View Full Version : Will double sided tape stick to alloy bimini?

13-06-2011, 01:36 PM
Hi all - Led strips with 3m double sided on rear...want to stick it to bimini alloy tube. The tube gets cold and has condensation on it in winter...if I metho it first will it stay stuck? The strip light is very very light..

13-06-2011, 01:41 PM
Have you considered the super thin zip ties you get in the tube packs at bannings and such places? No worries about glue failing in the heat or cold.

C
C

13-06-2011, 02:57 PM
Great minds...bought some really small ones on Friday for just that job...but I just want to make sure that the tape will also hold so it stays looking sweet. I suppose if I use enough ties it wont matter if the tape fails.

13-06-2011, 03:19 PM
True and if you use the white ones you can use heaps and not even see them..

13-06-2011, 04:35 PM
Thanks Chimo.

Reel'em in
13-06-2011, 06:12 PM
I have used some 3M brand double sided tapes and they are amazingly strong. They also sell primer for the surfaces to be joined in a small pen like tube, if that is required. Have a look at their web site. You may need to find a specialist stockist, these are not the sort of things Bunnings and the like would stock.

Dignity
13-06-2011, 06:46 PM
Clean the surface first and the double sided tape should stick, the condensation shouldn't affect is as the metal will be protected to some degree as I have some that has been there for a few years now. I have found that sticking it to fibregalss a much more difficult proposition.

Goochi
14-06-2011, 08:24 AM
Just remember if you use zip ties they will perish with UV exposure and eventually break. Even the black ones that are supposed to be UV stabilised still fail. Dosn't mean you can't use them, just keep an eye on them and replace as required.

dnej
14-06-2011, 08:36 AM
Sika will hold them well

FishHunter
14-06-2011, 08:47 AM
Its working on mine so far although I did put two zip ties on it as well

14-06-2011, 08:59 AM
Thanks Gents - much appreciated as always.

Dnej - I love Sika (once built a couple of hydroplanes with almost nothing but Sika holding them together...) but I want to make sure I can get the stuff off again if the leds fail etc. I might put a couple of very small blobs on.

deckie
14-06-2011, 01:44 PM
One way to find out. Flat tape onto round tube ? If its the real 3m stuff i'm guessing it'd work.
How about just one cable tie near wiring connector to protect that in case it comes off, then trust the tape and see how it goes. No downside to trusting it at the start coz its not something that will break or cause damage to anything else, with the bonus that if it does hold its a nice clean line in an obvious spot rather than crappy old cable ties.
Have u tried sticking the strips yet ?..easy ?..how'd they hold ?

14-06-2011, 08:07 PM
Will try soon Deckie - thanks. Got some Acetone to rub it all down first.