View Full Version : User Names

wayno60
28-06-2011, 01:00 AM
Following from how finga got his user name how did we all come up with ones we have on here.
Im so waiting to hear how pinhead got his???
Mine's pretty straight forward, names Wayne and born in 1960.

28-06-2011, 01:42 AM
at 1am you should be asleep...not asking personal questions..hehe

28-06-2011, 01:45 AM
ok..would you believe my parents had a warped sense of humour?

but..2 reasons:
1. I love the Jumpinpin..therefore Pin Head
2. Love this song from the masters of punk..The Ramones http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6BBfybCPkjA

wayno60
28-06-2011, 01:52 AM
1am is when i ask the best question....dont alway get the answer im after but if you dont ask you;ll never know.

28-06-2011, 09:43 AM
Mines as obvious as yours Wayne. Being a woodworker Jarrah is my long time favorite timber and Jack is because thats what I am; a Jack of trades.

That makes me a Jarrah Jack..;D

Now if my favorite timber was Blackbutt....well lucky it aint.

Sweetlip
28-06-2011, 10:58 AM
I first registered in the name of "Sweetlip" because that was the first fish that I caught in my then new boat.

However, after being reasonably active on the boards, the potential for identity confusion arose when someone else registered as "Sweetlips" and became quite active for a while.

So to avoid the confusion, I re-registered in the first name of something that came into my head, viz the name of my home town, "Charleville."

....and so it was to be. :D

https://img.skitch.com/20110628-bsrbqrxp7ir78u7ksggje6jrwb.preview.jpg (https://skitch.com/charleville2/fg6sx/useless-fact-for-today-is-page-49)Click for large view (https://skitch.com/charleville2/fg6sx/useless-fact-for-today-is-page-49) - Uploaded with Skitch (http://skitch.com)

;D;D;D;D;D

28-06-2011, 11:00 AM
What Sweetlip said.

;D

bennykenny
28-06-2011, 11:14 AM
mine is also pretty boring, as its my name, well part there of, my first name is Brendon, but my family call me Benny since i was about 5yo, long story. and my middle name is Kenneth, hence the Kenny, so i get bennykenny.

Bear001
28-06-2011, 12:15 PM
my nickname is bear......lets just say I dont do mornings very well.....lol...............bear was taken & I was too lazy to think of something else, so just added the 001 to let me register

AnthonyL
28-06-2011, 01:11 PM
I need to keep it simple to remember lol.. so Anthony is my name and last name Lawrence.

GARFISH
28-06-2011, 01:36 PM
After what was my favourite fish to catch... Was also nick named that in one of the clubs that I used to be in .

nathank
28-06-2011, 02:07 PM
umm... boring but... names nathan.. last name kirkwood... nathank it is

murf
28-06-2011, 03:00 PM
well I would be a Murphy :)

cheers Murf

fisher28
28-06-2011, 03:11 PM
im a commercial fisher,and when i joined i was 28,hence fisher28.yes very creative i know!!::)

upstart
28-06-2011, 04:33 PM
My favourite place is Cape Upstart. Been going to the family hut there since I was born. Hence the name.

2DKnBJ
28-06-2011, 04:50 PM
Here we go
The tinny i had when i seperated from the &%@# ex was named DDK.Darren (myself) David and Kyara (Kids).Then i upgraded the boat to the Haines and about the same time upgraded the Ex>>>> and my lovley wifes name is Kirsten so i was going to name the boat 2DK.As time went on i must have fallen fell asleep on the lounge and was taken advantage of which ended up resulting in Blake and Jordan so if you add the whole tribe up i now have 2DK"n"BJ

Cheers Dazza

Bazzawookooka
28-06-2011, 05:28 PM
I was on a long-term (3-year) construction project earlier this decade and was sort of morale officer amongst a variety of other duties.

At one point I had everyone work out their 'porn-star' name, using the name of their first pet, and the first street they remember living in.

One of the guys had bazzawukuka and it tickled my funny bone.

