PDA

View Full Version : How much do you spend on Fishing Magazines/Publications a year?

Ausfish
27-06-2011, 02:09 PM
Just interested what the average spend is

Gon Fishun
27-06-2011, 02:27 PM
Maaaate, it is quicker, easier and much for informative and humurous to log onto
AF.;D

sprocketman
27-06-2011, 02:46 PM
I got a subscription to Fishing World for Christmas so not as much as I used to - not a bad gift at all.

charleville
27-06-2011, 02:51 PM
Six or seven years ago when I was traveling a lot in my job, I would spend hundreds of dollars per year on the glossy fishing mags as well as QFM and B&B. I needed the escapist treat that the mags gave me when I was bored out of my brain sitting at airports or staying in hotels far away.

After retiring from that life and having the capacity to go fishing as much as I liked and whenever I liked, I decreased my buying of the escapist glossies and just stuck to the more informative QFM and B&B.

After a few years of those mags, however, I find the the stories to be seasonally repetitive and not yielding as much new "tuition" to me as when I was less experienced and so now I buy no fishing mags.

My wife, however, occasionally will see a fishing magazine when she is shopping and buy it for me. Perhaps $20 - $30 worth per year at max.

PinHead
27-06-2011, 04:18 PM
I am the same as Bruce..the regular mags are repetitious..I reckon I could do most of there articles in about 2 paragraphs. I spend nothing on them these days.

tunaticer
27-06-2011, 05:14 PM
Online forums like ausfish are a lot more realistic and much more informative than any of the magazines you can buy.
I can not stand advertorial stories and probably for that reason alone, I do not buy or read any magazines anymore.
Even on this site if the guys start spruiking this reel and that rod and crap advertizing their arsenal, I quickly leave that page and ignore everything else written.
Last fishing magazine I bought would be a decade ago or so.

spelchek