View Full Version : Hatred for Chain Stores

bennykenny
17-07-2011, 01:34 AM
Just wondering why there is so much hatred for the chain fishing stores like BCF. I see alot of people saying that they kill the competition, and your small independent fishing shop will be lost forever, along with their knowledge.
if all the small independent shops went out of business, wouldnt some of those guys go work at the "chain" stores. I understand that they hire alot of so called cheap labour, as in young kids that dont really know much, but im not really there for there advice anyway.
There are already alot of good guys and ladies that work at my local BCF that are very knowledgeable on the fishing side of things.
Weather its a big shop or a small one, why should their advice be any different, when trying to sell you something, they are both after your money anyway they can get it, so it makes it all about the sale.
I like them because im in and out quickly, and 9 times out of ten they have what i want for a good price. What are your thoughts???

aussiefool
17-07-2011, 04:38 AM
Mate for me, I have never spent a penny of my own money in any of the big or small stores. If I'm after a certain item ..... say a lure I shop for price. If the chain store sell it for $17. and the local bloke sells the same thing for $20 and Big W sells it for $13 and Kmart for $15 guess where I'm going to buy it. I have nothing fore against any business charging what they want as each have different over heads, just I chose to keep MY money in MY pocket

Bogger
17-07-2011, 06:30 AM
I went to BCF yesterday to buy a couple new reel covers . After only finding some spinning reel covers i asked the attendant ." excuse me mate got any covers for overheads " he replied only got these ..pointing at the spinning reel covers ...i said nah i want overhead covers ..his reply sent me back to ebay .
" mmm nah well thats all we got ..but iff thats what you REALLY want than you will have to come back on a week day and we will order it in for you "...
i mean ffs .

17-07-2011, 07:22 AM
I visit all of them up here if one hasn't got what i want the other will. But for advice the big chains here have no idea like the local smaller ones thats a given. But have noticed a trend of late at the big one here they run out of certian stuffs like swivels it's been 3 months and no replacements same as when i dropped into Mackays One the same type of product not there waiting on shipments

17-07-2011, 08:41 AM
I have no real problem with chain stores , nor do I have a love for them. I use my local one because I pretty well know what it has in stock (fishing . boating or camping gear) If its something else then I use a more specialist store.
I honestly feel that good tackle stores will always be around ..... they often carry more specialist gear & often employ decent anglers who can offer that specialist advice - the chain stores can never match that.
The failing of the chain stores will always be choice / range............

Stik-ugly
17-07-2011, 08:41 AM
If I am after a certain piece of tackle whether it be rods or reels I do a fair bit of research to which one fills my needs then shop around on the internet at larger tackle stores or classifieds for second hand then purchase the best deal. Forums like Ausfish provides a wealth of knowledge and that way I don't have to ask a inexperienced young kid questions that he hasn't got a clue about answering at the large tackle chains. So I use the tackle chains for my advantage ,so really I use them as a tool ,so it's not a hate.

2BNVS1
17-07-2011, 07:01 PM
im the same i usually know what im after and thats it. I would buy more from my local but the prices are 60%+ some things even 100% more than places i buy my stuff from. I understand supporting ur local and private business but i aint loaded with disposable income so i also have to protect my pocket, in the end if i can buy 2 for the price of 1, thats where i go.

17-07-2011, 07:15 PM
I don't go to the chain stores for advice as often there is none to be had. Then again I know of several top notch anglers who work for the chains. They are convenient as they have a good range of most of the basics and at times their specials are worth chasing up

kc
17-07-2011, 07:24 PM
An amazingly vexed question. I buy small and local, the majority of the time. I like the fact that when I walk into my local, they know me. They know what I buy, what I fish for and who I am.....I like that, and sometimes it costs me more for that. I hate the way the "big boys" are dominating our lives. Groceries, fuel, hardware, booze, petrol and now tackle.

Bob Katter uses a term called an agrarian...may have spelt it wrong but a basic premise that people who grow things, who make things and who build things shoulod be more valued in society that the traders, the merchants, the financiers and the political classes.

If "we" collectively, always take the easy cheap option, rather than support our local small businesses then we have absolutely no right to sook when we lose our own jobs to a multinational, an internet retailer or a chain store.

I can understand when every $ is vital and every purchase has to be at the best price, but what about taking a longer term view. I maybe have a slighlty better disposable income than some and I love a bargain, particularly in the classified sections on Ausfish but day to day, regular bits and pieces I always try to support the little guy.

In business I have to compete aginst the Macca's and sizzlers of the world and can't ever compete on price. I compete on service and bank on customer loyalty. 12 months ago I had 60 staff...now I have 20....it's a tough gig.