When I joined Ausfish I used it, but without reference to the original list, used double o's instead of u's.

Oh well - I still like it. From memory my PS name was 'Rusty Henderson' which sounded a little too authentic for my liking.

Maybe we should start a 'pornstar' name thread too!!!

flatzie
28-06-2011, 05:53 PM
Used to live in Townsville and then a lot of names blokes used to put zie or sees on the end of name. Like Lowndes Tackle a lot of blokes called it Lowndzies.
I love fishing for flathead over the flats so here we go.... Flatzie!
Flatzie
PS Shane and I would love love to hear how Nagg came up with his!

flatzie
28-06-2011, 05:55 PM
I was on a long-term (3-year) construction project earlier this decade and was sort of morale officer amongst a variety of other duties.

At one point I had everyone work out their 'porn-star' name, using the name of their first pet, and the first street they remember living in.

One of the guys had bazzawukuka and it tickled my funny bone.

When I joined Ausfish I used it, but without reference to the original list, used double o's instead of u's.

Oh well - I still like it. From memory my PS name was 'Rusty Henderson' which sounded a little too authentic for my liking.

Maybe we should start a 'pornstar' name thread too!!!

Its that Avatar that has me worried Steve!

no chicken tonight
28-06-2011, 06:58 PM
Wife would always take a chook out on fishing day- just in case.
Got sick of eating chicken!

TimD
28-06-2011, 07:06 PM
My first name is Tim and my last name starts with D

Real exciting user name ::)

cheers tim :)

Dignity
28-06-2011, 07:10 PM
Boat was already called Dignity after a Scottish song about a council worker, it seems that 2iar lived down the street from the guy I bought it from and he was a little peeved that he couldn't name his boat the same (sorry Mike). Anyway I didn't change it as I figured if I run aground or hit something I would say that I did it with Dignity :)

Stik-ugly
28-06-2011, 07:30 PM
Because I am

mowerman
28-06-2011, 07:58 PM
Its what I do to pay for fuel and bait................and a few other things.

Rod

captain rednut
28-06-2011, 08:50 PM
hey, my name was given by the bloke who signed me up on this website on my behalf as i didnt know how to join at the time and he very quickly offered to do it, (what a great mate) i wasnt ammused when i saw the name he used but its stuck now and people know me as that. i mite sign him up on a gay mens helpline as payback. he he

Rodsbeersbaitsmates
28-06-2011, 09:49 PM
well mine is fairly easy, i just put together my thoughts on fishing :)

Mr__Bean
28-06-2011, 09:58 PM
Mr Bean was on telly when I registered.

28-06-2011, 10:07 PM
Back 30 yrs ago I was dead set keen catching northern blues on fly, the favorite fly for them was a tunaticer......end of story.

sleepygreg
29-06-2011, 12:23 AM
well - mine is fairly simple....my name is Greg...and my nickname has been Sleepy since i was about 16. (amongst fishing circles.....based on the ability to be able to find a corner of the boat and curl up for a nap in ANY sea conditions, no matter what size of config the boat was - i think my uncle bestowed the name on me after a trip out of Jervis bay in his 4.5m centre console quinny....crap conditions...but I had played a cricket final the day before...won that...and lobbed at their place for the trip down that night....was a bit tired...so decided to have a kip while they punched out to the grounds...kinda wrapped myself around the console and out of everyones way....but the scream of the first reel going off had me up and at full alert.) Things kinda havent changed much over the years, so I will stick to the name.

Apollo
29-06-2011, 06:48 AM
I named a cat after a line of sailing boats owned by Jack Rooklyn years ago. That cat was an absolute ripper and lived to just shy of 20yrs old, so out of respect, I took on his name - Apollo.

I know the reason for 'Nagg' and it is much easier that his real name. Simple

Boat Hog
29-06-2011, 08:44 AM
When we got our first boat, I would try to fish every available piece of water out of a 4 m tinny;D.
Line out the back, line out the front and then flicking a plastic as well. My wife started calling me a Boat Hog .....

