View Full Version : Haines Signature 1750L transom weight.

BigE
12-06-2011, 07:50 PM
Looking at all my repowering options for a Haines Signature 1750L, the factory spec is upto 150hp and less than 200Kgs. Current motor is about 140Kgs so 200Kgs is a fair jump in transom weight. I mainly use the boat offshore so i'm concerned about how much weight i should hand off the back. Has anyone got or been in a 1750L with that sort of weight on the transom and what was it like were there any issues.

BigE

Swanie1975
12-06-2011, 08:14 PM
BigE

ive got a later model signature 550 thats the same hull (im pretty sure) as yours that was running a suzi 140hp 2stroke weighing in at 181kgs - that is until it dropped a piston doh!! i never had a problem fishing offshore but then again i dont like anything over 10-15knots and 1.5 swell. i also found a 4 blade solas prop made a big difference to trim and only dropped 2kms off my WOT @63kms on the gps. Now i am looking at repowering with either the suzi df140 (186kgs) or the etec 130hp (177kgs). i looked at an opti 135hp(191kgs) but was told mercury cannot supply one until mid-july and i hated the noise (too compressor type IMO). prices were all similar with
the e-tec $15600 just cheaper followed by the suzi and the merc topping the list at $16500 fitted.

what 150hp motor is on it now at 140kgs, is that an old merc i see? also any chance you could post up a pic of your transducer mount as with the SVDH im having issues with my humminbird - too many shapes lol. good luck with your decision, the only thing i know for sure is im going for hydraulic steering this time.

cheers ryan

BigE
12-06-2011, 08:29 PM
Swanie

the current OB is a 115 merc. It weighs about 140kg. The signature web site spec's the 1750L hull as up to 150 HP and 200Kg ( sorry for the confusion)

Will take a pic and post the transducer pic tommorrow I'm running both a Furno 620 and a humming bird 798 both work well at speed so no issues there.

BigE

BigE
13-06-2011, 06:51 PM

Swanie

as requested the RH trans is a Humming bird and the LH is a Furno. No issues at speed both track the bottem well at speed.

bigjimg
13-06-2011, 08:29 PM
BigE get 60kg of weight and place it in your transom splashwell and see how she sits.That will be the only way to satisfy yourself that it can handle the extra load.Jim

bigjimg
14-06-2011, 05:36 PM
The 200kg will be within the margin of safety for that design so i would not hesitate to bolt it on.Do you know what the difference is between the L and the LE as it is rated higher again.Jim
1750LE 5.95m @ 750kg, 230kg Transom weight
1750L 5.33m @ 600kg, 200kg Transom weight.

BigE
14-06-2011, 07:45 PM
Thanks bigjimg

not a bad idea, just need to find something that weighs 60kg , some tote tanks or plastic jerry cans shoulg do the trick.

BigE

adamleah
14-06-2011, 10:03 PM
Ian.
I think the live tank on the port side is about 50 litres? maybe fill half both sides up?
I saw a 1750L in the brunny river once with a 175HP jonno ... and its arse was real low ..... so you wouldnt wanna go that heavy unless you pod it...... there is one on boatpoint at the moment with pods and 175hp merc.....http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=10242216

BigE
15-06-2011, 06:41 PM
Adam

175hp would be a rocket ship :) ........ scanning boatpoint already mate! I'm only looking at a 115 - 135 with a jack plate to lift it out of the slop a bit. I'm happy with how she goes but i'm looking for a better range my trips are usally 150 -200 km missions.

BigE

bigjimg
15-06-2011, 06:54 PM
BigE the 135hp would be giving you approx .8 -1.1nm per ltr depending on sea conditions.Jim

Rob77
12-10-2011, 10:17 PM
G'day Big E, In relation to your post I have a 1750R with a 150hp ETEC HO and have no issues in regards to weight of the motor on the transom or the height the rear of the boat sits in the water

The boat is used offshore, always with 170ltr of fuel and most trips involve running long distances with 3 up minimum and mostly 4.

Hull and engine are a great combination however I had to change weight distribution with the underfloor tank (the original tank at the rear used to cause it to bash). Also, I had a glasser add an extra 4 layers of matt and a layer of woven roving through the hull, which made an amazing difference. It's my second Signature 1750R so I really like the hulls however they are very lightly built for going offshore.

Hope this helps

13-10-2011, 06:58 AM
if it's a 4 stroke you're after then suzuki have pretty much cornered the market for a 4 stroke repower of many older 5.5+m hulls originally designed for 2 strokes. their df140 weighs similar to a 150 conventional 2 stroke and no-one else's comes close. any of the the DI 2 strokes would fit the bill weight wise though if that's what you're after.

BigE
14-10-2011, 06:53 AM
Thanks Paddles
The 140 suzuki certainly has cornered the under 150 hp market and now has garmin guages. still a lot of coin compared to an opti or E-tec but they are the pick of the 4/s.

BigE

Swanie1975
14-10-2011, 04:04 PM
hi BigE, ive only had my suzi 140 on the water for 19hrs (1st service soon) and am loving it so far. no fumes, extremely quiet at idle and good when cruising. i reckon noise levels about the same at WOT but its not the loud old roar of the 2 stroke its much easier to live with IMHO,plus now the kids actually sit in the 2 back seats next to the new donk!;D and i can now hear the wife telling me where to go ::)

fuel usage is incredible and i have the garmin instrument package included in the deal. average about 1.5-2kms per litre. when cruising at 5000rpm im doing about 52-3kmh and using around 24 litres per hour and no oil on top of that;)
weight wise the four stroke is only 5 kgs heavier than the old suzi i had so ive noticed no difference altho this motor is rigged a bit higher.

the only drama im having is getting the prop to match what i want in terms of balance between holeshot and top end:-?. im soon to try the suzi 20p stainless and hopefully its going to do what i want.

cheers ryan

mustang5
14-10-2011, 04:38 PM
I threw a four stroke 225hp Yammy which weighed in at 267kg on a 1950R, the limit was 235hp and 270kg. You will not even notice the difference mate.

Previously I had a 200hp 2 stroke which was 207kg and no difference at all was noticed.