PDA

View Full Version : Sharkcat Repower

Alexzed
21-05-2011, 02:04 PM
Hi People

I have a Seamaster Sharkcat with 115 HP Johnsons (1998) Ocean Runners in great condition but after something new and probably 4 stroke....looking at the Suzuki 90 or if I have to go with 2 stroke then 115 Mercury Optimax....weight is an issue at the rear but the boat is right up there in weight herself....around 1800kg......need some assistance to choose...basically if I go with the smaller HP will it disappoint me or have they come a long way since 1998, such that with the right prop I would barely notice the difference (except for the quietness and fuel bill that is!!)

Look forward to hearing people

Alex

Chimo
21-05-2011, 02:07 PM
Hey Alex

How many hrs on your motors?

I've got two similar ones and am finding it hard to kill em!

Cheers
Chimo

Alexzed
21-05-2011, 02:15 PM
Dont know how many hours.....the condition inside and out would suggest not too many.....spent the last few years with very little use......I use her in the gulf around Adelaide and want some more certainty for the longer trips re: fuel capacity....she holds 230 litres combined, but they do like a drink!!!!

Alexzed
21-05-2011, 02:33 PM
Hi Chimo

Out of interest how big is your craft and what kind of mileage do you get out of the motors....say 3500 rpm
Alex

Alexzed
21-05-2011, 02:55 PM
can anyone tell me which is the lightest 4 stroke in the 90 hp range and what kind of economy they are likely to get.....tried a bit of research and get slightly different results....would be good to go to a site where they do side by side comparisons between say 3 or 4....the manufacturer websites don't really inspire confidence as far as objectivity is concerned.....always going to be difficult to relate to how they are going to go on a Cat anyway....let alone one with the weight of mine

Jarrah Jack
21-05-2011, 04:23 PM