29-06-2011, 09:12 AM
I named a cat after a line of sailing boats owned by Jack Rooklyn years ago. That cat was an absolute ripper and lived to just shy of 20yrs old, so out of respect, I took on his name - Apollo.

I know the reason for 'Nagg' and it is much easier that his real name. Simple

Absolutely Steve ........ (Nagiello) ........ My nickname which went right back to 1st class (Nagg) stayed with me till I left school - but for the next 20 years remained in a hiatus ..... that was till I started with my current employer (8 years ago) & there were 4 Chris's in the sales team ...... It was my boss that started to call me Nage ( pronounced - NAJ) ..... then it quickly changed to Nagg. So when it came to a user name ...... Nagg was it!

Back In Black
29-06-2011, 10:06 AM
I'm an AC/DC fan & I drive a big black cat.

Wayne B
29-06-2011, 10:29 AM
First name is Wayne last name starts with B.....I wasn't feeling very creative at the time :-[

FISHAWN
29-06-2011, 01:49 PM
Big Primus fan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=31e5UGAnOjc

Squidlet
29-06-2011, 01:54 PM
Swimming down at our local swim hole in port stephens as a young boy 7 at the time,we used to run down the jetty and proced to hurl our self offa the end into tha water,then it would be uponto the pontoons for wrestles,i was afairly rotund child and slimy from the sun screen so i got the name of the slimy "Squid " and it didnt help the fact that i had curly hair so their was squid rings,so at the end of it all it ended up being Squidly!! am now 36 so it has stuck.

Cheers chris.

ejackulate
29-06-2011, 04:37 PM
What can i say i get excited when i catch Jack!!! Mine is the name of my first tinny everyone else had named theirs various jack names where i used to live in Qld and i was tossing up between ejackulate and jack doff ;D

turkeyslapper
29-06-2011, 06:26 PM
My missus has a really long neck and always abuses me when I come home with no fish, so I slap her.
Turkey

OverNover
29-06-2011, 09:20 PM
Mines easy, work for a mob called Nover, when I'm Over Nover, I go fishin!!!! Boats named the same, funny thing is the CEO once saw my boat (with the modified company supplied stickers) and commented "Over N Over, very clever Jamie". Yeah, that's it Steve, Over N Over!!!!! His boat is called "BossaNover", clever I thought.

Nagg, you could have just said you came up with you tag in honour of your Missus, most wouldn't have known the real story and I'm sure there'd have been plenty who said "I'm hearin ya!!!!" How's Mondy treatin you lately Mate?

Cheers, Jamie.

Little grey men
29-06-2011, 10:30 PM
Song lyrics late one night, not very creative but it'll do.

Listen up you stinking maggots, I've been appointed to inform you, your days are numbered.
Planes drop from the sky, people disappear and bullets fly.
Little Grey Men are coming our way.
Tastes just like chicken they say.
Actually they're all around, secret bunkers underground.
Round em up, skin em alive, holy rollin rollin rawhide.

No, it's not easy listening type music

truth stretcher
30-06-2011, 06:37 AM
Cause every fish I've ever caught was a pending world record ( most times probably double what the current world record is )::)

BLOOEY
30-06-2011, 08:29 AM
I'm a smurf.

Damned67
30-06-2011, 10:28 PM
First internet forum I joined was an American Chrysler/Dodge/Plymouth site (moparts.com). I had a matt black and flamed '56 Plymouth and was listening to a lot of The Damned at the time, so signed up as 'Damned56'.... The '56 got sold and I bought a '67 Plymouth as a replacement. Changed the name to Damned67, and I use it on any/all internet forums that I'm a member of. Makes it easier to remember my login details. I'm just lazy, I guess.

ranga7
01-07-2011, 07:48 PM
ranga7.. red head and proud of it. 7 played half back when a little tacker.

lucee81
01-07-2011, 08:17 PM
Started on the forum as lucas19 and recently changed to lucee81
Born in 81 and have been called lucy since High school

STUIE63
01-07-2011, 09:07 PM
63 model and the rest is simple

groverwa
01-07-2011, 09:36 PM
Because of our surname - ***grove.

