View Full Version : Noosa snapper

SUNNY_LJ
12-06-2011, 08:11 PM
Left home at 1400 friday arvo to be anchored up on a nice little patch of reef before 1500, with not much showing the sounder. Thought we would stick around to see if the fish were there. With the burley flowing and not much in the boat after 20min the sounder lit up, from then we couldn't get a bait to the bottom with one of the best snapper bites i have seen. In the 2 hrs of fishing we boated over 50 snapper with well over 30 being keepers. Only other fish boated that beat the snapper to the bait were yakka to 30cm, one MILF(returned) and 3 sweetlip, the 2 smaller lippers went 35cm to give you an indication on the size of the other fish. Back home at 1720 and left the fish biting, with 22L of fuel used and happy as a pig in poo. The old boy used soft plastics and i used bait (pilies and yakka) with all the sweetlip falling for the bait and 50/50 on the snapper.

With the conditions near on perfect and awesome fishing, it doesn't get any better than that.

Cheers Luke

jason p
12-06-2011, 09:15 PM
n1 luke great score on some good grounds. 50+ snaps, wow, would of loved to see how many you would of got when they wernt near extincion ::).
just a thought, do you think that most that you released made it to see another day (barotrauma).
well done on your catch.

jp

SUNNY_LJ
12-06-2011, 09:32 PM
Yeah mate and left them biting. All swam off with no trouble as we were fishing shallow and with light gear so weren't reefing them up from the bottom.

Cheers mate

Luke

JJT
13-06-2011, 12:04 PM
mate thats awsome how big did the biggest one go?
what plastics did the damage?
good to see the greenies were right about that extinction aye ;)
regards jason

TREVELLY
13-06-2011, 01:29 PM
Well done Luke - sounds a lot better than all the 122 litre burns I do and you got together a nice bag of quality fish.

There are some great snapper on the chew Sunny Coast at the moment and closer reefs are great too when they are that accessible.

No more corals ?

SUNNY_LJ
13-06-2011, 03:03 PM
Jason, the old boy was using the plastics getting them on 5" jerk shads in anything with white or yellow in them in glow, the pink coloured ones weren't that popular. Had a friendly comp with the old boy to see what worked better but in the end i think we ended up pretty much even bait/plastics.

Yeah trev the close reefs are firing atm. Only the odd trout coming over the side now. Find when the snapper move in the trout disappear. How did you end up on the spaniards???

TREVELLY
14-06-2011, 06:08 AM
Yeah trev the close reefs are firing atm. Only the odd trout coming over the side now. Find when the snapper move in the trout disappear. How did you end up on the spaniards???

Nothing to photograph unfortunately. Last outing two big double hookups - first two taking over 200m of 80lb braid set on 10kg drag first fish busted on reef after 15 minutes second fish after 20 minutes trace failure near the boat then a little later after boating a small yellowfin we had another big double hookup but hooks pulled both fish within a minute and that is as close as we have gotten to a scale on a big hoo or spaniard - oh well. They were big fish and created some excitement but in the same some disapointment too - all good fun.