View Full Version : Squapper & Cod 31-05-11

Pistol_P
01-06-2011, 11:08 AM
Had another run offshore today and got some nice fish.

Nice snapper on the nuke chook plastic which gave a great account of itself and plenty of other squire in between.
Cant understand the whole Snapper debarcle....The reefs are loaded with squire and snapper and leaving aside all the numbers etc and statistics the fish are there in great numbers.When the conditions are right with cool water..the fish respond.
Last year was a dud as the water was hot and mackeral were still being caught in winter..!....Its all just seasonal IMO and the snapper stocks are bloody healthy.

Caught a Tailor later in the piece and sent him back down as a livey for a cobia but this bohemath Cod was the result.For some odd reason Adrian was desperate to get a picture of it..??....so I somehow lifted it up for a pic the best I could then released the big fella.

http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/Noosa%20Offshore%20Three/NorthReef31-05-11002.jpg

http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/Noosa%20Offshore%20Three/NorthReef31-05-11003.jpg

http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/Noosa%20Offshore%20Three/NorthReef31-05-11007.jpg

Bull
01-06-2011, 11:35 AM
Great photos, Great fish, Great conditions,
Thanks for the report
Bull

tropicrows
01-06-2011, 12:28 PM
Yep, some great pic's there PP

01-06-2011, 01:26 PM
Nice effort love the nuke lipped there

carnster
01-06-2011, 03:16 PM
You the man Pete. Nice fish.

MEG-A-BITE
01-06-2011, 03:34 PM
Hi Pete thats a good session well done some good fish there,saw in the picks looks like you using the new Pfluger Patriarch XT reel, if so how do you find the reel,is it any good.have been keen to look at one for SP fishing.

TimD
01-06-2011, 05:40 PM
Good fish and good photo's as usual Pete :thumbsup:

Any idea on the weight of that fat bastard :o

cheers tim :)

indy
01-06-2011, 05:58 PM
Nice fish pete hopefully get out this weekend for another crack at them.

hookinin
01-06-2011, 06:26 PM
some nice fish Pete and looks like great conditions.
Cheers Gaven

Pistol_P
01-06-2011, 09:05 PM
Cheers for the replies.

Meg-a-bite .... The patriarch reels are excellent and I have really put it through its paces.
In New Zealand I hooked a very large king and although I ended up being beaten by the fish the reel stood up really well to some scorching runs under a heavy drag.It is really light in weight and I love using it.

Tim leave me alone.....I only weigh 85kg...ha.!

Donny Boy
02-06-2011, 05:11 AM
What a coupla beautys !

Hafta rethink for this w/e now.......hmmm.........Inside or outside :-?:-?

j_man_84
02-06-2011, 06:11 AM
Wish i had the boat for outside, bay it is for me for now. unless the its a 5 to 10 knot day then maybe haha

BLOOEY
02-06-2011, 09:13 AM
Very nice8-). Haven't had a crack at the snaps yet this year......think now i will! Do you think the gulps outfish other plastics with some smelly scent added to them? HUUUUGE ugly cod aswell. Ben

Pistol_P
02-06-2011, 10:52 AM
G'day Ben,

Yeah mate I do.

I really think the GULP outfish most other plastics....just my opinion of course and im sure others may disagree.
I have had sessions on the rocks where I will throw around plastics like Squidgies etc and get nothing, then put on GULP and get a fish straight away.