The middle son got called grover as per the TV show by the young bloke across the street in Exmouth a few years ago. That is when I used to catch mobs of fish.:):(:(

When he joined the army his mates also used that name.

As I could not use that, and as I live in one of the best parts of Austrlia, I ended up as groverwa

Mike Delisser
01-07-2011, 10:34 PM
Umm............

wayno60
02-07-2011, 06:46 PM
Geez mike your's is a hard one to work out!!!

sandbankmagnet
02-07-2011, 09:40 PM
When I got my first tinny and was doing a lot of crabbing in shallow water, I wasn't much of a pilot.

Gon Fishun
02-07-2011, 11:11 PM
Bit of short story with name. Here goes.
It was 21 years ago my wife and I seperated ;D , she was living at Beachmere and I had a unit on Bribie. I had a young lady that I was seeing at the time :D and my ex and I saw a little of each other :o. Any hoozle one Saturday evening ex rings and invites me out for Chinese and who could refuse that. ;D.
Now the other girl, to whom I am now married to ;D;D;D. left a message which I pretended not to see.:P. What to do. :-?. Leave a note on the front door Gon Fishun. :-*.
Well it worked. But I was caught out :'( and she still brings it up just to stir me , but in a nice way.

MINE09
02-07-2011, 11:45 PM
Well, I was keen on buying an offshore boat for about 14 years but everytime i started saving for one me and the missus would decide to get down n dirty:P.......n before i knew it i was saving for babystuff:). This happened 3 times!! Finally i was in a position to afford one n as i showed the missus when i got me 6m glassy home,i said to her i can't believe this is actually "MINE".........the rest is history. Oh yeah 09 is the year i joined Ausfish!

Cheers George

wayno60
03-07-2011, 08:57 AM
Any hoozle one Saturday evening ex rings and invites me out for Chinese and who could refuse that
Dont leave us in the lerch, what did she want??

Gon Fishun
03-07-2011, 06:22 PM
Dont leave us in the lerch, what did she want??

My body of course.

05-07-2011, 08:14 AM
Not the chicken and almond then?

sid_fishes
05-07-2011, 12:30 PM
mine is rather simple, everytime i,d try to put my name in , it didn,t work and at the time i was listening to the sex pistols --so sid fishes was it

dayoo
05-07-2011, 01:15 PM
Apart from the surname its also named after the old Harry Belafonte song Dayoooo Dayooo daylight comes and I wanta go home;D

Barry

tropicrows
05-07-2011, 03:44 PM
Coming from Sth Aust, we are known as "Crow eaters for some reason" and I follow the Adelaide Crows (sadly at present). In 95 I moved to QLD hense my user name & the name of my first boat up here.

"Tropicrows" A crow living in the tropics.

tug_tellum
14-07-2011, 08:17 AM
My real name is mullet gut, but on this site I spell it backwards so nobody will know who i really am!

Mossy247
14-07-2011, 04:08 PM
hahaha these names are great. Mine came from when I was in grade 8 (many moons ago) I stayed at a mates place that afternoon and my mum picked me up early that morn. I didn't have a shower there that night and his older brother started saying there was moss growing behind my ears. Hence Mossy. was also my art "identity" when I did arty things and sold paintings (stencil works with spray paint). It helps remind me of where I came from who's helped me get to this point in life and what I'll never loose.