KC

17-07-2011, 07:34 PM
I don't go to the chain stores for advice as often there is none to be had. Then again I know of several top notch anglers who work for the chains. They are convenient as they have a good range of most of the basics and at times their specials are worth chasing up

I think that is it Horse ...... they carry the common basics & usually at a good price - that's certainly how I use them
I just had a look at how many pkts of plastics ( & jig heads) that I have bought in the last 2 months:o ..... 40 :o ..... but I've probably got 12 of those for free because of the discounted price - I wont get that saving from my local tackle store:( but in the end they got my money via some lures & a couple of higher end rods!

17-07-2011, 07:44 PM
I think that is it Horse ...... they carry the common basics & usually at a good price - that's certainly how I use them
I just had a look at how many pkts of plastics ( & jig heads) that I have bought in the last 2 months:o ..... 40 :o ..... but I've probably got 12 of those for free because of the discounted price - I wont get that saving from my local tackle store:( but in the end they got my money via some lures & a couple of higher end rods!

I think you need to join Aigutso's group.

17-07-2011, 07:53 PM
An amazingly vexed question. I buy small and local, the majority of the time. I like the fact that when I walk into my local, they know me. They know what I buy, what I fish for and who I am.....I like that, and sometimes it costs me more for that. I hate the way the "big boys" are dominating our lives. Groceries, fuel, hardware, booze, petrol and now tackle.

Bob Katter uses a term called an agrarian...may have spelt it wrong but a basic premise that people who grow things, who make things and who build things shoulod be more valued in society that the traders, the merchants, the financiers and the political classes.

If "we" collectively, always take the easy cheap option, rather than support our local small businesses then we have absolutely no right to sook when we lose our own jobs to a multinational, an internet retailer or a chain store.

I can understand when every $ is vital and every purchase has to be at the best price, but what about taking a longer term view. I maybe have a slighlty better disposable income than some and I love a bargain, particularly in the classified sections on Ausfish but day to day, regular bits and pieces I always try to support the little guy.

In business I have to compete aginst the Macca's and sizzlers of the world and can't ever compete on price. I compete on service and bank on customer loyalty. 12 months ago I had 60 staff...now I have 20....it's a tough gig.

KC

Hi KC ...... Mate I feel for you & I would love nothing better than to be able to support the small businesses - Sadly In this day and age ..... everyones costs are going up (my wages have not moved in 3 years) So most people try to get bang for their buck .... be it a jar of coffee or a new fishing reel - so what do you do ? - support the local butcher / fruit market / tackle store & baker etc etc - If that was the case I reckon my expenditure would increase by 30-40% on average ......... ya just cant do it .
I really like my local tackle store ..... the guys know me & I get good service and prices - but they probably get 30% of my fishing expenditure because they cannot match what I can import ( landing 2 reels for less than the price of 1 ..... Is a massive disincentive)

17-07-2011, 07:55 PM
I think you need to join Aigutso's group.

Sorry .... I've missed something:-? was it the 40pkts of placcys ?

Loosing 8 in 10 casts can do that to you :'(

fisho8
17-07-2011, 07:56 PM
I really only go to BCF for the catologe specials and to get my gas bottle filled really. I get all my bait from the bait and tackle store at Scarbrough has he stocks mostly local bait to funny enough though his Gulp plastics are cheaper than what BCF charge for them. Hooks sinkers and line I go to the bigger stores for this from time to time.

Almako
17-07-2011, 08:15 PM
Not sure which category Tackle Warehouse at Camp Hill sits in. I shop there because the guys know there stuff, have always matched BCF prices if i've asked, and have picked up extra business for doing so.
Also shop at BCF sometimes but really only because i've been window shopping at the time, probably for camping gear.
I would prefer to support the smaller guys though, and a small increase in price doesn't really matter.

17-07-2011, 08:31 PM
Loosing 8 in 10 casts can do that to you :'(

Loser.........;D

17-07-2011, 08:36 PM
Loser.........;D

you'll give me a complex !

17-07-2011, 09:07 PM
Whilst I source most of my gear online, my local tackle outlet is BCF as all the other "local" tackle shops have closed down in the last decade or so. To be honest, I also consider Tackleworld to be a chain store these days even though it is still privately owned by the shop keepers, they buy in bulk to obtain the purchasing power and therefore all of their outlets are very similar in what they stock.
BCF is handy for me but their range is limited and their prices on average are not too inspiring unless it is a special they are running. I am not going to drive 20km to a stand alone shop when i can source it online and have it delivered cheaper.

I do not go to any store for advice ever. I make a point of knowing the product I am interested in well before I go to the shops to buy.

17-07-2011, 09:26 PM
BCF used to and may still give away way too much money to green zealot organizations, as such i have no problem paying a little more elsewhere that supports anglers and responsible use of our environment.