View Full Version : First Trip In A While Mixed Outcome

05-06-2011, 03:43 PM
Been a while since i've been or aloud to go fishing and this weekend was a 5 knot bonaza of calm just waiting to be taken advantaged of.We left the harbour early on saturday morning at 4 45 headed out to some shoal grounds 77 km out. Trip wasn't the 5 knots but managable all the same.Arriving pre dawn we set up on our first drift with couple hussar straight up then i scored a nice red going nicely for my first fish http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/juneiphone023.jpgBy the end of the first drift we were happy with some hussars a Red and 2 trout http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/juneiphone024.jpgAfter marking a good show on the drift we anchored and we scored fish after fish ranging from Red throat to spangleds to huge spotties and more trout and Spanishhttp://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/juneiphone031.jpghttp://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/juneiphone029.jpghttp://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/juneiphone060.jpghttp://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/juneiphone059.jpghttp://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/juneiphone045.jpghttp://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/100_0910.jpghttp://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/100_0902.jpghttp://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/100_0907.jpghttp://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/100_0901.jpghttp://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/iphonejohnstons008.jpgWe had a great trip and got home around 630 pm for a fillet this morning JT

rosco1974
05-06-2011, 03:54 PM
awsome feed there again jt well done mate,wouldn't like to fillet that lot thats for sure . i stuggle filleting a handfull of fish.lolcheers rosco

Bull
05-06-2011, 04:32 PM
Well done JT,Great to see you got out and got into them. You said your freezer was getting a bit low on the red fish.cheers Bull

TREVELLY
05-06-2011, 06:15 PM
You got onto some great fish there JT.I would be a happy man coming home with a catch like that.Well done - thanks for sharing the report.

05-06-2011, 06:47 PM
I take it your recovery from surgery is going - better than expected?? - Thanks for the photos and report mate. What was your bait of choice - strip baits or livies?Cheers,Wags

JJT
05-06-2011, 08:00 PM
nice one mate top notch bag there

05-06-2011, 08:07 PM
Oh good stuff. That's what I want to see. The weather is looking indifferent for next weekend so good to see you got out this weekend. Those fish will fill the freezer bottom for sure. Cheers Chris

05-06-2011, 08:24 PM
I take it your recovery from surgery is going - better than expected?? - Thanks for the photos and report mate. What was your bait of choice - strip baits or livies?Cheers,Wags

Spano's were mixed with Ribbon fish Gar and the spotties were Gar and Pillies with others being caught usaul suspects squid pillies strip tuna mate .JT

XtremeBoony
05-06-2011, 08:28 PM
hey mate, great report and some very tasty looking reds there. Well done. Had a mate go out yesterday south out past hummoky to something called the gutter. Cleaned up on large mouth 5-8kg, spanish 13-16kg and all of the other stuff. cheers from boony

murf
05-06-2011, 08:43 PM
top esky of fish there mate :)

are you wearing someone else's fishing shirt? that one looks way too big for you :)

cheers Murf

Flex
05-06-2011, 10:58 PM
Nice work JP,

I fished out at Douglas shoals today(sunday) for a very ordinary day. I couldnt find a much to write home about in any direction today. Very quiet for out there, Usually its fish after fish. my wife must have poored vinager all over my bait before I left eh:)

Im glad someone got out this weekend and enjoyed the fantastic weather

06-06-2011, 04:51 AM
Nice work JP,

I fished out at Douglas shoals today(sunday) for a very ordinary day. I couldnt find a much to write home about in any direction today. Very quiet for out there, Usually its fish after fish. my wife must have poored vinager all over my bait before I left eh:)

Im glad someone got out this weekend and enjoyed the fantastic weather
Hit and miss for a few Flex some goods reds caught in places i hear but we were happy mate forour efforts.................... I may have the touch

Murrf i need some of them Meet and Greet fishing shirts buddy as that Ausfish one now has the teeth of a spano down the centre along with a nice sratch down my tummy (like i need another scar there)

Sheik
06-06-2011, 07:42 AM
Well done JT nice work. GOod you're back on the water

murf
06-06-2011, 10:55 AM
Murrf i need some of them Meet and Greet fishing shirts buddy as that Ausfish one now has the teeth of a spano down the centre along with a nice sratch down my tummy (like i need another scar there)

no worries buddy, I have my contact on the chase for some ;) you will have to pick it up though from the M&G :)

sorry but I have got nothing smart ass to say about your guts :-? :P maybe Mr Squiggle can join the dots and lines to come up with an upside down drawing of a snapper ;D

cheers Murf

Benno1
06-06-2011, 11:30 AM
Well decent feed JT...nice work mate!!!

Mrs Benno1
Sunny

DAZMC1
06-06-2011, 11:58 AM
Great stuff JT. Good to see you out and about again.

supa29
06-06-2011, 12:20 PM
hey JT good to see your back on deck mate. awesome looking catch mate i noticed the land in the back ground is there a island out there i dont know about or just trick photography

still trying to snag a decent feed but it is a great place to just explore

well done mate

kel.

06-06-2011, 01:37 PM
[QUOTE=supa29;1288864]hey JT good to see your back on deck mate. awesome looking catch mate i noticed the land in the back ground is there a island out there i dont know about or just trick photography

still trying to snag a decent feed but it is a great place to just explore

well done mate
Hey Kel no mate it's cloud banks no land showing up . How d ya motor go did you get onto that machnic ok

mitch92
06-06-2011, 01:59 PM
Good catch. We were out at New reef and got sh!tloads of hussar, some of which were pretty big for hussar, couple of cod, some parrots, 3 spano's and a snapper. Got one undersized red emperor to but back she went. Was certainly a bloody good weekend.

Mitch

cuzzamundi
06-06-2011, 06:13 PM
Great to see you back out there slaying them, mate. Is the water still pretty dirty around the islands?
Top stuff!
Cuzza

supa29
06-06-2011, 07:55 PM
hey JT yeah rang him he give me a few ideas and looks like i solved the problem, it was the gromet in the base of the head. i went through the water tube with a fine wire and chipped it away and poof it doesnt get hot so fingers crossed taking it for run on thursday and hopefully all good now just got to find a good spot to geta few. doen a trip up to flat with work mate in his boat and got smashed home but water and area looked good but got marks north east of nth keppel about 50k out, and some about 30k straight between the 2 islands so have a few but still chasing a feed mate. good to see you up and fishing mate hope all is good

and thanks for the mechanic i will definately be useing him in the future to repay him for the advice.
kel..

06-06-2011, 10:29 PM
Great to see you back out there slaying them, mate. Is the water still pretty dirty around the islands?
Top stuff!
Cuzza
With the SW's mate she is very clear here at moment seeing a fair few spearo's about

indy
07-06-2011, 09:03 PM
Nice going jt good to see a post from you was wondering where you had got to, nice fish should restock the freezer.

cheers pete...

Spiderpig
08-06-2011, 08:24 AM
I took the wife out to Douglas Friday night/Saturday morning because it was our anniversary. Got 5 Emperor (one was 12kg), 10 redthroat, 5 tuskies and kept 12 hussar, I could have kept 50! I probably used 15 for bait. I heard a lot of ppl bagged on spannos but we didn't even try because I already have a freezer full of spanno.

Did you see those guys spearfishing on top of Douglas?

Mitch92,

I heard two blokes bagged out at new reef on nannys Friday night. Is it the shoal directly between douglas and the harbour? long shaped thing.

Ryan