TheGurn
14-07-2011, 04:13 PM
The Gurn ... Apart from being the first four letters of my surname, I've no idea why people call me that.
They just started a long time ago and never stopped.
Absolutely, definately nothing in common with The Fonz.
Still, it's way better than my teenage nicknames. SPUD and EGG

albey
16-07-2011, 02:44 PM
My friends gave me my nickname due to the amount of traveling I do on the water-named after Alby Mangels,(for most its probably too long ago-ask Charley-he'll know)however when I put it on paper I cant spell so stuffed it up.
8-)

16-07-2011, 05:32 PM
Mine came from our cartoon series that we sold to a US company, it was called Igutso, about some crazy Japanese game show veteran, so i called myself that here, anyway one night i searched for the name and up came all these posts on Ausfish, bugger....

well i didnt think that this large US Company would appreciate that when/if they launched the series so I changed the name to Aigutso (Japanese version of it) anyway the show didnt go anywhere, new CEO came in and chopped the division that bought it so its sitting in a vault somewhere. I still prefer the old name and i might use it as a boatname someday.

mike

PeterKroll
09-01-2014, 09:02 PM
There are some great names on here. I'd like to know the background of these names, if anyone wants to share.

For instance, I've gone with my real name. It helps if I forget who I am. And putting 'Who am I?" into Google simply confuses me more.

scorpo92
09-01-2014, 09:07 PM
I went to bali in 2011 and came back with a huge scorpion tatoo. It earned me the name scorpo on few building sites. 92 is he year of my birth.

bowds13
09-01-2014, 09:17 PM
Mines just a nickname shortened from my last name and the day I was born.

How boring do I feel right now haha

Gazza
09-01-2014, 09:22 PM
I'm Gazza , with 2 Z's....
Real name Gary , but Mum & Dad were too poor when I was born to afford 2R's :'(

Sheik
09-01-2014, 10:07 PM
I write a column for a fishing mag, but the name originate when I was working for the AbC in radio and put pieces together talking to fisho's around the state for five or so years. Went with sheik of the creek in homage to chad. then wrote for local paper for two or three years, now with QFM. relate teh experience of fishing with five mates, and how hopeless we can be at times. We call ourselves the Dudds

09-01-2014, 10:49 PM
There is a similar thread started quite some time ago on this very subject. Use the Advanced search to find it.. think it is in General Chat.

cheers LP

PeterKroll
09-01-2014, 10:55 PM
Sheik, sounds a bit Steele Rudd. That's a very good thing in my world.

bobbyb
09-01-2014, 11:56 PM
out of desperation, it wouldn't accept the first 40 or so choises........

and now my spell check don't work. gota love these computers.

Nslfishing
10-01-2014, 05:10 AM
Mines the first initial of me and the crew, Nic Seth and Lauren.

Still_Dreamin
10-01-2014, 07:09 AM
Before I bought my boat and I was looking at magazines etc my wife would walk past and say " Are you still dreaming?". When I am planning fishing trips I get you still dreaming? So seemed pretty logical my avatar should be still dreamin.

split-shot
10-01-2014, 07:46 AM
I like to fish as light as possible

upstart
10-01-2014, 07:59 AM
Mine is from my favourite place in the world. Cape Upstart.

Crunchy
10-01-2014, 08:14 AM
Kept trying different names but they were all taken, in frustration I looked around for some ideas and there was a box of "Crunchy Nut Cornflakes" on my desk.....just happened that name was sill available. Would have liked something a bit cooler like some of the other blokes "Perlie basher" "Cod king" "Pike man" or something but hey stuck with it now.

Goodoo haven
10-01-2014, 09:30 AM
Mine is because this area around here (within 100 klms radius) is well known as Murray Cod (Goodoo) area. And there are some really big ones in the rivers and dams around here, especially the dams.

Mrs Ronnie H
10-01-2014, 10:06 AM
As Phil said there is another thread on how everyone got their nicknames. I asked Phil once how he came to be Lucky Phil and then started a thread on boat names and nicknames. If you type in nicknames there are a couple of threads that will come up.

I was Ronnie H, everyone calls me ronnie, but everyone kept thinking I was a bloke so had the mods change it to Mrs Ronnie H.

Back In Black
10-01-2014, 11:43 AM
Named after my Boat.

Bit of an AC/DC fan.

outta line
10-01-2014, 12:03 PM
Just about got spooled by the first wahoo in my old boat changed the name of that boat from MAVERICK too OUTTA LINE so used the same name when joined

Jsmfun
10-01-2014, 01:35 PM
hi all got a couple of business that start with JSM first letter of my wife ,mine and son's names so i thought JSMFUN

Moonlighter
10-01-2014, 01:38 PM
Mine is same as my last boat's name.

