View Full Version : stange paradise

spaniard
08-06-2011, 09:22 AM
Headed off to stanage over a week ago, had a good run up the hwy at 1.00am. Picked up a mate at gladstone and a few supplies at rocky. Hit the turnoff and the customary beer came out. 100k off dirt rd, a few pee stops and 2.5 hrs later we pulled up over the headland at stanage to glassy waters as far as you could see.
Headed of to the reef and beef that night. Awesome night with a great feed, the odd scotch and rums were flowing nicely with plenty of dancing and good convo.
Pete (raesen), I did see your mate Darryl and passed your message on. Good bloke and enjoyed a chat.
Conditions for the week were westerlys in the morn and drop in the arvo. So waking early sunday with a hangover wasn't a problem. Tried a fair bit of new country for the next few days with mixed results of silvers, cod, mackeral, cobia and grassies. The last couple of days saw the run get a bit stronger so tried a bit of closer in ground. Talked Bill from the coast guard to take a break and come for fish (local knowledge never hurts). On the way out he is telling us about lining up mountains with Islands and rocks that look like sails. How good was it back in the day of no GPS. Anyway driving along Bill says this looks alright might as well have a fish here. Well for the next two hours the fish came thick and fast. Mainly grassies a few reds and cod and couple of big grey suits for annoyance.
For those that havn't fished stanage, you can only get 2 to 3 hours fishing at the turn of tide as the run is very quick. I used a parrachute a fair bit and this helps a lot during the bigger tides. If you want to fish both tides then in between there are little islands with big oysters to pass the time.
The next day went to the same area, tried a different spot and had a similar session.
Big thanks to mates Alf, Bill and Jane from Thirsty Sound Coast Guard. We always stay with these guys and they are great hosts and do an awesome volutary job running the C.G. If you go to stanage please donate you cans to the lads and maybe a money donation as well.

Hope you enjoy the pics

Cheers Paul

pilchardjones
08-06-2011, 12:42 PM
wow - what a great trip paul.
those lippers are horses. thanks for report.
steve

08-06-2011, 03:10 PM
Mate looks like an awesome trip and yes the current there is the better part of forceful. How was the military up there?

spaniard
08-06-2011, 04:19 PM
the army started bombing later in the week and unfortunately with little breeze the smoke from the bush fires spread across the whole sky. But catching fish stops you from looking at the scenery.

Ratman
08-06-2011, 07:07 PM
Nice one Pauley, looks like you had a good trip mate. Boats going well too by the looks. Be in touch soon. Mick

08-06-2011, 08:47 PM
Its a great part of the world and it looks like you put a great feed together.

dfox
10-06-2011, 08:57 PM
Looks like tony had a great time paul, hope those teeth stayed in. Ill pick up the mud crab claws tonight ... foxy

two dogs
10-06-2011, 09:23 PM
hi paul
thanks for the report, brings back some great memories. What do you call silvers and where did you for the reef and beef night, was it an organised event or just something back at camp

J2DAG83
12-06-2011, 05:35 AM
Two Dogs

Reef and Beef night is an annual event that they have..... all the farmers / fisherman from the surrounding areas come in for the night.... quite big and good fun..

Jared

spaniard
12-06-2011, 04:22 PM
two dogs,
the silvers are lge mouth nani's or red jew. The reef and beef is an awesome night and should be done at least several times. The money is raised for the rescue chopper and other charities

spaniard
12-06-2011, 04:24 PM
Apologies for the spelling the heading should be stanage