removed..they will sit on top of the tackle box lockers.
No room for a rocket launcher..no problems..mount rod holders all the way round the bow rail..you could fit heaps on there.

mowerman
24-07-2011, 09:01 AM
Noice mate.

Very noice.

Rod

frankgrimes
24-07-2011, 09:12 AM
Like it a lot mate - Great looking rig!

fisho8
24-07-2011, 10:09 AM
Very Nice boat Mike well done mate.

25-07-2011, 09:48 PM
Well its official, she is named 'Bec n Call' has a certain ring to it (thanks to an Ausfisher for the suggestion) any suggestions where to get stickers?

murf
25-07-2011, 10:44 PM
sweet looking rig Mike I will swap ya my early 70's 1/2cab for her :)

now go and catch a dirty mac tuna and get some blood on her

love the name

cheers Murf

26-07-2011, 07:02 PM
I no a good deckie that'll help you find a few fishes ???

26-07-2011, 07:10 PM
I no a good deckie that'll help you find a few fishes ???
I know of a boat that needs a deckie too.
You won't even have to wash it or help with the launching etc.