I find picking boat names almost as difficult as picking names for children!

My last boat i spent hours trying to find a suitably fishy name that sounded OK.

One day i was looking thru the fisherman's bible, Ern Grant's "Guide to Fishes" and came across one of the tropical sea-perches, a relative of the hussars, called Lutjanus Kasmira, common name the Moonlighter fish. Heres what it looks like:

http://i729.photobucket.com/albums/ww298/Moonlighters_album/6f4b7e88d00f52add67d9a1326335a98.jpg

So thats where Moonlighter came from. That, plus i was doing a bit of consulting work on the side from my regular job, so it fitted well!

Next problem was when I got my current boat a couple of years ago and needed another boat name. Again an agonising process. I disliked the idea of "Moonlighter II" as i thought just adding the "II" simply lacks imagination.

Looked in "Grant's again and kepy coming back to the little "Moonlighter" fish. So given the good luck and great fish caught from the last boat, ended up using "Kasmira" for this one's name. So its still the Moonlighter, but just by the fancy scientific name this time....

Its well worth googling any name you come up with before making a final decision, because there are some doozies oit there that if you knew what they meant in other languagues or what their origin was, you wouldnt want them!

Rodman
10-01-2014, 02:00 PM
My Ausfishers name is Rodman and I came to that because I repair rods and I am a man thus Rodman.
I really wanted Tackle Rat but someone already had it

ken

Mike Delisser
10-01-2014, 04:29 PM
It was on my birth certificate.

rabbi
10-01-2014, 06:24 PM
Mine was from an American mate. Every time he saw me I had a jew under my arm.....::)

PeterKroll
10-01-2014, 07:30 PM
Rabbi, that's the best one yet. :-)

feral cat
10-01-2014, 08:07 PM
Bout 13 yrs ago i bought a 560 sharky from mooloolaba that had been re gelcoated and done up apart from the floor. It was called kattamarinka.
I ground the floor up and found split fuel tanks and just a mess.Mate calls around and sais that's bloody feral under there so after many beers kattamarinka name had to go and feral cat was born.lol

barney1979
10-01-2014, 08:32 PM
apparently i used to look like barney rubble many years ago so the nickname barney stuck with me ever since.

Shark Poker
10-01-2014, 08:51 PM
Having above average long range eyesight, and a long term interest in navigation and reading charts, I was always impatient when yotties or blokes wearing Captains caps went aground. And being sufficiently wide of beam myself, well how obvious was it going to be?

Steeler
10-01-2014, 09:56 PM
Got mine from the greatest rugby league team to ever grace a football field and not win a premiership.

C'mon mighty Wollongong we are the Illawarra Steelers.

Still_Dreamin
10-01-2014, 10:02 PM
A lot of great avatars have been taken over the years and it can be difficult to come up with a good one. Maybe inactive accounts after a period of time say 5 years can be cancelled and the avatars reissued?

10-01-2014, 10:16 PM
I like Snakes

wayno60
10-01-2014, 10:21 PM
name, wayne
year born 1960

you do the maths

wayno60
10-01-2014, 10:27 PM
this will save a lot of ppl answering it again...
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?176871-User-Names

phantomphisher
10-01-2014, 11:02 PM
name that the last boat came with.

11-01-2014, 11:07 AM
Mine came from an incident at a remote country farmhouse that involved a score, a little yellow getaway car, and undercover police chickens.

FisHard
11-01-2014, 11:47 AM
I don't get to fish nearly as often as I would like, so when I do go, I Fish Hard... sometimes.

mutineer
11-01-2014, 07:29 PM
It's the model of my boat ...Cox craft ....mutineer , was sitting in it when I joined ..

bannana
12-01-2014, 09:58 AM
Bannana because back in the day when I started fished with Soulfish he would jack up if I took bananas on board and always blame them on our poor catch of sweat bugger all. I figured he's a good mate so I may as well take something for him to blame other than his own skippering ability (nads, nads, nads, nads, nads, nads) so a bunch of bananas would always give him an out. lol

By the way I can't spell to save my life (dyslexic) so when I called myself bannana it looked ok to me only to realise i spelt it wrong.

shaungonemad
12-01-2014, 05:27 PM
Mine came about when everything I wanted was gone and it made me go mad.

Back In Black
13-01-2014, 10:08 AM
Bannana because back in the day when I started fished with Soulfish he would jack up if I took bananas on board and always blame them on our poor catch of sweat bugger all. I figured he's a good mate so I may as well take something for him to blame other than his own skippering ability (nads, nads, nads, nads, nads, nads) so a bunch of bananas would always give him an out. lol

By the way I can't spell to save my life (dyslexic) so when I called myself bannana it looked ok to me only to realise i spelt it wrong.

Misspelling banana is the least of your problems. Hope you never write a note for Megan telling her she is your "sweaty"

Could really go south for you mate!!

Tony LOL

pipifin
13-01-2014, 10:29 AM
I do most of my daily fishing in the Pummistone Passage, but my wife, in her infinite wisdom, suggested "Passage Basher" may NOT be the best name for my boat or on here.... so my two Daughter's names were combined..... and if anyone is wondering, my boat is called "Brian II".

Nabba1
13-01-2014, 12:51 PM
New name for my boat given as an award from my mates/deckies.

Many years ago I bought an old huntsman 20 and after a couple of years it had a bit of dry rot. Thinking I could definitely fix the problem myself i had a go. I mentioned to my mates/deckies that the boat could be out of the water for 6 months or so while I fixed it.

Well 6 years later when it finally got wet again my so called mates named me and hence the reborn boat "Nabba" which is derived from the golfing "NAGA" award with the "bb" standing for "boat builder"

RayLamp
13-01-2014, 09:11 PM
Mine stems from a lamp often associated with medical procedures. Infra red ray lamps.

http://www.alibaba.com/showroom/infrared-ray-lamp.html

Dr Ray Lamp featured on a 12th man CD, where he investigated SPATFA's. Funny stuff :)

cqfreshie
17-01-2014, 02:04 PM
CQFreshie ..... Live in Central Queensland and mainly into freshwater.

Bremic
17-01-2014, 03:35 PM
A lot of great avatars have been taken over the years and it can be difficult to come up with a good one. Maybe inactive accounts after a period of time say 5 years can be cancelled and the avatars reissued?

+ 1 Another forum I frequent has a cleanout every year or so, of anyone that hasn't logged on for a couple of years. I wonder how many of the 400K members haven't visited for a long while?

Funchy
17-01-2014, 05:54 PM
Last name is Funch :-/

Boring hey?

T-REX
18-01-2014, 08:04 PM
Workmates gave it to me because I was the oldest and do not ask me to solve the same problem twice. Similar to bear but a bit grumpier.
Soon to be T-REX of Hervey Bay. Gods waiting room or so I have been told. Fishing Heaven.

tjotter
21-01-2014, 11:03 PM
small ship, wood, shallow water, sail or row.
They remind me of some of the boating I did as a kid.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_fD7GTRyvE#t=54 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_fD7GTRyvE#t=54)

4x4frog
22-01-2014, 03:38 PM
You'll all laugh at me but it's to do with my current mode of transport.
I'm a Renault fan from way back and currently have a Renault Scenic Rx-4, an all wheel drive Renault. Quite good on the sand and is great on rough roads, would not do serious 4x4 work in it, not enough clearance.
Way better vehicle than a RAV4 or Honda CRV ;D safer too ;)

conco46
27-01-2014, 01:02 PM
im a concreter and I was surfing WA red bluff at 8ft and was paddling into a set and one of the locals yeld out GOOOOOOOO CONCO conco being short for concreter, and about four of me mates heard him so it stuck, the 46 is Valentino Rossi racing number in GP moto